Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run ScanHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
VGSources
Blog

Ancestors: The Humankind Odyssey Sets December 8, 2026 Release on PS5, Xbox Series and Switch 2

Ancestors: The Humankind Odyssey launches on PS5, Xbox Series X|S and Nintendo Switch 2 on December 8, 2026, adding narration, photo mode and quality-of-life improvements. PS4 and Xbox One owners get free upgrades, while PC receives a free update.
Length4 min Posted Quest giverVGSources Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Ancestors: The Humankind Odyssey launches for PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S and Nintendo Switch 2 on December 8, 2026. Fictions and Panache Digital Games also say that existing PlayStation 4 and Xbox One owners will receive a free upgrade to the matching current-generation version, while the PC edition will get the announced improvements in a free update.

What is releasing on December 8, 2026?

The December 8 release brings the third-person open-world survival game to PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S and Nintendo Switch 2. It is the first release of Ancestors: The Humankind Odyssey on a Nintendo platform, according to WorthPlaying’s announcement report.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The launch is an expansion of the existing game rather than a newly announced sequel. Fictions and Panache Digital Games describe the package as a current-generation release with presentation, usability and platform-optimization improvements.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What owners of each version receive

Current edition December 8, 2026 outcome Upgrade cost stated in the announcement
PlayStation 4 Upgrade to the PlayStation 5 version Free
Xbox One Upgrade to the Xbox Series X|S version Free
PC Free update delivering the announced improvements Free
PlayStation 5 New current-generation release Price not stated
Xbox Series X|S New current-generation release Price not stated
Nintendo Switch 2 New Nintendo release Price not stated

The announcement confirms free upgrades for existing PS4 and Xbox One owners, but does not specify whether the entitlement is tied to a disc, a digital purchase, a particular edition or a regional storefront. Players should check the platform store’s upgrade instructions when the listing appears. The announcement also does not establish pricing, physical-versus-digital availability or pre-order details.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

New features in the current-generation release

Documentary-style narration

The December release adds documentary-style narration. This is intended to give the prehistoric setting a more guided, natural-history presentation while you play; the announcement does not identify the narrator, languages or an audio-toggle menu.

Feature-rich photo mode

A substantially expanded photo mode is also listed among the additions. Specific camera controls, output resolution, filters and sharing options have not been detailed, so those functions may vary by platform and should be confirmed in the final release notes.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Quality-of-life improvements

Fictions and Panache Digital Games have announced broader quality-of-life changes without publishing a complete feature list. Expect the final patch notes or in-game documentation to define the exact interface, accessibility and convenience changes.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Current-generation optimization

WorthPlaying reports full optimization for PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. The announcement does not publish frame-rate targets, resolution modes, loading-time measurements or a technical specification for Switch 2, so those performance details should not be assumed from the platform names alone.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

What kind of game is Ancestors?

Ancestors: The Humankind Odyssey is a third-person, open-world survival game set in Neogene Africa. Its playable timeline covers roughly 10 million to 2 million years ago, placing the focus on prehistoric environments and the gradual development of a hominid clan rather than a conventional linear campaign.

The core loop is organized around three goals: explore the environment, expand the clan and evolve across generations. Players investigate jungles and savannahs, learn how objects can be used, craft tools, recruit members and pass learned abilities to descendants. The announced overview names hominid stages including Ardipithecus ramidus and Australopithecus.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Survival systems

Every expedition requires attention to eating, drinking and sleeping. Fear, predators and weather create additional risks, making movement through the world a decision about what the clan can safely reach and what it can learn. A mistake can affect individual members and the clan’s ability to continue developing.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Generational progression

Progress is expressed through a clan-management system. Abilities learned by one generation can be carried forward, allowing later hominids to use more sophisticated tools and behaviors. The result is a long-form survival journey in which exploration and experimentation support biological and cultural change.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Release history and platform timeline

Date Milestone
August 27, 2019 Original PC launch through Steam and the Epic Games Store
December 6, 2019 PlayStation 4 and Xbox One releases
December 8, 2026 PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S and Nintendo Switch 2 launch; free PC update; promised PS4/Xbox One upgrades

The 2026 date therefore marks both the game’s arrival on Nintendo hardware and its move to the current PlayStation and Xbox generation, more than seven years after the original PC release.

What to check before buying or upgrading

  • Confirm your entitlement: PS4 and Xbox One owners should use the same platform account and verify whether their copy is eligible when the upgrade listing is published.
  • Check storage and download requirements: final file sizes and installation requirements have not been announced.
  • Review platform-specific features: narration, photo-mode tools and quality-of-life changes are announced globally, but detailed parity information has not been provided.
  • Verify price and format: the announcement does not establish retail pricing, physical stock or pre-order availability for any platform.
  • Watch final patch notes: frame-rate modes, resolution, accessibility options and the exact PC update contents remain to be specified.

The date to remember

December 8, 2026 is the confirmed release date for Ancestors: The Humankind Odyssey on PS5, Xbox Series X|S and Nintendo Switch 2. Existing PS4 and Xbox One owners are promised free upgrades, and PC players will receive a free update. The principal additions are documentary-style narration, a feature-rich photo mode, quality-of-life improvements and current-generation optimization; technical performance numbers and commercial details will require confirmation from platform listings and final release notes.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More quests from Patch Notes

  1. How to Set Up a RedM (RDR2) Server in 2026: License Key, txAdmin and server.cfg, Step by StepBlog11min
  2. Best RedM (RDR2) Server Hosting in 2026: Comparing Four Hosts on Slots, Memory and PriceBlog10min
  3. How to Host a Mindustry Server in 2026: server-release.jar, Port 6567 and the Commands That MatterBlog7min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.