Nintendo has officially published an illustrated Hyrule map for its 2026 remake of The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, but it has not revealed the playable world’s area, width, height, or scale. The artwork broadly preserves the original 1998 regional arrangement, so any claim that the remake map is a specific number of times larger remains speculation.
What Nintendo actually revealed
Nintendo Wire reported on September 22, 2026, that Nintendo shared a parchment-style illustration of the remake’s Hyrule. The image includes tribal symbols associated with the Kokiri, Zora, Gorons, Hylia and Gerudo. It is an official piece of promotional artwork, not a dimensioned game map.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D | $49.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time (w/ Master Quest) | $118.95 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time -Legendary Edition-: Ocarina of Time | $11.87 | Buy on Amazon |
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The illustration places the major regions in a familiar pattern:
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
- Hyrule Castle and Death Mountain appear to the north.
- Kakariko Village and Zora’s Domain sit to the east.
- Kokiri Forest is in the southeast.
- Lake Hylia is to the south.
- Gerudo Valley is to the west.
That arrangement broadly matches the map printed in the 1998 game’s manual. The resemblance confirms continuity of the setting, but the proportions of a promotional illustration cannot establish how large the explorable world is.
#1 Best Overall
- This is the world edition. It has different packaging but is fully authentic and works on US region 3DS systems.
- The Legend of Zelda veterans can look forward to the Master Quest - a second quest with revamped puzzles and redesigned dungeons.
- The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D is a masterful improvement on one of the landmark releases in video game history.
- “E10+”, w/Animated Blood, Fantasy Violence, Suggestive Themes
Is the remake map larger than the original?
Nintendo has not confirmed that it is. There is no official figure for total area, traversal distance, map width, map height or a scale bar. The revealed artwork also does not distinguish between playable spaces, inaccessible scenery and locations shown only for presentation.
A responsible comparison therefore looks like this:
| Comparison point | What is established |
|---|---|
| Regional placement | The remake artwork broadly follows the 1998 geography. |
| Landmark density | The illustration shows recognizable regions, but Nintendo has not stated how many additional landmarks or interiors are playable. |
| Fidelity to the original | The north, east, southeast, south and west relationships remain broadly familiar. |
| Playable versus decorative locations | Not stated by Nintendo; the artwork cannot answer this. |
| Measured size | No numerical area, width, height or scale has been published. |
In practical terms, the official announcement answers “what does the remake’s Hyrule look like?” It does not answer “how many square kilometres can Link explore?” Treat screenshots, map overlays or ratio claims as unofficial until Nintendo publishes a measurement or the finished game provides verifiable boundaries.
Why the map image matters despite the missing number
The map is still useful evidence about the remake’s design direction. Keeping the recognizable regional arrangement suggests that Nintendo is preserving the spatial identity players associate with Ocarina of Time while rebuilding the presentation for new hardware. It also gives players a confirmed visual reference for the remake’s Hyrule before release.
Rank #2
- Play the original Legend of Zelda Ocarina of Time
- Or the Master Quest edition with many bonus features
It does not, by itself, prove an expanded overworld, newly connected zones, larger dungeons or additional traversal routes. Those questions require a game demonstration or more specific Nintendo documentation.
Release date, platform and confirmed remake changes
Nintendo’s official product page lists the remake for Nintendo Switch 2, exclusively, with a November 5, 2026 release date. A selectable physical edition is listed, and Nintendo describes the game as built from the ground up for the Nintendo Switch 2 system.
Nintendo’s 40th-anniversary announcement confirms these upgrades:
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →- Completely overhauled visuals.
- Fully voiced cutscenes.
- Expanded character dialogue.
- Symphonic orchestral music.
- Reworked camera and movement controls.
These are confirmed presentation and control changes; they should not be treated as proof that the overworld itself has been enlarged.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How large is the download?
Nintendo Australia lists an estimated game file size of 27GB for 2026. The figure is explicitly an estimate. Nintendo’s U.S. store page warns that download-size information may not be final at preorder time, so the installed size could change before launch. It is a storage requirement estimate, not a measurement of Hyrule’s physical dimensions.
What to watch for before launch
The most useful future evidence would be a developer statement with a scale or area measurement, a complete official map that labels playable boundaries, or gameplay footage showing how regions connect. Until one of those appears, compare the remake with the original using confirmed geography rather than artwork proportions.
- Check whether Nintendo publishes a numerical area, width, height or scale.
- Separate locations visible in artwork from locations confirmed as playable.
- Look for an official explanation of new routes, regions or expanded interiors.
- Recheck the 27GB figure near release because Nintendo labels it an estimate.
- Remember that the confirmed launch platform is Nintendo Switch 2 only.
Bottom line on the map size
The 2026 remake has an officially revealed Hyrule illustration whose broad geography echoes the 1998 game. Nintendo has not officially unveiled a measurable playable-area size, and the image cannot support claims that the map is larger by a stated percentage or multiplier. The firm release information is Nintendo Switch 2 exclusivity and a November 5, 2026 launch, alongside the announced visual, audio, dialogue and control overhaul.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




