Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallOutdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchThere is no independently tested universal winner for Sons of the Forest hosting in 2026. For a small co-op group, DatHost is the strongest convenience candidate in the September 27, 2026 comparison because it lists eight slots, automatic updates, backups, unrestricted CPU/RAM and mod support. 4Netplayers is the price-focused option on that comparison’s published rate, while AxentHost is worth investigating only if a credit-based, intermittent server fits your play schedule.
Those are editorial candidates, not measured performance results. Before paying, compare the renewal price, player capacity, server region, backup and restore process, configuration access, update policy, mod or crossplay support, and cancellation terms. Sons of the Forest itself allows a maximum MaxPlayers value of 8, regardless of a host’s “unlimited slots” marketing.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What you are actually renting
A rented dedicated server keeps a Sons of the Forest world available without requiring one player’s PC to stay on and act as host. The provider runs the server process in a data center; your group connects to that persistent world using the game’s multiplayer flow. This separates the world from a single player’s home connection, sleep schedule and hardware.
Hosting does not remove the game’s own limits. The Steam Community “Dedicated Server Configuration Guide,” created June 23, 2023 and updated January 15, 2025, documents MaxPlayers as an integer from 1 through 8. A plan advertising more slots is describing a billing or panel option, not a way to exceed the game’s documented eight-player cap.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
The same guide documents three UDP ports: GamePort 8766, QueryPort 27016 and BlobSyncPort 9700. Configuration is JSON in dedicatedserver.cfg, with user data and saves under LocalLowEndnightSonsOfTheForestDS on Windows. These details matter when a provider asks you to open ports, edit a file or migrate a save.
Best candidates by group and budget
The table below reports the terms listed by a September 27, 2026 iTechGuides comparison. Prices, locations, guarantees and features can change; confirm the exact checkout offer and game-specific support before subscribing.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
| Provider | Published details | Best fit | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| DatHost | Eight slots; unrestricted CPU/RAM; automatic updates; backups; mod support; price not stated in the comparison table | Small groups wanting a managed setup | The “overall pick” is the roundup’s judgment, not an independent benchmark |
| 4Netplayers | $3.09 for the first month at 50% off, then $6.19 per month; automatic updates and backups listed | Buyers comparing a low introductory price | Verify renewal price, billing currency, taxes and current promotion |
| Indifferent Broccoli | $9.99/month for four players; $12.99 for six; $15.99 for eight; two-day trial; uncapped RAM listed | Groups that want a clearly stated eight-player tier | Trial and plan terms should be checked at checkout |
| Agila Host | Philippines location; recommended for up to four players; unmetered bandwidth and DDoS protection listed | Groups located near the Philippines | Latency depends on where every player is located |
| Ascend Servers | From $0.43 per slot/player; more than 18 locations listed | Groups needing location choice or slot-based pricing | Confirm total bill and the exact slot configuration |
| Host Havoc | Eight slots; FTP; offsite backups; DDoS protection; 72-hour satisfaction guarantee listed | Players who value file access and a stated guarantee | Recheck current guarantee, platform and game support |
| Game Host Bros | 12 GB, 16 GB and 20 GB RAM options; $23.99 starting figure listed | Groups comparing higher-memory plans | Verify that the quoted amount is for the Sons of the Forest plan and your chosen region |
| Nodecraft | Four tiers with separate first-month and ongoing prices; game swapping and SFTP listed | Users who value migration and file-transfer tools | The comparison does not state player capacity |
| PingPlayers | Crossplay support, unlimited players, three RAM tiers and a 99.9% uptime SLA listed | Groups investigating cross-platform access | Confirm which platforms and versions are covered; the game guide still documents an eight-player cap |
| Streamline Servers | 21 locations; four-to-eight-slot limit; 8–16 GB RAM; starting amount of A$14/month listed | Groups needing a broad location choice | Confirm the exact game configuration and current Australian-dollar rate |
| AxentHost | Free hosting funded with credits; five credits equal one GB of RAM for one hour | Intermittent players willing to manage credits | This is not equivalent to a permanently available free server; check credit costs and session availability |
Which Sons of the Forest host fits your group?
Choose managed convenience for a regular four-to-eight-player world
DatHost is the clearest candidate when the priority is reducing maintenance. The comparison lists eight slots, automatic updates, backups, unrestricted CPU/RAM and mod support. It does not publish a price in the comparison table, so request the complete recurring cost rather than assuming the editorial pick is the cheapest. The listed features also need confirmation for the exact Sons of the Forest version you intend to run.
Choose a low advertised rate only after checking renewal terms
4Netplayers is listed at $3.09 for the first month with a 50% discount, followed by $6.19 per month. Treat the first figure as an introductory allowance, not the cost of ownership. Confirm whether the amount is monthly, whether taxes are extra, which currency is used, and whether backups and automatic updates apply to the selected game instance.
Choose a transparent slot ladder when group size is predictable
Indifferent Broccoli’s listed tiers—$9.99 for four players, $12.99 for six and $15.99 for eight per month—make it easy to budget for a known group. Its two-day trial can help you inspect the panel, but a short trial does not prove long-term latency or uptime. Ask how saves are retained if the trial ends and whether the trial uses the same region and resources as a paid plan.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Choose a nearby regional location before chasing specifications
Agila Host is listed with a Philippines location, a recommendation of up to four players, unmetered bandwidth and DDoS protection. That may be sensible for a Philippine or nearby group, but a distant location can increase delay for everyone else. The available comparisons contain no repeatable, head-to-head latency test, so use the provider’s test address or a refundable trial where available.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Choose slot pricing only when the final total is clear
Ascend Servers is listed from $0.43 per slot/player and with more than 18 locations. “From” pricing can exclude the number of slots, billing period, taxes, storage or a particular region. Calculate the full monthly amount for your intended player count before treating the headline rate as a bargain.
Choose file access and a stated guarantee when recovery matters
Host Havoc is listed with eight slots, FTP, offsite backups, DDoS protection and a 72-hour satisfaction guarantee. Those features are useful if you expect to download saves, edit configuration files or move the world later. Verify the guarantee’s eligibility, refund method and supported platform at purchase; a guarantee is a contract term, not a measured uptime result.
Choose higher listed memory only for a reason you can identify
Game Host Bros is listed with 12 GB, 16 GB and 20 GB RAM options and a $23.99 starting figure. The comparison does not establish that a particular RAM tier produces better gameplay, and it does not document a benchmark. Confirm what the starting amount buys, whether the plan is dedicated to Sons of the Forest, and which locations are available.
Choose migration tools when you expect to switch games or hosts
Nodecraft’s comparison entry separates first-month and ongoing prices across four tiers and mentions game swapping and SFTP. Those tools may simplify downloading a save or moving between supported games. Because the comparison does not state player capacity, check the exact eight-player configuration before ordering.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Investigate crossplay claims carefully
PingPlayers is listed with crossplay support, unlimited players, three RAM tiers and a 99.9% uptime SLA. “Crossplay” can mean different platform combinations and versions, so ask which clients can connect to the current dedicated-server build. The official configuration guide’s MaxPlayers range of 1–8 still governs the game server itself.
Compare locations and memory tiers, not just the starting currency
Streamline Servers is listed with 21 locations, four-to-eight slots, 8–16 GB of RAM and a starting amount of A$14 per month. Confirm whether the quoted Australian-dollar amount is recurring, what slot count it represents, and whether your desired location has the same configuration.
Use credit hosting for occasional sessions, not guaranteed always-on access
AxentHost is described as free hosting paid for with credits, with five credits equaling one GB of RAM for one hour. That model can suit a group that starts a world only on scheduled nights. It is not a no-cost substitute for an always-on server: check how credits are earned or purchased, whether idle servers stop, and how quickly a session can be restarted.
What to check before you rent a server
1. Calculate the recurring price
- Record the renewal amount, not only the first-month promotion.
- Check billing period, currency, taxes, payment fees and per-slot charges.
- Price optional backups, extra storage, reserved addresses and additional support.
- Read cancellation, refund and trial rules before entering payment details.
2. Match the plan to the real player count
Start with the number of people who will connect simultaneously. The documented game range is 1–8, so an eight-player plan is the practical ceiling for a full group. Do not pay extra for an “unlimited” slot label unless the provider explains a separate, useful meaning such as multiple instances; it cannot raise the game’s eight-player limit.
3. Put the server near most players
Choose a data-center region that minimizes distance for the majority of the group. If players are spread across continents, decide whether a central location or the host’s regional availability is more important. No reviewed source supplies a standardized latency comparison, so do not treat a provider’s location count or marketing language as proof of lower ping.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
4. Verify world persistence and recovery
- Ask how often automatic backups run.
- Confirm retention length and whether older versions can be selected.
- Check whether you can trigger a manual backup before an update.
- Confirm that saves can be downloaded and restored to another host.
- Find out what happens to the world after cancellation or an expired trial.
5. Confirm update and administration controls
Look for automatic game updates, scheduled restarts, a visible stop/start control, file manager or FTP/SFTP access, JSON editing and log access. Ask whether updates can be delayed until you have a backup. A control panel that exposes the file but does not provide a restore path is less useful than one with fewer buttons and reliable recovery.
6. Treat mods and crossplay as version-specific features
Require an explicit statement that the provider supports your current Sons of the Forest build and the exact mod loader or mod set you intend to use. A host’s general “mod support” badge does not establish compatibility with every mod. Likewise, require a list of supported crossplay platforms and versions instead of assuming that the word “crossplay” covers your group.
Technical setup: the settings that matter
The Steam Community configuration guide says the dedicated server can be downloaded from Steam while logged in or anonymously with SteamCMD. Its wording is: “The game server can be downloaded from Steam directly (logged in), or completely anonymously (no Steam account needed) via SteamCMD tool.” The anonymous installation uses Steam app ID 2465200. On Windows, the guide names StartSOTFDedicated.bat as the start file.
If you self-host or receive full file access from a provider, a conventional SteamCMD installation sequence is:
steamcmd +login anonymous +app_update 2465200 validate +quit
Provider panels may perform these steps for you. If a panel hides SteamCMD, you still need to know the app ID when checking whether it installed the correct server and when troubleshooting an update.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Configure the JSON file
- Open the server’s data directory under
LocalLowEndnightSonsOfTheForestDS. - Locate
dedicatedserver.cfg. - Edit valid JSON only; preserve quotation marks, commas and braces.
- Set
MaxPlayersto an integer from 1 through 8. - Set the documented UDP ports—GamePort
8766, QueryPort27016and BlobSyncPort9700—if the host requires manual values. - Save a copy of the original file before restarting.
A password makes the server private. The owners file grants administrative access and should contain only trusted Steam IDs. Do not paste an ID into an owners list until you have verified the account; administrative access can change the world and server settings.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Open or reserve the network ports
For a home server or a provider that assigns a dedicated network endpoint, allow UDP traffic on ports 8766, 27016 and 9700. A managed host normally handles firewall rules, but ask whether its panel maps these ports automatically. If the provider gives different external ports, use the values it documents and do not assume the defaults are interchangeable.
How to connect with friends
- Give the group the server address or the provider’s listing instructions, plus the password if the server is private.
- Confirm everyone is running the supported game version before troubleshooting networking.
- Start the dedicated server and wait for the panel or console to report that it is listening.
- Join through the game’s multiplayer interface using the host’s documented method.
- If someone cannot connect, verify the address, password, server status and UDP rules before changing configuration values.
For a recurring group, keep the address, password policy and administrator list in a private shared note. Change the password when a former player should no longer have access, and remove their Steam ID from the owners file if they had administrative rights.
Troubleshooting common failures
| Symptom | Likely check | Safe next action |
|---|---|---|
| Server does not appear or friends cannot join | Server process, address and UDP ports | Confirm the process is running, then verify ports 8766, 27016 and 9700 and the provider’s external address |
| Players are rejected after an update | Client/server version mismatch | Check the provider’s update status, back up the save and restart after the supported build is installed |
| World progress disappeared | Wrong save path or failed restore | Inspect LocalLowEndnightSonsOfTheForestDS, identify the newest valid backup and restore it through the panel or file access |
| Admin commands or controls do not work | Owners file or Steam ID | Use only trusted, verified Steam IDs and restart after correcting the owners file |
| Players experience delay | Distance to the selected region or overloaded host | Ask support for another region or test a refundable alternative; published RAM and slot labels are not latency measurements |
| Modded server fails to start | Unsupported mod or game-version mismatch | Return to a backed-up vanilla configuration, then confirm exact mod and version support with the provider |
Hosted server versus self-hosting
A hosted plan trades a monthly bill for data-center connectivity, a control panel and support. It is usually the simpler choice when the world should be available while the owner is offline, when the group lacks port-forwarding access, or when backups and updates are worth paying for.
Self-hosting avoids a provider subscription but puts installation, firewall rules, power, operating-system updates, backups and recovery on the owner. The official guide’s SteamCMD app ID, ports, JSON file and Windows start script make self-hosting possible, but they do not provide a managed backup service or guaranteed availability. If the host PC sleeps or loses internet access, the world disappears until it returns.
A practical buying checklist
- Eight or fewer real simultaneous players.
- Renewal price calculated for the intended billing period.
- Region selected for the majority of players.
- Automatic backup schedule, retention and restore procedure documented.
- Save download and migration path confirmed.
- Automatic update and restart controls understood.
- FTP, SFTP or file-manager access available if you need it.
- Current mod and crossplay compatibility confirmed in writing.
- Trial, refund, cancellation and support terms read before payment.
- Private password and restricted owners list prepared before inviting the group.
Verdict
For a small group that wants the least day-to-day administration, start by checking DatHost’s current eight-slot, backup, update and mod-support offering, while treating the September 2026 roundup’s pick as an editorial recommendation rather than a tested performance result. Compare 4Netplayers if its $3.09 introductory month and $6.19 renewal remain available and fit your region. Consider Indifferent Broccoli when its four-, six- and eight-player prices match your headcount, Host Havoc when file access and its listed guarantee matter, Game Host Bros when its plan and region justify the higher starting figure, and AxentHost only when a credit-based schedule is acceptable. In every case, the correct purchase is the plan whose recurring terms, location, recovery controls and version support you can verify—not the one with the loudest “unlimited” or lowest first-month claim.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




