The Horadric Cube turns eligible items into upgrades, repairs, rerolls, crafted gear, and other results—but each recipe depends on the right ingredients and item type. Use the goal-based guide below to check what is established for the recipe, what can change, and where an exact formula or eligibility rule must be confirmed in the current game before you spend valuable items.
What the Horadric Cube does
The Cube is obtained in Act II and functions as both portable storage and a transmutation tool. Its recipes cover several different jobs: converting gems or runes, modifying sockets, upgrading or repairing gear, rerolling magic items, crafting equipment, making consumables, and opening special portals.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Diablo® IV (PS5) | $36.40 | Buy on Amazon |
D2R Wiki’s recipe index, updated in August 2026 and labeled for Patch 3.0, lists 157 recipes. That is the index’s count, not an official Blizzard total. Recipe formulas and mode eligibility can change, so treat independent recipe lists as references and verify consequential combinations in your current game.
Choose a recipe by what you want to do
| Goal | What the recipe does | What to check before transmuting |
|---|---|---|
| Upgrade gems | Three gems of the same type and tier make one gem of the next tier. | All three must match in gem type and tier. |
| Upgrade runes | Combines matching runes into a higher-tier rune; the number of copies and any extra gem requirement vary by rune. | Look up the exact formula for that rune. There is no single copy-count rule that applies to every tier. |
| Add or alter sockets | Socket recipes can add sockets to eligible items; other recipes remove socket contents. | Confirm the recipe’s item quality, base type, and other restrictions. A formula for one base or quality may not work on another. |
| Repair or recharge | Some recipes repair damaged equipment or restore charges. | Check the exact equipment class, whether the item is damaged or has charges, and any recipe-specific exclusions. |
| Reroll a magic item | Replaces the item’s modifiers with a newly generated result. | The item must be eligible for that recipe. Rerolls are random, and the item’s suitability and level matter. |
| Craft gear | Combines a magic base with ingredients to create a crafted item with preset properties and possible random affixes. | Use the correct craft category, magic-quality base, rune, jewel, and matching perfect gem; the result is not guaranteed to have desirable affixes. |
| Make consumables or open portals | Additional recipes create consumables or special destinations, including the Cow Level and Uber portals. | Confirm the full ingredient list, prerequisites, and current mode eligibility for the specific portal or item. |
Gem and rune upgrades
Gem upgrades
For the basic gem upgrade, place three gems of the same type and tier in the Cube and transmute them to receive one gem of the next tier. The matching requirement is important: three gems of different types or tiers are not the stated recipe.
#1 Best Overall
- Pre-order and receive:
- Light Bearer Mount in Diablo IV
- Only one code per customer
- Diablo IV is the next-gen action RPG experience with endless evil to slaughter, countless abilities to master, nightmarish Dungeons, and legendary loot.
- Embark on the campaign solo or with friends, meeting memorable characters through beautifully dark settings and a gripping story, or explore an expansive end game and shared world where players can meet in towns to trade, team up to battle World Bosses, or descend into PVP zones to test their skills against other players - no lobbies necessary - with cross-play and cross-progression on all available platforms.
Rune upgrades
Rune upgrading is tier-dependent. D2R Wiki describes three matching runes for many upgrades and two for upgrades from Um upward; D2Runewizard also separates recipes that use three runes from those that use two. Some formulas require an additional gem. Check the individual rune recipe rather than assuming that every upgrade takes three copies.
Socket recipes: verify the base before using one
Socket operations are not one universal recipe. Eligibility can depend on item quality and base type, so check the exact formula for the item you intend to modify before placing it in the Cube. A recipe that works on one kind of base should not be assumed to work on another.
Remove socket contents
The cited recipe references identify a Hel rune plus a Town Portal scroll as the socket-clearing combination. This removes the socketed contents; it does not return the runes, gems, or jewels that were inside. Do not use it if you need to preserve those items.
Repairs and recharges
Recipe references list Ral or Ort runes in repair recipes for damaged items, as well as recipes associated with recharging items that have charges. The exact equipment class and charge conditions differ by recipe. Check those conditions against the specific formula before transmuting; the general labels “repair” and “recharge” are not enough to establish that a particular item qualifies.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Magic-item rerolls
A magic item and three perfect gems are identified as a reroll route. The familiar Grand Charm use follows this pattern, but a reroll replaces the item’s existing modifiers with a new random result. It is not an upgrade that preserves desirable modifiers.
The source item’s suitability and item level matter to the possible result. The recipe references do not establish a single optimization rule for every item or reroll goal, so confirm the item-level behavior for the particular recipe before committing a valuable base.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Crafted gear: ingredients, categories, and random affixes
Wowhead’s crafting guide describes four categories: Blood, Caster, Hitpower, and Safety. Each craft uses a magic-quality Normal, Exceptional, or Elite base, any Jewel, the recipe’s specified rune, and the category’s matching Perfect Gem. A non-magical base does not work for these formulas.
| Craft category | Matching Perfect Gem | Other required components |
|---|---|---|
| Blood | Ruby | Magic-quality base, a Jewel, and the category’s specified rune |
| Caster | Amethyst | Magic-quality base, a Jewel, and the category’s specified rune |
| Hitpower | Sapphire | Magic-quality base, a Jewel, and the category’s specified rune |
| Safety | Emerald | Magic-quality base, a Jewel, and the category’s specified rune |
The category supplies preset magical properties, and the result can also receive random affixes. The Jewel’s own magical properties do not transfer as craft properties. Choose the craft category and base before spending the ingredients: the base type determines which craft applies, and its item level affects the affixes that can appear.
Recommended Free Tools
Crafted-item affix counts by item level
Wowhead’s February 20, 2026 crafting guide reports the following probabilities for the number of random affixes on crafted items. These figures describe affix count, not the likelihood of receiving any particular useful modifier.
| Item level | One affix | Two affixes | Three affixes | Four affixes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1–30 | 40% | 20% | 20% | 20% |
| 31–50 | not stated (Wowhead, February 20, 2026) | 60% | 20% | 20% |
| 51–70 | not stated (Wowhead, February 20, 2026) | not stated (Wowhead, February 20, 2026) | 80% | 20% |
| Above 70 | not stated (Wowhead, February 20, 2026) | not stated (Wowhead, February 20, 2026) | not stated (Wowhead, February 20, 2026) | 100% |
These are the probabilities shown in Wowhead’s guide, not a guarantee of a desirable combination. Its page has inconsistent Season 13 and Season 14 labeling; the affix information here is attributed to the guide’s February 2026 update rather than to a season label.
Patch and game-mode qualifications
Blizzard’s official April 2022 Patch 2.4 notes announced “fresh Horadric Cube Recipes.” Those notes establish that recipes were introduced in that patch, but they are not a complete current recipe reference. D2R Wiki’s August 2026 index says its recipes work in all game modes, including single-player and non-Ladder. That is a current secondary-source claim, not an official Blizzard confirmation; check the game or current official notes if mode eligibility is decisive.
Quick Recap
A quick pre-transmutation check
- Confirm the exact recipe, including every ingredient and any required quantity.
- Check item quality and base type; many recipes accept only particular items.
- Decide whether the result is fixed or random. Rerolls and crafted affixes can replace or add unpredictable modifiers.
- Consider what will be consumed or destroyed, especially socketed contents.
- For rune upgrades, repairs, recharges, portals, and item-level-sensitive crafts, verify the individual recipe rather than relying on a broad category description.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




