Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run Scan×
Skip to content
VGSources
Dying Light guide

Dying Light: The Beast Guide: Modes, Survival Tips, and New Game+

A spoiler-aware guide to Dying Light: The Beast’s modes, difficulties, co-op, survival priorities, Restored Land rules, and New Game+.

By VGSources Team 5 min read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Dying Light: The Beast is a standalone Kyle Crane adventure set in Castor Woods. For a first run, choose Story if you want to prioritize the narrative, or Survival for a balanced challenge; leave Restored Land for a deliberate solo scarcity run. Standard play supports solo or co-op for up to four players, while Restored Land is designed for solo play. The practical keys are to avoid needless fights, use parkour to control when you engage, reactivate safe zones, and treat Restored Land supplies as finite.

What is Dying Light: The Beast?

Techland describes the story as Kyle Crane escaping years of captivity and experimentation by the Baron, while struggling with a conflict between human and zombie DNA and seeking revenge. The open-world setting, Castor Woods, spans a tourist town, industrial area, national park, farmland, and swamps. The developer presents the game’s combat, parkour, night tension, and Crane’s Beast abilities as central features; these are descriptions of the intended experience, not independent performance or review findings. Techland’s official game page calls it a standalone game.

Can I play without knowing the previous games?

Yes. Techland says familiarity with Kyle Crane’s story in the original Dying Light can enhance the experience but is not essential. The official FAQ confirms the game is standalone.

Choose a mode and difficulty before you begin

Standard play is the story and exploration experience. Restored Land is a separate ruleset built around scarcity and lasting consequences; it is not another difficulty setting. The official difficulty descriptions are qualitative, so they do not establish exact enemy damage, resource quantities, or a numerical gap between settings.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Option What it is for What to expect
Story Story and exploration focus Techland describes it as focused on story and exploration; exact balancing details are not stated. Source
Survival A balanced standard run Techland describes it as balanced; exact balancing details are not stated. Source
Brutal Greater challenge Techland says resources are limited; exact quantities and difficulty scaling are not stated. Source
Nightmare The harshest listed challenge Enemies are described as stronger, faster, and more aggressive, with scarce resources. Source
Restored Land A solo scarcity experience Not a difficulty level: defeated infected and items do not respawn, some activities are one-time, shops have less variety at higher prices, and an optional One Life rule ends a run on death. Source

Which should you pick?

  • Choose Story if narrative and exploration matter more to you than a tougher survival challenge.
  • Choose Survival for the balanced standard experience.
  • Choose Brutal or Nightmare if you want more pressure; Nightmare is specifically described as featuring stronger, faster, more aggressive enemies and scarce resources.
  • Choose Restored Land only if you want a solo run where the world’s limited supplies and one-time activities make planning consequential. Consider carefully whether to enable One Life, since death ends that run.

Solo, co-op, or Restored Land?

Standard play supports solo or co-op with shared progression for up to four players total—Kyle Crane and up to three other players. Restored Land is designed as a solo experience. If playing with friends is important, use standard play rather than expecting Restored Land to support the same group format. Techland’s FAQ distinguishes the two modes.

Survival priorities for your first run

The following are official starter tips from Game Director Nathan Lemaire, published by Xbox Wire on September 19, 2025. They are practical priorities, not a route guide: the cited advice does not specify detection distances, exact recipes, coordinates, or a mission-by-mission sequence.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Choose engagements instead of fighting every group

Groups of biters can be dangerous. Lemaire recommends considering crowd-control tools such as Molotovs or decoys, and avoiding unnecessary fights. Noise can draw more zombies, so parkour or stealth can be better ways to pass a threat than starting combat.

Craft and explore for supplies

Craft tools and weapons, and search Dark Zones for components and unique items. Do not treat every fight as worthwhile: conserving resources and avoiding noise are part of the same survival decision.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Reactivate safe places

Reactivating safe zones and safe spots gives you places to pass time, use the stash, and access a workbench. Make them part of your exploration priorities rather than assuming every area already has a convenient fallback.

Keep track of fuel

Fuel keeps vehicles running and is also used to craft flamethrower ammunition. The Xbox Wire advice points to abandoned vehicles and gas stations as places to look for it.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Change your habits at night

Volatiles are attracted to noise and flashlight use. Move carefully, avoid drawing attention, and if pursuit begins, focus on escape and reaching the nearest safe zone or safe spot rather than prolonging a fight.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How to approach Restored Land’s scarcity

Because infected and items do not respawn and some activities can only be completed once, treat the map as a finite set of opportunities. Before committing to an activity, consider whether you need its reward now or might need the resources elsewhere; avoid spending supplies casually, and plan the order of activities instead of assuming you can return for another attempt. Shops have less variety at higher prices in this mode, so do not rely on a convenient restock. These recommendations follow the published rules; Techland does not state exact quantities or specify which activities are one-time in the FAQ. See the mode details in the official FAQ.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

What carries into New Game+?

Techland Support says New Game+ retains your gear, weapons, and character progression from the first playthrough while increasing enemy difficulty. Clearing the game again raises the challenge further and grants access to stronger and rarer weapons alongside tougher enemies. Before starting another run, finish any preparation you personally want to do with the equipment and progression you have; Techland does not publish a mandatory preparation checklist or exact unlock thresholds. Techland Support: New Game+.

How long does it take to complete the game?

Techland’s 2026 FAQ gives two publisher estimates with different scopes: 20–40 hours for the main story and 40+ hours for the broader survival-adventure framing. These are Techland estimates, not measured completion averages, and the two figures should not be treated as interchangeable. Official FAQ.

Platforms, editions, and physical PS5 copies

Techland says the game launched on September 18, 2025, for PC via Steam and Epic Games Store, PlayStation 5 / PS5 Pro, and Xbox Series X|S. The FAQ’s current edition information says the base edition includes free updates since launch, including Restored Land; Deluxe adds the Castor Woods Prepper Bundle and digital extras; RL Definitive adds four named packs on top. Storefront contents can change, so check the platform listing before buying.

Techland also confirms a physical PS5 release from Super Rare Games in Retail, Super Rare Games, and Anniversary editions. That confirms the release and named editions, not current stock or retailer availability. Check Techland’s FAQ for current edition details.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What to remember

  • The game stands alone, though prior Kyle Crane story knowledge can add context.
  • Standard play supports up to four-player co-op; Restored Land is designed for solo play.
  • Restored Land is a scarcity-focused mode, not a difficulty, and its optional One Life rule ends a run on death.
  • New Game+ carries gear, weapons, and progression forward while making enemies tougher.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from Patch Notes

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.