Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Four games have official, current documentation for raid content that can be compared directly: Destiny 2, Final Fantasy XIV, Guild Wars 2, and World of Warcraft. This guide covers those four. It is not a nine-game ranking. We could not confirm five additional titles against current official raid information, so naming them here would mean guessing.
“Raid” means quite different things across these games. A Destiny 2 raid is a six-player shooter activity, a Guild Wars 2 raid is a ten-player instanced encounter, and the MMORPG raids in Final Fantasy XIV and World of Warcraft come in several series and access modes. The sections below compare them on the points that actually change the experience.
Side-by-side comparison
The table uses only what each official source states. Where a source does not give a value, the cell says so rather than filling in a figure from memory.
| Game | Genre | Group size | Raid format | Difficulty and onboarding | Access notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Destiny 2 | Shooter | Fireteam of up to six | Raids with complex mechanics, tough enemies and bosses, and exclusive weapons and armor. Bungie’s activities guide lists eight raids. | Described by Bungie as mechanically complex. No easier tier is stated in the cited guide. | Some raids and dungeons require the matching expansion or a Dungeon Key, per Bungie. |
| Final Fantasy XIV | MMORPG | Not stated in the cited source | Distinct raid series, including an alliance raid crossover with Final Fantasy XI (Echoes of Vana’diel) and The Arcadion series. | Not stated in the cited source | Subscription terms and precise access requirements not stated in the cited source. |
| Guild Wars 2 | MMORPG | Ten players | Ten-player instanced elite dungeon content. | Emphasizes positioning, dodging, coordination, profession knowledge, and build customization. Normal and challenge modes announced for the unified raid mode. | Not stated in the cited source |
| World of Warcraft | MMORPG | Not stated in the cited source | Mythic raid, Raid Finder wings, and Story Mode, as listed for The War Within. | Story Mode and Raid Finder are listed as options; the source does not compare their difficulty. | Version-specific. The cited notes do not describe the full current raid catalog. |
The four games
Destiny 2: coordinated shooter raids
Bungie describes raids as the game’s emblematic endgame activity. They are built for a fireteam of up to six and feature complex mechanics and tough enemies and bosses. Completing them drops exclusive weapons and armor. Bungie’s activities guide lists these raids: Last Wish, Garden of Salvation, Deep Stone Crypt, Vault of Glass, Vow of the Disciple, King’s Fall, Root of Nightmares, and Crota’s End. (Bungie’s activities guide)
#1 Best Overall
- IMMERSIVE GAMEPLAY: Single-player WWI tactical game where you command a 10-soldier raid team across No Man's Land, featuring 12 different mission objectives and 20 random events
- CAMPAIGN MODE: Includes progressive campaign rules where surviving soldiers improve their raiding abilities through experience, adding depth and replayability
- GAME COMPONENTS: Includes mounted 22"x17" map, 10 soldier cards, rulebook, 3 countersheets, reference aids, dry erase marker, and multiple dice for gameplay
- QUICK TO LEARN: Low complexity rules with very high solitaire suitability, designed for approximately 1 hour of gameplay per raid mission
- TACTICAL SCALE: Individual soldier-level combat on a hex-based map where each hex represents several yards of WWI battlefield terrain
Destiny 2 is the most shooter-like entry here, so the raid pace depends on the fireteam’s coordination and gunplay rather than on the class-and-role structure of MMO raids. Check the expansion or Dungeon Key requirement before you buy into a particular raid, because Bungie ties access to specific activities to ownership.
Current status: Bungie says planned live-service content updates ended with Update 9.7.0 on June 9, 2026. The game is still playable and its listed raids remain part of it, but you should not expect new planned seasonal raid content from Bungie’s live-service schedule. (Bungie’s Update 9.7.0 support guide)
Rank #2
- THE ULTIMATE COLLECTOR'S RAIDING EXPERIENCE: Elevate your tabletop battles with this deluxe edition of Clash of Clans: The Epic Raid, a high-stakes strategy game where you build villages, recruit troops, and raid rivals for ultimate glory and victory points.
- PREMIUM DELUXE COMPONENTS: This massive set features 137 unpainted detailed miniatures, 101 upgraded deluxe tokens, 72 building and unit tiles, and 7 custom engraved D6 dice, providing a high-fidelity, tactile version of the base game.
- MASTER THE BATTLEFIELD: Send your eager builders to the center board to construct defenses and recruit elite troops; use your upgraded army to launch epic raids and earn victory stars in a refined, highly strategic engine-building system.
- THE CENTERPIECE OF YOUR GAME NIGHT: Ideal for epic weekend gaming sessions, holiday gifts, or special tournaments; this collector's edition provides a deeply immersive experience perfect for cozy winter evenings or competitive summer meetups.
- FOR HARDCORE CLANS & HOBBYISTS: A must-have for dedicated Clash of Clans fans and premium board game collectors; perfect for display in home game rooms, local tabletop clubs, or as the highlight of your local hobby events.
Final Fantasy XIV: several raid series in one MMORPG
Square Enix’s Dawntrail content page names two distinct raid formats. The first is an alliance raid crossover with Final Fantasy XI, called Echoes of Vana’diel. The second is The Arcadion raid series. Having more than one series means a group can choose between raid structures rather than working through a single progression ladder. (Square Enix’s Dawntrail content page)
The cited page does not establish current subscription terms or the exact access requirements for each raid series. Check those on Square Enix’s site before you commit to a purchase or subscription.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Rank #3
- UNLEASH THE POWER OF DARK ELIXIR: Expand your raiding potential with specialized Dark Elixir troops and a new resource management system, allowing for devastating synergies and unstoppable attacks in your Clash of Clans tabletop battles.
- PREMIUM MINIATURE TROOP SET: Includes 12 detailed, unpainted miniatures featuring Hog Riders, Valkyries, Minions, Lava Hounds, Golems, and Witches, plus 8 X-Bow standees, a center board, building/unit tiles, and 15 Dark Elixir tokens.
- STRATEGIC MARKETPLACE UPGRADES: Use the new Dark Elixir resource to access a dedicated marketplace of elite units, providing tactical depth and specialized abilities that outmatch standard troops to ensure your raid's success.
- ENHANCE YOUR EPIC GAME NIGHTS: Perfect for extended gaming sessions, weekend tournaments, or holiday game marathons; this expansion adds complexity and variety that keeps your strategy sessions fresh and exciting year-round.
- FOR CLASH OF CLANS FANS & STRATEGISTS: A must-have for mobile game enthusiasts and tabletop wargamers; ideal for play at home, in hobby stores, or at gaming clubs to prove your dominance in the ultimate base-raiding challenge.
Guild Wars 2: ten-player instanced raids
ArenaNet describes raids as ten-player, instanced elite dungeon content. Its official page emphasizes active positioning, dodging, coordination, understanding of your own profession, and build customization. The fight demands more personal execution than a raid where you mostly follow a rotation. (Guild Wars 2: Instanced Combat)
Planned format change: ArenaNet has announced that Strike Missions will be folded into a unified raid mode. The announcement describes a normal mode for players learning the content, a challenge mode aimed at hardcore players, and a planned Quickplay feature to help players find groups for the easier encounters. The changes are tied to the first major Visions of Eternity update. Treat them as announced rather than live, and confirm the in-game state before you plan around them. (ArenaNet’s 2026 announcement)
Rank #4
- EPIC CLAN WARS TEAM MODE: Elevate your tabletop raids with the all-new Clan Wars expansion, introducing a high-stakes team battle format where coordination and collective strategy are the keys to claiming ultimate glory.
- MASSIVE MINIATURE & COMPONENT SET: Includes 9 detailed, unpainted unit miniatures featuring a Baby Dragon and Healers, plus 2 Town Halls, 20 Spell Cards, a Center Donation Board, and over 100 tokens.
- STRATEGIC CO-OP GAMEPLAY: Master the art of teamwork in a unique format where only the lower of the two teammates' scores counts—forcing players to coordinate defenses and use spell cards to outmaneuver rival Clans.
- PERFECT FOR LARGE GROUPS: Expand your battlefield for up to 6 players, making it the ideal choice for weekend gaming marathons, holiday parties, or competitive team-based hobby nights throughout the year.
- FOR CLAN LEADERS & TACTICIANS: A must-have expansion for Clash of Clans fans and strategy gamers looking to bring the mobile game's iconic social competition to the tabletop; perfect for home play or local gaming clubs.
World of Warcraft: multiple difficulty and access formats
Blizzard’s The War Within content update notes list three raid formats: Mythic raid, Raid Finder wings, and Story Mode. That gives you several ways into the same content, from a lower-pressure queue option to the hardest difficulty. (Blizzard’s The War Within content update notes)
These notes belong to one expansion update. They do not describe the full current raid catalog, and they do not compare WoW’s raids with the other three games. Check the current expansion’s patch notes for what is available now.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Quick Recap
Best Value
- VIKING ADVENTURE: Command a Viking tribe in a quest for wealth, glory, and prosperity.
- MULTIPLE ACTIVITIES: Engage in trading, hunting, raiding, and building houses in this epic strategy game.
- FEAST IN ODIN'S NAME: Celebrate with a feast every round as you make your mark on history.
- DIVERSE ACTIONS: Enjoy a wide variety of actions and occupation cards for endless replayability.
- 2-PLAYER OPTION: Now includes an alternate game board for 2 players and bonus content from mini-expansions.
Access and currency checks before you commit
- Expansion or key ownership: In Destiny 2, confirm which expansion or Dungeon Key unlocks each raid you want.
- Live versus announced: In Guild Wars 2, check whether the unified raid mode and Quickplay are live before you plan around them.
- Service status: In Destiny 2, expect no new planned live-service content after June 9, 2026.
- Version dates: For WoW and FFXIV, check the patch or content page for the current expansion, since the cited pages are tied to specific content releases.
- Subscription terms: Verify pricing and subscription requirements on each publisher’s site, since the cited sources do not establish them.
Choosing by the kind of group you want
- Small, coordinated squad with a shooter feel: Destiny 2 fits a regular fireteam of up to six, provided you own the raids you want.
- Ten-player team with hands-on mechanics: Guild Wars 2 suits groups who enjoy learning positioning and dodging in an instanced encounter.
- MMO raiding with a choice of structures: Final Fantasy XIV offers distinct raid series, so you can pick the format that suits your group.
- Graduated difficulty and queue options: World of Warcraft lists Mythic, Raid Finder, and Story Mode, which helps when your group’s skill or schedule varies.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




