October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
VGSources
Blog

GTA 6 Platforms and System Requirements: What to Check Before Buying a Console (2026)

Rockstar currently lists GTA 6 for PS5 and Xbox Series X|S, with a stated November 19, 2026 release. No official PC requirements or neutral console performance comparison is available, so check the exact model, edition, price and account region before buying.
Length12 min Posted Quest giverVGSources Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Grand Theft Auto VI is currently listed for PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S, with an announced release date of November 19, 2026. Rockstar has not published PC system requirements in the official material currently available, so there is no reliable CPU, graphics-card, memory or storage specification to use for a PC purchase.

If you are buying hardware specifically for the game, start by confirming the exact console family on the current Rockstar Games listing. Then check the edition, account region, retailer country and current store terms. The official pages do not establish a frame-rate target, resolution target, storage requirement or independent performance winner between PlayStation and Xbox.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

At a glance: the facts that affect a purchase

Question What official pages establish What they do not establish
Which consoles are listed? PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S are the currently listed console families on Rockstar’s official game page. They do not provide model-level performance requirements or confirm support for other generations.
When is the stated launch? November 19, 2026, announced by PlayStation, Xbox and Take-Two Interactive. A date can change; check the live store and publisher pages before paying.
Are PC requirements available? No official PC CPU, GPU, RAM or storage requirements were established. Any detailed PC hardware list circulating without an official source is speculation.
What does “plays best on PS5” mean? It is PlayStation’s own positioning for PS5 features and the single-player experience. It is not a neutral benchmark and gives no frame-rate or resolution comparison with Xbox.
What is the announced price? Take-Two’s pre-order announcement lists $79.99. That figure is not a guaranteed price for every country, edition, tax treatment or later store listing.
Is there a boxed disc? Rockstar Support says the physical version contains a download code for the digital download. Do not assume a traditional game disc or that a code can be activated in every account region.

The most dependable buying rule is therefore simple: choose a currently supported console family, not a rumored PC specification or an unverified performance claim.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which platforms are officially supported?

PlayStation 5

Rockstar’s official Grand Theft Auto VI page lists PlayStation 5. That is the evidence needed to identify the current PlayStation platform, but it does not distinguish between storage configurations or provide a separate minimum and recommended model. Before ordering, open the current PlayStation store listing in your country and verify the exact console and edition shown there.

#1 Best Overall
PlayStation®5 Digital Edition (slim)
  • Model Number CFI-2000
  • Includes DualSense Wireless Controller, 1TB SSD, 2 Horizontal Stand Feet, HDMI Cable, AC power cord, USB cable, printed materials, ASTRO’s PLAYROOM (Pre-installed game)
  • Vertical Stand sold seperately

Xbox Series X and Xbox Series S

The same Rockstar listing names Xbox Series X|S, and the official Xbox page lists the game for that family. The notation includes both Series X and Series S. The available sources do not state a separate feature set, resolution, frame rate or storage requirement for either model, so do not infer that one is excluded or that the two deliver identical output.

What is not listed

The reviewed official listing does not name PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC or Nintendo Switch. That is a statement about the platforms currently shown, not proof that a future edition on an unlisted system is impossible. It does mean you should not buy an older console on the expectation that a version will arrive unless Rockstar later adds it to the official listing.

PC system requirements: what is known and what is not

No official PC system requirements were established. There is no publisher specification for processor generation, graphics card, system memory, operating-system version, DirectX feature level or free storage. Console confirmation cannot be converted into a trustworthy PC parts list because a console’s fixed hardware and software environment is not a one-to-one equivalent of a Windows configuration.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For that reason, avoid buying a PC based on posts that present precise minimum or recommended components without a Rockstar announcement. A sensible PC buyer can monitor the official game page and Rockstar’s later support or store information, but should wait for an actual requirements table before treating any specification as a purchasing threshold. The absence of requirements is not evidence that the game will run on a particular existing computer.

Release date and price: how to interpret the announcements

November 19, 2026

PlayStation’s announcement, the Xbox listing and Take-Two’s investor announcement all state November 19, 2026. PlayStation’s dated post is available here; the Xbox page is here; and Take-Two’s announcement is here. Because release schedules and store pages can change, verify the date again when you place an order rather than relying on an old screenshot or retailer description.

$79.99 is an announced figure, not a universal checkout total

Take-Two’s pre-order announcement lists a price of $79.99. The announcement does not make that amount a worldwide guarantee for every edition. Currency conversion, regional pricing, sales tax, retailer policies and later edition changes can produce a different total. Use the live store for your account country to see the amount you will actually pay, and check whether the listing is for the standard edition or another package.

PS5 or Xbox Series X|S: a buyer-specific decision

The official sources establish availability on both console families, but they do not provide an independent technical comparison. PlayStation’s blog says, “Grand Theft Auto VI will play best on PS5 by taking advantage of PS5’s immersive features to deliver a deeply engaging single-player experience when it launches on November 19.” That is PlayStation’s platform-holder claim, not a laboratory comparison with Xbox, and it does not specify resolution, frame rate or image-quality settings.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Sony PlayStation 5 PS5 Disc Version Gaming Console, 4K Blu-ray Player, 16GB GDDR6 Memory, Ultra-High Speed 825GB SSD, WiFi 6, Bluetooth 5.1, 120Hz 8K Output
  • CPU: x86-64-AMD Ryzen Zen 8 Cores / 16 Threads at 3.5GHz.GPU: AMD Radeon RDNA 2-based graphics engine.
  • 16GB GDDR6/256-bit Memory; 825GB SSD Storage Capacity
  • Ethernet (10BASE-T, 100BASE-TX, 1000BASE-T), IEEE 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax, Bluetooth 5.1
  • HDR technology, 8K output, 4K TV gaming, Up to 120 fps with 120Hz output, Tempest 3D AudioTech
  • What's Included: Sony PlayStation 5 Disc Version; Wireless controller; USB cable, HDMI cable, AC power cord. Nogtox PVT HDMI_cable

If you already own one of the listed consoles

Keeping the console you already own is usually the least risky choice, provided the current listing still names its family and the console has enough practical capacity for the download. You avoid buying duplicate hardware, moving your account and learning a second store’s policies. Confirm the exact edition and account region before pre-ordering; ownership of a console does not by itself guarantee that a code bought in another country will activate.

If you are starting from scratch

Use factors the sources do establish as buyer-controlled rather than inventing a performance ranking:

  • Existing ecosystem: Choose the platform where your account, friends, accessories and subscriptions already live.
  • Local price and availability: Compare the actual console price, game price and tax in your country, not a US announcement figure.
  • Model and stock: Confirm whether the retailer is selling PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X or Xbox Series S, and read the exact listing rather than a generic family name.
  • Store region: Make sure the account country, retailer country and redemption terms line up.
  • Feature preference: Treat PlayStation’s immersive-feature statement as a reason to prefer its ecosystem if those features matter to you, not as proof of higher frame rate or resolution.

What you cannot decide from the current evidence

You cannot responsibly choose on the basis of an official frame-rate target, resolution target, loading-time result, graphics setting, storage number or measured console advantage because none is supplied in the reviewed pages. Anyone promising a precise advantage should identify a later official specification or a reproducible independent test; the current announcements alone do not support it.

Physical and digital editions: the code-in-box issue

Rockstar Support’s page on Grand Theft Auto VI platforms, editions and versions says the physical version will contain a download code usable for the digital download. In practical terms, a box on a shelf should not be treated as proof that a playable disc is inside. You will need the relevant platform account and an internet connection capable of downloading the game.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Rockstar also recommends buying and playing from a retailer in the country of the platform account to avoid potential activation problems. Platform and country can affect how a digital code works. A discounted imported box may therefore cost more time—or fail to redeem—if its code was issued for a different market.

Before ordering a boxed version

  1. Read the product description for the exact console family and edition.
  2. Look for wording that identifies a download code rather than assuming the package includes a disc.
  3. Confirm the retailer’s country and compare it with the country set on your PlayStation Network or Xbox account.
  4. Check the platform’s redemption and regional-activation terms before payment.
  5. Keep the receipt and packaging until the code has redeemed successfully and the download appears in your library.

If a code will not activate

Do not repeatedly purchase replacement codes before checking the account region. First compare the code’s market, the account country and the console platform shown on the package. Contact the retailer for a region-correct replacement or refund if those details do not match, and use Rockstar’s support guidance for the edition you bought. A code problem is different from a download-speed problem; changing network settings will not make a region-locked code valid.

A pre-purchase checklist for a console bought specifically for GTA 6

  1. Open the live official listing. Confirm that the platform family is still PlayStation 5 or Xbox Series X|S on Rockstar’s page.
  2. Identify the exact console model. Save the retailer’s model name and storage configuration. The reviewed announcements do not provide model-level requirements, so avoid a listing that leaves the hardware ambiguous.
  3. Check the store country. The console account’s country should match the retailer country where possible, particularly for a boxed download code.
  4. Verify the edition and delivery type. Determine whether you are buying a direct digital entitlement or a physical package containing a code.
  5. Recheck timing. Confirm that the store still shows November 19, 2026 and note any stated pre-load or access conditions without assuming they are permanent.
  6. Check the total cost. Compare the local checkout amount with the $79.99 figure announced by Take-Two, remembering that the announcement figure may not apply to your country or edition.
  7. Plan the download. Ensure the console can connect to the internet and that you can free space if the final store listing states a storage requirement. No official storage number is currently available, so do not reserve a guessed amount as if it were a specification.
  8. Keep proof of purchase. Retain the receipt, code and account information until activation and installation are complete.

Common buying mistakes and how to avoid them

Mistake: treating an unlisted older console as a safe bet

The current official pages do not name PlayStation 4 or Xbox One. Buying one because it is cheaper, while assuming a later port, is a gamble rather than a confirmed compatibility decision. Wait for an official addition to the platform list if an older-generation version matters to you.

Rank #3
Playstation 5 Digital Edition PS5 Gaming (Disc Free) Console (Renewed)
  • 🚀 CPU: 3.5GHz, 8-core AMD Zen 2
  • 🚀 Storage: Custom 825GB SSD
  • 🚀 RAM: 16GB GDDR6
  • 🚀 GPU: 10.3 teraflop RDNA 2 GPU

Mistake: using leaked PC specifications as a shopping list

Without an official requirements table, a claimed processor or graphics-card minimum has no established authority. Do not spend on a PC upgrade solely to meet an unofficial list. The correct checkpoint is a future Rockstar specification that identifies the operating system, processor, graphics, memory and storage requirements.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Mistake: reading “plays best” as a benchmark

PlayStation’s wording describes how the game will use PS5 immersive features. It does not report comparative testing. Select PS5 for those ecosystem and feature reasons, or select Xbox for your own account and purchasing reasons; do not cite the sentence as proof of a numerical performance lead.

Mistake: assuming a physical box contains a disc

Rockstar specifically describes a download code. Check the package language and have a suitable account and internet connection ready before opening it. If you need a disc for offline installation or resale, the current support statement does not establish that the box provides one.

Mistake: ignoring regional activation

An imported code can be incompatible with the country of your platform account. Matching retailer and account countries, as Rockstar recommends, is the simplest way to reduce that risk. If the regions differ, confirm the platform’s current terms and the seller’s refund policy before purchasing.

Extra checks that can change your decision

Do not treat the family label as a complete specification

“PS5” and “Xbox Series X|S” identify the supported families, not a guaranteed list of every revision, storage tier or bundle. Retail listings can use broad family language while selling different hardware packages. Record the exact model number, included storage and delivery format shown at checkout. If the listing is vague, ask the seller to clarify compatibility before paying.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Separate hardware cost from game cost

A console purchase and the game’s price are separate decisions. The $79.99 amount named by Take-Two is a reference from its announcement, not a promise that your local checkout will show that number. Add local tax, delivery, a possible storage expansion and any accessory you actually need. Compare complete totals for both platforms rather than comparing a US game price with a local console price.

Plan for a code-based installation

Because Rockstar describes the boxed release as a download code, the useful preparation is an active platform account, a matching country setting and sufficient network access. Keep the code private until redemption, retain the receipt, and avoid discarding packaging immediately. If the code fails, document the error and contact the seller before buying another copy.

Rank #4
Sony Playstation 5 Disc Version PS5 Console - 4K-TV Gaming, 120Hz 8K Output, 16GB GDDR6, 825GB SSD, WiFi 6, Bluetooth 5.1 (Renewed) White
  • Enjoy smooth and fluid high frame rate gameplay at up to 120 fps for compatible games, with support for 120Hz output on 4K displays.
  • PS5 consoles support an 8K output, so you can play games on your 4320p resolution display.
  • Maximize your play sessions with near-instant load times for installed PS5 games.
  • 825GB SSD allows ultra-fast load times, while 3-D audio output produces crisp acoustics.
  • Explore uncharted virtual territories and slay dragons with this sleek Sony PlayStation 5 gaming console.

Know what remains undecided

The current official material does not state free-space requirements, frame-rate modes, resolution modes, installation size, pre-load timing or a PC launch specification. Those omissions are important purchasing limits. Leave room in your budget and schedule for a later official update, but do not convert an estimate from a forum or retailer into a requirement.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What to monitor as launch approaches

Official store pages are the place to check for changes to the date, editions, regional prices and activation language. Revisit the Rockstar listing, the relevant PlayStation or Xbox store and Rockstar Support before final payment. Pay particular attention to any newly published information about console models, required free space, installation method, online account requirements or a PC release. None of those details should be filled in from rumor while the official pages remain silent.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For a buyer who needs a decision today, the evidence supports two straightforward paths: use an existing PlayStation 5 or Xbox Series X|S, or buy one of those currently listed families after checking local price, account region and the exact edition. There is not enough official information to justify a PC hardware purchase or a claim that one supported console is technically superior.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is GTA 6 coming to PS5 and Xbox Series S?

Rockstar currently lists PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. That family notation includes Xbox Series S. The official pages do not publish separate frame-rate, resolution or storage specifications for Series X and Series S, so confirm the live store listing for the exact model you plan to buy.

Is GTA 6 confirmed for PC?

No official PC release or PC system-requirements table was established in the pages reviewed. Do not buy a processor, graphics card or memory kit based on leaked lists. Wait for Rockstar to publish an actual PC platform announcement and requirements before treating a computer upgrade as necessary.

What date is GTA 6 scheduled to launch?

PlayStation, Xbox and Take-Two Interactive state November 19, 2026. Release schedules can change, so check the live Rockstar, PlayStation or Xbox listing again when you order and do not rely on an old retailer screenshot.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Does the GTA 6 physical edition include a disc?

Rockstar Support says the physical version contains a download code usable for the digital download. Treat a box as code-in-box unless the current product description clearly says otherwise, and make sure you have the matching platform account and internet access for the download.

Best Value
PlayStation®5 Digital Edition – 825GB
  • Slim Design, players get powerful gaming technology packed inside a sleek and compact console design.
  • 825GB of storage, keep your favorite games raeady and waiting for you to jump in and play
  • Ultra-High Speed SSD, maximize yoru play sessions with near instant load times for installed PS5 games
  • Integrated I/O, the custom integration of the PS5 console's systems lets creators pull datat from the SSD so quickly that they can design games in ways never before possible
  • Ray Tracing, immerse yourself in owrlds with a new level of realism as rays of light are individually simulated, creating true-to-life shadows and reflections in supported PS5 games

Can I buy an imported GTA 6 code?

Rockstar recommends buying and playing from a retailer in the country of your platform account because country and platform can affect activation. An imported code may not redeem. Compare the retailer country, account country and platform terms before purchase, and keep the receipt until activation succeeds.

Is PS5 technically better than Xbox for GTA 6?

PlayStation says the game will “play best on PS5” by using PS5 immersive features. That is PlayStation’s own positioning, not an independent benchmark. No official comparison of frame rate, resolution, loading time or image quality establishes a numerical advantage over Xbox.

How much will GTA 6 cost?

Take-Two’s pre-order announcement lists $79.99. That is not a guaranteed worldwide checkout price. Regional currency, taxes, retailer policies, edition differences and later store updates can change the total, so check the store tied to your account country.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How much storage does GTA 6 require?

No official storage requirement was established in the reviewed pages. Do not reserve a guessed number as a specification. Check the final PlayStation or Xbox store listing for free-space information and ensure the console can download and install the game.

Should I buy a PS5 or Xbox Series console just for GTA 6?

Both families are currently listed. Base the choice on the ecosystem you already use, local console and game pricing, stock, account region and the precise model offered. If you own one listed family already, keeping it is generally the simplest path; the announcements do not justify a performance-based ranking.

The Bottom Line

Bottom line: GTA 6 is currently listed for PS5 and Xbox Series X|S, with November 19, 2026 announced as the launch date. No official PC requirements, storage figure or neutral console benchmark has been published. Before buying, verify the exact model, local price, edition, retailer country and account region. Remember that the boxed version is described as a download code, and treat PlayStation’s “plays best” wording as a platform claim rather than measured proof that PS5 outperforms Xbox.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 1
PlayStation®5 Digital Edition (slim)
PlayStation®5 Digital Edition (slim)
Model Number CFI-2000; Vertical Stand sold seperately
$589.00
Bestseller No. 2
Sony PlayStation 5 PS5 Disc Version Gaming Console, 4K Blu-ray Player, 16GB GDDR6 Memory, Ultra-High Speed 825GB SSD, WiFi 6, Bluetooth 5.1, 120Hz 8K Output
Sony PlayStation 5 PS5 Disc Version Gaming Console, 4K Blu-ray Player, 16GB GDDR6 Memory, Ultra-High Speed 825GB SSD, WiFi 6, Bluetooth 5.1, 120Hz 8K Output
16GB GDDR6/256-bit Memory; 825GB SSD Storage Capacity; Ethernet (10BASE-T, 100BASE-TX, 1000BASE-T), IEEE 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax, Bluetooth 5.1
Bestseller No. 3
Playstation 5 Digital Edition PS5 Gaming (Disc Free) Console (Renewed)
Playstation 5 Digital Edition PS5 Gaming (Disc Free) Console (Renewed)
🚀 CPU: 3.5GHz, 8-core AMD Zen 2; 🚀 Storage: Custom 825GB SSD; 🚀 RAM: 16GB GDDR6; 🚀 GPU: 10.3 teraflop RDNA 2 GPU
Bestseller No. 4
Sony Playstation 5 Disc Version PS5 Console - 4K-TV Gaming, 120Hz 8K Output, 16GB GDDR6, 825GB SSD, WiFi 6, Bluetooth 5.1 (Renewed) White
Sony Playstation 5 Disc Version PS5 Console - 4K-TV Gaming, 120Hz 8K Output, 16GB GDDR6, 825GB SSD, WiFi 6, Bluetooth 5.1 (Renewed) White
PS5 consoles support an 8K output, so you can play games on your 4320p resolution display.
Bestseller No. 5
PlayStation®5 Digital Edition – 825GB
PlayStation®5 Digital Edition – 825GB
825GB of storage, keep your favorite games raeady and waiting for you to jump in and play

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More quests from Patch Notes

  1. How to Set Up a RedM (RDR2) Server in 2026: License Key, txAdmin and server.cfg, Step by StepBlog11min
  2. Best RedM (RDR2) Server Hosting in 2026: Comparing Four Hosts on Slots, Memory and PriceBlog10min
  3. How to Host a Mindustry Server in 2026: server-release.jar, Port 6567 and the Commands That MatterBlog7min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.