Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
VGSources
Blog

GTA 6 vs GTA 5: What to Compare Before You Upgrade

GTA VI launches November 19, 2026 on PS5 and Xbox Series X|S. Here is how its setting, price, editions, physical format and unanswered PC, online and progression questions compare with GTA V.
Length11 min Posted Quest giverVGSources Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Short answer: GTA VI is scheduled for November 19, 2026, on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. If you already own one of those consoles and want a new single-player story in Vice City and the wider state of Leonida, GTA VI is the meaningful upgrade. If you play on PC, need to stay within a current-generation console budget, or mainly value GTA V’s established ecosystem, there is no confirmed reason to replace GTA V yet. A PC version, GTA V progression transfer, GTA VI Online details and performance targets have not been officially confirmed in the launch materials available as of October 15, 2026.

The decision in one minute

GTA VI is not simply a newer copy of GTA V. The confirmed change is a new single-player adventure, new protagonists and a new setting. The practical decision is whether that experience justifies buying or already owning the required hardware and paying the launch price.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

If you are in this situation Most sensible choice Why
You own a PS5 or Xbox Series X|S and want a new Rockstar crime story Plan for GTA VI Standard Edition It is the least expensive confirmed way to access the new game and its Vice City/Leonida campaign.
You own a current-generation console and specifically want the listed premium content Consider Ultimate Edition Take-Two lists a $20 higher price, while Rockstar identifies additional vehicles, weapons, apparel and story-linked content.
You play on PC Wait for an official PC announcement The cited launch announcements list only PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S, with no PC release date.
You mainly play GTA V and its established ecosystem Keep GTA V until GTA VI features answer your priorities GTA V remains available and commercially active, while GTA VI Online and progression transfer are unconfirmed.
You would need to buy a console solely for GTA VI Wait for a complete hardware-and-game budget The game price is known, but console cost, storage needs and performance targets are not established by the cited materials.

What GTA VI has actually been confirmed to be

Release date and launch platforms

Take-Two Interactive’s June 24, 2026 release schedules GTA VI for November 19, 2026. The listed launch systems are PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. Rockstar’s support material for pre-orders lists the same platforms. Those are the confirmed launch options; they should not be treated as evidence that a PC edition is arriving on the same day.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Take-Two describes the game as “Launching November 19, 2026, for the PlayStation® 5 computer entertainment systems and Xbox Series X|S games and entertainment systems for $79.99, Grand Theft Auto VI features a single-player experience set in the biggest, most immersive evolution of the series yet.” That statement establishes the date, the platforms, the Standard Edition price and the single-player focus, but it does not establish every technical feature or an online launch plan.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Setting and protagonists

The confirmed story takes place in Vice City and the state of Leonida. The central protagonists are Jason and Lucia. For someone deciding whether to upgrade from GTA V, this is the clearest experiential difference: GTA VI offers a new campaign world and a new pair of leads rather than another version of Los Santos and its existing cast.

The announcement calls GTA VI a single-player experience. It does not provide a launch date or feature list for GTA VI Online in the material used for this comparison. Treat online functionality as an open question rather than as a guaranteed reason to preorder.

What GTA V still offers

A large existing player base

GTA V has an unusually established audience. Take-Two reported over 190 million units sold in a December 4, 2023 announcement. That figure is a company-reported lifetime sales milestone at that date, not a forecast for GTA VI and not a measure of current monthly activity. It does, however, explain why GTA V remains a familiar baseline for players, friends and content creators.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

GTA V’s maturity can be an advantage if you want a known game with a settled community and years of available guides and discussion. It can also be a disadvantage if your priority is discovering a new map, new characters and a campaign that has not already been extensively documented.

GTA+ access and the transition question

Take-Two’s GTA VI pre-order announcement says digital pre-orders include one free month of GTA+. The same announcement says GTA+ provides access to GTA V and other classic Rockstar titles through its Games Library. This describes an included subscription benefit for eligible digital pre-orders; it does not say that GTA V ownership, saves or online assets transfer into GTA VI.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

No cited official material confirms GTA V story saves, GTA Online characters, currency, vehicles, properties, achievements or other progression will carry over. Do not buy GTA VI on the assumption that an existing account will reproduce your GTA V progress.

Hardware: the first upgrade test

If you already own a PS5 or Xbox Series X|S

You meet the confirmed platform requirement for launch. That does not guarantee a particular resolution, frame rate, graphics mode or storage requirement, because the cited announcements do not state performance targets. Check the final store listing and system requirements when they are published, especially if your console has limited free storage.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Owning compatible hardware removes the largest financial barrier. Your remaining decision is primarily about timing, price and whether the Vice City/Leonida campaign is more valuable to you than continuing with GTA V.

If you have an older console

The launch listings name PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S only. They do not list PlayStation 4, Xbox One or other older hardware. Unless Rockstar adds a platform, an older-console owner should not assume a backward-compatible GTA VI version exists. The realistic choices are to keep playing GTA V, wait for a later platform announcement or budget for a supported console.

If you play on PC

No PC SKU or PC release date appears in the cited official launch materials. Rumors, retailer placeholders and speculation cannot substitute for an announcement. If you are deciding whether to buy GTA V again, upgrade a graphics card or purchase a console solely for GTA VI, wait until Rockstar or Take-Two publishes PC information that answers the question for your region and preferred storefront.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Price and edition comparison

Edition Listed price What is established Best fit
Standard Edition $79.99 Base GTA VI release on the confirmed launch platforms. Players who want the campaign without paying for the premium package.
Ultimate Edition $99.99 Rockstar identifies extra vehicles, weapons, apparel and story-linked content. Players who already know they value the listed additions.
Ultimate Edition Upgrade Price not stated in the cited materials Rockstar says Standard owners can buy the upgrade separately through the PlayStation or Microsoft storefront after redeeming the game code. Players who prefer to start with Standard and decide later.

These are the prices listed by Take-Two for the United States-dollar comparison. They are not a promise that every country will use a direct currency conversion or the same tax treatment. Verify the price shown by your local PlayStation or Microsoft storefront before paying.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Is Ultimate worth the extra $20?

The confirmed price difference is $20. The relevant question is whether the listed extra vehicles, weapons, apparel and story-linked content matter to you. The available announcement does not provide a complete item-by-item valuation, resale value or competitive advantage analysis. If you are uncertain, Standard is the lower-risk purchase because Rockstar says it can be upgraded digitally later after the code is redeemed.

Buying Standard first may be especially sensible for players who are unsure about GTA VI Online, because the launch materials do not yet establish that mode’s availability or features. An upgrade decision can wait for more information, while the initial campaign remains available.

Physical versus digital: an easy detail to miss

The physical package contains a download code

Rockstar says the physical GTA VI package contains a download code and no disc. “Physical” therefore describes the retail package, not an installable optical disc. You need an internet connection, a compatible account and enough storage to download the game.

Before importing a package or buying from a different country, check the redemption region and account requirements. A code intended for another storefront region may not redeem on your account. The seller’s listing should identify the platform, region and edition; if it does not, ask before purchase.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Preload timing

Digital pre-orders can preload starting November 12, 2026. Rockstar also says physical code packages are intended to support preload from that date. Preloading is not early access: it prepares files before the November 19 launch and does not change the release date.

A preload still requires free storage and a functioning account. If your console is nearly full, clear space before November 12 rather than waiting until launch day. The cited material does not state the download size, so do not plan storage around an unverified number.

Experience comparison: what changes and what does not

Comparison point GTA V GTA VI
Primary setting Established GTA V world and ecosystem. Vice City and the state of Leonida.
Named protagonists in the official description Existing GTA V cast. Jason and Lucia.
Launch story information Mature, widely documented campaign. Confirmed single-player experience; detailed campaign systems remain to be confirmed.
Online information in the cited launch material Existing GTA V ecosystem and GTA+ access. GTA VI Online launch timing and features not confirmed.
Supported launch hardware Available across its established release ecosystem. PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S listed for November 19, 2026.

This table is intentionally conservative. It separates what is known from what players may expect because assumptions about map size, online systems, graphics modes or progression links can turn into expensive mistakes.

Choose GTA VI for a new campaign identity

The strongest case for upgrading is not a specification number; it is the desire to play Jason and Lucia in Vice City and Leonida. If a new setting and new protagonists are the features you have been waiting for, GTA V cannot provide that experience regardless of how much additional time you spend in its existing world.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Stay with GTA V for continuity

GTA V is the safer choice when your priority is continuity with the game you already own. You know its content, your friends may already be active there, and Take-Two continues to describe GTA V as part of GTA+’s Games Library. That does not make GTA V a substitute for GTA VI’s new campaign; it makes it a lower-uncertainty option while unanswered GTA VI details develop.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Progression, accounts and online expectations

What has not been promised

  • No official confirmation that GTA V story saves transfer to GTA VI.
  • No official confirmation that GTA Online characters, money, vehicles, properties, ranks or achievements transfer.
  • No confirmed GTA VI Online launch date, mode list or feature set in the cited materials.
  • No confirmed PC version or PC release schedule.
  • No published performance targets such as resolution or frame rate in the cited launch information.

These are not minor footnotes. They affect whether you should buy at launch, choose Ultimate, purchase a console or keep investing time in GTA V. Until an official update answers them, treat both games as separate products.

A practical upgrade framework

Buy at launch if all four conditions fit

  1. You own, or will legitimately have access to, a PlayStation 5 or Xbox Series X|S.
  2. You are comfortable paying $79.99 for Standard or $99.99 for Ultimate before local taxes and storefront adjustments.
  3. You want the confirmed Jason-and-Lucia story in Vice City and Leonida, rather than only a continuation of GTA V’s existing ecosystem.
  4. You accept that PC timing, progression transfer, GTA VI Online and performance targets remain unconfirmed.

Wait if any of these conditions describe you

  • You are a PC-only player and a console purchase would be made solely on rumor.
  • You need GTA V progress or online assets to transfer before the purchase makes sense.
  • You are deciding between Standard and Ultimate only because you expect online benefits that have not been announced.
  • You need exact storage, resolution or frame-rate information to plan your setup.
  • You are importing a physical code and cannot verify the redemption region.

Launch-day buying checklist

  1. Confirm the platform: Select PlayStation 5 or Xbox Series X|S; do not assume an older-console or PC edition.
  2. Confirm the region: For a physical package, verify that the download code matches your account’s storefront region.
  3. Choose the edition: Select Standard at $79.99 or Ultimate at $99.99 based on the listed content, not unconfirmed online advantages.
  4. Check the seller: Make sure the listing identifies the correct platform, edition and November 19, 2026 release date.
  5. Prepare storage: Free enough space for an unknown final download size before the November 12 preload window.
  6. Review account access: Confirm you can sign in to the relevant PlayStation or Microsoft account and redeem a code.
  7. Recheck volatile details: Prices, bonuses, preload terms and GTA+ benefits can change; read the current storefront description immediately before purchase.

Common upgrade mistakes

Assuming GTA VI is a PC launch

The official launch listings used here name two console families only. A retailer page or social-media claim is not a platform announcement. PC players should wait for a dated, official listing before buying hardware or software around that expectation.

Buying Ultimate for features that are not listed

Ultimate is documented as including extra vehicles, weapons, apparel and story-linked content. The announcement does not establish that it includes GTA VI Online access, a progression boost or a particular performance mode. Buy it for the listed additions, not for an invented benefit.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Expecting an automatic GTA V migration

GTA V’s sales success and GTA+ availability do not imply save compatibility. Keep your GTA V account and progress because you want to continue using them, not because they have been promised in GTA VI.

Confusing preload with early play

November 12 is the stated preload start date. November 19 remains the launch date. Installing files early does not authorize play before launch.

Bottom-line recommendation by player type

Player type Recommendation
Current-generation console owner who wants the new story GTA VI Standard is the logical starting point; consider Ultimate only for its listed additions.
GTA V-focused player satisfied with the existing ecosystem Keep GTA V and reassess when GTA VI Online and progression information are official.
PC-only player Wait for an official PC platform and date announcement.
Older-console owner Do not assume compatibility; wait or budget for a confirmed supported system.
Collector or importer Check carefully: the physical package is a download code without a disc, and region redemption matters.

For most eligible console owners, the upgrade question is therefore straightforward: pay for a new single-player world now, or keep the established GTA V ecosystem until the missing online, progression and PC details are resolved. GTA VI’s confirmed launch date is November 19, 2026, and its confirmed platforms are PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S; every other part of the decision should be based on what Rockstar and Take-Two have actually announced, not on assumptions.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More quests from Patch Notes

  1. How to Set Up a RedM (RDR2) Server in 2026: License Key, txAdmin and server.cfg, Step by StepBlog11min
  2. Best RedM (RDR2) Server Hosting in 2026: Comparing Four Hosts on Slots, Memory and PriceBlog10min
  3. How to Host a Mindustry Server in 2026: server-release.jar, Port 6567 and the Commands That MatterBlog7min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.