Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →There was no single size limit for every NES game. A basic NROM cartridge holds 16 or 32 KiB of PRG-ROM and 8 KiB of CHR capacity; more advanced cartridge boards use mapper hardware to switch banks, letting a game store much more than the console can map at once. The practical limit depends on the specific board and mapper implementation—not just on the NES or the ROM file format.
What does “game size” mean on the NES?
NES cartridges commonly divide ROM into two components. PRG-ROM contains program code and related data read by the CPU. CHR-ROM supplies pattern graphics to the PPU. These are separate capacities, so a meaningful size comparison should give both figures rather than treating them as one undifferentiated number.
There is also a difference between all the ROM stored on a cartridge and the portion the console can access at one instant. The NES has limited cartridge address windows. A mapper can switch different banks of ROM into those windows as the game runs, so a cartridge can hold more data than is simultaneously mapped. NESdev’s mapper overview describes this bank-switching role.
How much fits on a basic NROM cartridge?
NROM is the straightforward baseline: it has 16 or 32 KiB of PRG-ROM and 8 KiB of CHR capacity, with no bank switching. Its program is mapped into the NES CPU’s cartridge address region. That makes the often-quoted 40 KiB total (32 KiB PRG plus 8 KiB CHR) a useful description of the larger NROM configuration, not a maximum for all NES cartridges. NESdev’s NROM documentation and its NROM programming guide cover the arrangement.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →How mapper hardware lets games grow
More complex cartridges use mapper circuitry to select banks of PRG-ROM, CHR-ROM, or both. The console still sees only the memory banks placed in its address windows, but the cartridge can contain additional banks that become available when the game switches them. This is why adding the PRG and CHR figures describes stored ROM, not necessarily memory mapped at once.
A mapper number alone does not establish a board’s maximum. The chip and board implementation matter: NESdev notes that MMC3 hardware has an actual PRG-ROM limit of 512 KiB, while mapper 4’s theoretical support is 2048 KiB. A theoretical mapper capability should not be mistaken for the capacity of every cartridge using that mapper. See NESdev’s oversize-ROM notes.
How large were documented NES game ROMs?
Documented examples show how far cartridges could exceed NROM. The figures below are ROM component sizes, not claims about how much memory was mapped into the NES at a single moment.
Rank #2
- Forever' Duo games of NES 852 in 1 (405+447) game Cartridge for NES Console
- Features The Best of Mapper 1,2,3,7,9,10,11,40,60, and 163 Games
- Includes 852 Games Using a 1024Mbit Flash Chip
- Supports a Battery save features
- All games are in English
| Game or configuration | PRG-ROM | CHR-ROM | Combined ROM | Context |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NROM, larger documented configuration | 32 KiB | 8 KiB capacity | 40 KiB | Basic cartridge arrangement without bank switching; NESdev Wiki, publication date not stated, checked 2026. |
| Dragon Warrior IV | 1 MiB | Not stated in the NESdev Archive FAQ | Not stated | Reported cartridge configuration; FAQ original publication date not stated, checked 2026. |
| Metal Slader Glory | 512 KiB | 512 KiB | 1 MiB | Reported cartridge configuration; FAQ original publication date not stated, checked 2026. |
| Action 52 | 1,536 KiB | 512 KiB | 2,048 KiB | Reported by NESdev Wiki; publication date not stated, checked 2026. |
The Dragon Warrior IV and Metal Slader Glory figures are reported in the NESdev Archive FAQ; Action 52 is listed on NESdev’s Myths page. These examples illustrate historical cartridge sizes, but they do not establish a definitive all-era record, particularly for modern homebrew or reproduction hardware.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsDoes NES 2.0 set a maximum cartridge size?
No. NES 2.0 is a ROM-image header format, and its documented linear PRG-ROM size encoding can represent up to 62,898,176 bytes. That is a limit of this size-encoding mode, not proof that a physical cartridge can implement that capacity or that every NES can access it. The mapper and actual cartridge hardware still determine what memory is usable. The distinction is documented in the NES 2.0 specification.
So what is the biggest an NES game could be?
The answer depends on what counts as an NES game and what “biggest” measures. NROM provides a small, fixed baseline; mapper-based historical cartridges reached megabyte-scale totals; and an image format can encode a larger PRG-ROM value than a given cartridge board can use. A precise claim should identify PRG and CHR separately, name the mapper and board when known, and distinguish historical commercial or unlicensed cartridges from modern homebrew and file-format limits. The NESdev CPU memory map explains the console-side address-space context.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




