October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run ScanOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
VGSources
Blog

How Big Is The Witcher 3? Map Scale, Playtime and Install Size

CD PROJEKT RED compares The Witcher 3’s world with The Witcher 2’s, estimates more than 100 hours for the base game, and says Remastered system requirements changed. The old 40 GB PC figure is historical.
Length3 min Posted Quest giverVGSources Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

There is no official square-mile or square-kilometer figure for The Witcher 3’s map. CD PROJEKT RED said in 2013 that its world was 30 times larger than The Witcher 2’s—a comparison, not a measured area. The publisher estimates more than 100 hours for the base game and another 50 for both expansions, but those are guidance, not guaranteed playtimes. For storage, the old 40 GB PC requirement is historical: the Remastered release changed system requirements, and its exact current storage figure depends on platform and edition.

How big is The Witcher 3’s map?

CD PROJEKT RED has not published an official map area in square miles or square kilometers. Its March 1, 2013 pre-release announcement described the open world as “30 times larger” than The Witcher 2’s. Studio head Adam Badowski made that comparison while discussing the game’s varied environments.

That figure does not tell you the map’s absolute area, how much land is traversable, or how the two games’ maps were measured. Treat it as the publisher’s relative comparison at the time, not a modern survey or a conversion into real-world geography. CD PROJEKT RED’s interactive map does not state a numerical area.

How long does The Witcher 3 take to beat?

CD PROJEKT RED’s published figures are estimates, and the scope matters: the base game and its expansions are counted separately in the publisher’s later guidance.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt Complete Edition - Xbox Series X
  • Trained from early childhood and mutated to gain superhuman skills, strength, and reflexes, witchers are a counterbalance to the monster-infested world in which they live.
  • Built for endless adventure, the massive open world of The Witcher sets new standards in terms of size, depth, and complexity.
  • Take on the most important contract of your life: to track down the child of prophecy, the key to saving or destroying this world.
Scope Publisher’s estimate Context
Main narrative Around 50 hours CD PROJEKT RED’s March 2013 pre-release estimate for one playthrough.
Additional stories Another 50 hours The same 2013 announcement described these as additional content, bringing its overall estimate to around 100 hours. It noted that some storylines exclude one another in a single playthrough.
Base game Over 100 hours Later official promotional copy; this is not a universal completion-time average.
Hearts of Stone and Blood and Wine together Another 50 hours Later official promotional copy for the two expansions together.

Your own time will vary with how much you explore, which side quests you pursue, and whether you aim to complete optional content. The publisher’s figures do not establish a guaranteed time for finishing every quest or seeing every possible story outcome.

How many GB does The Witcher 3 take up?

There is no single current storage number established here for every platform and edition. CD PROJEKT RED’s September 2026 Remastered announcement says system requirements changed, but the storage amount is not stated in the announcement text. Console installation sizes are likewise not established in the official material cited here.

The exact figure to use is the current storage requirement listed for your platform and edition. Check the relevant official store or platform listing before installing, and distinguish required installed space from a download or update size; those figures are not necessarily the same.

Why the old 40 GB figure is not current advice

CD PROJEKT RED’s January 7, 2015 PC requirements announcement listed 40 GB of HDD space for both minimum and recommended configurations. That is a requirement for the original PC release, not a confirmed Remastered requirement. The September 2026 Remastered announcements say the PC requirements changed, so the older number should not be used to plan a current installation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Witcher 3: Wild Hunt Complete Edition - Xbox One
  • If you buy this game, you will receive a free next-gen update on December 14th!
  • Play as a highly trained monster slayer for hire.
  • Built for endless adventure, the massive open world of The Witcher sets new standards in terms of size, depth and complexity.
  • The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt Game of the Year edition brings together the base game and all the additional content released to date.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Which release and edition are you installing?

The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt — Remastered became available on September 29, 2026. CD PROJEKT RED lists PC, PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, and Nintendo Switch 2 for the current-generation release, and separately lists the prior Nintendo Switch version. Requirements and storage figures should be checked against the specific platform and release you own.

The official game page describes the Complete Edition as including the base game and both expansions. It also says the standalone expansions were delisted and their content merged into the Complete Edition in the storefront change it describes. Storefront products can change, so check your local store to confirm the edition currently offered and what it includes. The Remastered announcement says eligible owners can access the included expansions, while the game page describes a free upgrade for qualifying ownership within the same platform ecosystem.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 2
Bestseller No. 3
Witcher 3: Wild Hunt Complete Edition - Xbox One
Witcher 3: Wild Hunt Complete Edition - Xbox One
If you buy this game, you will receive a free next-gen update on December 14th!; Play as a highly trained monster slayer for hire.
$24.99

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More quests from Patch Notes

  1. How to Turn On Vibrant Visuals in MinecraftMinecraftBlog3min
  2. Best Multiplayer Games for Low-End PCsBlog4min
  3. Minecraft: How To Use And Install OptiFineBlog5min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.