Gears of War: E-Day takes an estimated 11–13 hours to finish if you focus on the story. Allow about 13–15 hours if you also take on major side quests, or 15 hours or more if you are aiming for 100% completion. These are editorial estimates, not guaranteed times: difficulty, exploration, optional tasks, collectibles and your pace all affect the result.
Estimated campaign length by playstyle
GamesRadar’s 2026 estimates, based on a few playthroughs, put the story-focused campaign at 11–13 hours. Adding major side quests raises the estimate to 13–15 hours, while 100% completion is estimated at 15 hours or more. The ranges are useful for planning, but they are not measurements from a standardized test, and an individual run can fall outside them.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Gears of War: E-Day | Standard Edition | XBOX Series X | $69.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Gears of War 2 - Xbox 360 (Renewed) | $18.74 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Gears of War 3 (Renewed) | $14.17 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 |
|
Gears of War: Ultimate Edition - Xbox One (Renewed) | $25.40 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 |
|
Gears of War 4 - Xbox One (Renewed) | $21.99 | Buy on Amazon |
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The practical answer to “How long is Gears of War: E-Day?” therefore depends on what you mean by finishing it. A player who follows the main campaign and moves on can use the 11–13-hour range as a starting point. Someone who makes time for major side quests should allow a couple of additional hours, while a completionist should budget beyond 15 hours. The figures are ranges rather than timers: none promises that every player will finish within the same window.
| Approach | Estimated time | What the estimate covers |
|---|---|---|
| Story-focused | 11–13 hours | GamesRadar’s 2026 estimate for a few playthroughs; focused mainly on the campaign story. |
| Story plus major side quests | 13–15 hours | GamesRadar’s 2026 estimate for a few playthroughs that include major optional content. |
| 100% completion | 15+ hours | GamesRadar’s 2026 completionist estimate; the source does not specify a single standardized checklist or test. |
| Solo on Normal with extensive optional tasks | About 11 hours 40 minutes | All Things How’s 2026 guide estimate for a first solo Normal run, watching every cutscene and doing most optional tasks in open chapters; many collectibles remained unfound. |
The final row is a specific example, not a competing guarantee. Its estimate is close to the lower end of GamesRadar’s story-focused range, despite including substantial optional activity. The runs and methods behind the two editorial estimates are not standardized against each other, so small differences should not be treated as a meaningful contradiction.
#1 Best Overall
- AN ORIGIN STORY BEGINS — Fight alongside Marcus Fenix and Dom Santiago in the gripping origin story of Emergence Day, as the Locust Horde erupts from below.
- A DARKER, GRITTIER THREAT — Face reimagined enemies and a terrifying underground invasion that restores the fear, dread, and intensity at the heart of the Gears of War series.
- MULTIPLAYER EVOLVED — Battle in Horde Siege for large‑scale PvE action or prove your skill in refined Versus PvP with greater precision and competitive depth.
- CLASSIC COMBAT, MODERNIZED — Experience signature cover‑based gameplay enhanced with updated movement, traversal, and controls that feel like Gears while playing like something new.
- CO‑OP YOUR WAY — Play online with up to four players across Campaign, Horde Siege, and Versus, or team up locally with 2‑player split‑screen co‑op on console.
It is also not a clean comparison between a “story only” run and an “all side content” run. The All Things How example includes every cutscene and most optional tasks in open chapters, but leaves many collectibles unfound. Its 11 hours 40 minutes illustrates one described route, not the amount of time required to collect everything. GamesRadar’s 15+ hour figure is the relevant broad estimate for 100% completion, although the report does not define one checklist or a fixed route for that label.
Why two players may finish at very different times
Optional objectives and exploration
Optional content is a substantial part of the time range. All Things How identifies four long open chapters containing optional objectives and collectibles; its guide reports a combined run time of 4 hours 33 minutes for those chapters. That figure is specific to the guide’s route and should not be read as four hours and 33 minutes of optional content alone. It does show why a player who explores those chapters can spend considerably longer than someone who sticks to the main objective.
The important distinction is between the total time spent in those chapters and the time spent on optional activities inside them. The guide’s 4-hour-33-minute figure is for the four chapters combined, not a stopwatch measurement of side quests alone. It cannot tell you how many minutes to add if you decide to search for collectibles, nor does it show that every player will spend the same amount of time there. It does provide a concrete reason that two runs with different exploration habits can diverge: the open chapters offer more than a direct trip through the main objective.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteThe same guide estimates about 11 hours 40 minutes for a solo Normal run with most optional tasks in those open chapters and every cutscene, while noting that ignoring secondary objectives and collectibles reduces the time. Its estimate still leaves many collectibles unfound, so it is not a 100% completion benchmark.
For planning purposes, treat optional content as a choice that changes the scope of your run, rather than as a separate block of time that can be added exactly. If you want to experience major optional tasks, the 13–15-hour band is the more useful benchmark. If you intend to seek every collectible or otherwise pursue full completion, use the 15+ estimate and leave room for a longer run. The available figures do not give a collectible-by-collectible time cost or a precise number of hours for each optional objective.
Difficulty, deaths and pace
Higher difficulty adds time according to All Things How. More broadly, combat retries and the amount of time spent exploring change a personal run, which is why the published ranges are better used as planning bands than as promises. The cited estimates do not quantify how many minutes any one difficulty setting or number of deaths adds.
That distinction matters if you are comparing your own progress with someone else’s total. A player on Normal who moves steadily through the campaign is not following the same conditions as a player who chooses a higher difficulty and spends longer on combat encounters. The guide supports the direction of the effect—higher difficulty takes longer—but it does not provide separate hour counts for each setting. There is no supported formula such as a set number of extra hours per difficulty level, and no evidence here for a specific time penalty per death.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsRank #2
- Disc only. Original case and manual not included. Will come packaged in a generic case.
- This renewed game has been cleaned, tested, and shows minimal wear.
Exploration and pace matter in much the same way. One player may move through an open chapter after completing the central objective; another may search for optional tasks and collectibles. Cutscene viewing also forms part of the specified 11-hour-40-minute example, so skipping scenes would change what that particular estimate represents. These factors explain why an estimate should be read as a description of an approach, not a guaranteed personal finish time.
Cutscenes and what counts as finishing
Whether you watch every cutscene and pursue side objectives changes what a “campaign length” estimate means. The roughly 11-hour-40-minute example explicitly includes all cutscenes and most optional tasks in open chapters, but it is still not a full collectible run. When comparing your own time with a published figure, check whether the estimate describes a story run, a side-content run or completionism rather than treating every number as the same kind of playthrough.
This is why the ranges should not be collapsed into one definitive answer. The 11–13-hour figure describes story-focused play, the 13–15-hour figure adds major side quests, and 15+ hours is the completionist estimate. Those categories answer different questions. If your goal is simply to see the campaign through, the first range is the most relevant; if you expect to investigate optional content along the way, the second better reflects that plan.
Even within a category, the sources are not describing a controlled test. GamesRadar says its ranges are based on a few playthroughs. All Things How gives a more particular solo Normal example. The result is helpful guidance, but not a universal benchmark produced by testing the same route with different players under identical conditions.
Recommended Free Tools
Does co-op make the campaign longer?
The official Gears of War game page describes E-Day as an origin-story campaign set fourteen years before the original game. It says players can play alone, in split-screen co-op or online with up to four players, and lists Xbox Series X|S, Xbox on PC, Xbox handheld and Steam. The cited duration guides do not provide a reliable co-op-specific runtime or quantify how playing with others changes completion time.
So use the solo or general campaign ranges as a rough reference, not as a co-op promise. A group’s pace, coordination and approach to optional objectives may affect its total, but the available estimates do not establish a fixed adjustment. The official page confirms the modes and platforms; it does not state a campaign runtime.
This is a useful distinction when answering whether E-Day takes longer in co-op. The official listing establishes that co-op is available; it does not say that a campaign played with another person takes a particular number of hours more or less. The two duration sources do not offer a side-by-side solo-versus-co-op test. Consequently, there is no supported co-op multiplier to apply to the 11–13-hour story estimate, and no basis for claiming that a four-player group will finish faster or slower by a set amount.
Rank #3
- Disc only. Original case and manual not included. Will come packaged in a generic case.
- This renewed game has been cleaned, tested, and shows minimal wear.
The same caution applies across platforms. The official page lists Xbox Series X|S, Xbox on PC, Xbox handheld and Steam, but the campaign-length estimates do not break down time by platform. The numbers describe campaign approaches, not platform-specific performance or a difference in runtime between versions.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →How E-Day compares with earlier Gears campaigns
The available comparison suggests E-Day is longer than earlier entries, but it is not a like-for-like ranking. GamesRadar’s 2026 report summarizes HowLongToBeat user-submitted estimates for straight playthroughs of the first five Gears games as roughly ten hours or less, with Gears 5 at about eleven hours. Those historical figures come from a different source basis than GamesRadar’s post-release E-Day playthrough estimates.
| Comparison | Reported estimate | How to interpret it |
|---|---|---|
| First five Gears games | Roughly 10 hours or less for straight playthroughs | HowLongToBeat estimates, summarized secondhand by GamesRadar in 2026; broad series-level summary, not a title-by-title table. |
| Gears 5 | About 11 hours | HowLongToBeat estimate as summarized by GamesRadar in 2026; not methodologically matched to the E-Day estimates. |
| Gears of War: E-Day | 11–13 hours story-focused; 13–15 hours with major side quests | GamesRadar’s 2026 post-release editorial estimates based on a few playthroughs. |
Before release, creative director Matt Searcy was quoted as describing E-Day as “longer than any campaign [The Coalition has] built”; GamesRadar’s report of an IGN interview said the campaign was over 14 hours. That was a pre-release developer statement, not the result of a standardized public playtime test. The post-release estimates distinguish story-focused play from runs with major side quests, so the over-14-hour statement and the 11–13-hour story estimate describe different evidence and possibly different scopes. Neither should be turned into a guaranteed finish time.
The timing and attribution are worth keeping clear. The over-14-hour claim was made before release and is reported by GamesRadar as a comment from creative director Matt Searcy in an IGN interview. It is a developer’s description of the planned campaign, not a result from a standardized playthrough with a stated route and completion checklist. The later 11–13, 13–15 and 15+ estimates are post-release editorial ranges based on a few playthroughs and divided by how much of the game a player does.
Those statements do not necessarily contradict each other. An “over 14 hours” claim could describe a different approach or scope from the story-focused 11–13-hour band, while 13–15 hours with major side quests overlaps the pre-release figure. The sources do not establish an exact correspondence between Searcy’s wording and one of GamesRadar’s later categories. The careful conclusion is to present both with their context, not to choose one as the definitive clock or assume the pre-release quote promised a minimum for every player.
The fairest takeaway is that E-Day appears longer than prior series entries, particularly if you do optional content. The evidence does not support a precise, title-by-title ranking: the older figures are a broad summary from a user-submitted database, while E-Day’s figures come from editorial playthrough coverage with different categories.
In practical terms, E-Day’s 11–13-hour story estimate is around or above the reported length of Gears 5, which HowLongToBeat estimates at about eleven hours in GamesRadar’s summary. Its 13–15-hour side-quest range is higher than that broad comparison. But the apparent increase should not be presented as a controlled measurement: one number comes from a post-release editorial estimate and the historic numbers are user-submitted estimates summarized secondhand. They are useful for a broad sense of scale, not for declaring that one exact older title is a set number of hours shorter.
Rank #4
- This Certified Refurbished product is tested and certified to look and work like new. The refurbishing process includes functionality testing, basic cleaning, inspection, and repackaging. The product ships with all relevant accessories, a minimum 90-day warranty, and may arrive in a generic box. Only select sellers who maintain a high performance bar may offer Certified Refurbished products on Amazon.com
- Includes full game of the original Gears of War remastered in 1080p.
- Play five campaign chapters never released on console.
- Experience competitive multiplayer in 60FPS with 19 maps and six game modes.
Nor does the available comparison support a list of runtimes for each earlier game. GamesRadar’s summary groups the first five games as roughly ten hours or less for straight playthroughs; it does not provide a per-game table in this comparison. Avoid treating that group-level summary as five independently verified runtimes, or using it to rank those games against one another.
How much time should you set aside?
For a practical plan, choose the estimate that matches the run you actually want rather than adding every category together:
- Main story: reserve roughly 11–13 hours.
- Story with major side quests: plan for roughly 13–15 hours.
- Completionist attempt: allow at least 15 hours, with no fixed upper limit established by the cited estimates.
The categories are alternatives, not cumulative blocks. For example, do not add 11–13 hours for the story to 13–15 hours for side quests; the latter estimate already describes a run that includes the story and major side content. Likewise, “15+” means the estimate is at least that long, not that the available figure establishes a maximum. No fixed upper limit is reported for a completionist run.
If you prefer to play in shorter sessions, divide your available time across several evenings; the sources do not provide a chapter-by-chapter schedule that would make a more exact session plan reliable. A solo Normal player who watches all cutscenes and tackles most open-chapter optional tasks has one more specific reference point—about 11 hours 40 minutes—but should not mistake it for a completionist total.
That specific guide estimate can help if your playstyle sounds similar: solo, Normal difficulty, every cutscene watched, and most optional tasks in open chapters completed. It is less useful if you plan to play at a higher difficulty, skip scenes, avoid optional tasks, or search for every collectible. The guide says ignoring secondary objectives and collectibles reduces time, and that higher difficulty adds time, but it does not quantify either difference. For those cases, the broader bands are more honest than trying to calculate a precise adjusted finish time.
If you are deciding whether E-Day is a short campaign or a longer commitment, the best simple answer is that it is not a quick, few-hour story based on the published estimates. Even the story-focused band is 11–13 hours, and optional play pushes the estimate upward. Your own session length and pace are up to you; the sources do not give a dependable chapter schedule or a chapter-by-chapter completion forecast.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →What the estimates can and cannot tell you
These numbers answer the useful planning question—whether to expect a short campaign or a longer one—but they do not establish an official runtime. The official game page confirms the campaign modes and platform availability without listing a duration. GamesRadar’s ranges are based on a few playthroughs, while All Things How offers a detailed guide estimate for one described solo Normal approach. Neither source presents a controlled test across multiple players, difficulties and completion goals.
Best Value
- 25 Years after Gears of War 3, spurred by a series of strange disappearances, JD Fenix must embrace his father’s legacy and battle a terrifying new enemy
- Never Fight Alone: Enjoy two-player co-op with friends locally via split-screen, over Xbox Live or LAN. Player 2 can select either Kait or Del
- Redefined Cover Gameplay: New close-cover combat moves and combat-knife executions turn each piece of cover into an offensive opportunity
- Brutal New Weapons: An incredible arsenal of new weapons includes the Buzzkill and Dropshot, which can shoot around and over cover, raining destruction from all angles
Accordingly, treat 11–13 hours as the best current story-focused estimate, not an exact finish line. Optional content and completion goals provide the clearest reason to budget more time; the available sources do not substantiate a precise per-difficulty, per-platform or co-op adjustment.
The estimates are most useful when their labels stay attached. “Story-focused,” “major side quests,” “100% completion,” and “solo Normal with most optional tasks in open chapters” do not mean the same thing. GamesRadar’s broad bands let you select a likely planning window; All Things How’s example supplies a more detailed route description; the official page establishes that solo and co-op are both supported. None of those sources alone provides every answer a player might want, such as an official runtime or a controlled co-op comparison.
For the franchise comparison, the same discipline applies: the reported history is a broad signal, not a title-by-title ledger. The first five games are summarized as roughly ten hours or less for straight playthroughs, and Gears 5 is about eleven hours in the HowLongToBeat figures cited by GamesRadar. That gives readers a reasonable sense that E-Day may run longer, especially with optional content, without claiming a precision the comparison cannot support.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Frequently Asked Questions
How long does it take to beat Gears of War: E-Day?
GamesRadar’s 2026 estimate is 11–13 hours for a story-focused run. Allow 13–15 hours if you plan to complete major side quests, or 15 hours or more for a 100% completion attempt. These are estimates based on a few playthroughs, not guaranteed times.
How long is E-Day if I do the side quests?
The estimate for the story plus major side quests is 13–15 hours. All Things How also describes a solo Normal run of about 11 hours 40 minutes that includes every cutscene and most optional tasks in open chapters, but many collectibles remained unfound, so it is not a completionist benchmark.
Is Gears of War: E-Day longer than the other Gears games?
The broad comparison suggests it is longer. GamesRadar summarizes HowLongToBeat estimates for straight playthroughs of the first five games as roughly ten hours or less, with Gears 5 at about eleven hours. Those figures use a different basis from E-Day’s editorial estimates, so they do not support a precise title-by-title ranking.
Does co-op change E-Day’s campaign length?
The official game page confirms solo, split-screen co-op and online play for up to four players, but the cited duration guides do not quantify a co-op adjustment. Use the general campaign ranges as a rough reference rather than assuming co-op adds or saves a set amount of time.
Is there an official campaign runtime for E-Day?
The official game page describes the campaign and supported play modes but does not state a runtime. The commonly cited 11–13, 13–15 and 15+ hour figures are editorial estimates, not an official standardized duration.
What did the pre-release claim that E-Day is over 14 hours mean?
GamesRadar reported a pre-release comment from creative director Matt Searcy describing E-Day as “longer than any campaign [The Coalition has] built” and saying it was over 14 hours. That statement was not a standardized playtime test, and its scope is not mapped exactly to the later story-focused, side-quest and completionist estimates.
The Bottom Line
Gears of War: E-Day is estimated at 11–13 hours for the story, 13–15 hours with major side quests, and 15+ hours for completionist play. Use those as planning ranges, not promises: optional exploration, collectibles, difficulty and pace change the total, and the cited sources do not establish an official runtime or a co-op-specific adjustment.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.




