Masterworking in Diablo 4 no longer runs on the old 1–12 rank ladder. The latest official notes available for this guide measure progress as item Quality from 0 to 25, and each Masterworking action adds a random 2–5 Quality. The unlock requirement, however, is not stated in the official material available for this guide, so this article separates what Blizzard documents from what you need to confirm in your own game.
Short answer
- Current cap: Quality 25, raised from 20 in the 2.5 patch notes.
- Per action: a random 2–5 Quality, raised from 1–3.
- Affix effect: every Quality point increases all affix values by 1%.
- Full Masterworking: the item receives a 50% upgrade to one random affix.
- Unlock condition: not stated in the official notes; verify it in-game (see below).
How to unlock Masterworking: what is and is not confirmed
The official patch material does not state the current unlock prerequisite or the eligibility conditions for Masterworking. Older community guides tie the feature to completing early runs of The Pit. Those claims are not supported by current Blizzard text, so treat them as unverified. No character level, difficulty tier, item rarity, Tempering state, quest, or Pit completion is confirmed here as a requirement.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Diablo® IV (PS5) | $36.40 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
CD Diablo IV - Playstation 5 | $42.84 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Juego Sony PS5 Diablo IV | $39.20 | Buy on Amazon |
To find the actual condition on your account:
- Open the item you want to upgrade and look for a Masterworking entry on that item.
- If the option is locked, read the tooltip on the locked state. In-game text is the most reliable statement of the requirement.
- Check Blizzard’s most recent Diablo IV patch notes. The latest notes verified for this article are the 2.5 series, updated through build 2.5.3 on January 28, 2026, so later changes may not be reflected here.
Why the old rank list no longer matches
Guides written for the earlier system describe Masterwork ranks 1–12, with milestone bonuses at ranks 4, 8, and 12. Blizzard replaced that presentation with Quality, so the old rank costs and milestone rules should not be carried into a current guide.
| Attribute | Older rank system (older guides) | Current Quality system (2.5 patch notes) |
|---|---|---|
| Scale | Ranks 1–12 | Quality 0–25 |
| Maximum | Rank 12 | Quality 25 (previously 20) |
| Gain per action | Rank-by-rank steps | Random 2–5 Quality (previously 1–3) |
| Affix effect | Milestone bonuses at ranks 4, 8, and 12 | +1% to all affix values per Quality point |
| Capstone | Not stated in the current notes | 50% upgrade to one random affix at full Quality |
| Cost | Older per-rank costs; not used for current Quality | Obducite cost examples at Quality 0, 5, 15, and 25 |
How Quality progression works
Maximum Quality and gain per action
Item Quality tops out at 25. Each Masterworking action adds a random 2–5 Quality, so the same number of actions can produce different results on different items.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstall#1 Best Overall
- Pre-order and receive:
- Light Bearer Mount in Diablo IV
- Only one code per customer
- Diablo IV is the next-gen action RPG experience with endless evil to slaughter, countless abilities to master, nightmarish Dungeons, and legendary loot.
- Embark on the campaign solo or with friends, meeting memorable characters through beautifully dark settings and a gripping story, or explore an expansive end game and shared world where players can meet in towns to trade, team up to battle World Bosses, or descend into PVP zones to test their skills against other players - no lobbies necessary - with cross-play and cross-progression on all available platforms.
Affix scaling
Each point of Quality increases all affix values on the item by 1%. Because the bonus applies to every affix, Quality gains are not limited to one stat line.
The full-Masterworking upgrade
When an item is fully Masterworked, it receives a 50% upgrade to one random affix. The 2.5 patch notes state that this affix can be a Tempering Affix.
Rank #2
- Brand: Sony
- Operating system: windows
- Format: cd
- Brand: Blizzard
Rerolling the boosted affix
Blizzard’s Season of Divine Intervention overview says the boosted affix can be rerolled without resetting Masterworking Quality. That lets you change which affix receives the 50% upgrade while keeping the Quality you have already built up.
Why there is no fixed rank-by-rank ladder
Because each action adds a random 2–5 Quality, a 25-row table of one action per level would be misleading. Reaching 25 takes at least five actions if every roll is a 5. If every roll is a 2, it takes 13 actions, assuming the cap simply clamps the final roll; the notes do not spell out that clamping rule. Plan around the Quality value on your item, not a fixed action count.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Rank #3
- Juego Sony PS5 Diablo IV
Obducite cost examples
Blizzard’s 2.5 patch notes give four cost examples and state that Obducite costs scale exponentially with item Quality. The table below lists only those examples. The notes do not provide the cost at every intermediate Quality, so do not interpolate.
| Item Quality | Obducite cost |
|---|---|
| Quality 0 | 10 |
| Quality 5 | 25 |
| Quality 15 | 66 |
| Quality 25 | 100 |
Sources and version history
- Diablo IV Patch Notes (2.5), Blizzard Entertainment: updated through build 2.5.3 on January 28, 2026. Source for the Quality 0–25 cap, the 2–5 gain per action, the 1% affix scaling, the capstone behavior, and the Obducite cost examples.
- Season of Divine Intervention overview, Blizzard Entertainment: describes the Quality progression and the capstone reroll behavior.
- Season of Hatred Rising article, Blizzard Entertainment: historical context for the earlier consolidation to Obducite. Use the 2.5 patch notes for current costs.
- Older 1.3–1.5 patch history and 2.2 cost reductions: historical only. These should not be used to calculate current Quality costs.
Blizzard’s patch notes are the documentation to check before any unlock instructions are published, because they are the only sources here that describe the current system.
The Bottom Line
Plan Masterworking around the Quality 0–25 model, with a random 2–5 gain per action and the Obducite costs Blizzard lists. Confirm the unlock condition on your own account, since the official notes do not state it.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




