DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
VGSOURCES
Get listed

BlizzardPATCH 2026.10.16

Is World of Warcraft Free to Play? Subscription, Trial, and Expansion Costs Explained

By VGSources Team 7 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

World of Warcraft is not fully free to play. Blizzard offers a free trial with playable content through level 20, including level-20 quests and dungeons. To continue beyond level 20, you need either a recurring subscription or non-recurring game time. Access to the current expansion, Midnight, also requires a separate expansion purchase, plus an active subscription or game time.

What “free to play” means in World of Warcraft

World of Warcraft uses a level-based free trial rather than a permanently free game. You can create an account and play the trial without paying, but the free access ends when your character reaches level 20. It is not described by Blizzard as a seven-day, 14-day, or other fixed-number-of-days promotion.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Blizzard’s February 25, 2026 New Players Starter Guide says that “all playable content is free up to level 20, including level 20 Dungeons and quests, with a Free Trial.” That makes the trial substantial enough to test questing, dungeons and the basic game loop, but it is still an entry tier rather than the complete live game.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What the free trial includes

Playable content through level 20

The free trial lets you play content up to level 20. The official description specifically includes level-20 dungeons and quests, so the trial is not limited to a short tutorial or a few introductory zones.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
  • Character progression through level 20
  • Quests available within the level-20 trial scope
  • Dungeons available within that same scope, including level-20 dungeons

Blizzard’s wording establishes the level boundary, not a separate expiration date. In practical terms, you can use the trial to learn the controls and classes, see whether the world and combat suit you, and decide whether paying for continued access makes sense.

What happens at level 20

Level 20 is the important billing boundary. Paid access is required to continue beyond it. Reaching level 20 does not mean you must immediately buy the newest expansion; it means you need a subscription or non-recurring game time for access beyond the trial limit. The expansion is a separate decision.

How you pay to continue playing

Recurring subscription

A subscription is the standard ongoing payment option. Blizzard’s free-trial FAQ explains that a subscription provides access to World of Warcraft and World of Warcraft Classic. It also covers the older expansions that are part of the base game, but it does not automatically unlock the current expansion, Midnight.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Subscription prices are regional. Blizzard directs players to the Battle.net Shop for their region, and the available official information does not establish one current worldwide monthly amount. Currency, taxes, billing terms and the options displayed at checkout can differ by location, so a price copied from another country or an old guide may be misleading.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Non-recurring game time

If you do not want an automatic renewal, Blizzard also supports non-recurring game time. This provides the paid access needed beyond level 20 without creating a recurring subscription commitment. It is useful for players who play seasonally, want to budget one purchase at a time, or are testing the full game before committing to recurring billing.

Game time does not remove the separate requirement for the current expansion. To play Midnight, you still need both the expansion and active subscription or non-recurring game time.

Do you have to buy the latest expansion?

Midnight is a separate purchase

Blizzard’s current Worldsoul Saga overview identifies Midnight as the latest expansion. The same overview explains that one subscription provides access to World of Warcraft and its past expansions, while the current expansion must be purchased separately.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Buying Midnight alone is not a substitute for game time. Blizzard states that the expansion requires an active subscription or non-recurring game time in addition to the expansion purchase. The two charges solve different access problems:

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
  • Subscription or game time: keeps the account eligible to play beyond level 20.
  • Midnight purchase: unlocks the current expansion’s content.

What is included with an expansion edition?

Expansion editions and promotions can change. Blizzard’s earlier Midnight pre-purchase announcement said that the purchase included The War Within and did not include future expansions. That announcement is useful context, but it should not be treated as a permanent description of every edition sold today.

For exact bonuses, edition contents and current offers, open the live Battle.net listing for your region immediately before purchasing. The store listing is the authority for what a particular Standard, upgraded or promotional edition contains at that moment.

World of Warcraft cost comparison

Option Access Payment type Is Midnight included? Price guidance
Free Trial Playable content through level 20, including level-20 quests and dungeons Free; no recurring payment No purchase is needed for the trial’s level-20 scope Free; Blizzard’s trial description does not give it a fixed day limit
Subscription World of Warcraft and World of Warcraft Classic, with access to past expansions included in the base game Recurring billing No; Midnight is separate Not stated as one universal amount; check the regional Battle.net Shop
Non-recurring game time Paid access beyond level 20 One-time game-time purchase No; Midnight still requires a separate purchase Current amount depends on the regional store and the game-time option selected
Midnight expansion Current expansion content Separate one-time expansion purchase, in addition to game time It is the expansion being purchased Current regional edition prices and contents are not stated here; use the live Battle.net listing
WoW Token In-game exchange mechanism for game time or Battle.net Balance Purchased through the token system rather than quoted as a subscription plan No; it does not replace the expansion purchase US Battle.net listing currently shows US$20.00 for a token; this is not the monthly subscription price

How much is a WoW subscription?

There is no single reliable global answer. Blizzard’s official free-trial FAQ says subscription pricing varies by region and sends players to their regional Battle.net Shop. The store may display different currencies, taxes and billing choices depending on where the account is registered.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Use the amount shown after selecting your own country or region, not a price from a United States, United Kingdom or European listing unless that is your billing region. If you are comparing recurring and non-recurring options, compare the total time each purchase provides and whether automatic renewal is enabled. The exact current subscription and game-time prices are not established in the official information used here, so quoting a universal number would risk being stale or wrong for your account.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

What is the WoW Token?

The WoW Token is a separate in-game economy mechanism. Blizzard’s US Battle.net listing currently shows a token for US$20.00: WoW Token. A token can be exchanged for game time or Battle.net Balance under Blizzard’s token system.

That US$20.00 figure must not be presented as the monthly subscription price. It is the listed price of the token in the US store, and the token’s purpose is an exchange between a purchased token and in-game value. It is not the same product as selecting a recurring subscription at checkout, nor does it include Midnight.

How to start with the free trial

  1. Open Blizzard’s trial information. Start with the official Getting Started with Your Free Trial page so you are using the current account and access instructions.
  2. Create or sign in to a Battle.net account. Follow the account prompts shown for your region. Keep the account region accurate because store currency and available payment options are regional.
  3. Install World of Warcraft through Blizzard’s launcher. Use the installation option presented by Battle.net, then sign in with the account that has the trial access.
  4. Play within the level-20 limit. Quests and dungeons remain available within the trial scope described in Blizzard’s 2026 starter guide.
  5. Choose your paid path only when needed. At level 20, select a recurring subscription or non-recurring game time if you want to continue. Buy Midnight only if you want its current-expansion content.

Blizzard’s starter material also lists a multi-button mouse with a scroll wheel among its system requirements. That is an optional peripheral consideration, not an additional access fee; the trial and paid access rules are determined by your account, game time and expansion ownership.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Which payment setup fits each type of player?

“I only want to see whether I like WoW”

Use the free trial first. You can experience the game through level 20, including the level-20 quest and dungeon content, without paying or starting a recurring bill. Do not buy Midnight merely to test the controls or basic questing.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

“I want the older game, but not the current expansion”

A subscription is the straightforward choice if you want access beyond level 20 and the World of Warcraft and Classic content covered by Blizzard’s subscription description. You do not need to purchase Midnight unless you want the current expansion.

“I play only for a few months at a time”

Non-recurring game time avoids automatic renewal. Check the regional store’s duration and price before buying, then add Midnight only if your intended play includes its content.

“I want the current endgame and new expansion zones”

Budget for two separate requirements: the live regional price of Midnight and either a subscription or non-recurring game time. Purchasing only one of those does not provide the complete current-expansion access described by Blizzard.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Common mistakes when budgeting for WoW

  • Calling the trial permanently free: the free access stops at level 20, even though it is not presented as a fixed-day trial.
  • Assuming a subscription includes everything: the subscription covers WoW, Classic and past expansions, but not Midnight.
  • Buying Midnight without game time: the expansion requires an active subscription or non-recurring game time as well.
  • Using another country’s price: subscription and game-time prices vary by region; use your own Battle.net Shop.
  • Using the token price as the subscription price: the US$20.00 figure is the current US token listing, not a universal monthly fee.
  • Relying on an old edition description: expansion contents and promotions change, so verify the live edition listing before checkout.

Bottom line on WoW’s cost

World of Warcraft is free to try through level 20, not free to play without limits. Beyond level 20, choose a subscription or non-recurring game time. Add the separately purchased Midnight expansion if you want the current expansion, and verify every price and edition detail in the Battle.net Shop for your region.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

BlizzardMidnight expansionWorld of WarcraftWoW Free TrialWoW subscription

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.