Little Friends: Dogs & Cats is a single-player pet-care simulation for Nintendo Switch. You can care for dogs and cats, play with up to three pets at a time, and own up to twelve. Here’s what the game includes, which controls and play modes Nintendo lists, and what to check about regional editions and Switch 2 compatibility.
What do you do in Little Friends: Dogs & Cats?
Nintendo describes the game as a pet training game built around caring for and interacting with dogs and cats. Its listed activities include feeding pets their favorite food, playing with toys, taking dogs on walks, and entering a flying-disc tournament. Pets have individual personalities, behaviors, and appearances, according to Nintendo’s US product listing.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Little Friends: Dogs & Cats (Nintendo Switch) | $42.79 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Little Friends: Puppy Island (Non-US Version) | $39.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Little Friends Dogs & Cats (Code in Box) | $31.68 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 |
|
Little Friends: Dogs & Cats for Nintendo Switch | Buy on Amazon |
The game lets you play with up to three pets at once and own up to twelve. Those are separate limits: the listing does not say that all twelve can be active together.
Which pets and customization options are included?
Nintendo’s listing names six dog breeds and three cat breeds:
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minutePC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11#1 Best Overall
- Play with up to 3 pets at once and own up to 12.
- Get to know their personalities and feed them their favourite food.
- Play with your pet using their favourite new toy, take them out for walks, and compete in the flying disc tournament.
- Look after your pet to develop a bond and grow your friendship.
- Dress them up in over 600 stylish accessories to make them look their best
- Dogs: Toy Poodle, Shiba, Chihuahua, French Bulldog, Labrador Retriever, and German Shepherd.
- Cats: Japanese Cat, American Shorthair, and Scottish Fold.
The listing advertises more than 600 accessories for dressing up pets. Imagineer’s original Japanese announcement also describes room customization, costumes, and screenshot sharing, alongside pet care and interaction. That announcement, dated October 1, 2018, is historical information about the Japanese release, not a guarantee that every feature or service is available in every region today. Imagineer’s Japanese announcement.
How do controls and play modes work?
Nintendo lists support for Joy-Con motion controls and the Switch touchscreen. The US store page lists TV and handheld modes and one-player support. It also cautions that the play experience may differ on Nintendo Switch Lite; the listing does not specify exactly how each interaction changes on Lite.
Rank #2
- Meet, befriend and care for lots of adorable puppies while exploring a paradise island!
- Uncover and explore 8 different locations and find exciting, hidden treasures!
- Become best friends with 9 unique puppy breeds with over 140 variations - including Shibas, Labradors, Corgis, Huskies, Pugs and more!
- Build your ultimate puppy paradise! Find the perfect locations and construct new accessory shops and activity stations!
- Bath, feed, walk and play with your puppies!.Train your puppies and level up their stats in obedience, agility, friendliness & more!.Dress up your pups with over 350 accessories!
Nintendo’s US listing says the game is compatible with Nintendo Switch 2, with behavior consistent with Nintendo Switch. This confirms listed compatibility, but does not claim enhancements for the newer system.
Release, language, and store details by region
Dates, formats, and prices depend on territory. Nintendo’s US store lists a digital edition released May 28, 2019, with Fireshine Games as publisher. It lists British English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and American English. Those are details for that US listing, not a universal description of all regional editions.
Rank #3
- It's time to meet your new Little Friends! These adorable puppies and kittens can't wait to meet you in the first pet training game for Nintendo Switch!
- Play with up to 3 pets at once and own up to 12.
- Get to know their personalities and feed them their favourite food.
| Territory and source | Release detail | Price detail |
|---|---|---|
| United States, Nintendo US store | Digital edition; May 28, 2019 | Current price not stated here; check the live listing |
| North America, Nintendo Life game listing | Launch recorded as May 27, 2019 | $49.99 at launch in 2019; historical, not a current offer |
| UK/Europe, Nintendo Life game listing | Launch recorded as May 28, 2019 | £39.99 at launch in 2019; historical, not a current offer |
For the historical territory-specific launch dates and prices, see Nintendo Life’s game listing. Imagineer’s October 2018 announcement gave December 6, 2018 as the planned Japanese release date; that is the Japanese launch context, not the Western release date.
If buying outside the Nintendo US digital store, check the live product page for the edition and format, region compatibility, seller, stock, and current price. The dated launch prices above should not be treated as what the game costs now.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What the available information does—and doesn’t—tell you
The official listing establishes the core activities, named pets, customization count, controls, and platform details. It does not establish playtime, patch history, current third-party availability, review consensus, or how deep or challenging the simulation feels. Without reliable reviewed evidence for those qualities, it would be misleading to promise a particular level of depth or value.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →




