DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
VGSOURCES
Get listed

character rosterPATCH 2026.10.17

Marvel Tōkon: Fighting Souls FAQ — Platforms, Modes, Editions and Roster Updates

By VGSources Team 7 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

MARVEL Tōkon: Fighting Souls is officially listed for PlayStation 5 and PC, with an August 6, 2026 release date in most regions. Australia, New Zealand, Japan and Korea receive the game on August 7. PlayStation’s FAQ lists 20 playable characters at launch. The announced modes include Episode Mode, local Versus, Training, Open Lobby, Start-Up Battle, and online Casual and Ranked matches. PC players must link a PlayStation Account to the game for online play.

This guide separates confirmed launch information from details documented only for the July 2026 open beta, explains the three announced editions, and identifies what is—and is not—known about post-launch roster updates.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

When does Marvel Tōkon: Fighting Souls release?

The official release date is August 6, 2026 for PlayStation 5 and PC. PlayStation’s regional listing gives August 7, 2026 for Australia, New Zealand, Japan and Korea. Those dates are the publisher’s stated launch schedule; check the store serving your region for the local release time and any current availability notice.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Platform Official release date Store or access note
PlayStation 5 August 6, 2026 Regional date is August 7 in Australia, New Zealand, Japan and Korea.
PC August 6, 2026 The February announcement names Steam and Epic Games Store as PC storefronts. Online play requires a linked PlayStation Account.

No Xbox, Nintendo or previous-generation PlayStation version is identified in the official platform information cited for the game.

#1 Best Overall
Marvel Tōkon: Fighting Souls- PlayStation 5
  • Assemble your team of legendary Marvel characters in the ultimate 4v4 tag team fighter from PlayStation Studios, Arc System Works and Marvel Games.
  • Experiment with team compositions to discover new combos, synergies, and strategies. Blast your way through dynamic stages based on iconic Marvel Universe locales, some featuring interactive stage transitions.
  • Fighting is both immersive and intuitive, with a range of unique move sets, combos, and strategies to master. Adjustable controls, both traditional and quick inputs, plus easy chain combos make diving right in a breeze.
  • Face off against a friend locally or join the fray with up to 64 players in the online lobby, including standard VS modes. Plus, dive deep on each team with the single player Episode Mode to learn more about team dynamics and lore.

What platforms support the game, and what does PC online play require?

PlayStation 5

The PS5 version is the console edition named in the official FAQ. The Episode Mode announcement specifically calls out PS5 DualSense controller features and spatial audio through PS5 Tempest 3D AudioTech. Those feature references describe the PS5 presentation; they do not establish that every related feature is available on PC.

PC through Steam or Epic Games Store

The February 2026 announcement identifies Steam and Epic Games Store as PC storefronts and preorder locations. For online play on PC, the official FAQ requires you to create a PlayStation Account and link it to the game. The FAQ’s wording ties that requirement to online play; it does not say that account linking is required for offline modes. If you intend to play online, complete the account link before troubleshooting matchmaking.

The available FAQ excerpts do not settle whether a separate platform subscription is required for PC or console online play. Confirm any subscription, regional restriction or account-policy language on the live store listing for your platform rather than assuming that a console rule applies to PC.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How many characters are available at launch?

PlayStation’s current official game FAQ states that 20 playable characters are available at launch. That is the authoritative launch total in the published material. A complete, authoritative named list of those 20 launch characters has not been provided in the information available here, so individual names should not be inferred from promotional images or beta coverage.

Rank #2
MARVEL Tokon: Fighting Souls - Standard - PC Steam [Online Game Code]
  • Assemble your team of legendary Marvel characters in the ultimate 4v4 tag team fighter from PlayStation Studios, Arc System Works and Marvel Games.
  • It’s time to build your dream team and break some spirits in blistering 4v4 fighting action.

Why some articles say 15 characters

The July 16, 2026 open-beta guide lists 15 playable characters for that 72-hour test. The beta ran from July 24 through July 26 on PS5, Steam and Epic Games Store. Its 15-character selection is a beta roster, not a replacement for the 20-character launch count. Blade is among the characters named for the beta, but his appearance in that test does not by itself define the complete launch roster.

The Unbreakable X-Men

The February announcement identifies the Unbreakable X-Men as Storm, Magik, Wolverine and Danger. These names are confirmed members of the announced group; the announcement does not present them as the complete 20-character launch list.

What roster updates are planned after launch?

The announced Year 1 Characters & Stage Pass is described as adding four playable characters and one new stage after launch. The public information does not provide a complete post-launch character schedule or establish the release date of each addition. Treat the pass contents as announced scope rather than a promise that every add-on is already available.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The sources also do not establish a full named chronology for post-launch characters, nor do they confirm whether any characters outside the pass will be added. For an up-to-date roster, rely on a later official announcement or the live in-game and store listings instead of treating beta names or promotional groups as a complete list.

Rank #3
MARVEL Tōkon: Fighting Souls - Ultimate - PC Steam [Online Game Code]
  • Assemble your team of legendary Marvel characters in the ultimate 4v4 tag team fighter from PlayStation Studios, Arc System Works and Marvel Games.
  • It’s time to build your dream team and break some spirits in blistering 4v4 fighting action. Choose from an expanding roster of 20 iconic Marvel characters at launch, each rendered in a bold new anime-inspired art style and members of their own unique teams of equally impressive heroes and villains.

Which modes are in Marvel Tōkon: Fighting Souls?

The July beta guide is the most detailed official mode reference. It documents the following activities, but several descriptions are explicitly tied to the beta build. The full release may change menus, matchmaking rules or available content.

Mode What the official material establishes Evidence scope
Episode Mode A story experience; the beta opened the first three chapters. Three chapters are beta-specific. The broader story concept is described in the February announcement.
Casual online matches Online play without the Ranked label. Documented in the open-beta guide.
Ranked online matches Competitive online matches listed separately from Casual. Documented in the open-beta guide.
Local Versus Play against a friend or the CPU on the same system. Documented in the open-beta guide.
Open Lobby A lobby-based online option. Listed in the open-beta guide; detailed lobby rules are not stated.
Start-Up Battle A named battle option in the game menu. Listed in the open-beta guide; the available description does not define its full rules.
Training Mode A practice mode for working on play. Documented in the open-beta guide.

Episode Mode and its presentation

The February 12, 2026 PlayStation.Blog announcement describes Episode Mode as a story experience made in collaboration with Marvel Games. Its presentation combines American comics and Japanese manga through motion-comic storytelling. The announcement says the story is centered on manga illustrated by celebrated artists and is fully voiced in 10 languages.

The named voice languages are English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Latin American Spanish, Japanese, Korean and Mandarin. The same announcement highlights PS5 DualSense features and spatial audio using PS5 Tempest 3D AudioTech. Those are presentation features described for the PS5 version; the announcement does not state that an extra controller is required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Online, local and practice play

Casual and Ranked are the two online match categories documented for the beta. Local Versus supports a friend or a CPU opponent, making it the option to choose when you want same-system play rather than matchmaking. Open Lobby is listed as a separate online activity, while Start-Up Battle and Training Mode provide additional named ways to enter a fight or practice. Because the guide was written for the beta, it should not be read as a guarantee that every beta setting, menu label or chapter limit remains unchanged at launch.

Rank #4
Sale
MARVEL Tökon: Fighting Souls
  • MARVEL Tökon: Fighting Souls will be released on August 6, 2026. Pre-order now.
  • Plunge into fast-paced battles that test your skills and are influenced by team synergies and strategies.
  • Choose 4 characters for your team from numerous legendary Marvel heroes and villains, each with unique skills, play styles and a comprehensive backstory.
  • Experience colourful anime graphics, dynamic stages in Marvel design and an adaptive soundtrack that accompanies every battle and character.
  • Experience MARVEL Tōkon: Fighting Souls on PS5 with ultra-fast charging times, brilliant 4K graphics, immersive 3D audio and the tactile feedback of the DualSense wireless controller, bringing every hit, impact and explosive moment in battle to life.

What languages does the game support?

PlayStation’s official FAQ lists 16 text languages:

  • English
  • French
  • Italian
  • German
  • Spanish
  • Brazilian Portuguese
  • Latin American Spanish
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Simplified Chinese
  • Traditional Chinese
  • Arabic
  • Polish
  • Portuguese
  • Russian
  • Thai

Voice support is listed separately at 10 languages: English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Latin American Spanish, Japanese, Korean and Mandarin. Text-language availability therefore is not identical to voice-language availability.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Which editions are available?

The February 2026 announcement names Standard, Digital Deluxe and Ultimate editions. The US prices below were announcement-time manufacturer suggested retail prices, not a guarantee of the current price in every region or storefront.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Edition Announced contents Announcement-time US MSRP Availability information
Standard The base game. No additional Standard bonuses are detailed in the cited announcement. $59.99 Confirm the current platform listing and regional price.
Digital Deluxe Full game, preorder incentives, Year 1 Characters & Stage Pass, Howard the Duck lobby avatar and Cosmo lobby pet. $84.99 The US FAQ says Digital Deluxe is available on PS5 and PC and includes the pass.
Ultimate Deluxe contents plus additional cosmetic items and costumes. $99.99 The US FAQ says Ultimate is available on PS5 and PC and includes the pass.

Because prices, preorder windows and inventory can change, use the live store page for the amount charged in your currency. The announcement’s figures should be treated as historical US MSRP, not current universal pricing.

Best Value
Marvel Tokon: Fighting Souls - PS5
  • Assemble your dream team of legendary Marvel characters in a brand new 4v4 tag team fighter from PlayStation Studios, Arc System Works and Marvel Games.
  • Choose from an expanding roster of 20 iconic characters at launch, each reimagined in a bold, anime-inspired art style.
  • Experiment with team compositions to unlock new combos, synergies and strategies across dynamic, Marvel Universe-inspired stages.
  • Play locally against a friend or dive into online lobbies and ranked matchmaking with full cross-play support against the PC version.
  • Explore an original story in the single player Episode Mode, diving deeper into the lore behind each team.

How should you choose between PS5 and PC?

Choose PS5 when

  • You want the console version with the specifically announced DualSense features and Tempest 3D AudioTech support.
  • You prefer local Versus on a television without configuring a PC account link.
  • Your region follows the August 7 date rather than the general August 6 schedule and you want to verify console launch timing directly in the PlayStation store.

Choose PC when

  • You already use Steam or Epic Games Store and want the PC storefront that suits your library.
  • You are prepared to create and link a PlayStation Account for online play.
  • You want to check PC-specific requirements, regional pricing and any subscription terms on the live store listing before purchase.

Both platforms are officially named for the game, but the available material does not provide a complete PC system-requirements table. Do not assume that a machine capable of running the beta has identical requirements for the final build.

What happened in the open beta?

The open beta was a 72-hour event running July 24–26, 2026. It was offered on PS5, Steam and Epic Games Store and included 15 playable characters. The guide listed Casual and Ranked online matches, local Versus against a friend or CPU, Open Lobby, Start-Up Battle, Training Mode and the first three chapters of Episode Mode.

The beta guide said no registration was required: players could download the beta from their platform store and start playing. That statement applied to the beta event only. It does not override the full game’s PC online requirement to link a PlayStation Account, and it should not be used to infer launch access rules.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What is confirmed—and what remains unknown?

  • Confirmed: PS5 and PC platforms; August 6, 2026 general release date; August 7 regional date for Australia, New Zealand, Japan and Korea; 20 launch characters; the named beta modes; 10 voice languages; 16 text languages; and a Year 1 pass with four characters and one stage.
  • Confirmed for PC online play: a PlayStation Account must be linked to the game.
  • Not established in the available official material: the complete named 20-character launch roster, a full post-launch release chronology, detailed Start-Up Battle and Open Lobby rules, final PC system requirements, and current store prices or subscription terms.

That distinction matters when reading beta guides or older announcements: a beta character count, chapter limit or access rule describes that test, while the FAQ’s 20-character figure describes the announced launch roster.

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 4
MARVEL Tökon: Fighting Souls
MARVEL Tökon: Fighting Souls
MARVEL Tökon: Fighting Souls will be released on August 6, 2026. Pre-order now.
$66.24
Bestseller No. 5

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

character rosterEditionsFighting gamesgame modesMarvel Tokon: Fighting SoulsPC gamingPlayStation 5

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.