What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
The PS5 Pro is a more powerful PS5, not a new console generation: it can make supported games look sharper, use more advanced ray tracing, or hold onto smoother performance, but the improvement depends on the game. For existing PS5 owners, it is a premium upgrade best suited to players who notice image quality and play titles with dedicated Pro modes. The often-quoted $700 price was the US launch price in November 2024, not a verified current price.
What the PS5 Pro changes
Sony positions the Pro as a higher-performance version of the same PS5 platform. It plays PS5 games and more than 8,500 PS4 games, with a small number of PS4 exceptions, and supports DualSense controllers and other PS5 accessories. It has a 2TB built-in SSD and Wi-Fi 7 compatibility; actual wireless performance still depends on the router and environment. Sony’s current US product page lists more than 100 Pro-enhanced PS5 titles, a count and catalog that may change.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
PlayStation 5 Pro with 2TB SSD Storage, Console Only - PS5 Pro Gaming System, White (Renewed) | $1,499.49 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
PlayStation®5 Digital Edition (slim) | $598.99 | Buy on Amazon |
The hardware headline is not a guarantee of an equivalent improvement in every game. Engadget relayed Sony’s 2024 claims of 67% more GPU compute units, 28% faster memory, 45% faster rendering performance, and up to three times the ray-tracing power. These are vendor specifications and a maximum claim, not independently measured frame-rate increases or results every game will deliver.
What “Pro enhanced” means in practice
Developers can use the additional hardware differently: for higher image quality, more ray tracing, steadier performance, or a combination. Sony says supported games can target 60 or up to 120 frames per second with ray tracing and AI-enhanced 4K output, but capabilities vary by title. Neither native 4K nor 60 or 120 fps is assured across the library.
#1 Best Overall
- Ray Tracing - Immerse yourself in worlds with a new level of realism as rays of light are individually simulated, creating true-to-life shadows and reflections in supported PS5 games.
- Faster Loading - Fast-travel across the map and get back into the game almost instantly with the PlayStation 5 console’s ultra-high-speed SSD and fast load times.
- Stunning Visuals - Experience the vast world in stunning 4K and HDR at 120 FPS (with a 4K and HDR compatible TV or display)
- Breathtaking Immersion - Discover a deeper gaming experience with support for haptic feedback, adaptive triggers, and 3D Audio technology.
- Backwards Compatibility - Play over 4,000 PS4 games on PS5. Enjoy faster and smoother frame rates in some of the PS4 console's greatest games.
PSSR is an upscaling method
PlayStation Spectral Super Resolution (PSSR) reconstructs a higher-resolution image from a lower-resolution render; it does not mean the game is rendered natively at 4K. Sony’s product page gives a concrete example from Naughty Dog: The Last of Us Part II Remastered has a Pro-specific mode that renders at 1440p, upscales to 4K using PSSR, and targets 60 fps. That describes this particular game mode, not all Pro titles.
Sony announced an upgraded PSSR in March 2026. Remedy Entertainment graphics technical director Tatu Aalto said the upgrade improves upscaling quality and stability, responds quickly to visibility changes, and aims to keep motion clear. Those are developer comments published by Sony, not an independent assessment of the newer implementation. The independent reviews below tested the console in 2024 and should not be read as tests of the 2026 PSSR update.
What reviewers noticed
Launch reviews found real gains but differed in how readily they stood out during ordinary play. In a November 6, 2024 review, The Washington Post’s Gene Park reported testing 25 PS5 and PS4 games. He highlighted Final Fantasy VII Rebirth, Alan Wake 2, and Horizon Forbidden West as clearer showcases, while finding that differences in several other games could be hard to spot. His assessment was cautious about recommending the upgrade to typical PS5 owners.
Engadget’s week-long November 2024 review described the Pro as compelling for enthusiasts seeking the best PlayStation visuals, but a niche upgrade. TechRadar, after nearly a week with the console, praised the fidelity-and-performance balance in supported games and noted that some modes benefit more with a 120Hz display. These observations reflect launch-era games and software, not a new comparison of the current Pro-enhanced catalog.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteRank #2
- Model Number CFI-2000
- Includes DualSense Wireless Controller, 1TB SSD, 2 Horizontal Stand Feet, HDMI Cable, AC power cord, USB cable, printed materials, ASTRO’s PLAYROOM (Pre-installed game)
- Vertical Stand sold seperately
PS5 vs. PS5 Pro: which is the better fit?
| Consideration | Standard PS5 | PS5 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Game compatibility | Plays PS5 games and most PS4 games. | Plays PS5 games and more than 8,500 PS4 games; Sony notes a small number of PS4 exceptions. Sony lists more than 100 Pro-enhanced PS5 titles on its current product page. |
| Visual and performance options | Depends on each game’s available modes. | Extra hardware can support higher-quality or smoother modes in games tuned for Pro; results vary by title. |
| Built-in storage | Not stated on the cited current Sony product page. | 2TB SSD, according to Sony’s current product page. |
| Disc drive included | Not stated in the cited review sources. | No; Engadget reported that the compatible detachable drive is sold separately. |
| US price | Current price not established. | Current price not established. The $700 figure in November 2024 reviews was the US launch price. |
The Pro makes the strongest case when your favorite games have modes you will actually use and your display can show the difference. A 4K screen helps reveal image-quality improvements; a 120Hz screen can matter for modes designed to take advantage of higher refresh rates. If you are happy with your current PS5’s image and performance, the upgrade is harder to justify.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Costs and trade-offs to check before buying
- Check the live console price. The $700 price was reported as the US launch price in November 2024. Current US retail pricing, stock, and seller prices have not been established here, so check the listing before deciding.
- Add a disc drive if you need one. The Pro does not include a drive. Physical-game owners and 4K Blu-ray viewers should include the compatible drive’s current regional price and availability in their total-cost comparison.
- Check your games, not just the console label. Sony’s Pro-enhanced list is the place to see which titles support specific enhancements; being playable on Pro does not mean a game has a dedicated Pro mode.
- Consider the display and your priorities. A 4K display and, for relevant modes, 120Hz support can help make the upgrade more useful. If you primarily value convenience, price, or playing games without scrutinizing visuals, the added power may matter less.
Verdict: a specialist upgrade, not an automatic replacement
The PS5 Pro is most persuasive for someone buying into PlayStation who wants the higher-end console, has a suitable display, and expects to play several enhanced games. Existing PS5 owners should weigh the specific games and modes they care about against the current console-plus-drive cost. Its improvements are meaningful in some titles, but the library-wide experience is not a uniform leap—and the historical $700 launch price should not be mistaken for today’s price.
Sources: Sony PS5 Pro product page; Sony PlayStation Blog, March 2026 PSSR update; Engadget, November 6, 2024; The Washington Post, November 6, 2024; TechRadar, November 6, 2024.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




