In WoW Classic: Season of Discovery Phase 2, honor rank progression and Blood Moon rewards were separate systems. Blizzard’s official Phase 2 announcement details Blood Moon currency, class-specific rewards and two level-40 mounts; its rank-cap announcement describes phased caps but does not provide a complete Phase 2 rank-reward table. The later rank-7 gear unlocks belong to Phase 3, not Phase 2.
How Phase 2 PvP ranks worked
Blizzard said honor ranks would have a cap in each Season of Discovery phase. Its November 30, 2023 rank-cap announcement set rank 3 as the cap for Phase 1 at level 25 and said the cap would rise in later phases. It did not list a complete Phase 2 cap or specify which rewards could be earned at each Phase 2 rank.
That distinction matters if you are looking for a rank-by-rank reward list: the official announcements cited here establish the phased-cap policy, but not a full Phase 2 honor-rank reward matrix. They also do not provide a Phase 2 rank requirement for the Blood Moon items or mounts.
How Blood Moon rewards worked
Phase 2 raised the level range to 40 and introduced the Blood Moon, a recurring PvP event in Stranglethorn Vale. Blizzard’s February 8, 2024 Phase 2 announcement says it ran every three hours for 30 minutes. Killing other players earned event currency, which could be exchanged for rewards from a merchant just outside Gurubashi Arena.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →#1 Best Overall
- Azeroth Awaits! Join millions of players and enter a world of myth, magic, and endless adventure.
- With a single game time purchase you can access World of Warcraft and WoW Classic, including 20th Anniversary Edition, Cataclysm Classic, Season of Discovery, and Hardcore Realms.
- Embark on your epic adventure in Azeroth for 60 days with this pre-paid game timecard.
- Simply enter your code at battle.net/code then assign this game time to any new or existing World of Warcraft account to keep the adventures going. No game purchase required.
- Includes access to World of Warcraft and WOW Classic. The most recent modern WOW expansion is sold separately.
What the event offered
Blizzard announced new class-specific items and two faction-agnostic mounts with new appearances for level-40 characters. These were Blood Moon event rewards purchased with event currency—not rewards listed as honor-rank unlocks.
The announcement does not give a complete item-by-item inventory or currency price list, so specific costs and a definitive list of every reward cannot be established from it.
Rank #2
- Brand new in original factory-sealed packaging!
- 1 Reusable Storage Box..Card Dividers to be Used with your Storage Box 1 Icecrown Playmat..1 Icecrown Deck Box 6 Icecrown Boosters..1 Icecrown Pocket Guide..5 Random Foil Heroes from Icecrowwn..and 1 Common Loot Card.
Participation and opting out
Raid groups were penalized during Blood Moon. Players could opt out by speaking to the Zandalari Emissary, but opting out forfeited the event rewards. General realm PvP rules still applied, and Blizzard said the event had no PvP objectives in the zone.
Phase 2 rank rewards versus Blood Moon rewards
| System | How it worked | What the official announcements establish |
|---|---|---|
| Honor ranks | Progression subject to a phase-specific rank cap | Phase 1’s level-25 cap was rank 3; a complete Phase 2 rank-reward table is not stated in Blizzard’s rank-cap announcement. |
| Blood Moon | Earn event currency by killing players during the Stranglethorn Vale event and spend it with the event merchant | Class-specific items and two faction-agnostic level-40 mounts were announced; a complete inventory and price list are not stated in the Phase 2 announcement. |
Do not mistake Phase 3 gear for Phase 2 rewards
Blizzard’s April 2, 2024 Phase 3 update notes raised the honor rank cap to 7 and added level-50 PvP gear with rank gates: boots and gloves at rank 5, shoulders and legs at rank 6, and chest and helm at rank 7. Those are Phase 3 unlocks, not Phase 2 rewards.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Honor decay change
Blizzard’s November 28, 2023 Classic Era PvP update said honor decay would be disabled effective with December 5, 2023 regional maintenance. Missing a minimum Honor requirement would no longer cause decay; the notice said dishonorable kills remained a way to lose rank progress.
Quick Recap
Rank #4
- Contains 19 cards per pack
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




