Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →As of October 13, 2026, SONIC PICO PARK is still unreleased. PICO PARK Inc. has announced it for November 12, 2026, with two to eight players on Nintendo Switch, Nintendo Switch 2, PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Windows and Steam. The confirmed change is the Sonic collaboration: previewed levels combine PICO PARK-style cooperation with abilities associated with Sonic, Tails, Knuckles and the wider series. What has not been confirmed is just as important: the announcement does not specify whether those players can be local, online, cross-platform, or all eight on one console.
That makes the comparison straightforward for gameplay identity but unresolved for buying and setup decisions. The original PICO PARK does not support cross-play, while PICO PARK 2 does. The upcoming Sonic title has no title-specific online or cross-play policy published in the reviewed announcement.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Quick comparison for co-op groups
| Feature | SONIC PICO PARK | PICO PARK | PICO PARK 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Status | Announced; releases November 12, 2026 | Released June 8, 2019 | Released in August 2024 |
| Players | 2–8 | 2–8 | 2–8 |
| Reviewed official platforms | Switch, Switch 2, PS5, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Windows and Steam | Switch and Steam | Steam, Switch, Xbox and Windows |
| Gameplay identity | Cooperative action puzzle with Sonic characters and previewed Sonic abilities | Cooperative puzzle levels | Expanded cooperative puzzle game with additional levels and modes |
| Modes publicly listed | Not yet detailed on the announcement page | World, Battle and Endless | World, Battle and Endless; Nintendo’s listing also names Dark |
| Cross-play | Not stated | Explicitly not supported | Supported for up to eight players |
| Local/online split | Not stated | The reviewed product information does not establish the new title’s setup | Nintendo lists local and online play for 2–8 on Switch |
The upcoming game’s confirmed player count should not be read as confirmation of eight-person couch play, online multiplayer, cross-play, controller requirements or a Nintendo Switch Online subscription. Those are separate technical details and remain unannounced for SONIC PICO PARK.
The base series has already passed major milestones. PICO PARK Inc.’s SONIC PICO PARK announcement says the series has sold more than eight million copies worldwide. The PICO PARK 2 page separately reports more than five million downloads; downloads and copies sold are different measurements, and the page does not give a separate date for when that download total was reached.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
What SONIC PICO PARK actually adds
The new game is not presented as a conventional Sonic platformer. Its official genre is “cooperative action puzzle,” which keeps the teamwork-first structure associated with PICO PARK. The Sonic contribution is a set of characters, movement abilities and series-inspired mechanics that change how a group solves each room.
Confirmed characters
The announcement identifies Sonic, Tails, Knuckles, Amy and PICO CAT. That is a character list, not a promise that every character has a unique ability in every level. The official page does not yet describe a character-selection system, unlock conditions or whether players can switch characters during a stage.
What the eight-level preview showed
A June 14, 2026 hands-on report by Dashiell Wood at TechRadar covered eight preview levels at Summer Game Fest. Because the session was pre-release, it demonstrates the direction of the game rather than its complete launch content.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors- One level used a shared gold ring to get the group past a laser, making possession and handoffs part of the puzzle.
- Springs and loop-de-loops brought familiar Sonic movement into spaces that still required coordinated timing.
- Every character in the preview could access a Spin Dash.
- Tails could fly and carry teammates, creating a vertical-support role for a player who might otherwise be separated from the group.
- Knuckles could glide, offering a different way to cross gaps.
These observations support a precise conclusion: the previewed game layers recognizable Sonic movement onto cooperative puzzle tasks. They do not establish the final number of stages, the complete ability roster, the balance of each character, or whether all preview mechanics will appear unchanged at launch.
Why that matters in a group
In a standard platform game, a character’s movement is usually an individual tool. In a PICO PARK-style room, the useful question is how that tool helps everyone. Tails carrying another player, Knuckles gliding to a distant position, or a group protecting a shared ring can turn a familiar Sonic action into a communication problem. Players will need to decide who moves first, who holds an item, and when an ability should be used for another person’s route rather than for personal progress.
Sonic Team head Takashi Iizuka described the unusual premise in a GamesRadar+ interview: “When I first saw the concept and the whole idea, I was kind of like, ‘Is this gonna be a Sonic game?’” His reaction captures the design distinction. This is a collaboration built around cooperative puzzle play, not simply a Sonic reskin of a traditional speed-running game. Iizuka also explained that an eight-player co-op project was something the Sonic team had not previously made, while the PICO PARK team was especially passionate about that form of play. The comments provide collaboration context, not a promise about the final online architecture.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What the original PICO PARK offers
The original PICO PARK, released June 8, 2019, is the useful baseline for understanding the format. Its official product page lists two to eight players, 48 levels and three named modes: World, Battle and Endless.
World mode
World is the campaign-style structure for solving cooperative puzzle levels. The important point for comparison is not a specific stage gimmick but the original game’s emphasis on shared positioning, timing and item handling. A group normally succeeds or fails together, so adding more people changes communication and congestion as much as it changes the available actions.
Battle mode
Battle provides a competitive alternative to the cooperative progression. It is part of the original’s published mode list, but the official page does not make it evidence that SONIC PICO PARK will launch with a matching mode.
Endless mode
Endless is the third named mode on the original page. Again, it belongs to that released game; it should not be transferred to the Sonic title until PICO PARK Inc. publishes a mode list for it.
Cross-play limitation
The original game’s official page explicitly says cross-play is not supported. A group planning to combine different platforms therefore cannot assume that the Switch and Steam versions share the same online session.
Do not confuse it with PICO PARK: Classic Edition
The Classic Edition is a separate product with different player and online support. The official material lists Classic Edition as supporting up to 10 players, so its larger maximum should not be used to describe the standard original game’s two-to-eight-player limit. References to the original’s modes and cross-play policy should likewise not be treated as a complete description of Classic Edition.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What PICO PARK 2 changes
PICO PARK 2 is the closest released comparison for groups prioritizing online flexibility. PICO PARK Inc.’s official page gives an August 28, 2024 release date; Nintendo’s US store listing gives August 27, 2024. The one-day difference is an attribution difference between the developer page and the store listing, not evidence of two separate editions.
The sequel keeps the two-to-eight-player range and adds cross-play across supported platforms. Its official mode list includes World, Battle and Endless, while Nintendo’s Switch listing also presents Dark mode. The developer page advertises more levels than the original—60 versus 48—and the sequel’s published feature set includes hats and cross-play.
Nintendo’s specific Switch details
Nintendo’s US listing states that local and online multiplayer each support two to eight players. It also says online cross-platform play is available and that up to seven players may join online from one Switch. Online play on Switch requires Nintendo Switch Online. The listing marks the game as compatible with Switch 2 in the manner described by Nintendo’s compatibility information.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallOutdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchThose details are useful as a model for the kind of information players need, but they belong to PICO PARK 2. They do not establish that SONIC PICO PARK will use the same room structure, subscription requirement, per-console player arrangement or cross-play implementation.
Online co-op and cross-play: what is known and unknown
If your buying decision depends on remote friends, the safe answer today is conditional.
Confirmed for the original
Cross-play is not supported according to the original game’s official page. Do not assume that owning different platform versions will let a group share one session.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Confirmed for PICO PARK 2
Cross-play is supported for up to eight players. Nintendo’s Switch listing separately confirms local and online two-to-eight-player support and the Nintendo Switch Online requirement for online play.
Not confirmed for SONIC PICO PARK
The official Sonic announcement lists the player count and platforms but does not state:
- whether multiplayer is local, online or both;
- whether cross-play works between Switch, PlayStation, Xbox, Windows and Steam;
- how many players can share one console;
- which controllers or input devices are required;
- whether a platform subscription is needed for online play; or
- whether every platform supports the same player limit and modes.
Do not infer any of those points from the number “2–8.” A player count describes the advertised group size, not the connection method.
Platforms and version choices
SONIC PICO PARK has the broadest announced platform list in this comparison: Nintendo Switch, Nintendo Switch 2, PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Windows and Steam. That makes it potentially easier for a mixed-platform group to find a compatible purchase, but compatibility is not the same as cross-play. Until PICO PARK Inc. publishes networking details, a group should treat each platform as a separate availability option rather than as proof that all versions share online rooms.
The original release is listed for Switch and Steam in the reviewed official material. PICO PARK 2 is listed for Steam, Switch, Xbox and Windows. If a group wants a feature already documented rather than an announced possibility, the sequel is the version with an explicit cross-play statement.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Modes, levels and content: a careful comparison
| Content question | Original PICO PARK | PICO PARK 2 | SONIC PICO PARK |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published level count | 48 | 60 | Not stated |
| World mode | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed |
| Battle mode | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed |
| Endless mode | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed |
| Dark mode | Not listed in the cited original page | Listed by Nintendo for Switch | Not confirmed |
| Distinctive published features | Classic cooperative puzzle format | More levels, hats and cross-play | Sonic cast and previewed Sonic movement mechanics |
The table separates established content from assumptions. The Sonic announcement does not say that World, Battle, Endless or Dark will return, even though those names are familiar from earlier entries. A mode announcement, level count or trailer may change that position later, but it is not currently a confirmed feature.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
How to choose for your group
Choose the Sonic release if the theme and mechanics are the priority
The upcoming game is the distinct choice for players who want cooperative puzzle rooms built around Sonic characters and abilities. The preview evidence suggests that movement powers are not decorative: flying, gliding, Spin Dash movement, rings and platforming elements affect how players coordinate. It is also the only option here announced for both current and previous Xbox generations, PS5, two Switch generations, Windows and Steam.
The trade-off is timing and uncertainty. It is not available as of the October 13, 2026 information date, and its online rules, exact modes, level count and final content are not published on the announcement page.
Choose the original if you want the established 48-level format
The first game has a known 48-level package and a documented World, Battle and Endless lineup. Its cross-play restriction is clear, which can be useful if everyone is already on the same supported platform. It does not provide the Sonic character abilities previewed for the collaboration.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Choose PICO PARK 2 if cross-play is decisive
The sequel is the documented option for a mixed-platform online group. It supports up to eight players with cross-play, has 60 published levels, and Nintendo documents local and online play on Switch. The Switch version’s online sessions still require Nintendo Switch Online, and players in different locations each need a copy according to the developer information.
Do not choose by player count alone
All three main titles advertise two to eight players, but that shared range hides the practical differences. The original excludes cross-play; the sequel confirms it; the Sonic game has not yet disclosed the relevant connection model. Ask first whether your group is together in one room or distributed across homes, then check platform compatibility and online requirements for the specific version.
Local co-op and controller planning
A Switch group may reasonably start looking at extra Switch-compatible controllers because the announced Sonic title supports up to eight players and the comparable sequel supports local two-to-eight-player sessions. That is only a conditional preparation step. No reviewed Sonic source says how many players can use one Switch, whether every player needs a separate controller, whether Joy-Con combinations are accepted, or whether another input arrangement is required.
Before buying accessories for launch, verify the final control information from PICO PARK Inc. or the platform store. The same caution applies to subscription costs: Nintendo Switch Online is documented for PICO PARK 2 online play, not for SONIC PICO PARK.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →What to check when final details arrive
- Confirm the final local and online player counts for the exact platform you intend to use.
- Look for an explicit cross-play statement covering the platforms in your group.
- Check whether online play requires Nintendo Switch Online, PlayStation Plus, Xbox Game Pass Core or another platform service.
- Verify whether one copy can host multiple local players and whether remote players each need their own copy.
- Read the controller requirements, especially if you plan to use a Switch with several people in one room.
- Check the final mode and level list rather than assuming that World, Battle, Endless or Dark returns from an earlier game.
- Review the final age rating when it replaces the announcement page’s ESRB “RP” placeholder.
This checklist prevents the most common comparison error: treating a series convention as a confirmed feature of the new collaboration.
Bottom line for co-op players
SONIC PICO PARK is an upcoming two-to-eight-player cooperative action puzzle game with Sonic characters, a broad announced platform lineup and a previewed blend of puzzle coordination with Sonic movement. Its meaningful difference from the original is the licensed cast and mechanics, not a confirmed new online model. The original has 48 levels, World/Battle/Endless modes and no cross-play. PICO PARK 2 has 60 levels, documented cross-play and Nintendo-listed local/online support. If Sonic abilities are the reason to play, wait for the November 12, 2026 release and its final setup details; if remote mixed-platform play is the deciding factor today, only the sequel has that support explicitly documented.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

