Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run Scan×
Skip to content
VGSources
Blog

Starfield: Shattered Space Release Dates, PC Requirements, and How to Start

Starfield: Shattered Space launched on Xbox and PC in 2024, with a separately listed 2026 PS5 release. Learn the PC requirements and how to trigger its opening distress call.
Length2 min Posted Quest giverVGSources Team

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Starfield: Shattered Space launched on Xbox Series X|S and PC on September 30, 2024; the official US PlayStation Store lists its separate PS5 release as April 7, 2026. To access the expansion, you need the DLC and the base game on the same platform, then complete “One Small Step” and make an eligible grav-jump to receive The Oracle’s distress call. Bethesda recommends level 35, but it is not a requirement.

Release dates and launch times

Bethesda announced the original release for Xbox Series X|S and PC as September 30, 2024, in its September 27, 2024 launch article. The official US PlayStation Store now lists Shattered Space as a PS5 add-on with an April 7, 2026 release date: PlayStation Store listing. Those dates refer to different platform launches.

Bethesda’s launch article includes a graphic labeled “Global Launch Times,” but the graphic’s exact regional times could not be verified. No reliable time-zone schedule is available here, so the article does not give a guessed release hour.

How to access and start Shattered Space

You need both Starfield and Shattered Space on the same platform or storefront. Bethesda’s launch guidance describes these purchase routes; edition names and subscription terms can change, so check the applicable store before buying.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Premium or Constellation Edition: Bethesda said owners of these original editions receive Shattered Space.
  • Standard Edition: Bethesda described the Digital Premium Upgrade as a way to get access to the expansion, along with other digital items.
  • Game Pass: Bethesda’s September 2024 guidance said subscribers could upgrade to the Premium Edition for access. Confirm current Game Pass and upgrade terms in your storefront.

The Steam listing also states that the DLC requires the base game on Steam. On any platform, install or update the game and expansion, then follow these steps:

  1. Complete the introductory main quest “One Small Step.”
  2. Make a grav-jump to an orbit that is not occupied by a mission or encounter.
  3. Answer the distress call from The Oracle to begin the expansion.

Bethesda recommends level 35 for the best experience, but says lower-level characters can take on the expansion. Level 35 is not an access gate. Xbox Wire’s launch guide also describes the start sequence and level recommendation.

PC system requirements

Bethesda’s published PC specifications for Shattered Space are below. They are the publisher’s requirements for the expansion, not separately established expansion-only hardware specifications.

Specification Minimum Recommended
Operating system Windows 10 Version 21H1 (10.0.19043) Windows 10/11 with updates
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 (model not specified) AMD Ryzen 5 3660X or Intel i5-10600K
Memory 16 GB RAM 16 GB RAM
Graphics AMD Radeon RX 5700 or NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Ti AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT or NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080
DirectX Version 12 Version 12
Storage 125 GB available space; SSD required 125 GB available space; SSD required
Network Not specified by Bethesda Broadband Internet Connection

The requirement is for an SSD; Bethesda does not specify NVMe, a brand, or a particular drive capacity. The storage figure is available space, not a direction to buy a new drive if you already have enough free SSD space. Bethesda’s cited launch article does not provide a matching PC requirements table for Xbox or PS5.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What Shattered Space is about

Shattered Space is a story expansion centered on House Va’ruun’s home world, Va’ruun’kai. Bethesda describes a crisis in Dazra after a massive vortex. Xbox Wire notes that the story takes place on Va’ruun’kai, while players can leave the planet during play.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More quests from Patch Notes

  1. How to Turn On Vibrant Visuals in MinecraftMinecraftBlog3min
  2. Best Multiplayer Games for Low-End PCsBlog4min
  3. Minecraft: How To Use And Install OptiFineBlog5min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.