Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
VGSOURCES
Get listed

AfterimagePATCH 2026.10.17

What to Know Before Buying a Metroidvania on PS5

By VGSources Team 11 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Before buying a Metroidvania on PS5, verify the exact PS4/PS5 edition, read how the game handles exploration and ability-gated progress, check its current accessibility panel, and treat the displayed price as a temporary regional snapshot. The label covers very different experiences: one game may emphasize discovering powers and mysteries, while another may focus on nonlinear routes, character builds, equipment, quests, and multiple endings. The two current PlayStation Store examples below—Hollow Knight: Silksong and Afterimage—illustrate why the listing matters more than the genre label.

What “Metroidvania” means when you are shopping on PS5

“Metroidvania” is a useful shorthand, not a fixed specification. Most games using the label combine interconnected areas, movement or combat abilities that open previously inaccessible routes, backtracking, and boss encounters. The balance varies considerably. A listing may describe a tightly authored journey, a huge nonlinear map, role-playing-style equipment, optional quests, or several endings. It may not tell you how punishing the checkpoints are, how much backtracking is required, or whether a particular build is viable without grinding.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Use the store description to identify the systems the developer actually promises, then separate those promises from assumptions. “New powers” does not automatically mean a difficult game; “fast-paced combat” does not establish an objective difficulty level. The available listings for the games compared here describe enemies and combat but do not provide a standardized difficulty rating. No reliable conclusion about which is easier should be drawn from the marketing copy alone.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

At-a-glance comparison of the two documented PS5 options

Game Platforms listed US price when checked What the listing emphasizes Accessibility information visible in the listing Version notes
Hollow Knight: Silksong PS4 and PS5 $19.99 Exploring a new kingdom, gaining powers, combat, weapons, traps, and mysteries Basic controller remapping; play without motion controls, controller vibration, or adaptive-trigger effect PS5 version listed; the store includes online-account language in its terms
Afterimage PS4 and PS5 $24.99 Nonlinear interconnected world, character builds, equipment, quests, multiple endings, and abilities that unlock areas and shortcuts Not confirmed in the inspected listing excerpt; use the live accessibility panel PS4 owners can obtain the PS5 digital version at no extra cost under the listed conditions

Prices and availability are changeable and may differ by country, account region, sale, tax, or edition. Confirm the live product page before paying: Silksong’s US PlayStation Store page and Afterimage’s US PlayStation Store page.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

What the Silksong listing tells you

Exploration and progression

The listing presents a journey through a new kingdom and specifically calls out new powers, combat, weapons, traps, and mysteries. That wording signals ability-driven exploration and discovery, but it does not state the map’s total size, the amount of required backtracking, or a recommended difficulty setting. If your purchase decision depends on those details, look for a current map or difficulty explanation from an authoritative source rather than inferring it from the genre name.

Play format and availability

The checked entry describes a one-player game with offline play enabled and lists both PS4 and PS5 versions. It gives a release date of September 4, 2025. The PS5 label confirms that a PS5-compatible product is being sold; it does not by itself tell you whether a physical disc edition exists or whether a separate PS4 purchase grants an upgrade. Read the edition and entitlement text attached to the account’s checkout screen.

Accessibility choices stated by PlayStation

The accessibility panel lists basic controller remapping and the ability to play without motion controls, controller vibration, or adaptive-trigger effect. These are concrete options you can verify before purchase. “Basic remapping” should not be read as a promise that every action can be moved to any button, so inspect the in-game settings after installation if a particular control arrangement is essential.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How to interpret the price

The US listing showed $19.99 when checked. That is a store snapshot, not a guaranteed long-term price, and it does not establish the price in another territory. A sale can change the value calculation without changing the game’s content. Check the final currency, tax, edition name, and refund eligibility shown for your account.

What the Afterimage listing tells you

World structure and build variety

The listing describes a hand-drawn 2D action adventure with fast-paced combat and a vast, interconnected, nonlinear world. It also advertises character builds, equipment, quests, multiple endings, and abilities that open new areas and shortcuts. Those details make it the more explicitly systems-heavy description of the two: the store copy points to choices about gear and builds in addition to route-finding. It does not say whether every build is equally effective, how much optional content is required for an ending, or how demanding the bosses are.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Scale claims are publisher statements

The product page claims more than 50 non-player characters, over 170 enemy varieties, 30 boss encounters, more than 200 equipment items, and multiple endings. These are useful indicators of intended breadth, but they are claims in the store listing rather than independently measured counts. “More than” also means the exact total may exceed the stated threshold. Do not convert the numbers into a guaranteed number of hours or a quality ranking.

PS4-to-PS5 entitlement conditions

The checked standard listing says owners of the PS4 version can obtain the PS5 digital version at no extra cost under its stated terms. A PS4 disc owner must keep the disc inserted to download or play the PS5 version. A PS5 Digital Edition cannot use that disc-based route because it has no disc drive. Confirm that your copy, account region, and edition match the live entitlement language; upgrade rules can differ for bundles or purchases made in another territory.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Price and accessibility caveats

The US listing showed $24.99 when checked. The inspected excerpt did not confirm accessibility options, so absence of a feature in this article is not evidence that the game lacks it. Open the current PlayStation accessibility panel and, if necessary, the game’s manual or support page before buying.

Choose by the experience you actually want

If exploration and secrets are your priority

Start with the verbs in the listing. Silksong foregrounds exploring a new kingdom, finding powers, and uncovering mysteries. Afterimage explicitly foregrounds a nonlinear, interconnected world and abilities that unlock routes and shortcuts. Both descriptions support exploration, but they communicate different emphases: the former stresses discovery and a new setting, while the latter makes map complexity and route-opening abilities central to its pitch.

If you want build and equipment decisions

Afterimage is the only one of these two listings that explicitly promises character builds, more than 200 equipment items, quests, and multiple endings. That makes it the better-documented match for players who want to experiment with loadouts or pursue different outcomes. Silksong’s listing mentions weapons and powers but does not provide an equivalent equipment-count or build-system description.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

If challenge level is your deciding factor

Neither store entry supplies an objective difficulty rating, a completion-rate statistic, or a standardized accessibility-of-combat measure. Do not label one “easy,” “hard,” or “beginner-friendly” solely from the wording about foes or fast combat. Instead, check whether the current listing offers difficulty modes, adjustable damage or accessibility settings, checkpoint details, or a demo. If those details are not published, treat challenge as an unresolved purchasing risk.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

If visual style matters

Afterimage’s listing explicitly calls its presentation hand-drawn 2D. The Silksong entry emphasizes its world, powers, weapons, traps, and mysteries rather than naming a technical art-style category in the inspected text. Use the screenshots and video on the live product page to judge whether the animation, color palette, and readability suit you; do not assume that every Metroidvania is pixel art or that a 2D label describes the same visual approach across games.

If you need specific control accommodations

Silksong has documented basic remapping and options to disable motion controls, vibration, and adaptive-trigger effects. For Afterimage, verify the current panel yourself. Also check practical factors the short panel may not cover: subtitle sizing, font legibility, color contrast, hold-versus-toggle behavior, pause access, and whether remapped controls apply to menus as well as gameplay.

If you are choosing on price alone

The displayed US prices favored Silksong in the checked snapshot, but a temporary sale, regional pricing, or a bundle can reverse that difference. Compare the exact edition and the amount of content you value rather than treating a few dollars as a permanent ranking. A PS4 owner should include the value of a no-cost PS5 digital entitlement when the listed conditions apply.

How to verify a PS5 purchase before checkout

  1. Open the live PlayStation Store page while signed into the purchasing account. Confirm the country code in the URL, currency, tax treatment, and whether the page says PS4, PS5, or both. A search result can point to a different territory or edition.
  2. Expand edition and platform information. Look for separate standard, deluxe, bundle, disc, or digital entries. Read whether the PS5 version is included, sold separately, or delivered as an entitlement after purchase.
  3. Read the feature description for progression clues. Note explicit references to interconnected maps, ability-gated areas, builds, quests, endings, weapons, traps, or other systems that match your priorities. Treat unmentioned features as unknown, not guaranteed.
  4. Open the accessibility panel. Record remapping, motion-control, vibration, adaptive-trigger, subtitle, display, and difficulty options that matter to you. If the panel is absent or incomplete, consult the developer’s current support information before paying.
  5. Check play mode and account requirements. Confirm player count, offline availability, and any online-account wording. Silksong’s checked entry is listed as one-player and offline-enabled, but account terms still appear in the store information.
  6. Review the price at the final confirmation screen. Make sure the amount is for the intended edition and region, and note whether a sale price has an end date. Do not assume a price seen in a guide remains current.
  7. Save entitlement evidence. For an upgrade or cross-gen purchase, keep the order receipt and the wording that explains the entitlement. This is especially important for disc-based PS4 upgrades.

Disc, digital, and cross-generation pitfalls

Buying a PS4 disc for a PS5 Digital Edition

A PS5 Digital Edition cannot read a PS4 disc. For Afterimage, the listed PS4-disc upgrade path requires the disc to be inserted, so that route does not work on a disc-less console. If you own a PS5 Digital Edition, select a digital edition that explicitly includes PS5 access instead of relying on a disc entitlement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Assuming every PS4 purchase includes PS5 access

Cross-generation treatment is product-specific. Afterimage’s listing describes a no-extra-cost PS5 digital entitlement for PS4 owners under stated conditions; that policy should not be generalized to other Metroidvanias. Silksong’s page lists a PS5 version, but the inspected information does not establish a universal PS4-to-PS5 upgrade rule.

Confusing a store listing with physical availability

The documented pages verify official digital-store listings. They do not verify current disc stock, regional physical editions, or retailer bundles. If you require a disc, confirm that the exact PS5 package exists in your territory before assuming the digital listing has a physical counterpart.

Relying on an old price or edition screenshot

Store prices, bundles, sale dates, and platform labels can change. Reopen the product page on the day you buy and check the checkout line item. A guide can explain what to inspect, but only the live account page determines the amount and entitlement you receive.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How to evaluate another PS5 Metroidvania when information is incomplete

Apply the same checklist to any candidate rather than inferring features from a famous name or a user-generated list. Search-result snippets can be useful pointers but are not a substitute for the product page. For example, the official PlayStation result for Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown indicates that PS5 play of the PS4 version may omit some PS4 features. The linked page was not available for a complete inspection at the time of checking, so its current price, full feature list, demo status, and edition options should be verified directly at the official game page before purchase.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

When a listing is incomplete, write down the unknowns that could change your decision: platform entitlement, difficulty modes, accessibility controls, offline play, save transfer, physical availability, and refund rules. An explicit “not stated” is safer than filling the gap with assumptions from another game in the genre.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

A practical decision worksheet

Question What to look for on the live listing Why it affects the purchase
Will it run on my console? PS5 label, or a clearly explained PS4 entitlement on PS5 Prevents buying an edition that cannot be installed or upgraded
How is the map structured? Interconnected, nonlinear, ability-gated, shortcut, or exploration language Predicts whether route planning and backtracking are central activities
Do I want builds? Equipment, loadouts, character builds, quests, or multiple endings Signals how much experimentation and replay-oriented choice the game advertises
Can I use the controls comfortably? Remapping, motion/vibration/trigger toggles, subtitles, display options Identifies accommodations before money is committed
What challenge evidence exists? Difficulty modes, adjustable damage, checkpoint information, demo, or none Prevents treating genre language as a difficulty guarantee
What exactly am I paying for? Region, edition, sale period, taxes, upgrade terms, and digital/disc format Ensures the checkout item matches your console and budget

Questions worth answering before you press Buy

Is a Metroidvania automatically a good choice for a newcomer?

No single difficulty or structure is guaranteed by the label. Read the game’s stated systems and look for explicit difficulty and accessibility information. If those details are missing, acknowledge that uncertainty rather than assuming the game will teach gently or punish severely.

Are Silksong and Afterimage both PS5 games?

The checked PlayStation Store entries list both as available for PS4 and PS5. Confirm the platform badges on the live page because listings and editions can change by region.

Does Afterimage include a free PS5 upgrade?

Its listing says PS4 owners can obtain the PS5 digital version at no extra cost under the stated conditions. Disc owners must insert the PS4 disc, and that route is unavailable on a PS5 Digital Edition. Verify the current terms for your copy.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which game is easier?

The available listings do not establish an objective comparison. They describe combat and enemies but provide no standardized difficulty rating, so a definitive easier-versus-harder recommendation would be unsupported.

Can I rely on the prices shown here?

No. The dollar amounts are US store snapshots from the time each page was checked. Your territory, taxes, sale timing, and edition can produce a different total.

Bottom line

Buy from the listing that documents the systems you actually want, not from the word “Metroidvania” alone. Silksong’s page is the clearer match for a purchase centered on discovering a new setting, powers, weapons, traps, and mysteries, with several control accommodations already documented. Afterimage’s page is the clearer match for explicitly advertised nonlinear exploration, builds, equipment, quests, and multiple endings, especially if a PS4-to-PS5 entitlement applies to your copy. In either case, recheck the live regional page, accessibility panel, edition terms, and final price immediately before checkout.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Afterimagegame buying guideHollow Knight: SilksongmetroidvaniaPlayStation StorePS5

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.