Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Rocksmith is Ubisoft’s original 2011 real-guitar learning game; Rocksmith 2014 is its 2013 follow-up. The later game’s Remastered edition added learning and practice features, but it was an update to Rocksmith 2014—not a new name for the original. Today, availability is a key difference: Ubisoft delisted Rocksmith 2014 from digital stores in October 2023, while people who already bought it can still access their purchases under Ubisoft’s notice.
Rocksmith and Rocksmith 2014 are separate releases
Ubisoft launched the first Rocksmith in 2011, then released Rocksmith 2014 two years later. Both are built around playing a real guitar rather than a plastic game controller; Ubisoft describes the game’s note-detection technology as recognizing notes played on the player’s instrument. Ubisoft’s Rocksmith+ PC launch announcement reported five million copies sold across the two games as a combined total in 2022; it did not break that figure down by title.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Rocksmith | $30.56 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Rocksmith 2014 Edition with Real Tone Cable (PS4) | $91.14 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Rocksmith Guitar and Bass - Xbox 360 | $34.56 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 |
|
Rocksmith+ Real Tone Cable | $64.95 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 |
|
RockSmith Real Tone Cable | $62.97 | Buy on Amazon |
What Rocksmith 2014 Remastered changed
Ubisoft described the Remastered version as adding a customizable learning curve, expanded practice tools, stat tracking, and improved menus. These changes center on adjusting progression and supporting practice. The list is Ubisoft’s description of Remastered features, not a claim that every platform build or edition differs in exactly the same way. Ubisoft’s Remastered feature overview gives the feature summary.
Remastered was an update for existing owners
In its August 2016 announcement, Ubisoft said the Remastered features would arrive as a free update for existing Rocksmith 2014 owners. At launch, Ubisoft also described new Remastered copies as including six bonus songs beyond the 50 then included on disc. That song count is a dated release detail, not a current offer or a guide to what can be bought now. Ubisoft’s 2016 announcement explains the update and launch bundle.
#1 Best Overall
- When we say any guitar we mean any guitar. Whether it's the guitar sitting in your attic, your cherished faithful steed, or the guitar you have yet to buy, Rocksmith lets you plug any guitar into your Xbox 360 system.
- Difficulty settings that adapt to your ability. You love a challenge, but hate being overwhelmed. Rocksmith understands this, and knows exactly how far to push to keep you entertained and addicted.
- Lots of music. Lots of styles. One of the most satisfying moments for any guitar player is hearing yourself play your favorite song for the first time. Rocksmith has amassed an amazing library of songs from different music genres.
- Play songs instead of just learning them. You want to play new songs, but you don't want to labor through tablature or cringe through poorly produced videos. No problem. Imagine that. A video game that'll get you stage-ready.
Availability is now a major practical difference
Ubisoft removed Rocksmith 2014 from digital storefronts on October 23, 2023. According to its delisting FAQ, people who previously purchased the game or DLC can still install, re-download, and play their owned content. Music licenses have also expired over time, leading to DLC removals. Check Ubisoft’s live notice for the current status of a particular song or pack rather than assuming it remains available to buy.
Rocksmith+ is a separate service, not Rocksmith 2014 by another name
Rocksmith+ is a distinct subscription product that Ubisoft says builds on the Rocksmith 2014 method. Access to its licensed catalog comes through the subscription, and its terms say songs and features may vary by country and change as licensing changes. That makes it neither an automatic upgrade for Rocksmith 2014 owners nor a catalog-equivalent replacement. See Ubisoft’s Rocksmith+ product page and subscription terms for current details.
Rank #2
- Rocksmith 2014 Edition for PlayStation 4
- Improved Interface More Songs and New Features
- 50 New Songs 80 Lessons Plus New Session Mode
- More Effects Tunings Amps and Tones
- Includes Specially Designed Rocksmith USB Cable
Connection options depend on the setup
For Rocksmith+ on PC, Ubisoft describes a Real Tone Cable connection as well as a phone-as-microphone app option. The cable and other connection equipment are separate from the service. The cable is therefore not mandatory for every Rocksmith+ setup, but compatibility and available connection methods depend on the platform; check Ubisoft’s terms and connection information for the setup you plan to use.
Which distinction matters most to you?
| What you’re comparing | Rocksmith (2011) | Rocksmith 2014 Remastered | Rocksmith+ |
|---|---|---|---|
| Product type | Original real-guitar learning game. | 2013 follow-up game with a Remastered update. | Separate subscription service built on the Rocksmith 2014 method. |
| Documented learning features | Real-guitar note detection; the cited feature descriptions do not establish a comparable feature list. | Customizable learning curve, expanded practice tools, stat tracking, and improved menus, according to Ubisoft. | Ubisoft describes it as building on the Rocksmith 2014 method; feature availability can vary and change under its terms. |
| Getting the game or service now | Availability is not stated in the cited notices. | Delisted from digital storefronts October 23, 2023; prior purchasers retain access to owned content under Ubisoft’s FAQ. | Subscription service; availability and terms depend on current Ubisoft offerings and region. |
| Music access | Not established by the cited sources as a current catalog or purchase comparison. | Owned content remains accessible under Ubisoft’s delisting notice; DLC has been removed over time as licenses expire. | Licensed catalog is subscription access and may change or vary by country. |
| Connection information | Not stated in the cited sources as a platform-by-platform comparison. | Not stated in the cited sources as a platform-by-platform comparison. | Ubisoft describes Real Tone Cable on PC and a phone-microphone app; check platform compatibility. |
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I still play or re-download Rocksmith 2014 or its DLC?
Ubisoft says people who previously purchased the game or DLC can still install, re-download, and play their owned content. Some DLC has been removed over time as music licenses expire, so check Ubisoft’s delisting FAQ for the current status of a particular song or pack.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- Compatible with all consoles that support the Rocksmith Game as well as PC
- Plug any real guitar into Xbox, PS4, PS3, etc
- Features breakaway design
- 11.25ft / 3.429m Cable
- Rocksmith video game not included
Rank #4
- Allows users to plug any guitar, bass, or piano to their PC
- Allows for real-time, responsive guitar or piano play for a recording at 16 bit (up to 48kHz). Plus, the analog-to-digital interface connects the instrument directly to any Windows PC
Rank #3
- This refurbished product is tested and certified to look and work like new. The refurbishing process includes functionality testing, basic cleaning, inspection, and repackaging. The product ships with all relevant accessories, and may arrive in a generic box
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




