Recommended Free Tools
The six trials that unlock the first Labyrinth are spread across Acts 1, 2 and 3 of the campaign: one in Act 1, two in Act 2 and three in Act 3. Each trial sits in a campaign zone, so you find them by following the normal story route rather than through a separate menu. The table below lists each zone, and the sections after it explain how the trials gate the Labyrinth and how the later prerequisites changed across patches.
Where each of the six first-Labyrinth trials is
The PoE Wiki’s trial location reference lists the following zones for the six trials that open the first Labyrinth. Zone names are the current campaign names as the wiki gives them.
| Act | Zone | Trials in that act |
|---|---|---|
| Act 1 | The Lower Prison | 1 of 6 |
| Act 2 | The Crypt Level 1 | 2 of 6 (with The Chamber of Sins Level 2) |
| Act 2 | The Chamber of Sins Level 2 | 2 of 6 (with The Crypt Level 1) |
| Act 3 | The Crematorium | 3 of 6 (with The Catacombs and The Imperial Gardens) |
| Act 3 | The Catacombs | 3 of 6 (with The Crematorium and The Imperial Gardens) |
| Act 3 | The Imperial Gardens | 3 of 6 (with The Crematorium and The Catacombs) |
Because the trials sit in the main campaign, you will pass most of them while progressing the story. If you are hunting for one specific trial, check the zone for its Act first, then work through the Act’s remaining areas in order. The wiki reference is the source for the zone names above; the trial locations in the table are current as that page lists them, and the page should be checked after major patches because zone names and layouts can change.
Legacy names from the 2.2.0 patch notes
The official 2.2.0 patch notes established six trials for each difficulty at the time and named the early trial areas as Axiom Prison, Crypt, Chamber of Sins, Crematorium, Catacombs and Hedge Maze. The current zone list does not match that wording exactly. Two entries do not reconcile cleanly: the notes say Hedge Maze where the current list has The Imperial Gardens, and they say Axiom Prison where the current list has The Lower Prison. The sources available here do not confirm whether these are renamed versions of the same areas, so treat the wiki’s current zone names as the reference for finding trials in the campaign, and use the 2.2.0 notes for the historical rule that six trials gate each difficulty’s Labyrinth.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
- Story rich: in the world of golarion, explore the stolen lands, a region that has been contested territory for centuries: hundreds of kingdoms have risen and fallen in these lands.
- Conquer: Conquer new regions as claim them as your own, carving your kingdom from the wilderness.
- characters customisation: create heroes (or villains) and customise your character choosing from more than 1000 different abilities, skills, and feats.
- focus on companions: meet with iconic characters from the Pathfinder setting itself in your journey. You'll need to decide who to trust and who to Observe, as each companion has a plan, alignment and goals that may differ from yours
- kingdom building: expand your kingdom, opening up new territories and allowing you to build new towns and community.Play your way: Choose your way to fight in real-time with pause or switch to turn-based mode to have better control over the fight placement
The 2.2.0 notes also state that completing the trials for a difficulty unlocks that difficulty’s Labyrinth. That is the basic gating rule, and it still underpins how the Labyrinth opens today.
How the trials gate the Labyrinth now
The official Labyrinth overview says that after you complete the trials for your current difficulty, you can enter the Lord’s Labyrinth through the Statue of the Goddess in Sarn. The same page notes that the Labyrinth layout changes daily, so a route that worked yesterday may look different today.
Rank #2
- Officially Licensed Artwork from POE2
- Machine Washable
- Smooth, Easy-Glide surface
- Printed at 300 Dots Per Inch
- Finish the trials for your current difficulty in the Act zones listed above.
- Travel to Sarn and locate the Statue of the Goddess.
- Interact with the statue to enter the Lord’s Labyrinth. Expect the layout to differ from the previous day.
How the prerequisites changed across patches
Campaign progression to the later Labyrinths was reworked in Path of Exile 3.0.0 and again in 3.16.0. The table compares the requirements stated in those official patch notes. These are historical records, so confirm them against the current official pages before planning a route.
| Labyrinth | Requirements in 3.0.0 (official notes) | Change stated in 3.16.0 (official notes) |
|---|---|---|
| Cruel | The previous Labyrinth plus three trials | Not stated in the 3.16.0 notes |
| Merciless | Cruel plus three trials | Not stated in the 3.16.0 notes |
| Endgame | Merciless plus six map trials, with a minimum character level of 60 at the time | Map trials are no longer required; earlier Labyrinths and one Offering to the Goddess are still required |
Map trials after 3.16.0
Under the 3.16.0 change, map trials can no longer spawn in white maps, and the Map Device option that opened a random trial was removed. Players who relied on map trials to reach the Endgame Labyrinth no longer need them for that purpose, though the earlier Labyrinths and the single Offering are still required.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Rank #3
Trials for Cruel and Merciless
The zone names and trap types for the three-trial prerequisites of Cruel and Merciless are not covered by a current official source that we could confirm, so this article does not list their locations. Check the in-game campaign map or the PoE Wiki’s Trial of Ascendancy page for the current zones before planning those trials.
Sources: official 2.2.0 patch notes, PoE Wiki trial location reference, official 3.0.0 patch notes, official 3.16.0 patch notes, and the official Labyrinth overview.
Quick Recap
Best Value
Rank #4
“
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




