Wildfrost is well received by the players and critics whose reviews are currently visible. Its Steam reviews are overwhelmingly positive, its listing shows a Metacritic score, and the one critic excerpt we could attribute calls it well made, innovative and addictive. This overview draws on official store and developer material and on published review data. It is not a hands-on review, and the numbers below are dated snapshots that will change.
What kind of game Wildfrost is
Steam describes Wildfrost as a tactical roguelike deckbuilder. The premise is a journey across a frozen tundra to banish an eternal winter, and each run asks you to build a deck, plan turns and push as far as you can before the cold wins.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Companions, items and charms
Your deck is built from card companions and elemental items, supplemented by charms and the leader you choose at the start of a run. The companions and items are the core of the build, so the combinations you assemble tend to define how a run plays out.
The counter system
Combat rewards planning ahead. Nintendo’s Switch listing describes it this way: “Plan ahead in battles with the help of a dynamic counter system to map out your next move and fend off frosty foes.” That is publisher product copy rather than an independent judgment, but it does point to where the game’s tactical depth lives: reading the next turn matters as much as the cards in your hand.
#1 Best Overall
- New stages and fighters are joined by the combined rosters of every past Super Smash Bros. Game
- Challenge others anytime, anywhere, whether you're on the couch or on the go
- Play any way you want—locally, online, in TV mode, Tabletop mode, Handheld mode, or even with GameCube Controllers
- Fight faster and smarter with new and returning techniques, like the perfect shield and directional air dodge
- Face off in 2-4 player battles, or play against the computer
Snowdwell between runs
Between runs, you develop Snowdwell, which expands over time. Progression of this kind is what gives the roguelike loop a reason to keep returning after a failed run.
What reviewers and players say
Steam player reviews
The Steam listing displays a “Very Positive” label, with 91% of 5,353 English-language reviews positive in a snapshot captured in October 2026. This is a user-review measure, not a critic score. It covers English reviews only, and the count and percentage keep moving as new reviews arrive, so treat the figure as a point-in-time reading.
Rank #2
- Minecraft is a game about placing blocks and going on adventures
- Explore randomly generated worlds and build amazing things from the simplest of homes to the grandest of castles
- Play in creative mode with unlimited resources or mine deep into the world in survival mode, crafting weapons and armor to fend off the dangerous mobs
- Play on the go in handheld or tabletop modes
- Includes Super Mario Mash-Up, Natural Texture Pack, Biome Settlers Skin Pack, Battle & Beasts Skin Pack, Campfire Tales Skin Pack; Compatible with Nintendo Switch only
Metacritic
The Steam product page also shows a Metacritic score of 80. That page does not state when the score was taken or what it is based on, so check the Metacritic entry directly for the current figure before quoting it. Metacritic’s Switch critic-review page carries one critic description calling the game well made, innovative and addictive. That is a single assessment, not a summary of the full critic pool.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →What the evidence does not establish
- A consensus list of strengths or weaknesses drawn from multiple outlets. The excerpts we could verify do not support one.
- A named quotation from a developer or reviewer suitable for a broader pull quote.
- Whether reviewers are split on difficulty or replay variety. No attributable review in the material establishes that either way.
Platforms and versions compared
Wildfrost is listed on Steam, Nintendo Switch, iOS and Android. The table shows what each official listing states. “Not stated” means the official material we checked does not give that detail, so confirm it on the live store page before buying.
Rank #3
- Discover Hyrule as never before: by making your own path, choices, and consequences
- Ingenuity is the key to survival: find multiple solutions to tons of dynamic puzzles
- Surprises hide around every corner: scavenge weapons, armor, plants, animals, and more
- Live off the land: find weapons and armor, cook food, and brew elixirs
- Utilize special technology: the in-game Sheikah Slate controls objects and enemies in fun ways
| Feature | Steam (PC) | Nintendo Switch | iOS and Android |
|---|---|---|---|
| Release date | April 12, 2023 (Steam listing) | April 12, 2023 (official site, listed with Steam) | April 11, 2024 (official site) |
| Players | Single-player | One player on one system | Not stated |
| Play modes | PC | TV, tabletop and handheld | Not stated |
| Touchscreen | Not stated | Supported | Not stated |
| Controller support | Full controller support | Not stated | Not stated |
| Cloud saves | Steam Cloud | Save-data cloud support | Not stated |
| Achievements and Workshop | Steam achievements and Workshop | Not stated | Not stated |
| Languages | Not stated on the Steam listing | Japanese, British English, Korean, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese | Not stated |
| ESRB rating | Not stated on the Steam listing | Fantasy Violence and Mild Blood | Not stated |
| Cross-save or cross-buy | Not established | Not established | Not established |
The Steam listing also offers the Wildfrost soundtrack as digital add-on content. Nothing in the game descriptions requires a physical accessory, and the Switch’s touchscreen support is optional rather than a requirement.
PC system requirements
The Steam listing gives these minimum requirements:
Rank #4
- 6.2” LCD screen
- Three play modes: TV, tabletop, and handheld
- Local co-op, online, and local wireless multiplayer
- Detachable Joy-Con controllers
- Nintendo Switch is the home of Mario & friends
- Operating system: Windows 7, 10 or 11
- Processor: 4 GHz (as listed on the Steam page)
- Memory: 4 GB RAM
- Graphics: 2 GB dedicated GPU memory, DirectX 10
- Storage: 2 GB
Store requirements can change with updates, so confirm them on the live Steam page before purchase.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →The Switch physical edition
A community announcement from the developers says a Wildfrost Switch physical edition was coming and refers to a Deluxe Edition. That confirms a physical release was planned. It does not confirm current retail stock, price, seller, the contents of the Deluxe Edition, or availability in your region.
Best Value
- A variety of playable characters are available, some with unique attributes that affect gameplay and platforming physics.
- Younger and less-experienced players will love playing as Toadette, who is brand new to both games, and Nabbit, who was formerly only playable in New Super Luigi U. Both characters offer extra assistance during play.
- Multiplayer sessions are even more fun, frantic, and exciting thanks to entertaining character interactions. Need a boost? Try jumping off a teammate’s head or getting a teammate to throw you.
- Features a wealth of help features, like a Hints gallery, reference videos, and a Super Guide in New Super Mario Bros. U that can complete levels for you if they’re giving you trouble.
- Three additional modes—Boost Rush, Challenges, and Coin Battle—mix up gameplay and add replayability, while also upping the difficulty for players who want to try something harder. Players can use their Mii characters in these modes.
- Check the official Nintendo listing for your region to see whether a physical release is shown.
- Search retailers that ship to your country for the Deluxe Edition, and compare the listed contents with what you expect.
- Confirm the language and packaging details on the product page before ordering from a third-party seller.
Development background
The official presskit says Will and Gaziter began developing Wildfrost in March 2020, working from a paper card game Gaziter had been experimenting with. It also says the game has received quality-of-life and content updates on PC and Switch. The presskit excerpt we checked does not establish a current version number or a complete update history, so the patch notes on each store page are the place to confirm what has changed.
Quick Recap
Choosing where to play
- Choose Steam if you want a PC version with full controller support, achievements, Workshop access and the soundtrack add-on.
- Choose Switch if you want to play on a TV, at a table or on the go, with touchscreen support and a wider set of listed languages.
- Choose the mobile versions if you want to play on a phone or tablet. Their feature details are not stated in the official material we checked.
- Do not buy on the assumption that progress carries between platforms. Cross-save and cross-buy are not established for any version.
The Bottom Line
“”
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




