As of October 8, 2026, Rockstar has not published an install size for Grand Theft Auto VI, so there is no official confirmation that the game will need 1 TB. The figure is unverified. Rockstar’s official pages do confirm platforms, a release date, preload timing and the format of the physical edition, but none of them give a storage requirement.
What Rockstar has published about storage
The table below separates what Rockstar has stated from what it has not. Every “not stated” entry means that Rockstar’s game page, Rockstar Support pages and PlayStation.Blog did not give that figure when checked on October 8, 2026.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Item | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Platforms | PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S | Rockstar’s official Grand Theft Auto VI game page |
| Release date | November 19, 2026 | Rockstar’s official Grand Theft Auto VI game page |
| Preload start | Local midnight, November 12, 2026 | Rockstar Support |
| Physical edition | The box contains a download code and no disc | Rockstar Support |
| Install size, PS5 | Not stated | Rockstar’s official pages, checked October 8, 2026 |
| Install size, Xbox Series X | Not stated | Rockstar’s official pages, checked October 8, 2026 |
| Install size, Xbox Series S | Not stated | Rockstar’s official pages, checked October 8, 2026 |
| Required free space | Not stated | Rockstar’s official pages, checked October 8, 2026 |
| Day-one update size | Not stated | Rockstar’s official pages, checked October 8, 2026 |
Two practical consequences follow from the table. First, the preload date is the first point at which a player will need to have space ready, yet Rockstar has not said that storage details will appear on that date. Second, because the physical edition is a download code rather than a disc, boxed buyers face the same download and storage questions as digital buyers.
Recommended Free Tools
Why the 1 TB number keeps circulating
Size figures for a large open-world game tend to spread through community speculation and outlet estimates before any publisher confirms anything. A secondary guide that reviewed these claims found no official figure. It labelled some estimates, including a 676.7 GB number, as unconfirmed or false. Treat any range you see as speculation, not a specification, whether it says 1 TB or something smaller.
#1 Best Overall
- STUNNING VISUALS — Enhanced levels of fidelity and performance with new graphics modes featuring up to 4K resolution, up to 60 frames per second, HDR options, ray tracing, improved texture quality, and more
- FASTER LOADING — Quicker access to the action as the world of Los Santos and Blaine County load in faster than ever before.
- ADAPTIVE TRIGGERS AND HAPTIC FEEDBACK — Feel every moment through the DualSense controller, from directional damage to weather effects, rough road surfaces to explosions, and more.
- TEMPEST 3D AUDIO — Hear the sounds of the world with pinpoint precision: the throttle of a stolen supercar, the rattle of neighbouring gunfire, the roar of a helicopter overhead, and more.
- Please note that although this game is Region Free or Region Unlocked and will work on all systems, this is the European version and may differ from the local version in age rating, labeling or instructions.
The same caution applies to the question readers search most often, “How big is GTA 6?” The answer is the same: Rockstar has not published a size.
What Sony’s PS5 statement does and does not say
Sony’s PlayStation.Blog post, written by Mary Yee, Senior Vice President, Marketing, Sony Interactive Entertainment, says: “Grand Theft Auto VI also leverages the PS5’s ultra-high speed SSD, enabling you to experience the expansive world of Leonida with near-instant load times.”
Rank #2
- Modern weapons for players.
- Easy and smooth game controls.
- 4 thrilling grand gangster modes in the open world
- Drive, shooting, free mode, or challenge mode Full fledge gangster battle.
- Real gangster crime.
That sentence describes performance: how the PS5’s SSD is used and how quickly the game loads. It says nothing about how many gigabytes the game occupies, how much free space it needs, or whether the figure differs between PS5 and Xbox. Do not read it as a storage requirement.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →How to prepare before Rockstar publishes a figure
- Check the free storage on your console now, before preload opens at local midnight on November 12, 2026. Because the start is local midnight, it arrives at different clock times depending on where you live.
- Recheck Rockstar’s official Grand Theft Auto VI game page and Rockstar Support after preload opens. Any storage requirement Rockstar publishes should appear there first.
- Do not buy a storage expansion because of the 1 TB claim. Without a published install size, you cannot know whether you need one, or how much.
- If you are buying the physical edition, plan for a full download, since the box contains only a download code.
What to compare when Rockstar publishes figures
When Rockstar does publish storage details, read them carefully. Several different numbers can appear, and they are not interchangeable:
Rank #3
- Initial download size: the amount to transfer before you can play.
- Installed size: the space the game occupies once installed.
- Temporary installation space: any extra room needed while the install runs.
- Day-one update size: any patch that arrives at or shortly after launch.
- Per-platform figures: PS5, Xbox Series X and Xbox Series S should each be read separately. Do not assume one number applies to all three.
Until Rockstar publishes these figures, the honest answer to “Will GTA 6 be 1 terabyte?” is that no one outside Rockstar can confirm it.
The game is listed for PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S with a November 19, 2026 release date. Check Rockstar’s official listing for current details.
Quick Recap
Rank #4
- This product contains a download code inside the box — no disc is included. Customer shipments will begin arriving November 12 for pre-load; game is playable starting November 19. Code can only be used by users holding an account for PlayStation registered to the US or Canada.
- Pre-order to receive the Vintage Vice City Pack.
- Grand Theft Auto VI is a single-player experience.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




