DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
Skip to content
VGSources
Blog

Xbox Game Pass vs. PlayStation Plus: Features, Games, and Value

Compare Game Pass and PS Plus by platform, catalog, tier benefits, price, and streaming limits—not by plan name or catalog size alone.
Length6 min Posted Quest giverVGSources Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Neither Xbox Game Pass nor PlayStation Plus is the better choice for everyone. The right subscription depends first on the console or PC you use, then on the games you want, the benefits you need, and whether you plan to download or stream. For US prices verified here, PlayStation lists all three tiers, while Xbox’s accessible comparison page does not state prices for Essential and Premium. Check the live local storefront and catalog before paying because prices and included games change.

At a glance: the plans and what sets them apart

PlayStation Plus has three tiers: Essential, Extra, and Premium. Xbox Game Pass lists Essential, Premium, Ultimate, and PC Game Pass. The names do not map neatly onto one another; compare the features you will actually use rather than assuming a tier with a similar label offers the same things.

Service and tier Main benefits and access US price verified
PlayStation Plus Essential Monthly games, online multiplayer, discounts, Share Play, cloud storage, and exclusive content. $10.99 monthly; $27.99 for three months; or $79.99 for 12 months, according to Sony’s US plan page.
PlayStation Plus Extra Essential benefits plus the Game Catalog, which Sony describes as hundreds of games, including Ubisoft+ Classics. $16.99 monthly; $43.99 for three months; or $134.99 for 12 months, according to Sony’s US plan page.
PlayStation Plus Premium Extra benefits plus the Classics Catalog, game trials, cloud streaming, Ubisoft+ Classics, and a Sony Pictures Catalog. $19.99 monthly; $54.99 for three months; or $159.99 for 12 months, according to Sony’s US plan page.
Xbox Game Pass Essential Xbox plan with benefits that vary by plan; consult Xbox’s live comparison page for current inclusions. Not stated on the accessible official comparison page; check Xbox’s US plan page.
Xbox Game Pass Premium Xbox plan with benefits that vary by plan; consult Xbox’s live comparison page for current inclusions. Not stated on the accessible official comparison page; check Xbox’s US plan page.
Xbox Game Pass Ultimate Xbox and Windows PC downloads, supported-device streaming, online console multiplayer, and other plan-dependent benefits. The Xbox comparison page also describes benefits such as EA Play, day-one titles, Ubisoft+ Classics, in-game benefits, rewards, deals, and discounts; availability varies by plan. $22.99 per month in the US starting April 21, 2026; Xbox says prices may vary by region. See its April 21, 2026 update.
PC Game Pass PC-focused Game Pass plan; features and game availability depend on the plan, title, region, and platform. $13.99 per month in the US starting April 21, 2026; Xbox says prices may vary by region. See its April 21, 2026 update.

Xbox says titles, features, and availability vary over time, by region, plan, and platform. Its live comparison page is the best place to check which benefits apply to a particular tier.

Which service fits your console, PC, and friends?

Start with the hardware and online community you already use. A subscription does not make the other company’s console ecosystem interchangeable: a PlayStation Plus subscription does not substitute for Xbox access, or vice versa. If you mainly play on Windows PC, compare PC Game Pass with the specific PlayStation titles and PC options you want rather than paying for console benefits you will not use.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Sale
XBOX Wireless Gaming Controller | Robot White
  • MODERNIZED DESIGN — Experience the modernized design of the XBOX Wireless Controller with sculpted surfaces and updated geometry that enhances comfort and control during long gaming sessions.
  • PRECISION PERFORMANCE — Stay on target with a hybrid D-pad and textured grips on triggers, bumpers, and back case for improved accuracy and handling.
  • SHARE BUTTON: Seamlessly capture and share content such as screenshots, recordings, and more with the new Share button.
  • VERSATILE CONNECTIVITY — Connect via USB-C for plug-and-play on console and PC, or quickly pair and switch between supported devices with XBOX Wireless and Bluetooth support.
  • BUILT-IN AUDIO SUPPORT — Plug in compatible headsets using the 3.5mm audio jack for direct voice chat and immersive in-game sound.

Xbox says cloud gaming is available on supported devices including phones and tablets, Samsung, LG, and Amazon Fire TVs, Meta VR headsets, and a web browser, with regional and device caveats. Confirm your device and region on the Xbox plan page before subscribing.

For PlayStation, Essential is the tier for core membership benefits such as online multiplayer and monthly games. Extra is the step up for its Game Catalog. Premium is aimed at players who want classics, trials, or supported cloud streaming in addition to the lower-tier benefits.

Rank #2
GameSir G7 Pro Wired Controller for Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Wireless Gamepad for PC&Android with TMR Sticks, Hall Effect Analog Triggers, 1000Hz Polling Rate, 3.5mm Audio Jack - Black
  • Tri-mode Connectivity: Wired for Xbox, 2.4G & Wired for PC, and Bluetooth for Android. The G7 Pro supports seamless connectivity across Xbox, PC, and Android. Effortlessly switch between modes using the convenient physical mode switch.
  • TMR Sticks: The G7 Pro features GameSir's Mag-Res TMR sticks, combining Hall Effect durability with traditional potentiometer performance. This advanced technology delivers stable polling rates for smooth, drift-free gaming with low power consumption.
  • Hall Effect Analog Triggers: The GameSir precision-tuned Hall Effect analog triggers provide unmatched smoothness and linear input for precise control. Featuring clicky Micro Switch trigger stops, gamers can easily switch based on their preferences.
  • 1000Hz Polling Rate on PC: Experience ultra-responsive gaming with a 1000Hz polling rate on PC, available through both wired and 2.4G wireless connections. This ensures instantaneous input registration, reducing lag and optimizing your performance for the most competitive gameplay.
  • GameSir Nexus App: The G7 Pro is compatible with the upgraded GameSir Nexus app, which brings a significant upgrade over the original. It introduces powerful new features such as gyro settings, stick curve adjustments, and button-to-mouse mapping, giving you deeper customization and more control than ever before.

Compare the games you will actually play

Catalog access is temporary

A large catalog count is less useful than confirming that the games on your list are included now and playable on your device. Sony says Game Catalog and Classics Catalog games can have end dates and be removed. Monthly games work differently: add them to your library and you can play them while your membership remains active. See Sony’s PlayStation Plus game and catalog support page.

“Day one” has exceptions

Xbox promotes day-one releases for eligible games on relevant plans, but that is not a promise that every major release will arrive at launch. Xbox said in its April 2026 update that future Call of Duty games will not join Ultimate or PC Game Pass at launch; it expects those games to arrive in those plans during the following holiday season, about a year later. Xbox also said existing Call of Duty titles already in the library would remain available. Check the specific game and plan instead of relying on the general day-one label.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Xbox Wireless Gaming Controller | Elite Series 2 | Black
  • PLAY LIKE A PRO — The XBOX Elite Wireless Controller Series 2 features over 30 ways to play like a pro. Designed in collaboration with pro-level players, it puts exceptional performance, customization, and durability where it matters most.
  • ADJUSTABLE-TENSION THUMBSTICKS — Fine-tune your aim with thumbsticks that let you adjust resistance for improved accuracy, consistency, and control in every match.
  • SHORTER HAIR TRIGGER LOCKS — Fire faster and react quicker with three-step hair trigger locks that reduce pull distance for rapid input in competitive gameplay.
  • INTERCHANGEABLE COMPONENTS — Swap thumbstick toppers, D-pads, and paddles to tailor your controller to your preferred gaming style. Includes 6 thumbsticks, 4 paddles, 2 D-pads, carrying case, and charging dock.
  • SAVE AND SWITCH PROFILES — Save up to 3 custom profiles on the controller and switch between them on the fly with the dedicated Profile button. Even pick which color the XBOX button lights up as.

PlayStation’s PS4 catalog additions are becoming less frequent

Sony says PS4 games will be added to the Extra and Premium catalogs only intermittently from January 2026. If your decision depends on a steady flow of new PS4 catalog additions, factor that policy into your expectations.

How the prices compare—and what is not established

Sony’s US page displays monthly, three-month, and annual prices for all three tiers. Its 12-month prices are lower than 12 payments at the displayed monthly rate, but subscriptions continue until cancelled; compare the price and renewal terms actually offered at checkout.

Rank #4
Sale
Xbox Wireless Gaming Controller | Elite Series 2 Core | White | Console, PC, and Android | Adjustable Thumbsticks | Trigger Locks
  • XBOX ELITE WIRELESS CONTROLLER SERIES 2: Play like a pro with adjustable-tension thumbsticks, wrap-around rubberized grip, and shorter hair trigger locks..Audio : 3.5mm stereo headset jack. Also compatible with the Xbox One Stereo Headset Adapter and all other Xbox controller accessories made by Microsoft.
  • CORE ESSENTIALS: Includes just the components you need to unleash your best game. Additional components sold separately for even more customization with the Complete Component Pack.
  • LIMITLESS CUSTOMIZATION: Exclusive button mapping options in the Xbox Accessories app—even pick which color the Xbox button lights up with.*
  • CUSTOM PROFILES: Save up to 3 custom profiles on the controller and switch between them on the fly.*
  • EXTENDED GAMEPLAY: Stay in the game with up to 40 hours of battery life and refined components that are built to last.*

For Xbox, the verified US monthly prices here are $22.99 for Ultimate and $13.99 for PC Game Pass, announced April 21, 2026. The accessible official comparison page does not state current US prices for Essential or Premium, so there is not enough verified information here for a complete price comparison across all tiers. Check Xbox’s live checkout for the price available to you, including any current offer and renewal amount.

Prices and promotions may differ outside the United States or change after these published figures. Compare the billing interval you will keep, not just the monthly headline price, and include the cost of any streaming time you may need beyond an included allowance.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Sale
XBOX Wireless Gaming Controller | Pulse Red
  • MODERNIZED DESIGN — Experience the modernized design of the XBOX Wireless Controller with sculpted surfaces and updated geometry that enhances comfort and control during long gaming sessions.
  • PRECISION PERFORMANCE — Stay on target with a hybrid D-pad and textured grips on triggers, bumpers, and back case for improved accuracy and handling.
  • SHARE BUTTON: Seamlessly capture and share content such as screenshots, recordings, and more with the new Share button.
  • VERSATILE CONNECTIVITY — Connect via USB-C for plug-and-play on console and PC, or quickly pair and switch between supported devices with XBOX Wireless and Bluetooth support.
  • BUILT-IN AUDIO SUPPORT — Plug in compatible headsets using the 3.5mm audio jack for direct voice chat and immersive in-game sound.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Cloud streaming: choose based on how you play

PlayStation Plus Premium

Sony places cloud streaming in Premium. Its US plan page gives a minimum connection speed of 5 Mbps, or 15 Mbps for 1080p. Sony’s cloud-streaming FAQ describes streaming on PS4, PS5, and PC; select games may stream to PS5 or PlayStation Portal, with availability varying by game and territory. Some PS3 Classics are streaming-only. A Portal is optional, not a requirement for Premium.

Xbox’s announced monthly cloud-hour allowances begin in November 2026

As of October 4, 2026, these are future terms, not active limits. Xbox announced that, beginning in November 2026, included monthly cloud gaming time will be 15 hours for Ultimate, 10 hours for Premium, and 5 hours for Essential. Eligible subscribers could stream without those hour limits at the time of the announcement. Xbox said more hours could be purchased, but had not yet shared pricing or full purchase details. The announcement said Xbox expected the change to affect 4% of Game Pass subscribers; that is Xbox’s estimate, not an independent measurement. See Xbox’s September 3, 2026 announcement for updates before relying on those terms.

For either service, streaming depends on the plan, game, device, and region. If you expect to stream for long sessions, check supported games, connection requirements, current hour terms, and any extra cost before choosing a tier.

A practical way to choose

  1. Start with the platform you use. Pick the service that fits your Xbox, PlayStation, or Windows PC and the friends or library you already have there.
  2. Write down your must-play games. Check each title in the live catalog and confirm the relevant plan and device. Do not treat a catalog count or day-one label as confirmation for a specific game.
  3. Choose the lowest tier that covers your needs. On PlayStation, move from Essential to Extra for the Game Catalog, and to Premium for classics, trials, or streaming. On Xbox, compare current plan features for your device and multiplayer needs.
  4. Calculate the cost at your intended billing interval. Compare actual checkout and renewal prices, not just monthly equivalents; if cloud gaming matters, include any likely extra streaming time.
  5. Recheck before subscribing. Catalogs, prices, plan features, and cloud terms can change. Confirm the local storefront and the games you want on the day you buy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More quests from Patch Notes

  1. How to Turn On Vibrant Visuals in MinecraftMinecraftBlog3min
  2. Best Multiplayer Games for Low-End PCsBlog4min
  3. Minecraft: How To Use And Install OptiFineBlog5min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.