Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFor open-world fans, the clearest 2026 fits are The Blood of Dawnwalker, Sea of Remnants, and AION 2; other promising releases are RPGs whose sources do not confirm an open world. This shortlist uses a broad rule: it includes games officially described as open-world or RPGs, but excludes expansions and platform editions so all nine picks are new games. Release certainty ranges from specific dates to a year-only window, and platforms are listed only where the cited sources provide them.
At a glance: nine 2026 RPGs and open-world games
| Game | Genre fit | Release timing | Platforms stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Blood of Dawnwalker | Open-world action RPG | September 3, 2026 | PS5, Xbox Series X|S, PC |
| AION 2 | Open-world MMORPG | October 5, 2026 | Not stated in the cited announcement |
| Phantom Blade Zero | Wuxia action RPG; semi-open world | October 29, 2026 | PC, PS5 |
| Zero Parades: Director’s Cut | Espionage RPG; open-world design not established | November 3, 2026 | PS5 |
| Edge of Memories | RPG; open-world design not established | November 5, 2026 | PC, PS5, Xbox Series X |
| Dragon Quest Monsters: The Withered World | Monster-raising RPG; open-world design not established | December 3, 2026 | PC, Switch, Switch 2, PS5, Xbox Series X |
| Elden Ring Tarnished Edition | Open World RPG, per Bandai Namco’s catalogue | August 28, 2026 | Not stated in the cited catalogue |
| Sea of Remnants | Ocean-fantasy open-world RPG | 2026; no exact date stated | PS5, PC (Steam) |
| Witchbrook | Cozy witch RPG; open-world design not established | TBC 2026 | PC, Switch, Switch 2, Xbox Series X/S |
Dates and platforms are drawn from the sources linked in each entry. The GamesRadar roundup is an editorial source for several entries; official publisher and platform-holder announcements are used where cited.
The strongest open-world matches
The Blood of Dawnwalker — September 3
Bandai Namco describes this as an open-world action RPG and announced a September 3, 2026 release for PS5, Xbox Series X|S, and PC. That makes it the most straightforward fit for readers seeking both parts of the title: an RPG and an open world. Bandai Namco’s announcement.
Sea of Remnants — 2026
NetEase calls Sea of Remnants an ocean-fantasy open-world RPG and plans a 2026 release on PS5 and PC through Steam. Its announced premise centers on ocean exploration, a customizable fleet, companions, and choices that shape the pirate city of Orbtopia. The source gives a year, not a launch day. NetEase’s announcement.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →#1 Best Overall
- Welcome to the new world: taking on the role of a Hunter, players are tasked with going on a research expedition to a newly discovered continent known only as “new world”.
- Living and breathing ecosystem: utilize the surrounding environment and wildlife to your advantage;Subgenre:Action role-playing game (RPG)
- Online drop-in multiplayer: when the battle is too daunting to take on single-handedly, hail up to three other hunters to assist during quests by sending up a sos flare to a worldwide server.
- Hunt to craft new Gear: defeat monsters and collect loot from fallen foes to craft equipment and weapons styled after the monsters that have been slain.
- SEAMLESS gameplay: players and monsters can move from One map area to another freely and without loading screens whilst gameplay also dynamically transitions between night and day.
AION 2 — October 5
NC describes AION 2 as an open-world MMORPG and gives October 5, 2026 as its date. The cited announcement does not establish platform or worldwide territory availability, so those details should not be assumed from the date alone. NC’s announcement.
Elden Ring Tarnished Edition — August 28
Bandai Namco’s RPG catalogue lists Elden Ring Tarnished Edition for August 28, 2026 and groups it under Open World RPG. The cited catalogue does not establish platform or edition details, so treat the date and genre grouping as the extent of what is confirmed here. Bandai Namco’s RPG catalogue.
Rank #2
- The outer worlds is a new single-player first-person sci-fi rpg from obsidian entertainment and private division
- In the outer worlds, you awake from hibernation on a colonist ship that was lost in transit to halcyon, the furthest colony from earth located at the edge of the galaxy, only to find yourself in the midst of a deep conspiracy threatening to destroy it. As you explore the furthest reaches of space and encounter various factions, all-vying for power, the character you decide to become will determine how this player-driven story unfolds. In the corporate equation for the colony, you are the unplanned variable
Dated RPGs that are not confirmed as open world
Phantom Blade Zero — October 29
GamesRadar identifies this as a Wuxia action RPG and describes its world as semi-open, rather than simply labeling it open world. The release date is October 29, 2026, with PC and PS5 listed. It is a good pick for players who want action-RPG combat and a more structured world than a fully open map. GamesRadar’s upcoming RPG roundup.
Zero Parades: Director’s Cut — November 3
This espionage RPG is scheduled for November 3, 2026 on PS5, according to GamesRadar. The cited description does not establish an open-world design, so its place here is as a dated RPG option rather than an open-world recommendation. GamesRadar’s roundup.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Rank #3
- Explore the grim and thrilling World of Legend with this 192-page full-color hardback RPG book for Warhammer: the Old World, ideal for players and collectors alike.
- Create iconic characters using six Origins and 30 Careers, from cunning Rat Catchers to noble Knight-Exiles, with full rules for advancement, Skills, Talents, and Lores.
- Fast-paced, easy-to-learn d10 dice pool system delivers high-lethality gameplay true to the Old World, offering combat, adventure, and peril for every session.
- Customize your hero with trappings, Assets, Endeavours, magical spells, and improvised spellcasting, plus divine Favours, prayers, and miracles from ten gods.
- Perfect for players seeking epic adventures, survival, and glory; this book contains everything needed to explore the Old World, complementing the Gamemaster’s Guide.
Edge of Memories — November 5
GamesRadar lists Edge of Memories as an RPG releasing November 5, 2026 on PC, PS5, and Xbox Series X. The cited description does not confirm that its world is open. GamesRadar’s roundup.
Dragon Quest Monsters: The Withered World — December 3
This monster-raising RPG has a December 3, 2026 date and is listed for PC, Switch, Switch 2, PS5, and Xbox Series X. The cited description supports its RPG classification, not an open-world label. GamesRadar’s roundup.
Rank #4
- A Journey Of Death -Humanity’s hope for survival rests on your journey deep into the cradle of Enoch’s civilization
- Dynamic 1-3 Player Co-Op - Play solo or join up to 2 friends in drop-in drop-out co-op as you take on the horrors of a hyper-evolved planet in an apocalypse
- 4 Unique Classes - Create and customize your own Outrider and choose from 4 unique powerful classes each with its own deadly array of brutal abilities with Skill Trees and Pax Trees to further define your personal playstyle
- Guns & Gear - Customize and upgrade your Outrider(s) with countless combos of powerful Epic, Legendary and Apocalypse items with increasing damage potential; Gear can be modified with up to 3 mod slots allowing for full customization
- Outriders Included - The full experience of OUTRIDERS WORLDSLAYER includes the original OUTRIDERS game, with all the numerous quality of life improvements and Expedition content added since launch
Witchbrook — TBC 2026
GamesRadar gives this cozy witch RPG a TBC 2026 window and lists PC, Switch, Switch 2, and Xbox Series X/S. “TBC” is less specific than a confirmed launch day, and the cited description does not establish open-world design. GamesRadar’s roundup.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Why expansions and unconfirmed games are not in the nine
Dragon’s Dogma 2: Dark Arisen is due October 9, 2026, but Capcom identifies it as a paid expansion, not a new standalone game. Capcom says the Switch 2 version bundles the base game and expansion; that makes it a relevant 2026 release for existing fans, but a different kind of purchase from the nine new games above. Capcom’s release information.
Best Value
- 192-page full color hardcover packed with tools and guidance to help gamemasters run immersive campaigns.
- Includes expert advice for new and experienced GMs tailored to the Warhammer The Old World roleplaying system.
- Features campaign-building tools like Grim Portents, Contacts, and Dark Threads to create dynamic narratives.
- Expanded setting details for Talagaad with guidance for adapting adventures to other regions and stories.
- Contains bestiary, magic items, downtime events, and corruption paths to enrich gameplay and surprise players.
Project Windless has been announced as an open-world action RPG for PS5, but PlayStation’s announcement gives no release year. It therefore cannot be counted among games established as releasing in 2026. PlayStation Blog’s announcement.
One final distinction matters when choosing from this list: only four entries are explicitly identified in the cited sources as open-world or semi-open-world, while the others are included as RPGs without confirmed open-world design. Check the linked announcement for the title you are most interested in before making plans around its date or platform.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




