Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
You cannot yet follow a verified, game-specific multiplayer walkthrough for Bad Ice Cream Triple Scoop on Nintendo Switch. Nitrome has announced a Switch version and advertises one-to-four-player co-op with wireless-controller support, but as of October 30, 2026, no released Switch build, launch date, in-game menu sequence, or final controller rules had been published. You can still prepare the console: pair controllers from HOME > Controllers > Change Grip/Order. When the game is actually available, launch it and use the prompts shown in that release rather than assuming that the Steam controls or a particular Joy-Con arrangement will work.
Is Bad Ice Cream Triple Scoop available on Nintendo Switch yet?
Not on the evidence currently available. Nitrome’s publisher listing describes the Switch edition as coming soon, and October 27, 2026 announcement coverage did not disclose a launch date. There is therefore no verified Switch download, cartridge, regional eShop listing, or game-menu path that can be documented as working today.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallThat distinction matters because console-level controller pairing and game-level player support are separate things. Nintendo documents how to connect controllers to a Switch, while the game must decide which controller layouts, join commands, and modes it accepts. Until Nitrome publishes those Switch-specific instructions with the released build, any article claiming an exact “select Local Co-op, press this button, then choose a character” sequence would be guessing.
The status also affects purchasing decisions. No physical Triple Scoop cartridge, retailer preorder, or regional purchase page was established in the announcement material checked on October 30. Do not treat a placeholder listing, an old arcade-game page, or a social-media comment as proof that the Switch edition is downloadable or shippable. The reliable confirmation will be Nitrome’s current announcement together with Nintendo’s regional product page.
Popular on Amazon
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
What local multiplayer has Nitrome announced?
Nitrome’s Steam product description advertises one-to-four-player co-op and full wireless-controller support. The same description says wireless controllers are intended for comfortable couch play, but that is promotional product information, not a hands-on result or a final Switch menu specification.
Nitrome’s wording is useful for setting expectations, but it does not answer every practical question. It does not state whether every game mode supports four players, whether a single horizontal Joy-Con is accepted for each participant, which buttons join a session, or whether Nintendo Switch Pro Controllers are expressly supported by the game. Nintendo also warns that the number of players who can actually play at one time depends on the title and the mode being used. Treat “one to four” as the announced capacity, not a guarantee for every future mode.
Recommended Free Tools
The Steam listing also mentions two-player same-keyboard co-op and Steam Remote Play Together. Those are PC features tied to Steam’s input and streaming systems. They do not establish Switch keyboard support, Nintendo Switch Online play, cross-play, or a method for a Switch owner to join a PC session.
What should you have ready before attempting setup?
Prepare the console and controllers first, then wait for the released game to identify its own local-play requirements. This avoids buying a particular controller quantity on the assumption that the unfinished Switch specification will match the Steam listing.
- A Nintendo Switch console with its system software up to date.
- One or more charged Joy-Con controllers, or Nintendo Switch Pro Controllers that your console can pair.
- The final Switch release of Bad Ice Cream Triple Scoop, once Nitrome and Nintendo publish it in your region.
- A way to read the game’s opening instructions, including any displayed player limit and join button.
- If you plan to use more than two wireless controllers, no Bluetooth-audio device connected during setup; Nintendo documents a two-wireless-controller limit while Bluetooth audio is connected.
- Enough time to test the exact player count you want in the game itself. A controller icon on the HOME screen is not a successful multiplayer test.
Joy-Con and Pro Controller are sensible physical controller options to prepare because Nintendo documents their pairing procedures. Neither purchase guarantees that the game will accept a specific grip, controller count, or button layout. Since no price, bundle, or retailer availability for a Triple Scoop cartridge has been established, avoid treating any accessory or game listing as an endorsed package.
How do I pair Joy-Con controllers on Nintendo Switch?
These are Nintendo’s console pairing steps. They put controllers into the Switch’s active order; they do not prove that Triple Scoop will assign one controller to one player.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors- From the HOME Menu, open Controllers.
- Select Change Grip/Order. The console will display the controller-order screen.
- For a Joy-Con pair used as one controller, attach or pair the left and right Joy-Con and press the relevant L button on the left Joy-Con and R button on the right Joy-Con when the screen asks for the grip. Nintendo identifies that L-plus-R combination as the dual-controller grip.
- For a Joy-Con used horizontally by one person, hold the controller sideways and press SL and SR on that Joy-Con. Nintendo lists this as the solo horizontal grip.
- Repeat the process for each controller you want the console to recognize, then confirm the arrangement shown on screen.
When several people are preparing, do the grips one at a time and have each person hold the controller they intend to use. This reduces the common mistake of registering a left Joy-Con with the wrong right Joy-Con or selecting a paired grip when the player actually needs a horizontal unit. If the on-screen order is wrong, repeat Change Grip/Order rather than trying to correct it inside the game.
The Switch can show several paired controllers in this screen, but the game may accept fewer players or require a different layout. Do not treat the appearance of four controller icons as confirmation that four people can play this title.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
How do I pair a Nintendo Switch Pro Controller?
Open HOME > Controllers > Change Grip/Order, then hold the Pro Controller’s SYNC button until the console detects it. Complete the on-screen confirmation. This establishes the controller with the console; the released game must still identify whether Pro Controllers are supported and how players join.
If you switch between Joy-Con and Pro Controllers, return to the same screen and confirm the new order before launching the game. Pairing a Pro Controller successfully proves only that the console recognizes it. It does not prove that a particular mode accepts it, that every player can use one, or that the game maps all required actions to it.
Which controller arrangement should each player use?
Use the arrangement that the final game instructions explicitly accept. The following table separates what Nintendo documents at the console level from what remains unconfirmed for Triple Scoop.
| Arrangement | Console action | What is established | What is not established for the game |
|---|---|---|---|
| Joy-Con pair as one controller | On Change Grip/Order, press L on the left Joy-Con and R on the right Joy-Con. | Nintendo documents this dual-controller grip. | Whether the Switch game assigns it to one player, and how many such pairs a mode accepts. |
| One Joy-Con held horizontally | On Change Grip/Order, press SL and SR on that Joy-Con. | Nintendo documents the solo horizontal grip. | Whether Triple Scoop accepts one horizontal Joy-Con per player or exposes enough inputs for its modes. |
| Pro Controller | Use Change Grip/Order and hold the controller’s SYNC button. | Nintendo documents the pairing process. | Whether the game expressly supports Pro Controllers and whether all modes permit them. |
Choose based on the game’s eventual input requirements, the controllers you already own, and the player count that the selected mode reports. Nintendo’s general ability to pair multiple controllers cannot settle those game-specific questions.
How will players join a local session after the Switch version releases?
The exact join sequence is unpublished. Once the release is available, use this safe order rather than importing assumptions from the Steam version:
- Pair and arrange the desired controllers in Change Grip/Order before opening the game.
- Start Bad Ice Cream Triple Scoop and read the first local-play or multiplayer prompt exactly as displayed.
- Select the local mode named by the game. Do not infer that a menu called “Co-op,” “Arcade,” or another label has the same player limit as the Steam edition.
- Have each participant press the join or confirm button shown by the game. If a player is not recognized, return to the console controller screen and verify that the intended grip is active.
- Check the displayed player count before beginning. If the mode reports fewer players than expected, use that limit rather than attempting to force an unsupported arrangement.
This procedure deliberately stops short of inventing button prompts. Nitrome has not published a Switch-specific join input, menu hierarchy, or mode-by-mode player table in the announcement information. A final build could ask players to join at a title screen, in a lobby, or after selecting a mode; only the finished software can answer that question.
Can four people play on one Switch?
Four-player local co-op is the capacity Nitrome advertises, so four participants are a planned feature of the project. It is not yet proof that every Switch mode will support four people, that four individual Joy-Con will be accepted, or that four Pro Controllers will be required.
Nintendo’s guidance is the deciding principle: simultaneous player count depends on the particular title and game mode. After release, confirm the number shown in the selected mode’s instructions. If the game lists a lower limit, that mode cannot be expanded by pairing additional controllers.
Also popular on Amazon
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
For a four-person test, count players in the game’s own status display, not just the number of wireless devices shown by the console. If the game reports two players, pairing two more controllers will not turn that mode into four-player co-op. Try another mode only if the finished instructions identify one, and do not assume that a mode with a different name has the same rules.
Can each person use one Joy-Con?
The Switch itself supports a horizontal single-Joy-Con grip through the SL and SR buttons. That console option does not establish that Triple Scoop accepts one horizontal Joy-Con per player.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →The game may require more buttons than a sideways Joy-Con exposes, or it may support that layout only in certain modes. Check the released game’s controller diagram and player-join prompt before purchasing additional Joy-Con specifically for four-person sessions. If the instructions show a different minimum input set, follow that diagram even if the console offers a horizontal grip.
Why won’t my third wireless controller connect?
First check whether Bluetooth audio is connected. Nintendo documents a limit of two wireless controllers while a Bluetooth-audio device is connected, so disconnect the audio device and retry Controllers > Change Grip/Order.
If Bluetooth audio is not involved, verify that the controller is charged, press its SYNC button if it is a Pro Controller, and complete the grip confirmation again. Pair controllers in the order you want them displayed, then reopen the game. A controller appearing in the console’s order screen still does not guarantee that the game will use it; once the title is released, check the game’s own player indicator for the remaining failure point.
Do not diagnose every failure as a missing game feature. There are three separate checkpoints: the controller must have power, the Switch must register its grip, and the game must accept that controller type in the chosen mode. Testing those checkpoints in that order gives a clearer answer than repeatedly pressing buttons at an unverified menu.
Are the Steam multiplayer features also available on Switch?
No such transfer has been established. The Steam listing describes same-keyboard co-op and Steam Remote Play Together as Steam features. Those statements should not be recast as Switch keyboard support, Nintendo Switch Online play, cross-play, or a way for a Switch player to join a Steam session.
For the Switch edition, rely only on features shown in Nitrome’s final Switch instructions and Nintendo’s regional product information. The announcement material does not publish a Switch-specific online mode. “Wireless-controller support” also does not, by itself, mean internet multiplayer; in this context it is compatible with local couch play, while the final networking feature set remains unstated.
Also popular on Amazon
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
What should you verify when the game finally launches?
Use this release-day checklist to replace the current uncertainties with the instructions displayed by the finished product:
- Confirm that the download or product page is the Nintendo Switch edition and that the release is available in your region.
- Open the game’s controller or local-play instructions and record the supported controller types and grips.
- Check whether the advertised one-to-four-player capacity applies to the mode you want to play.
- Test the intended player count from the game’s own join screen, not only from the console’s controller-order screen.
- Look for any game-specific requirement to pair controllers before launch or to add players from inside a level or lobby.
- Check whether a horizontal single Joy-Con is listed for every player or only for selected modes.
- Check whether Pro Controllers are named explicitly rather than assuming console pairing equals game support.
- If a controller fails, remove Bluetooth audio, repeat the Nintendo pairing procedure, and then follow the game’s displayed recovery instruction.
- Record the mode’s actual player limit before buying more hardware or inviting additional players.
Until those details are published, the most accurate setup advice is preparation rather than a fabricated walkthrough: pair controllers with Nintendo’s documented tools, then let the released game define the accepted layout.
How should I decide which controllers to buy?
Do not buy a fixed number on the basis of the four-player headline alone. Compare the final game’s supported grips, the number of inputs each player needs, the controllers already in your household, and the player limit of the mode you intend to use.
Joy-Con are the relevant option if the game confirms horizontal single-controller play. Pro Controllers are a qualified alternative if the game lists them as supported. Until those statements appear, additional hardware is a preparation choice, not a guarantee of a particular Triple Scoop configuration. There is no established requirement for four individual Joy-Con, no established requirement for four Pro Controllers, and no established physical game card to purchase.
A practical comparison is therefore conditional:
| Your situation | Reasonable preparation | What still needs confirmation |
|---|---|---|
| You already own paired Joy-Con | Practice the L-plus-R dual-controller grip and keep the pair charged. | Whether the game treats that pair as one player in the desired mode. |
| You want one controller per person | Have enough Joy-Con available to test the horizontal SL-plus-SR grip. | Whether the game exposes all necessary actions on one horizontal Joy-Con. |
| Your household uses Pro Controllers | Pair them through Change Grip/Order and update their charge. | Whether the finished game expressly supports Pro Controllers and the intended count. |
| You are considering a new purchase | Wait for the final controller diagram and player limit. | Compatibility, mode restrictions, and regional availability. |
Common assumptions to avoid
- “Four controller icons means four players.” The console can register controllers that a title or mode does not use.
- “A horizontal Joy-Con is automatically a player.” Nintendo documents the grip; Nitrome must document game acceptance.
- “Wireless support means online play.” The announced wording supports wireless controllers for local play and does not publish a Switch online mode.
- “Steam controls carry over.” Same-keyboard co-op and Remote Play Together are described for Steam, not Switch.
- “A third controller failure proves the game is two-player.” Bluetooth audio can limit the console to two wireless controllers before the game is involved.
- “A retailer page proves release.” A confirmed regional Nintendo listing and Nitrome’s current announcement are stronger evidence than an undated placeholder.
What is known and unknown about the Switch setup?
| Question | Current answer |
|---|---|
| Is a Switch version announced? | Yes. Nitrome’s listing describes it as coming soon. |
| Is a launch date published? | Not in the announcement information checked October 30, 2026. |
| What player capacity is advertised? | One to four players in co-op, with wireless-controller support. |
| Where are controllers paired? | Nintendo Switch HOME Menu > Controllers > Change Grip/Order. |
| Is one horizontal Joy-Con per player confirmed? | No. Nintendo documents the grip, but the game’s acceptance of it is unpublished. |
| Are same-keyboard co-op and Remote Play Together Switch features? | No. Those descriptions belong to the Steam listing. |
| Is a Switch-specific online mode documented? | No. |
| Is a physical cartridge or preorder established? | No. A verified cartridge, retailer preorder, and regional purchase listing were not established. |
| Does pairing a Pro Controller prove game support? | No. Console recognition and in-game compatibility are separate checks. |
What to do while waiting for the release
You can make the eventual session smoother without claiming that the game is playable today. Charge the controllers, learn the Change Grip/Order screen, and decide whether your group prefers paired Joy-Con or another arrangement. Keep Bluetooth audio disconnected if you intend to test more than two wireless controllers. Most importantly, do not purchase a specific quantity until the finished game identifies its supported grips and mode limits.
When Nitrome publishes a final Switch manual or Nintendo lists the product in your region, compare those instructions with this preparation checklist. Replace the conditional steps with the exact on-screen commands from the release, and treat any change in player capacity or controller support as authoritative for that build.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Frequently Asked Questions
Does local multiplayer require Nintendo Switch Online?
The announcement information does not specify a Nintendo Switch Online requirement. Because the advertised feature is local co-op, wait for the final Switch instructions instead of assuming that an online subscription is needed or included.
Where will the actual Switch release date be confirmed?
Check Nitrome’s current announcement and Nintendo’s regional eShop product page when the listing appears. Announcement coverage available on October 27, 2026 gave no date, so an older retailer page or social post should not be treated as confirmation.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Can third-party wireless controllers work with the game?
Console pairing compatibility and game compatibility are different. A third-party pad may connect to the Switch yet remain unsupported by the game; use only controller models named in the finished title’s instructions.
Can a Switch player join someone using the Steam version?
Nothing in the published feature description establishes cross-play. Steam Remote Play Together and same-keyboard co-op describe Steam functionality, not a bridge between a Switch edition and a PC session.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Is there a physical Switch cartridge to buy?
No physical cartridge, retailer preorder, or regional product listing was established in the information checked on October 30, 2026. Wait for Nitrome and Nintendo to confirm the release format.
Does Nintendo’s four-controller pairing capacity guarantee four-player Triple Scoop?
No. Nintendo says the number of simultaneous players depends on the title and game mode. The game’s own player indicator and instructions must confirm the limit.
Why can two controllers connect but a third cannot?
Check Bluetooth audio first. Nintendo documents a two-wireless-controller limit while Bluetooth audio is connected. Disconnect the audio device, repeat Change Grip/Order, and then check the game’s player indicator.
Can I use one Joy-Con for every player?
Nintendo supports a horizontal single-Joy-Con grip using SL and SR, but Triple Scoop’s acceptance of that layout is not published. Confirm it in the finished game before buying extra Joy-Con.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Are Pro Controllers definitely supported?
Nintendo documents how to pair a Pro Controller, but the game’s final Switch instructions have not expressly confirmed Pro Controller support or a mode-specific limit.
The Bottom Line
Nitrome has announced one-to-four-player wireless co-op for Bad Ice Cream Triple Scoop, but no verified Switch release or game-specific join sequence existed on October 30, 2026. Pair Joy-Con or Pro Controllers through HOME > Controllers > Change Grip/Order, disconnect Bluetooth audio when testing more than two wireless controllers, and wait for the finished game to confirm its modes, grips, and player limits.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




