Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
VGSOURCES
Get listed

PATCH 2026.10.30

Best Hero-Based Multiplayer Games Like Overwatch in 2026: What to Play Instead

By VGSources Team 10 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

Marvel Rivals is the closest overall alternative to Overwatch if you want a team-based superhero shooter built around distinct characters, abilities and shared objectives. Marvel Rivals leads this list, followed by Paladins and Team Fortress 2 for class-and-objective play, VALORANT for tactical ability combat, Apex Legends for squad-based battle royale, and THE FINALS for destructive arenas and configurable builds. Deadlock belongs on a watchlist rather than a normal recommendation because access is currently limited to friend invites from playtesters. FragPunk is a conditional extra: its original 5v5 hero-shooter availability is not confirmed by the latest official material checked.

At a glance
Name Best for Key spec Free plan / price Checked
Marvel Rivals Closest superhero team-shooter premise Distinct Marvel heroes, team PvP, current downloads for PlayStation, Windows and Xbox Heroes are unlocked and free; current game pricing should be confirmed on the platform store Oct 2026
Paladins First-person roles with build customization Five-player teams; Damage, Flank, Frontline and Support; talents, cards and items Free to play on the current Steam listing Oct 2026
Team Fortress 2 Class-based objective play Nine distinct classes; Payload, Control Point and Capture the Flag Free play Oct 2026
VALORANT Tactical Agent abilities 5v5 attack-and-defend rounds; one life per round Not stated on the cited official page Oct 2026
Apex Legends Ability-led battle royale squads Legends with distinct skills; classic 60-person Battle Royale Not stated on the cited official page Oct 2026
THE FINALS Destruction and custom loadouts Specialization, weapon and gadgets; Cashout and Power Shift Free play Oct 2026

What can I play instead of Overwatch?

Start with Marvel Rivals when the part you want to preserve is the superhero fantasy: a named roster, recognizable abilities and coordinated team fights. Choose Paladins or Team Fortress 2 when first-person class roles and objective modes matter more than a comic-book license. VALORANT and Apex Legends retain character abilities but change the match rhythm substantially, while THE FINALS replaces a fixed hero roster with loadout-defined contestants and highly destructible maps.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The list is organized by format fit, access and the kind of decision-making each game asks from a team. It is not a population ranking, and no verified cross-game player-count comparison is established for these titles.

Which game is most like Overwatch?

Marvel Rivals: the closest overall match

Marvel Rivals is the most direct starting point for Overwatch players because its core premise is also a team-based PvP shooter built around distinct characters with powers. The publisher currently lists downloads for PlayStation, Windows and Xbox, and its homepage shows version 20261029 patch notes, so availability and update information are current to October 2026.

Popular on Amazon
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Its similarity is about structure and fantasy, not a claim that every mode, camera perspective or role works identically. You choose a named hero, coordinate with teammates and use character abilities in team combat; the Marvel setting supplies a different roster identity and presentation.

What does Marvel Rivals require on PC?

The publisher’s release FAQ lists 16 GB of RAM and 70 GB of available storage for PC and recommends installing the game on an SSD. Those figures come from a 2024 FAQ and may change, so check the current support information before installing a large update: Marvel Rivals release FAQ.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

On supported consoles, the same FAQ says a 120 FPS mode requires an HDMI 2.1 connection and a display capable of 120 Hz. That is a display-and-connection condition, not a guarantee that every console, mode or scene will run at that frame rate.

Who should choose it?

  • Choose it if you want recognizable superheroes rather than anonymous soldiers or a purely class-based cast.
  • Choose it if your priority is coordinated team combat instead of a battle-royale drop or one-life tactical round.
  • Check the current platform store and account-progression policy before buying cosmetic items or switching systems; older launch information about cross-platform progression may no longer describe the live service.

Is Paladins a good first-person alternative?

Yes. Paladins is the strongest first-person alternative here for players who want explicit roles, objective modes and more ways to tune a character’s loadout. Hi-Rez describes five players per team and four Champion classes—Damage, Flank, Frontline and Support—in its player guide: Hi-Rez’s Paladins guide.

How its roles and builds work

Each Champion has weapons, abilities and an ultimate. Talents, card decks and match items modify how that Champion functions, so two players selecting the same name can prepare different builds. This is the key distinction from a simpler fixed-kit hero shooter: team composition still matters, but pre-match and in-match customization also shape the role.

The current Steam listing presents Paladins as free to play and describes payload alongside rotating-objective modes. That makes it a closer structural match for readers who want to push, defend and contest map objectives rather than survive until a final circle.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Also popular on Amazon
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Who should choose Paladins?

  • Pick it when you want first-person combat and clearly labeled Damage, Flank, Frontline and Support jobs.
  • Pick it when experimenting with talents and cards sounds appealing rather than distracting.
  • Expect more build decisions than in a strictly fixed-ability roster; learning a Champion includes learning viable loadouts.

Why play Team Fortress 2 in 2026?

Team Fortress 2 remains the clearest choice for classic class identities and objective-driven matches. Valve describes free play, nine distinct classes and modes including Payload, Control Point and Capture the Flag.

The nine classes are not a newly released roster of named superheroes. They are enduring class archetypes with distinct weapons, movement and tactical responsibilities. Valve summarizes the design this way: “Nine distinct classes provide a broad range of tactical abilities and personalities, and lend themselves to a variety of player skills.” That makes Team Fortress 2 a fit for readers who value readable team jobs and map objectives more than a modern hero-lore presentation.

What makes its structure different?

Class choice determines much of your toolkit before the round begins. You are selecting a battlefield role and weapon family rather than combining a hero with a talent tree and card deck. Payload, Control Point and Capture the Flag also produce recognizable objective patterns, but the game feels like a class-based classic rather than a contemporary superhero service.

Who should choose it?

  • Choose it for a free class shooter with nine sharply differentiated roles.
  • Choose it when Payload and Control Point matter more than a named-character storyline.
  • Do not choose it expecting the same hero roster model or current presentation as a newer superhero shooter.

What is the tactical alternative with hero abilities?

VALORANT: Agents, utility and one-life rounds

VALORANT is a 5v5 shooter in which teams attack and defend over rounds, using Agents with distinct abilities. Riot’s official description stresses that no two Agents play alike, but the round structure changes the experience more than the character design aligns it.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Each player has one life per round. A mistake can remove you from the remainder of that round, and the attack-versus-defense setup makes information, timing, economy and site control central concerns. That is a substantial departure from continuous objective fights with repeated respawns.

When does VALORANT make sense?

  • Pick it if you want abilities used as tactical utility—information, area denial, movement or protection—rather than as part of a constant respawn loop.
  • Pick it if your group enjoys deliberate 5v5 coordination and can accept elimination downtime.
  • Skip it if your priority is nonstop frontline action or a traditional tank-support-damage rhythm.

Riot’s homepage lists an October 27, 2026 update. Because agents, maps and rules can change, use the current official page for live patch information rather than treating an older guide as permanent.

Also popular on Amazon
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Is Apex Legends like Overwatch?

Apex Legends shares the idea of a squad built from characters with distinct abilities, but it is a battle-royale alternative rather than a compact objective-arena substitute. EA describes Legends as outlaws, soldiers, misfits and misanthropes, each with their own set of skills, and identifies classic 60-person Battle Royale matches on its official site: EA’s Apex Legends page.

What carries over from a hero shooter?

Legend selection gives a squad complementary tools. Abilities can create openings, provide information, protect teammates or enable movement, so team composition and coordination remain important. The cast has named identities rather than generic loadout slots.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What changes completely?

A 60-person match, a large map, looting and the shrinking play area replace the short, repeated objective cycle of an arena shooter. Teams may spend time rotating, gathering equipment and choosing when to fight. The result fits players who want ability-led squad decisions with survival pressure, not readers seeking a direct replacement for payload or control-point rounds.

EA’s site shows October 2026 updates. Treat the 60-person figure as the advertised classic Battle Royale mode size, not as a concurrent-player statistic or a promise that every playlist uses that format.

Which game has destructible objectives and flexible builds?

THE FINALS: build your contestant

THE FINALS is the best fit when destruction and build flexibility matter more than a fixed hero roster. Embark describes contestants through a specialization, a weapon and gadgets. Those components create a playstyle, but they do not amount to a permanent named-hero identity.

The official site highlights Cashout and Power Shift and emphasizes destructible arenas. Walls, cover and routes can be altered during a match, so objective strategy includes deciding whether to attack the vault directly, change the approach or remove the protection around a cashout.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Also popular on Amazon
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

How it differs from a traditional hero shooter

  • Roster: you configure a contestant instead of selecting from a fixed list of lore-heavy heroes.
  • Abilities: specialization and gadgets define the toolkit, with weapons completing the build.
  • Objectives: Cashout and Power Shift reward movement, positioning and rapid adaptation.
  • Maps: destruction can change sightlines and routes during the objective, so memorizing one static setup is less reliable.

The game is presented as free to play, and its homepage lists an October 29, 2026 update. Choose it for objective chaos and experimentation; choose Marvel Rivals or Paladins if a stable named roster is the non-negotiable part of the appeal.

Can I play Deadlock now?

Not as an unrestricted public release. Valve’s Steam listing labels Deadlock as early development, gives no announced release date and explicitly limits access to friend invites from playtesters.

That makes Deadlock a watchlist item rather than a normal “download and start” recommendation. Do not treat an invite, a stream or a third-party key listing as evidence of a public launch. If access opens later, recheck the Steam page for the official status and requirements.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What about FragPunk?

FragPunk is a conditional extra, not a firm current recommendation. A February 2026 release from Bad Guitar Studio and NetEase describes a 5v5 hero shooter in which Shard Cards change match rules: the February 2026 release announcement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

However, the current official homepage highlights Farlands, a separate delivery-focused experience advertised for November 5. The checked sources do not establish whether the original 5v5 matchmaking is currently available, paused, or presented alongside that mode. Verify the live client and official announcements before treating FragPunk as a playable Overwatch substitute.

Which game should you choose?

Use the decision guide below instead of trying to find one universal winner:

Also popular on Amazon
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
  • Want superheroes and the closest premise? Start with Marvel Rivals.
  • Want first-person roles plus build crafting? Choose Paladins.
  • Want a free, class-based classic? Choose Team Fortress 2.
  • Want tactical abilities and one-life rounds? Choose VALORANT.
  • Want a large squad battle royale with named characters? Choose Apex Legends.
  • Want destruction and a self-built loadout? Choose THE FINALS.
  • Want to follow an unreleased or restricted project? Put Deadlock on a watchlist, not in your immediate download queue.

How we picked these games

The selection uses the features the official descriptions establish: fixed heroes versus configurable classes or builds; continuous objectives versus rounds or battle royale; team size and role structure; access status; and whether the game supports the kind of coordinated ability play an Overwatch reader is seeking. It does not use unverified population figures, queue-time claims, balance scores or comparative performance tests.

What should I know before installing?

Check the live platform page

Services and playlists change. Marvel Rivals currently lists PlayStation, Windows and Xbox downloads, while other entries in this article are represented by the official publisher or store pages linked in their sections. Confirm the platform, storage requirement and account rules for your region before starting a large download.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Plan for storage and display requirements

For Marvel Rivals on PC, the release FAQ lists 70 GB of available storage, 16 GB of RAM and an SSD recommendation. On supported consoles, its 120 FPS mode requires HDMI 2.1 and a 120 Hz-capable display. A PS5 multiplayer headset such as Sony’s PULSE 3D is optional rather than required; Sony documents PS5 and PS4 compatibility, microphones and chat controls at the official accessory page.

Recover from graphics problems

The Marvel Rivals FAQ advises updating or clean-reinstalling graphics drivers for specific problems. Use the game’s current support instructions and your GPU manufacturer’s official driver package; the FAQ does not endorse a third-party updater.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does “hero-based multiplayer” mean in this list?

It means the team has distinct character identities or role kits that materially affect play. Some entries use a fixed named roster, while others let you assemble a contestant from classes, specializations, weapons or gadgets; those models are related but not interchangeable.

Do I need a high-refresh monitor for these games?

No. A high-refresh display is optional for ordinary play. The specific 120 Hz and HDMI 2.1 condition documented here applies to the supported-console 120 FPS mode in Marvel Rivals, not to every game or every platform.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Can I move progress between PC and console?

Platform linking and progression rules are service-specific and can change after launch. Marvel Rivals’ older launch FAQ described cross-platform account progression as unavailable, so check the current account-support page before assuming cosmetics or progress will transfer.

Is a headset required for coordinated matches?

No, but voice communication can make role-based play easier. Any compatible headset with a working microphone can serve that purpose; the PS5 accessory mentioned above is an optional example, not a game requirement.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Read next

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.