Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
VGSOURCES
Get listed

PATCH 2026.10.30

Best PS5 SSDs in 2TB and 4TB: The Right Drive for Your Game Library

By VGSources Team 11 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

For most PS5 owners, buy a 2TB PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe M.2 2280 SSD with a factory heatsink. The late-2026 default is the WD_BLACK SN850X 2TB heatsink model (WDS200T2XHE). Choose a 4TB Samsung 990 PRO with heatsink if you keep many 100GB-plus games installed, share the console, or want to stop deleting games. The officially licensed WD_BLACK SN850P—also sold in 2026 as the SanDisk Optimus GX PRO 850P—is the lowest-anxiety option, while the Corsair MP600 PRO LPX is a compact low-profile alternative.

Every choice below must meet Sony’s M.2 rules: PCIe Gen4 x4 NVMe, a cooling solution, a maximum assembled thickness of 11.25mm and width of 25mm. USB drives can store PS5 games but cannot run them. Prices are October 2026 snapshots and can move quickly.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

At a glance

Name Best for Key spec Free plan / price Platforms Checked
WD_BLACK SN850X 2TB with heatsink (WDS200T2XHE) Most PS5 owners 7,300MB/s read; 6,600MB/s write; 1,200TBW; about 8.8–8.9mm high $419.99 Amazon catalog; $439.99 widget; $338.29 used snapshot PS5; later PC reuse Oct 2026
Samsung 990 PRO 4TB with heatsink Large libraries and later PC use 7,450MB/s read; 6,900MB/s write; 2,400TBW; 8.88mm high 4TB price not stated; 2TB catalog example $389.99 PS5; PC Oct 2026
WD_BLACK SN850P / SanDisk Optimus GX PRO 850P Official licensing and reassurance 7,300MB/s class; 9.89mm high; 1–8TB 2TB example $462.00; 8TB UK £976.99 PS5; PC later, subject to heatsink Oct 2026
Corsair MP600 PRO LPX 2TB Low-profile fit 7,100MB/s read; 5,800MB/s write; 23 × 80 × 11mm; DRAM Price not stated PS5; PC Oct 2026
Seagate FireCuda 530R with heatsink Endurance-focused buyers 7,400MB/s read; 11.10mm high; 4TB listing cites 5,050TBW 4TB $649.99 snapshot PS5; PC Oct 2026
Crucial P310 2TB with PS5 heatsink Lower-cost 2TB capacity 7,100MB/s read; 6,000MB/s write; QLC/HMB; 440TBW $254.13 US; £199.99 UK PS5; PC Oct 2026

“Price” figures are volatile retail snapshots, not permanent recommended prices. Confirm the live listing and the exact heatsink part number before ordering.

Which 2TB SSD is best for PS5?

The WD_BLACK SN850X 2TB with its factory heatsink is the best default. It clears Sony’s 5,500MB/s recommended read floor by a wide margin, includes DRAM and TLC NAND, fits comfortably under the height limit, and is sold by SanDisk as PS5-compatible only in the heatsink configuration.

Popular on Amazon
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

WD_BLACK SN850X 2TB with heatsink (WDS200T2XHE)

  • PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe, M.2 2280.
  • SanDisk datasheet figures: 7,300MB/s sequential read, 6,600MB/s sequential write and 1,200TBW. One retail widget lists 6,300MB/s write, so use the datasheet number when comparing specifications.
  • Independent reviews cited by Tom’s Hardware and PCBuildHelper describe an in-house controller, DDR4 cache and BiCS5 TLC NAND.
  • Heatsink height is reported at 8.80mm by Newegg specifications and 8.90mm in SanDisk dimensions (80 × 23.40 × 8.90mm), both well below Sony’s 11.25mm ceiling.
  • October 2026 US snapshots ranged from $419.99 to $439.99 for new listings; a StorageDiskPrices snapshot showed a used unit at $338.29.

Do not confuse WDS200T2XHE with the bare WDS200T2X0E. The bare drive has the same family name but no cooling mechanism, so it is not a drop-in PS5 installation. Match the part number and the product photographs.

Which 4TB SSD is best for PS5?

The Samsung 990 PRO 4TB with heatsink is the premium 4TB choice. It combines a large capacity with TLC NAND, onboard DRAM, a 2,400TBW endurance rating for the 4TB model and an easy-to-fit 8.88mm heatsink. It is also the strongest candidate if you later move the drive into a desktop PC.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Samsung 990 PRO 4TB with heatsink

  • PCIe 4.0 x4, NVMe 2.0 and TLC NAND.
  • Samsung rates the family at 7,450MB/s read and 6,900MB/s write.
  • Samsung’s 2TB datasheet specifies 2GB of LPDDR4 DRAM; the 4TB model is likewise sold as a DRAM-equipped design.
  • Heatsink dimensions reported by Game Idealist are 8.88mm thick and 25mm wide.
  • BetterFPS cites 2,400TBW for the 4TB version; the 2TB model is cited at 1,200TBW. Samsung provides a five-year limited warranty.

A ComputingForGeeks October catalog listed the 2TB model at $389.99, while a current 4TB price was not stated in the supplied retail snapshots. Treat any older 4TB deal as expired until the seller confirms the heatsink SKU.

How much storage do you really need: 2TB or 4TB?

Choose 2TB unless you routinely keep a very large installed library. Choose 4TB for many 100GB-plus games, a shared console, or a deliberate “install once and leave it” approach.

Capacity Practical use 75GB planning model Best fit
2TB Default expansion for one player About 26 large games Most owners and lowest total spend
4TB Large library or shared console About 53 large games Players who dislike deleting games
8TB Maximum supported expansion About 106 large games Collectors with the budget and need

The 75GB estimate comes from ps5ssd.co.uk’s October 2026 model and is intentionally conservative for modern libraries. Actual installs vary: Call of Duty: Black Ops 7 and Baldur’s Gate 3 each exceed 100GB according to IGN. PlayStation Blog Germany used a different 36GB average when describing 200 games on an 8TB licensed drive, so those two averages should not be combined.

The original PS5 advertises an 825GB internal SSD, the Slim model group 1TB, and the PS5 Pro 2TB, according to PlayStation Blog Japan’s 21 August 2026 update. Rockstar had not published GTA 6’s install size as of 12 October 2026; physical copies include a download code, and the digital preload was scheduled for 12 November ahead of the 19 November launch. Treat that game as storage pressure, not as a known gigabyte number.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Also popular on Amazon
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

What are the best officially licensed and low-anxiety options?

WD_BLACK SN850P / SanDisk Optimus GX PRO 850P

This is the officially licensed PS5 family. Western Digital’s split from SanDisk led to the Optimus GX PRO 850P name appearing in Sony’s 2026 Japanese materials; the two names refer to the same licensed platform rather than separate console standards.

  • Purpose-built heatsink, about 9.89mm high.
  • 1TB, 2TB, 4TB and 8TB capacities; most listings quote roughly 7,300MB/s, while some 8TB listings quote 7,200MB/s.
  • A PlayStation Blog Germany example used a 36GB average to estimate 200 games on the 8TB model.
  • One October snapshot listed a 2TB model at $462.00; a UK 8TB listing was £976.99.

You are paying for licensing and a guaranteed cooler, not faster in-game loading than a correctly fitted generic Gen4 drive.

Seagate FireCuda 530R with heatsink

The FireCuda 530R is an endurance-oriented alternative, but its 11.10mm assembled height leaves only 0.15mm below Sony’s 11.25mm limit. Seat it carefully and confirm the cover closes without pressure. A StorageDiskPrices October snapshot put the 4TB model at $649.99, and the Amazon title for SKU ZP4000GM3A073 cites 5,050TBW.

Its officially licensed sibling, the Seagate Game Drive PS5 NVMe SSD, is sold in 1TB and 2TB capacities with the same approximately 11.1mm stack.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Is the Corsair MP600 PRO LPX still a good PS5 SSD?

Yes. The MP600 PRO LPX remains a proven low-profile option, even though later-2026 buying guides generally moved the overall default to the SN850X.

  • 2TB figures: 7,100MB/s read and 5,800MB/s write.
  • Preinstalled aluminium heatsink; Corsair lists 23 × 80 × 11mm and says it exceeds PS5 and PS5 Pro requirements.
  • DRAM-equipped design.
  • IGN’s February 2026 list ranked it first and cited about 6,500MB/s in the console test.

Pick it when the 11mm low-profile construction or an available sale matters more than matching the newest consensus recommendation.

Also popular on Amazon
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Is the Crucial P310 a safe budget choice?

It is compatible when purchased with the PS5 heatsink, but it trades endurance and onboard DRAM for price. The P310 uses DRAM-less HMB architecture and QLC NAND, with 7,100MB/s read, 6,000MB/s write and 440TBW at 2TB.

ComputingForGeeks listed $254.13 in the US on 19 October 2026; ps5ssd.co.uk listed £199.99 (£100 per TB) in the UK on 29 October. It is a reasonable inexpensive 2TB game library, not the best choice for heavy write workloads or the longest endurance margin. Silicon Power’s UD90, despite attractive pricing, is listed at only 5,000MB/s and therefore misses Sony’s recommended read floor.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What specifications must a PS5 SSD meet?

Sony’s current support guidance sets the following requirements; see Sony’s PS5 M.2 installation page for the live instructions.

Requirement Sony specification
Interface PCI-Express Gen4 x4 NVMe SSD, Key M
Capacity 250GB to 8TB
Supported form factors 2230, 2242, 2260, 2280 and 22110
Maximum assembled width 25mm, including the cooler
Maximum assembled thickness 11.25mm total: up to 8.0mm above the board and 2.45mm below
Recommended sequential read 5,500MB/s or faster
Socket Socket 3, Key M

Both single-sided and double-sided drives are supported, although single-sided coolers are generally easier to fit. M.2 SATA drives are not supported. The current ceiling is 8TB; older 2022 safety PDFs that say 4TB are out of date.

Does a PS5 SSD need a heatsink?

Yes. Sony says not to use an M.2 SSD without a heat-dissipation mechanism such as a heatsink or heat-transfer sheet. Buy a factory-heatsink SKU whenever possible.

Why the bare-drive trap matters

A bare M.2 stick plus an aftermarket cooler can work only if the complete assembly remains within 25mm width and 11.25mm thickness. A T-FORCE CARDEA A440 aluminium cooler measured 12.90mm in one Newegg example and fails the limit, while its 3.70mm graphene version fits. Never stack a second heatsink on a drive that already has one.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Also popular on Amazon
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

The slot cover must close normally. If it does not, remove the drive and correct the cooler rather than forcing the cover; excessive thickness can damage the console and is not a warranty-safe installation.

Does a PCIe 5.0 SSD work in a PS5?

A Gen5 SSD can negotiate down to the PS5’s Gen4 interface, but it provides no established loading advantage. The console’s own speed check commonly peaks around 6,500MB/s, according to IGN’s 2026 observation.

Many Gen5 heatsinks are physically impossible: Game Idealist lists the Crucial T705 heatsink at about 21.1mm and the PNY XLR8 CS3150 at 17.5mm. Samsung’s 9100 PRO heatsink models are listed as physically compatible in 1TB–4TB sizes at 8.88mm, with the 8TB version exactly 11.25mm, but buying Gen5 still adds cost without a PS5 benefit.

IGN measured a Samsung 990 Evo Plus at 6,137MB/s in the PS5 install test despite its higher box rating. In a Metaphor: Refantazio load comparison, it took 4.37 seconds versus 4.47 seconds from the internal drive—a small difference that illustrates why sticker speed is not a reason to overspend. The 990 Evo Plus is also DRAM-less and ships without a heatsink.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How do you install an M.2 SSD in a PS5?

Prepare a well-lit table, a #1 Phillips or cross-head screwdriver, a cool and fully powered-off console, and the correct spacer position for a 2280 drive. Touch grounded metal first to discharge static. The cover-removal movement differs between the original CFI-1000 and the CFI-2000/7000 Slim, later and Pro groups, so follow Sony’s model-specific illustrations.

  1. Update the PS5 system software, shut the console down completely and let it cool.
  2. Remove the outer cover and M.2 slot cover using Sony’s instructions for your model group. Do not power the console with the cover off.
  3. Move the spacer to the 2280 hole, if necessary. Insert the SSD at a diagonal, with the connector fully seated.
  4. Lower the drive and secure it with the supplied screw. Do not add another heatsink.
  5. Replace the slot cover and console cover. If either cover will not close freely, stop and check the assembled height.
  6. Power on and accept the format wizard. The first format erases the entire drive; PS5 does not offer a partial format.
  7. Set the default destination at Settings > Storage > Installation Location. Move existing titles from Game Library > Options > Move Games and Apps.

Remove the M.2 drive before sending the console for repair. Sony says manufacturer warranty coverage generally should not be affected when the drive meets the specifications and the installation instructions are followed, but damage caused by an oversized or improperly installed cooler may not be covered.

Also popular on Amazon
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Where do PS5 games, PS4 games and saves go?

After formatting, the M.2 drive can download, copy and launch PS5 and PS4 games, as well as media apps. PS5 games on USB extended storage can be stored there but must be copied back to the internal SSD or M.2 drive to play; PS4 games can run directly from USB. One M.2 SSD and one USB extended drive can be connected at the same time.

Saves, screenshots and video clips remain on the console’s internal storage, according to PlayStation Blog Japan’s 2026 summer update. All data for a single game must reside on one storage device. An M.2 drive can be moved to another PS5 without formatting when the same account is signed in.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What should you avoid when buying?

  • Bare SSD listings when Sony requires cooling.
  • SATA M.2, PCIe Gen3 and USB drives marketed as PS5 SSD upgrades.
  • Gen5 models with tall heatsink towers.
  • Any assembly over 25mm wide or 11.25mm thick.
  • Using a second heatsink on a pre-cooled drive.
  • Choosing by family name instead of the exact capacity-and-heatsink part number.
  • Assuming a higher advertised sequential speed guarantees shorter game loads.
  • Relying on old 4TB maximum-capacity manuals or mid-2026 price roundups; Sony now supports up to 8TB, and 2026 street prices have risen sharply.

How we picked these PS5 SSDs

The selection prioritizes Sony’s current electrical, capacity and physical requirements; a factory cooling solution; reliable 2TB and 4TB availability; endurance and DRAM where the evidence distinguishes them; and a clear reason to choose each drive. October 2026 retail snapshots are shown only to establish the price context, not as guaranteed offers. Drives with unresolved heatsink fit, missing capacity evidence or a read rating below Sony’s recommendation were not ranked as defaults.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I move my PS5 M.2 SSD to another console?

Yes. Sony’s guidance allows the installed drive to be moved to another PS5 without formatting when you sign in with the same account. The destination console still needs current system software and a physically compatible slot.

Will an M.2 SSD improve PS5 graphics or frame rate?

No. It expands game capacity and can provide storage performance comparable to the internal drive, but it does not add GPU power, resolution modes or frame-rate targets. Game patches and the console’s CPU/GPU determine those features.

What happens if the PS5 loses power during the first SSD format?

The drive may remain unformatted or require the format process to be run again. Keep the console connected to stable power during formatting and do not interrupt the wizard; any data already on the new drive is erased by that first format.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Can one game be split between the internal SSD and an M.2 drive?

No. Sony requires all data for one game to live on one storage device. Move the complete installation through the Game Library storage command rather than manually dividing files.

Is an 8TB PS5 SSD worth buying instead of 4TB?

It is mainly for collectors, shared consoles and players who keep exceptionally large live-service libraries installed. The 8TB ceiling is official, but the high purchase price means 4TB is usually the more balanced large-library step.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Read next

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.