What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
For a small UK private Squad group, 4NetPlayers is the cheapest listed option in the comparison reviewed: £5.10 per month for 10 slots. LOW.MS costs £5.99 for 10 slots but includes 10GB of RAM, making it the more convincing low-cost starting point if you may need to satisfy licensing requirements or expand later. Neither price alone proves that a server is suitable for Squad’s primary Server Browser.
The right choice depends on whether you need a private server in the Custom Servers list or a public, licensed server intended for primary-browser visibility. Compare RAM, CPU and hardware eligibility, location, player capacity, administration tools, backups, support and refund terms alongside the monthly charge. The prices below are a UK-focused snapshot checked on 18 August 2026, not a guarantee of today’s checkout totals.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Quick verdict
| Provider | Listed entry plan | Best fit | Main qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4NetPlayers | £5.10/month, 10 slots, London, tax included | Cheapest small private server | Confirm licensing eligibility before expecting primary-browser placement |
| LOW.MS | £5.99/month, 10 slots, 10GB RAM, London | Low-cost plan with more memory and room to scale | A separate licence application is still required for primary-browser placement |
| G-Portal | £11.52 per 30 days, 10 slots, Central Europe | Managed alternative with listed backups | Location shown was Central Europe rather than London |
| Host Havoc | £50.26/month, starting at 80 slots | Established public communities that need capacity | Overkill for a small group and substantially more expensive |
| Shockbyte | $7.99/month for 15 players and 3GB RAM; $18/month for 40+ players and 6GB+ RAM | Feature-rich private-server starting point | The displayed RAM tiers are below the reported 8GB licensing baseline |
These figures come from a dated provider comparison, except for Shockbyte’s own advertised plan details. They are listed specifications, not independent uptime, latency or performance benchmarks.
What “still good” means for a Squad server
The cheapest server is only a good deal when it meets the way your group plays. A ten-person training session, a regular clan match and a public community trying to fill a full server have different requirements.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Private or custom-server play
If you only need a passworded practice, scrim or clan server, an unlicensed rented server can be sufficient. The comparison reports that unlicensed servers can run privately and appear under Squad’s Custom Servers area. In this case, low price, a nearby data centre and usable administration tools matter more than public listing eligibility.
Primary Server Browser visibility
If strangers must discover the server through Squad’s primary Server Browser, treat licensing as a separate project. A host being described as “trusted” does not automatically license your individual community. The comparison says a separate application is required, so do not buy a small plan assuming the provider’s status transfers to you.
Capacity is more than the slot number
Player slots describe the maximum connections a plan permits; they do not tell you whether the machine has enough memory or CPU headroom for a full match, mods, logging and administration. Match capacity to expected attendance, then inspect the allocated RAM and the underlying hardware.
Current prices and specifications
The table below preserves the plan terms and currencies shown in the comparison. Billing periods, taxes, exchange rates, introductory discounts and available regions can change at checkout.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
| Provider | Price shown | Slots or players | Memory and features stated | Location or availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4NetPlayers | £5.10 per month | 10 slots | Memory allocation not stated in the comparison | London listed; tax included |
| LOW.MS | £5.99 per month (also shown as $8.10) | 10 slots; plans scale to 100 slots | 10GB RAM | London listed |
| G-Portal | £11.52 per 30 days (also shown as $15.59) | 10-slot entry plan | 50GB of backups; other memory figures not stated | Central Europe shown |
| Host Havoc | £50.26 per month (also shown as $68.00) | 80-slot starting plan reviewed | Other memory figures not stated | Location availability varies |
| Shockbyte | $7.99/month for the entry tier; $18/month for the larger tier | 15 players; 40+ players respectively | 3GB RAM on entry; 6GB+ on larger tier; mod controls, backups, DDoS protection, FTP and a control panel advertised | Region was not specified in the cited plan details |
Which provider fits each buyer?
Lowest-cost UK private server: 4NetPlayers
4NetPlayers is the price winner in this UK snapshot and has a London listing, which is useful for groups concentrated in Britain. It is the logical first quote for a small private server where the priority is keeping the monthly bill down. The comparison does not establish its RAM allocation, CPU model or licence suitability, so ask those questions before using it for a public server.
Best low-cost licensing-aware candidate: LOW.MS
LOW.MS costs only slightly more in the cited comparison while listing 10GB of RAM and London availability. That extra memory makes it the stronger candidate when you want a small server now but may apply for public visibility or grow toward larger plans. The host’s trusted-provider listing, as reported by the comparison, still does not remove the need for your own application.
Managed alternative with stated backups: G-Portal
G-Portal’s entry plan is notably more expensive than the two London options and shows Central Europe as the location. Its listed 50GB of backups may appeal to an administrator who values recovery capacity, provided the additional network distance is acceptable to the community.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Large public community: Host Havoc
Host Havoc’s reviewed plan begins at 80 slots and carries a much higher monthly price. That capacity is appropriate only when you already have a community that can use it. Renting it for a small clan leaves you paying for unused headroom, and the comparison does not establish that the plan automatically satisfies Squad licensing.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Feature-focused private option: Shockbyte
Shockbyte advertises mod controls, backups, DDoS protection, FTP access and a control panel, plus a 72-hour money-back guarantee. Those are useful operational features for a private server, but the displayed memory tiers are below the 8GB baseline reported for licensing. Confirm the actual allocation and hardware if public listing is part of your plan.
Licensing, hardware and Server Browser visibility
A policy summary checked in August 2026 reported four conditions for a public licensed server: a public server, at least 10 administrators, at least 8GB of RAM and approved hardware. The same summary did not state an 80-slot minimum. Because the official policy page could not be verified directly in that review, treat these as secondary-source guidance and recheck Offworld’s current rules before purchasing.
In practical terms, ask a provider for written confirmation of:
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstall- the exact RAM allocated to your instance, not the host machine’s total memory;
- CPU model, dedicated or shared-core status and any performance limits;
- whether the hardware is approved under the current Squad licensing process;
- the provider’s eligibility or trusted-provider status, while understanding that it is not your licence;
- the number of administrators you can document and the public-access rules; and
- the current application steps, review time and conditions for remaining listed.
The comparison also reports health thresholds attributed to Offworld: above 35 TPS described as green, below 25 as yellow and below 15 as red. These thresholds were not confirmed from an opened primary policy page, so use them as a diagnostic reference rather than a contractual performance guarantee. A host should explain how you can view server health and what happens when tick rate falls.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
How to compare plans before you pay
- Choose visibility first. Decide whether Custom Servers is enough. If primary-browser discovery is mandatory, eliminate any plan whose RAM, hardware or public-server terms cannot be verified.
- Estimate real attendance. Base the slot count on your peak event, not your average quiet night. Leave room for administrators, spectators or a reserve slot if the game mode requires it.
- Confirm memory and CPU in writing. Do not infer licensing suitability from a low price, a trusted-provider badge or the number of slots. Request the allocation for your exact plan and ask whether resources are shared.
- Select the nearest practical region. London is listed for 4NetPlayers and LOW.MS, Central Europe for G-Portal, and variable locations for Host Havoc. A nearby region generally reduces latency for your core community, but verify the actual data centre offered during checkout.
- Audit administration. Check whether you receive configuration-file access, mod installation, log access, scheduled restarts, player bans, permissions, backups and one-click restores. Shockbyte explicitly advertises several of these controls; equivalent features are not established for every provider.
- Calculate the complete bill. Confirm tax, currency conversion, recurring renewal price, billing interval, extra-slot charges, RAM upgrades and cancellation rules. A per-30-day price is not necessarily the same as a calendar-month subscription.
- Read the refund window. Shockbyte’s cited page lists 72 hours. Do not assume another provider offers the same period, or that add-ons and renewals are covered.
- Save evidence before ordering. Keep a copy of the plan page, RAM promise, location, refund terms and licence-related correspondence. Volatile specifications are easier to resolve when you can show what was advertised on the purchase date.
Buying and preparing the server
For a private group
- Select the smallest plan that covers your peak attendance and has a data centre near most players.
- Order the service, then record the server address, control-panel login and billing renewal date in a secure password manager.
- Set the server name, password, admin list, map rotation, player limits and restart schedule before inviting the full group.
- Install only the mods you intend to support. Test them with the exact game version and keep a clean configuration backup.
- Run a short practice session. Watch connection stability, tick-rate reports, CPU or memory warnings and log errors while several players are connected.
- Schedule backups and perform a restore test before the first important event; a backup that has never been restored is only an assumption.
For a public community
- Contact the provider before payment and request the exact RAM, CPU, hardware and region for the proposed plan.
- Check Offworld’s current licensing rules and application requirements directly, including administrator, public-access and hardware conditions.
- Apply for the licence separately. A provider’s trusted status is supporting evidence about the host, not approval for your community.
- Keep the server private or in Custom Servers until the licence and public listing are confirmed. Do not advertise primary-browser availability prematurely.
- Monitor performance during a full match rather than relying on an idle-server reading. Record tick rate, crashes, restarts and player reports.
- Document who handles bans, updates, mod compatibility, backups and support tickets. Public servers need an operating process, not just a larger plan.
Common mistakes and fixes
Buying by slot count alone
Symptom: the plan advertises enough players but becomes unstable during a full match. Fix: request RAM and CPU details, reduce unnecessary mods, and move to a plan with demonstrably stronger resources rather than simply adding slots.
Assuming “trusted provider” means licensed
Symptom: the server runs but does not appear in the primary browser. Fix: verify whether your separate licence application was approved and whether every current requirement is met.
Ignoring geography
Symptom: local players report inconsistent latency despite an otherwise healthy server. Fix: compare the actual data-centre region offered at checkout; London, Central Europe and other locations can produce different routes for your members.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Skipping restore tests
Symptom: a configuration or mod update breaks the server and the backup cannot be used quickly. Fix: make a manual backup before changes and complete a test restore while the server is still disposable.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Underestimating recurring cost
Symptom: the first invoice looks affordable but renewal, tax, currency conversion or RAM upgrades change the total. Fix: calculate the recurring price in your billing currency and set a reminder before the refund or cancellation deadline.
Renting versus self-hosting
Renting removes much of the network, DDoS mitigation, hardware replacement and control-panel work, which is why it is usually the practical route for a small group. Self-hosting can make sense when you already control suitable hardware, a reliable connection and the administrative time to handle updates, security and outages. The community question “where can I buy a Squad server/how do I make my own Squad server” reflects that choice, but it is not evidence that one method is universally cheaper or more reliable. Compare the total cost of equipment, bandwidth, electricity, monitoring and your own time against the monthly rental.
Bottom line for the UK price snapshot
Choose 4NetPlayers when the objective is the lowest listed price for a small private London-based server. Choose LOW.MS when the modest extra cost and stated 10GB RAM make a more licensing-aware or expandable starting point valuable. Choose G-Portal for its listed backup allocation and acceptable Central European location, Host Havoc only when an established public community genuinely needs its large starting capacity, and Shockbyte when its advertised administration features outweigh the uncertainty around low displayed RAM tiers. Recheck price, region, resources, refund terms and Offworld’s licensing policy immediately before ordering.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




