Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
Cloud gaming subscriptions range from a Prime-included Luna library to performance-focused streaming memberships and Game Pass bundles that combine games with cloud access. The cheapest option depends on whether you already own PC games, want a fixed catalog, or need unlimited—or simply more—cloud time. As of October 25, 2026, Xbox lists monthly cloud allowances of 5, 10, and 15 hours on Essential, Premium, and Ultimate, while NVIDIA gives Performance and Ultimate members 100 hours with limited rollover. Amazon Luna Standard is included with Prime; Luna Premium adds a larger catalog. Taxes, regional prices, promotions, supported devices, and game availability can change, so treat the figures below as market-specific snapshots rather than permanent worldwide prices.
How much does cloud gaming cost in 2026?
The major services use different billing models, so a subscription price alone does not tell you what you can play. Xbox charges for a catalog that includes cloud access, GeForce NOW charges primarily for streamed PC capacity while you bring supported games, and Luna separates a Prime-included Standard tier from a larger Premium catalog.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →| Service or tier | Price information available as of October 25, 2026 | What the subscription primarily provides | Cloud-play allowance or catalog rule |
|---|---|---|---|
| Xbox Game Pass Essential | Starts at $10 per month in Xbox’s December 19, 2025 guide; regional terms may differ | Game Pass catalog with cloud access and other plan benefits | 5 cloud hours per month on the current Xbox Cloud Gaming page; more than 50 games cited in the guide |
| Xbox Game Pass Premium | $14.99 per month in the December 19, 2025 guide; regional terms may differ | Larger Game Pass catalog with cloud access | 10 cloud hours per month; 200+ games cited in the guide |
| Xbox Game Pass Ultimate | $22.99 per month announced by Microsoft on April 21, 2026, down from $29.99; prices may vary by region | Hundreds of Xbox and PC games, cloud gaming, online console multiplayer, day-one releases, EA Play, Fortnite Crew, and Ubisoft+ Classics, according to Xbox’s announcement and guide | 15 cloud hours per month on the current page; the guide cites 400+ games |
| GeForce NOW Free | Free; day passes are offered in some markets | Access to NVIDIA’s streaming service with free-tier session conditions | You generally supply a supported game from a connected storefront; free-tier terms and queues apply |
| GeForce NOW Performance | Current price varies by market and promotion; NVIDIA’s cited material does not state one universal figure | Higher streaming performance and premium access for supported games | 100 hours per month, with up to 15 hours rollover |
| GeForce NOW Ultimate | Current price varies by market and promotion; NVIDIA’s cited material does not state one universal figure | Highest listed streaming performance and premium access for supported games | 100 hours per month, with up to 15 hours rollover |
| Amazon Luna Standard | Included with an Amazon Prime membership | Curated cloud library, GameNight family and party games, claimable PC games, and streaming of purchased games | Catalog and eligibility vary by market |
| Amazon Luna Premium | Separate upgrade; price varies by market | Everything in Standard plus a larger library; available to Prime and non-Prime members | Catalog size and included titles vary by market |
Xbox’s April 2026 price announcement covers the monthly subscription, not every tax, currency conversion, introductory offer, or billing-term discount. The same qualification applies to Luna and GeForce NOW: check the checkout page for your country before treating a displayed figure as your recurring total.
What does Xbox Game Pass cloud gaming include?
Xbox Game Pass is the catalog-first choice: you subscribe to a rotating collection and use cloud streaming for included games on compatible devices. It is not an unlimited stream of every Xbox title. Games outside the catalog can require a separate purchase, and the cloud allowance is tied to the plan shown on Xbox’s current cloud page.
#1 Best Overall
- GAME PASS ULTIMATE: Play new games on day one, and enjoy hundreds of high-quality games on console, PC, and cloud. Game Pass Ultimate also includes online console multiplayer, EA Play, and other great member benefits.
- SOMETHING FOR EVERYONE: From fast-paced action and adventure to timeless classics, family-friendly games, innovative indie titles, brain-teasing puzzles, immersive roleplaying adventures, and intense shooters. Dive into a world where every gamer can find their next favorite game.
- NEW GAMES ON DAY ONE: Enjoy incredible new games on day one from Xbox Game Studios, Bethesda Softworks, Activision Blizzard, and more. Play The Outer Worlds 2, NINJA GAIDEN 4, and High on Life 2 as soon as they are released.
- ONLINE CONSOLE MULTIPLAYER: Tap into the heart of the Xbox community and join millions of players ready to play together. Online console multiplayer is included with Game Pass Ultimate.
- EA PLAY MEMBERSHIP INCLUDED: Jump into Battlefield, STAR WARS, and other great game franchises with EA Play. Included at no extra cost, members get access to a collection of EA’s best-loved games, in-game rewards, and trials of select new games.
Essential, Premium, and Ultimate catalogs
Xbox’s December 19, 2025 guide describes Essential as a 50-plus-game entry tier, Premium as a 200-plus-game tier, and Ultimate as a 400-plus-game tier with day-one releases and additional memberships. Catalog counts are approximate and can change as games are added or removed. A title being in Game Pass also does not guarantee that it is available for cloud play in every region or on every platform.
Ultimate’s broader bundle
Microsoft’s April 21, 2026 announcement says Ultimate includes hundreds of games on Xbox and PC, current Call of Duty titles, in-game benefits, online console multiplayer, unlimited Xbox Cloud Gaming, and major day-one releases. Xbox’s later September 3 announcement changes how that cloud component is measured, so “unlimited” should be read as a description of the bundled service rather than a promise that no usage policy will ever apply.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsHow do Xbox cloud-hour limits work?
The current Xbox Cloud Gaming page lists 5 monthly hours for Essential, 10 for Premium, and 15 for Ultimate. Xbox announced on September 3, 2026 that, beginning in November, cloud gaming included with Game Pass would use those same 5-, 10-, and 15-hour allowances and that additional playtime would be purchasable through the Xbox Store. The announcement did not publish a universal overage price; Microsoft says options and prices will vary by market.
That timing matters if you subscribe before November. Your account may display transitional terms, and the exact changeover can depend on region and platform. Read the plan description shown at purchase, then check the account’s remaining cloud time rather than assuming a higher-priced tier removes all metering.
Does GeForce NOW include games?
Usually, no: GeForce NOW primarily supplies the remote gaming computer, streaming connection, and premium features. You connect supported PC storefront accounts and play a title you own or can install through an eligible service. A subscription therefore may be excellent for someone with a substantial Steam, Epic, Ubisoft, Xbox, or other supported library, but it does not automatically unlock every game in those stores.
Rank #2
- DISCOVER 50+ GAMES — Explore a curated library of more than 50 games playable across XBOX consoles, PC, and supported devices, with new favorites ready to discover.
- PLAY ACROSS YOUR FAVORITE DEVICES — Enjoy included games across supported XBOX consoles, PC, and other compatible devices for more ways to play wherever you are.
- PLAY TOGETHER ONLINE — Connect with friends and communities with online console multiplayer included with XBOX Game Pass Essential.
- STREAM WITH XBOX CLOUD GAMING — Enjoy up to 5 hours of cloud playtime per month and stream supported games to compatible devices with XBOX Cloud Gaming.
- EARN REWARDS WHILE YOU PLAY — Earn Rewards points by playing games, completing eligible activities, and shopping in the Store with your XBOX Game Pass membership.
What Performance and Ultimate add
NVIDIA describes Performance and Ultimate as premium memberships with 100 monthly hours and up to 15 hours of rollover. Premium features include higher resolution and frame-rate ceilings, ray tracing, DLSS, Reflex, faster access, saved graphics settings, supported mods, and Install-to-Play for thousands of opted-in Steam games. Support is title-by-title, so verify the specific game and storefront before paying.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →What happens after the monthly allowance?
After the included monthly time is used, NVIDIA says members can buy additional premium playtime or continue with a free-user experience until the allowance resets. The practical trade-off is slower access or lower-tier conditions versus another charge. If you regularly exceed the allowance, include those top-ups in your budget instead of comparing only the headline membership price.
Persistent storage is separate
NVIDIA lists storage add-ons at $2.99 per month for 200GB, $4.99 for 500GB, and $7.99 for 1TB. These are recurring charges in addition to the membership. They matter most if you use Install-to-Play or need files and installations to persist between sessions; they are not a substitute for owning a supported game.
Is Amazon Luna free with Prime?
Amazon Luna Standard is included with Prime, so an existing Prime member can access its curated cloud-streaming library without a second Luna subscription. Standard also includes GameNight family and party games, PC games that can be claimed and kept, and streaming of purchased games, subject to market and account eligibility.
Luna Premium is a separate tier for Prime and non-Prime members. It includes everything in Standard and expands the library. Amazon does not publish one worldwide Premium price in the supplied information, so use the local Luna page to see the recurring charge and the titles available where you live.
Rank #3
- GAME PASS ULTIMATE: Play new games on day one, and enjoy hundreds of high-quality games on console, PC, and cloud. Game Pass Ultimate also includes online console multiplayer, EA Play, and other great member benefits.
- SOMETHING FOR EVERYONE: From fast-paced action and adventure to timeless classics, family-friendly games, innovative indie titles, brain-teasing puzzles, immersive roleplaying adventures, and intense shooters. Dive into a world where every gamer can find their next favorite game.
- NEW GAMES ON DAY ONE: Enjoy incredible new games on day one from Xbox Game Studios, Bethesda Softworks, Activision Blizzard, and more. Play The Outer Worlds 2, NINJA GAIDEN 4, and High on Life 2 as soon as they are released.
- ONLINE CONSOLE MULTIPLAYER: Tap into the heart of the Xbox community and join millions of players ready to play together. Online console multiplayer is included with Game Pass Ultimate.
- EA PLAY MEMBERSHIP INCLUDED: Jump into Battlefield, STAR WARS, and other great game franchises with EA Play. Included at no extra cost, members get access to a collection of EA’s best-loved games, in-game rewards, and trials of select new games.
What costs extra after subscribing?
| Potential extra | When it applies | How to avoid an unexpected charge |
|---|---|---|
| Games outside the Xbox catalog | A cloud-playable title is not included in your Game Pass plan | Check the game’s inclusion and cloud-play symbol before purchasing or starting it |
| Xbox cloud overage time | After the announced November 2026 monthly allowance is exhausted | Review the Xbox Store overage offer and its local price before confirming |
| GeForce NOW premium hours | Performance or Ultimate usage exceeds the monthly allowance | Track remaining hours and compare top-up costs with a lower-use plan |
| GeForce NOW persistent storage | You need 200GB, 500GB, or 1TB of additional persistent space | Choose only the capacity your installed games and files require |
| Luna Premium | You want a larger catalog than Prime-included Standard provides, or you do not have Prime | Compare Premium’s local catalog with the games you actually intend to play |
| Controller or compatible hardware | Your phone, tablet, computer, television, or streaming device lacks a usable input device | Budget for a compatible controller and confirm Bluetooth or USB support |
| Taxes, currency conversion, and billing differences | Your market adds tax or uses a different price, or an introductory offer ends | Use the final checkout total and renewal date, not only an advertised starting price |
What internet and hardware do cloud services require?
Xbox states that cloud play requires a supported device, an internet connection, and a compatible controller connected by Bluetooth or USB. Its published minimum download speed is 10 Mbps; Xbox recommends 20 Mbps for best quality on some devices. Those figures describe bandwidth, not guaranteed latency, so a fast connection with congestion or an unstable Wi-Fi link can still produce blur, delay, or disconnects.
Device and regional support differ among services. A phone, browser, console, smart television, or streaming stick may be supported for one service and unavailable for another. Confirm the exact device model, operating-system version, controller method, and country eligibility before subscribing. Hardware is a separate purchase even when the game catalog is bundled.
Which cloud gaming subscription is best for your library?
| Your priority | Most suitable model | Why | Main limitation to check |
|---|---|---|---|
| Play many included console and PC games | Xbox Game Pass | The subscription supplies a catalog instead of requiring you to buy each included title | Cloud hours, rotating availability, regional catalog, and separate purchases for excluded games |
| Stream PC games you already own | GeForce NOW | You pay for remote hardware and streaming quality while using supported storefront ownership | Game compatibility, queues, monthly hours, and possible storage or top-up fees |
| Already pay for Prime and want casual or family play | Amazon Luna Standard | Cloud access is folded into Prime with curated and party-oriented options | Smaller or market-specific catalog compared with Premium |
| Want a larger Luna catalog without relying on Prime | Amazon Luna Premium | Available to Prime and non-Prime customers and expands Standard | Separate local subscription price and title availability |
| Need the highest listed streaming performance | GeForce NOW Ultimate | Premium features include the service’s top performance tier | 100-hour allowance, supported-game requirement, and regional pricing |
How can you calculate your real monthly cloud-gaming cost?
Use the following process before choosing a plan. It separates the recurring bill from games, hardware, and usage charges that are easy to overlook.
- List the games you expect to play. Mark which are included in a catalog, which you already own on a supported storefront, and which would require a purchase.
- Estimate cloud hours. Add your expected monthly playtime, including short sessions on mobile or television. Compare it with Xbox’s plan allowance or GeForce NOW’s premium allowance rather than assuming occasional play is free.
- Check the exact platform. Confirm that your device, operating system, country, controller, and preferred storefront are supported for each game.
- Add recurring extras. Include GeForce NOW storage if needed, a Luna Premium upgrade if Standard is insufficient, and any expected Xbox or GeForce NOW overage purchases.
- Price the first year. Apply taxes, the post-promotion renewal price, and any annual or monthly billing difference. A discounted first month can otherwise make a recurring plan look cheaper than it is.
- Recheck before renewal. Catalogs, cloud policies, regional availability, and prices change. Review the account page before a promotion ends or a new Xbox policy takes effect.
What are the most common cloud-subscription mistakes?
Assuming a storefront library is automatically included
GeForce NOW does not replace game ownership. A connected Steam or Epic account can still show a title that is unsupported, unavailable for installation, or subject to a publisher restriction. Verify both ownership and service support for the exact edition you want.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Reading “unlimited” without checking the current policy
Xbox’s Ultimate announcement used “unlimited Xbox Cloud Gaming,” but Xbox’s September 2026 update specifies monthly cloud allowances beginning in November. Policy language can change faster than comparison articles, so the plan page attached to your account is the controlling reference.
Rank #4
- THE PERFECT GAMING GIFT — Buy an XBOX Gift Card for yourself or a friend and let them choose the games, add‑ons, subscriptions, and accessories they want most.
- USE FOR GAMES & CONTENT — Redeem for thousands of digital XBOX games, from backward compatible classics to the latest new releases, plus DLC and in‑game currency.
- GAME PASS READY — Apply your balance toward XBOX Game Pass Ultimate to play new titles on day one* and access a library of hundreds of high‑quality console games.
- PRE‑ORDER & PRE‑INSTALL GAMES — Use your balance to pre‑order and pre‑download upcoming titles so you’re ready to play the moment they launch.
- NO FEES OR EXPIRATION — XBOX Gift Cards never expire and have no service fees, so your balance is ready whenever you are.
Budgeting only for the subscription
A controller, compatible device, purchased games, storage, taxes, and overage time can exceed the advertised monthly fee. Put those items in the same calculation, especially if you are buying cloud access for a television or a new handheld setup.
Ignoring regional differences
Xbox, NVIDIA, and Amazon all qualify availability, catalogs, or prices by market. A plan, game, day pass, or promotion visible in one country may not appear in another. Set your account region correctly and read local terms before payment.
What is changing in Xbox cloud gaming in November 2026?
Microsoft’s September 3, 2026 announcement says the inclusion model changes beginning in November: Ultimate receives 15 cloud hours, Premium 10, and Essential 5, with additional playtime sold through the Xbox Store. The announcement leaves overage pricing and options market-dependent. If your usage is near the allowance, wait for the local offer to appear or keep a separate budget for additional hours.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallOther services also use policies that can move over time. NVIDIA can alter membership pricing, day-pass availability, supported titles, or storage terms, while Luna’s included and Premium catalogs are market-specific. Treat any comparison as time-stamped and verify the service’s current account page when you subscribe.
Which service should you choose?
Choose Xbox Game Pass when the value you want is a rotating, bundled catalog and you can stay within the plan’s cloud allowance. Choose GeForce NOW when you already own compatible PC games and value streamed hardware features more than an all-you-can-play catalog. Choose Luna Standard when Prime already covers the subscription and its curated selection fits your household; move to Premium only when its larger local catalog justifies another recurring fee.
Best Value
- DISCOVER 50+ GAMES — Explore a curated library of more than 50 games playable across XBOX consoles, PC, and supported devices, with new favorites ready to discover.
- PLAY ACROSS YOUR FAVORITE DEVICES — Enjoy included games across supported XBOX consoles, PC, and other compatible devices for more ways to play wherever you are.
- PLAY TOGETHER ONLINE — Connect with friends and communities with online console multiplayer included with XBOX Game Pass Essential.
- STREAM WITH XBOX CLOUD GAMING — Enjoy up to 5 hours of cloud playtime per month and stream supported games to compatible devices with XBOX Cloud Gaming.
- EARN REWARDS WHILE YOU PLAY — Earn Rewards points by playing games, completing eligible activities, and shopping in the Store with your XBOX Game Pass membership.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use a GeForce NOW day pass instead of a monthly membership?
NVIDIA offers day passes in some markets, but they are not universal and their terms can differ from monthly memberships. Check whether a pass is sold in your country and confirm which performance tier and hours it covers before relying on it for a trip or a one-time event.
Do Xbox Game Pass cloud hours apply to every device I use?
The allowance is associated with the Game Pass plan and cloud service, not a separate quota for each phone, browser, or television. Switching devices does not create a new monthly allotment; the supported-device and regional rules still apply.
Can non-Prime members subscribe to Amazon Luna Premium?
Yes. Amazon describes Premium as available to both Prime and non-Prime members. Prime mainly changes the baseline by including Luna Standard, so a non-Prime customer may need only the Premium subscription rather than a separate Prime membership.
Will a faster internet plan eliminate cloud-gaming input lag?
Not necessarily. Xbox’s 10 Mbps minimum and 20 Mbps recommendation address download bandwidth, while latency, Wi-Fi interference, routing, and household congestion also affect responsiveness. A wired or strong low-congestion connection can matter as much as the headline speed.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

