Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
Crunchyroll is the better primary anime service on PS5 or PS4 for most weekly viewers. Its dedicated library, fast subtitled simulcasts and $9.99 Fan plan are built around anime. Netflix is the better companion when your household already pays for it, prefers finished-season binges, wants Netflix originals or needs 4K HDR. In the United States, the cheapest ad-free anime option is Crunchyroll Fan; the cheapest way to keep both services is about $19 per month with Netflix Standard with ads. Catalogs and language tracks vary by country, so search each show in the PlayStation app before subscribing.
At a glance
| Name | Best for | Key spec | Free plan / price | Platforms | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Crunchyroll Fan | One viewer following seasonal anime | 50,000+ episodes claimed across the service; 1080p; no ads | $9.99/month; $99.99/year | PS4, PS5 and supported streaming devices | Oct 2026 |
| Netflix Standard with ads | Occasional anime in a mixed household | Two screens; 1080p; some titles locked on the ad plan | $8.99/month; no free tier | PS4, PS5 and supported streaming devices | Oct 2026 |
| Crunchyroll Mega Fan | Anime households needing several streams | Four streams; Game Vault; broader downloads | $13.99/month; $139.99/year | PS4, PS5 and supported streaming devices | Oct 2026 |
| Netflix Premium | Households wanting 4K HDR and anime originals | Four screens; 4K HDR; downloads on six devices | $26.99/month; no free tier | PS4, PS5 and supported streaming devices | Oct 2026 |
The short version is a division of labor. Crunchyroll is a specialist anime library with a strong simulcast calendar. Netflix is a general entertainment subscription whose anime value is concentrated in originals, selected licenses and a polished binge-watching experience. Both work on PlayStation, but the right purchase depends more on the shows and viewing schedule in your house than on the console itself.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsWhich service has more anime?
Crunchyroll has the deeper dedicated anime catalog, while Netflix has a smaller, changing selection built around originals and selected licenses. Crunchyroll’s February 2026 company figures claim more than 50,000 episodes, 25,000 hours and 2,000 series and films. Those figures are global company claims; what you can stream still depends on territory, season and licensing.
Netflix does not publish a stable, comparable anime-title count. Independent catalog comparisons generally place its country-level anime shelf in the several-hundred range, well below Crunchyroll’s dedicated library. Netflix says its catalog varies by region and can change over time, so a title count would quickly become misleading. A show can be present in one country, absent in another, or represented by only some seasons.
Popular on Amazon
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Crunchyroll’s catalog role
In the United States, Crunchyroll carries most currently airing seasonal shows plus long-running hits such as One Piece, Jujutsu Kaisen, Frieren and Solo Leveling. Its catalogue also includes classics such as Akira, Dragon Ball Z, Gundam and Naruto. The former standalone Funimation app has shut down, and much of that service’s catalog moved to Crunchyroll, making Crunchyroll’s dub selection considerably stronger than it was before the merger.
Crunchyroll’s scale matters most when you do not have a fixed list of two or three shows. You can move from a current-season series to a long-running shonen title, a catalog classic or a movie without changing services. The service also promotes music videos, concerts and games alongside its series and films. More than 21 million paid subscribers were reported as of the end of March 2026 across more than 200 countries and territories, but subscriber reach is not a promise that every title is licensed in your country.
That does not mean Crunchyroll has every anime. Examples cited in current comparisons of titles found elsewhere include Bleach: Thousand-Year Blood War, Cyberpunk: Edgerunners and newer Tokyo Revengers episodes. Hulu, Prime Video and HIDIVE still hold individual exclusives. HIDIVE remains a separate budget specialist at $7.99 per month or $79.99 per year in the United States, so it can be the sensible third service for one exclusive rather than a replacement for Crunchyroll’s simulcasts.
Netflix’s catalog role
Netflix is strongest for its own productions and finished-season viewing. Frequently cited examples include Cyberpunk: Edgerunners, Pluto, Devilman Crybaby, Beastars and Violet Evergarden. In September 2026 comparisons, Steel Ball Run: JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure was reported as a Netflix worldwide exclusive, and Netflix was the only US service carrying every JoJo series.
Netflix also fits a mixed household: one person can watch an anime original while another watches a drama, film or children’s program under the same subscription. More than half of Netflix members were said to watch anime, but that statistic measures audience interest, not the size of a dedicated anime shelf. The service’s recommendation system and profiles can be more useful than a huge catalog when everyone in the home watches different genres.
Overlap is real but territorial. Older hits such as Demon Slayer and Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood can appear on both services, sometimes with only particular seasons available. Brazilian listings in October 2026, for example, included Naruto, One Piece, Jujutsu Kaisen, Demon Slayer, PLUTO, Dungeon Meshi and Cyberpunk: Edgerunners on Netflix. Search the exact title and season in your local app rather than relying on a global list.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →A practical catalog test
Before paying, write down the five shows you are most likely to watch in the next month. Search each title in both PlayStation apps, then check season numbers, language tracks and whether the result is included in the plan you selected. This catches common surprises: a film may be licensed while the series is not, a later season may be missing, or a Netflix title may show a lock icon on the ad-supported plan. If three or more of your immediate choices are current-season shows or Crunchyroll exclusives, the specialist service is usually the better first subscription.
What are the release schedules on PlayStation?
Crunchyroll is designed for simulcasts: a new episode normally appears with English subtitles about an hour after its Japanese broadcast, according to October 2026 catalog guidance. Timing can vary with production and regional licensing, but the model is weekly release rather than waiting for a complete season. English dubs generally follow weeks to months later. The simulcast calendar can show when additional language dubs are scheduled.
Netflix originals usually launch with strong English dubs on day one, while licensed anime often arrives as a complete season, sometimes months after Japanese broadcast. That is ideal for viewers who dislike weekly waits or want to binge on a weekend, but it is less suitable if you want to participate in weekly discussions while a season is airing. Netflix may also release a title globally on one date while another licensed series arrives in different countries at different times.
For a weekly watcher, the distinction is substantial. Crunchyroll lets you follow a season as it airs, with the Japanese version and subtitles normally available first. Netflix is more convenient when you want to start and finish a completed season in one weekend, especially if English dubbing on day one is more important than release speed.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Can you watch Crunchyroll and Netflix on PS5 and PS4?
Yes. Both services have downloadable PlayStation apps. Crunchyroll is listed for PS4 and PS5, alongside phones, tablets, smart TVs and other streaming devices. Netflix is an established PlayStation app in the same markets. You do not need a separate streaming box simply to use either service on a supported console.
Installing and signing in
- Open the PlayStation Store on your PS5 or PS4 and search for the service’s official app.
- Install the app, then open it from the Media area or your game library.
- Sign in with an existing account or follow the on-screen link or QR code to create one.
- Search for the exact anime before paying; availability, seasons, audio and subtitles are title- and region-specific.
- Start an episode and open its Audio/Subtitle controls to confirm the tracks you actually need.
In Indonesia, Malaysia and Thailand, an October 2026 PlayStation.Blog announcement added Crunchyroll subscription through PlayStation Media Hub. The regional PlayStation Store Mega Fan rates are IDR 49,000, MYR 14.90 and THB 119 per month. This was a Southeast Asian store launch, not proof that the PlayStation app was previously unavailable worldwide; Crunchyroll had already been listed for PS4 and PS5 in other device guides.
The Southeast Asian launch is especially relevant to Malaysian users who previously lacked the local PlayStation app and often needed a smart TV for Crunchyroll. They can now use the PS4 or PS5 much like Netflix and Apple TV. Availability remains market-specific, so do not assume that a PlayStation Store subscription flow in one country appears in another.
PlayStation billing and cancellation
When you subscribe through PlayStation, Sony shares account information so the purchase can be linked to your Crunchyroll account. In the Southeast Asian flow, you download the app, allow that sharing, create or link the Crunchyroll account and pay with PlayStation Wallet. Keep track of which account was linked; starting a second subscription on the website can create a duplicate charge.
Recommended Free Tools
Cancel through the same billing channel: a PlayStation-billed subscription must be canceled in PlayStation account settings, not only on the Crunchyroll website. Deleting the app does not cancel recurring billing. If you subscribed directly on Crunchyroll, use the Crunchyroll account page instead. Check the renewal date after canceling and keep access until the paid period ends where the terms allow it.
How do subtitles, dubs and captions compare?
Crunchyroll offers both subtitled and dubbed anime, but subtitles generally arrive first. Netflix generally gives its own anime a stronger day-one English-dub experience, while its licensed titles may use a different schedule. Neither service guarantees the same language menu for every title, season or country.
Crunchyroll language timing
For a currently airing Japanese episode, English subtitles usually arrive within roughly an hour. English dubs commonly arrive several weeks to several months afterward. This is a normal production sequence, not a console delay. If you want a dubbed simulcast, check the calendar for that specific series rather than assuming the dub launches with the Japanese episode.
Netflix language behavior
Netflix originals usually launch with English dubs immediately. Licensed shows may arrive as a full-season package and can have a different set of subtitle or dub tracks from the same title on Crunchyroll. A Netflix dub can therefore be available on release even when Crunchyroll is still offering only Japanese audio and subtitles, while Crunchyroll may have the newest subtitled episode weeks or months earlier.
Choosing tracks and checking captions
Audio and subtitle choices are title- and region-dependent. Set account language defaults on the web or mobile app, then open the episode’s Audio/Subtitle menu on PlayStation to confirm what that episode actually offers. The safest console advice is to verify the menu inside the episode; there is no reliable universal PS5 or PS4 screenshot that applies to every app version.
Some viewers report that Crunchyroll does not provide closed captions while an English dub is playing even when subtitles are toggled on. Japanese audio with foreign-language subtitles remains available. Audio-description and closed-caption settings exist on profiles, but accessibility can vary by title. Netflix provides its own title-specific caption and audio options, so check the playback menu if dialogue labels or sound descriptions are important to you.
Also popular on Amazon
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Local-language availability
Regional support can be substantial. Crunchyroll reported more than 690 titles in Indonesia in October 2026, with more than 400 carrying complete Indonesian subtitles and some Indonesian dubs. Examples included Black Clover Season 2 with Indonesian subtitles and Firefly Wedding with Indonesian audio and subtitles. Local dubs also include titles such as Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, Kaiju No. 8, That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime and Mushoku Tensei: Jobless Reincarnation.
Malaysian reporting highlighted English-subtitled Black Clover Season 2, as well as Overgeared and PSYREN, with multiple language options. Confirm the language menu for your country rather than assuming the US track list applies. A title page can advertise a dub that is not available for every episode or region.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
How much do Crunchyroll and Netflix cost in the United States?
The following regular prices were checked in October 2026 and are before tax. Crunchyroll’s February 2026 increase moved Fan from $7.99 to $9.99, Mega Fan from $11.99 to $13.99 and Ultimate Fan from $15.99 to $17.99. Existing US subscribers saw the change on bills after 4 March 2026. The Fan increase was the first US Fan-tier increase since 2019.
| Service and plan | Monthly price | Streams | Ads | Downloads | Other included features |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Crunchyroll Fan | $9.99 | 1 | No | One device | 5% store discount |
| Crunchyroll Mega Fan | $13.99 | 4 | No | HD downloads; broader device support | Game Vault; 10% store discount; free US shipping on $50+ orders |
| Crunchyroll Ultimate Fan | $17.99 | 6 | No | Unlimited downloads on higher tiers | Manga, 15% store discount, free shipping and a swag bag after 12 consecutive months |
| Netflix Standard with ads | $8.99 | 2 | Yes | Not stated for this comparison | 1080p; some titles are locked |
| Netflix Standard | $19.99 | 2 | No | Not stated for this comparison | 1080p; extra member costs $7.99 with ads or $9.99 without |
| Netflix Premium | $26.99 | 4 | No | Six devices | 4K HDR; up to two extra members |
All three Crunchyroll paid plans are ad-free and include the licensed library and new episodes shortly after Japan. Fan is enough for one viewer. Mega Fan is the practical household tier when four people need simultaneous access, and Ultimate Fan raises that limit to six while adding merchandise and manga benefits. Five Crunchyroll profiles do not change the stream limit.
Crunchyroll’s regular annual prices are Fan $99.99, Mega Fan $139.99 and Ultimate Fan $179.99. The company advertises annual billing as saving 16%; the listed annual amounts are about 16.6% below twelve monthly payments. Introductory annual promotions can revert to regular pricing, so read the checkout terms and note the renewal amount.
Crunchyroll’s standard new-subscriber offer is a seven-day Premium trial, limited to one trial per customer. Canceling during the trial ends Premium immediately; canceling a paid plan leaves access until the paid period ends. The former free ad-supported Crunchyroll on-demand tier ended on 31 December 2025. Pages that still mention a free tier are out of date.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallNetflix has no full free tier. Its $8.99 Standard with ads plan undercuts Crunchyroll Fan by one dollar and allows two screens, but some titles are locked on the ad plan. Ad-free Netflix Standard costs $19.99, exactly twice the Crunchyroll Fan price, while Premium costs $26.99 for 4K HDR and four screens.
What picture quality, profiles and downloads do you get?
Crunchyroll is generally a 1080p service on PlayStation, with no 4K tier identified in current comparisons. Netflix Premium is the plan that unlocks 4K HDR and four streams, making it the relevant choice when a PS5 is connected to a 4K television. A title’s actual Netflix encode can still vary, and no complete anime-by-anime 4K list is published. A PS5’s ability to output 4K does not upgrade a 1080p Crunchyroll stream.
Crunchyroll supports up to five profiles, but Fan permits only one simultaneous stream. Five profiles therefore organize a household without allowing two people to watch two shows at the same time on Fan. Netflix Standard plans allow two screens and Premium allows four. Remember that profiles and screens are different limits.
Crunchyroll Fan now includes downloads on one device; Mega Fan and Ultimate Fan provide broader or HD download benefits. The published console information does not confirm offline episode downloads on PS5 or PS4, so treat downloads as a phone or tablet feature unless the app explicitly shows otherwise. Do not assume that a download made on a mobile device can be transferred to the console.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Also popular on Amazon
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Mega Fan also includes Game Vault access, with more than 100 anime-inspired mobile games described for the tier. That benefit is separate from playing PS5 or PS4 games and should not be treated as a console game catalog.
Which service should you choose for your PS5 or PS4?
Choose Crunchyroll Fan for seasonal anime
Fan is the straightforward choice for one viewer who follows several shows while they air, wants fast English subtitles and does not need multiple simultaneous streams. It is ad-free and costs less than Netflix’s ad-free Standard plan. It is also the simplest way to test whether Crunchyroll’s current-season calendar matches your habits.
Choose Crunchyroll Mega Fan for an anime household
Mega Fan raises simultaneous viewing to four streams and adds Game Vault access and broader downloads. It is also the tier sold through the PlayStation Stores in Indonesia, Malaysia and Thailand in the October 2026 launch. Choose it when more than one person regularly watches Crunchyroll, not merely because the household owns several profiles.
Choose Netflix if you already subscribe or want originals
Keep Netflix when anime is occasional, your household watches movies and live-action series too, or the watchlist centers on Netflix originals such as Pluto and Cyberpunk: Edgerunners. Standard with ads is the least expensive way to try its anime shelf, but inspect lock icons because some titles are unavailable on that plan. Premium is justified mainly by 4K HDR and four-screen household use, not by a larger anime count.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Choose both when the watchlists barely overlap
Crunchyroll Fan plus Netflix Standard with ads costs about $19 per month in the US. Paying for both is rational when one service supplies weekly simulcasts and the other supplies specific originals or finished seasons. If that monthly total is too high, keep Crunchyroll year-round and add Netflix only for the month a major original arrives, then cancel Netflix through the account that billed you.
Use the title-first rule
Do not subscribe because one service is said to have “all anime.” Licensing changes, regional catalogs differ and even popular series can be split by season. Search the exact show, season and preferred language on the PS5 or PS4 first. The service that contains most of your immediate watchlist at the required quality and price is the better purchase, even if the other service has a larger marketing claim.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What changes outside the United States?
Do not convert US prices directly into another market. Crunchyroll localizes billing and catalogs. In Malaysia, PlayStation Store Mega Fan is MYR 14.90 monthly, while Fan is MYR 12.90 through a QR signup; annual Fan is RM91.90 and annual Mega Fan RM106.90, roughly 40% below twelve monthly payments. In Indonesia, Fan is Rp39,000 monthly through QR and Mega Fan is Rp49,000 through the PlayStation Store. Thailand’s PlayStation Store Mega Fan rate is THB 119 per month.
Brazil reporting lists Fan at R$19.90 and Mega Fan at R$24.90, compared with Netflix Standard with ads at R$25.90, Standard at R$51.90 and Premium at R$71.90. These are market prices, not exchange-rate conversions, and Netflix raised its Brazilian plans on 15 October 2026. A localized Crunchyroll homepage may also show Singapore dollars or another currency, so confirm the checkout country.
In Southeast Asia, download the Crunchyroll app from PlayStation Store, allow Sony to share account information, create or link the Crunchyroll account, and pay with PlayStation Wallet. The PlayStation Store subscription is attached to that account, so use the same billing path for cancellation. The Mega Fan purchase includes ad-free viewing, four simultaneous streams, supported-device offline downloads and Game Vault.
Common mistakes to avoid
- Using an old price table: US Crunchyroll Fan is $9.99, not the former $7.99; Netflix Standard is $19.99, not older $15.49 figures.
- Assuming a free Crunchyroll tier still exists: free ad-supported on-demand access ended 31 December 2025.
- Confusing profiles with streams: five profiles on Fan still allow only one person to watch at once.
- Expecting console downloads: mobile downloads are documented, but PS4/PS5 offline playback is not confirmed.
- Deleting the app to cancel: recurring PlayStation billing continues until canceled in account settings.
- Assuming every Netflix anime is included with ads: some titles are locked on Standard with ads.
- Expecting 4K from Crunchyroll: current comparisons identify 1080p, while Netflix 4K HDR requires Premium and a compatible title and display.
How this comparison was selected
The ranking uses the factors that change the PlayStation viewing decision: depth of the dedicated catalog, simulcast timing, English-subtitle and dub availability, ad-free entry price, simultaneous streams, picture quality, regional support and whether the service fills a mixed household’s non-anime needs. Catalog claims are dated company figures, not a permanent promise that every title is available in every country. Because licenses, plan prices and language tracks change, search the specific show in the PlayStation app immediately before subscribing.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I watch Crunchyroll on PS4 without a PS5?
Yes. Crunchyroll lists a PS4 app as well as a PS5 app. Install it from the PlayStation Store, sign in, and verify that your specific country and title have the expected audio and subtitle tracks.
Does Netflix have every anime that Crunchyroll has?
No. Netflix has no stable, territory-wide anime catalog count and carries a smaller, rotating selection. It also has exclusives, so check both apps for the exact series and season you want.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Can two people use Crunchyroll Fan at the same time?
No. Fan includes multiple profiles but only one simultaneous stream. Two concurrent viewers need Mega Fan or Ultimate Fan.
Can I download Crunchyroll episodes to my PS5 for travel?
The 2026 plan information adds downloads to Fan and gives broader download benefits to higher tiers, but it does not confirm offline playback on PS5 or PS4. Downloads are documented primarily for supported mobile devices.
Is Crunchyroll cheaper than Netflix for ad-free anime?
In the United States, yes. Crunchyroll Fan is $9.99 per month and ad-free, while Netflix Standard without ads is $19.99. Netflix Standard with ads is cheaper at $8.99 but includes advertising and locks some titles.
Which service has faster English subtitles?
Crunchyroll is normally faster for currently airing Japanese anime, often placing English subtitles online about an hour after broadcast. Netflix usually favors complete-season releases, so its timing depends on when it licenses or premieres the title.
Does Crunchyroll have 4K anime on PS5?
Current comparisons identify Crunchyroll as a 1080p service with no 4K tier. Netflix Premium is the relevant option for 4K HDR, although the actual resolution of an anime title can vary.
How do I cancel a Crunchyroll subscription bought on PlayStation?
Cancel it through PlayStation account settings, because deleting the app or canceling only on the Crunchyroll website does not stop a PlayStation-billed subscription. Use the original billing channel.
Is there still a free Crunchyroll plan?
No. The former free ad-supported on-demand library ended on 31 December 2025. The standard new-subscriber offer is a seven-day Premium trial for eligible customers.
When should I pay for both services?
Pay for both when Crunchyroll supplies the seasonal shows or exclusives you follow and Netflix supplies specific originals, finished seasons or mixed-household viewing. In the US, Fan plus Netflix Standard with ads is about $19 monthly; rotating Netflix on only the months you need it can cost less.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchThe Bottom Line
Bottom line: Get Crunchyroll Fan for the best anime-first PS5 or PS4 experience: the deepest dedicated library, fast English-subtitled simulcasts and ad-free viewing for $9.99 per month in the US. Keep Netflix for its originals, finished-season releases, mixed-household library and Premium 4K HDR. If both watchlists matter, the roughly $19 Crunchyroll Fan plus Netflix with ads combination is sensible; otherwise, search each exact title and season in your local PlayStation apps before choosing.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




