The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →FINAL FANTASY XVI is a standalone action RPG set in Valisthea, where fading aether and the spreading Blight fuel conflict over the remaining power of the Mothercrystals. This guide covers what to expect, which platform and edition options Square Enix has documented, how the two paid expansions differ, and which in-game features can help you tailor play. It is a getting-started and purchase guide, not a mission-by-mission walkthrough: the official sources cited here do not establish a complete route, missables list, quest unlock sequence, or tested boss strategies.
What should you know before starting Final Fantasy XVI?
Square Enix describes FINAL FANTASY XVI as a standalone action RPG. Its setting, Valisthea, depends on aether drawn from Mothercrystals; as aether fades and the Blight spreads, nations clash over dwindling crystal power. Clive Rosfield is the central protagonist, and the Eikons—powerful summoned beings—and their Dominants, the people who can call upon and wield them, are central to the world and its conflict. See the official title page for character introductions, including Clive, Dion Lesage, and Barnabas Tharmr.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Final Fantasy XVI | $38.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Stranger of Paradise Final Fantasy Origin - PlayStation 5 | $19.75 | Buy on Amazon |
The game is available on PS5 and PC. Square Enix’s PC announcement names Steam and the Epic Games Store; its earlier announcement confirms PS5 availability and says the game has a demo covering the opening prologue, with saved progress carrying over to the full game. Completing that prologue unlocks a separate battle demo with more abilities to try. Demo availability can change, so check the relevant platform store. Square Enix’s PC announcement and its demo announcement have the platform and demo details.
If you want a route walkthrough with exact mission order, directions, sidequest conditions, item locations, or boss tactics, those details are not established by the official sources linked in this guide. The practical advice below is limited to documented game, edition, expansion, and convenience features.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems#1 Best Overall
- Titanic Clashes - When rival Dominants come head to head, epic battles between their Eikons ensue
- Eikonic Action - Clive utilizes the powers of multiple Eikons in breakneck battle to deliver dynamic action combat
- A true Dark Fantasy - Discover a gritty and mature narrative steeped in realism
- Explore the realm of Valisthea - A stunning world plunged into conflict by nations at war with each other
Which platform and edition should you choose?
Choose your platform first, then check the current store listing for the format and contents being sold. Square Enix’s PC announcement identifies Steam and the Epic Games Store and describes PC Standard and Complete Editions. Square Enix also confirms physical PS5 Standard and Deluxe editions through retailers, but the cited announcements do not establish current prices, stock, or the contents of the PS5 Deluxe Edition. Packaging and availability can vary by store and change over time.
| Platform or purchase option | What Square Enix documents | What to verify before buying |
|---|---|---|
| PS5 physical Standard Edition | Base game; Square Enix confirms physical Standard edition availability through retailers. Official PS5 announcement. | Current stock, price, and any retailer-specific contents. |
| PS5 physical Deluxe Edition | Square Enix confirms a physical Deluxe edition through retailers; its contents are not stated in the cited announcement. Official PS5 announcement. | Current listing and exactly what the retailer’s edition includes. |
| PC Standard Edition | Base game. The announced PC storefronts are Steam and the Epic Games Store. Official PC announcement. | Current store listing and any platform-specific terms. |
| PC Complete Edition | Base game plus both paid DLC chapters, Echoes of the Fallen and The Rising Tide. Official PC announcement. | Current store listing and regional availability. |
| DLC purchased separately or as an Expansion Pass | Square Enix says the two chapters are also available separately or through an Expansion Pass. The cited PC announcement does not establish that packaging is identical on every platform. Official PC announcement. | Which chapters and platform the specific listing covers. |
If you want the main game only, the Standard Edition is the documented base-game option on PC. If you want both expansions bundled with the base game, Square Enix explicitly documents that package for the PC Complete Edition. For PS5, check the live listing rather than assuming the PC bundle or Deluxe contents apply. The cited announcements do not establish current prices or retailer stock.
What does each Final Fantasy XVI DLC chapter add?
Square Enix describes two paid story chapters. Echoes of the Fallen is the first; The Rising Tide is the second and final paid chapter. The expansions differ in their story premise and added content, as summarized below from the official PC and DLC announcement and The Rising Tide announcement.
| Expansion | Story setting or focus | Documented additions | Timing information |
|---|---|---|---|
| Echoes of the Fallen | Strange dark crystals circulate on the black market, leading Clive and his companions to the abandoned Fallen tower called the Sagespire. | New story and battles, weapons, accessories, and a level-cap increase. | First paid chapter; an exact in-game unlock point is not stated in the cited announcement. |
| The Rising Tide | Features Leviathan the Lost and adds the area of Mysidia. | New story, battles, sidequests, weapons, accessories, a level-cap increase, new Eikonic abilities, and Kairos Gate, a 20-stage scored and ranked endgame activity against waves of enemies. | Second and final paid chapter. Square Enix places its adventure before the main story’s conclusion; an exact in-game unlock point is not stated in the cited announcement. |
Do you need to play the DLC before finishing the story?
Square Enix says The Rising Tide’s adventure takes place before the main story’s conclusion. If you want to experience that chapter in its stated story position, play it before completing the main story. That placement does not establish when the expansion becomes available in your save: the cited announcement gives no exact unlock condition. The official material cited here likewise does not specify the precise in-game unlock point for Echoes of the Fallen.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallThe announcements identify Echoes of the Fallen as the first paid chapter and The Rising Tide as the second and final one, but do not state that a particular play order is required to access either. For a purchase decision, the PC Complete Edition is the documented bundle containing both; separate chapter and Expansion Pass options are also described, with platform-specific packaging to be checked in the store.
Rank #2
- Visceral Action Combat: Real-time combat keeps action at the forefront; Switch between jobs with a push of a button, use the powerful Lightbringer ability to push back monstrous hordes, and finish them off with a crystal crushing finishing move
- Deep Character Customization: With each enemy defeated and chest opened, uncover powerful treasure to help on your journey; Find the right combination of abilities to fit the way you play and don’t forget to customize your teammates gear for added support
- A Dark World To Discover: If you’ve played a FINAL FANTASY game before you may recognize some familiar creatures & locations, but you’ve never seen them like this; What secrets does each location hold and what manner of monster await you in the darkness
- Online Multiplayer: Having trouble with a mission. Have up to two friends join you online to overcome even the toughest challenges
How can you tailor difficulty and controls?
Timely Accessories
Square Enix describes Timely Accessories as gear that lets players tailor difficulty to their play style. They are an in-game customization option, not a single prescribed setup: the official page does not identify a universally best combination. Read the item’s in-game description and choose whether its effect suits the experience you want. Square Enix’s Eikons and Timely Accessories page explains their intended role.
Convenience and control options in Ver. 1.31
Square Enix’s Ver. 1.31 announcement documents several quality-of-life features:
- Quick Complete: a function for returning to a quest giver.
- Skill Sets: save up to five sets of Feats and Abilities.
- Customizable controller layout: adjust the controller layout.
- Photo Mode adjustments: the update also made changes to Photo Mode.
These are features documented for Ver. 1.31, not a guarantee that every platform currently has identical options or update status. Check the version notes for your platform if a setting is missing or behaves differently. Square Enix’s Ver. 1.31 announcement lists the changes.
Where can you find official character and world information?
For spoiler-conscious background, Square Enix’s official title page introduces the setting and characters without requiring this guide to recount later story developments. The official DLC announcement provides the expansion premises and additions. A separate announcement names two English-language books for 2026: LOGOS: The World of Final Fantasy XVI and The Art of Final Fantasy XVI: Echoes of the Rising Tide, described as an artbook companion covering the DLC episodes. The announcement establishes that they were announced for 2026, not their current stock or availability. Square Enix’s book announcement has the descriptions.
What this guide can—and cannot—walk you through
The official information cited here supports decisions about platforms, edition contents, expansion features, story placement, and selected convenience options. It does not provide a complete campaign route. In particular, it does not establish a mission-by-mission sequence, sidequest unlock requirements, missable-item checklist, exact DLC unlock conditions, or verified boss strategies. Those details should not be guessed from edition and feature announcements.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.



