Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
Yes. Grand Theft Auto VI is officially supported on Xbox Series S because Rockstar lists the Xbox Series X|S family among the game’s launch platforms. The current launch date is November 19, 2026, and digital pre-loading is scheduled to begin at local midnight on November 12, 2026.
What Rockstar has not published is just as important: there is no confirmed Series S resolution target, frame-rate target, graphics-mode list, ray-tracing setting, download size, required free-storage figure, or comparison with Xbox Series X and PlayStation 5. Until dated technical documentation or independent launch testing appears, treat precise Series S performance claims as unverified. The boxed Xbox version is also not a disc; Rockstar says it contains a redeemable download code.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Will GTA 6 run on Xbox Series S?
Yes. Rockstar Games Customer Support explicitly says players can pre-order Grand Theft Auto VI for PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. Xbox Series S is part of that announced Xbox Series X|S platform family, so compatibility is officially confirmed rather than inferred from a rumor or a trailer.
That confirmation establishes that Rockstar is shipping a console version intended for Microsoft’s current-generation Xbox hardware. It does not establish how the less powerful Series S configuration will be tuned. Rockstar has not published a separate Series S specification sheet, and no official material supplied for this article gives a resolution, frame-rate, storage, or graphics-mode target for that console.
Popular on Amazon
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Rockstar and Take-Two Interactive said in 2025 that the Grand Theft Auto franchise had sold more than 440 million units worldwide. That is useful context for the game’s scale and audience, but it is not evidence of Series S performance.
When does GTA 6 release on Xbox Series S, and when can I preload it?
The current announced launch date is November 19, 2026. Rockstar’s product page and its August 2026 support material both use that date. Digital pre-loading begins at local midnight on November 12, 2026, one week before launch.
| Date | Event | What Series S owners should know |
|---|---|---|
| May 26, 2026 | Earlier date announced with Trailer 2 | Superseded; do not use it as the current release date. |
| November 12, 2026 | Digital pre-load begins at local midnight | You can download the game ahead of launch, but pre-loading is not the same as being able to play. |
| November 12, 2026 | Boxed physical version becomes available to support pre-loading | The box contains a download code, not a disc. |
| November 19, 2026 | Current launch date | The announced console versions release on this date. |
Take-Two’s May 6, 2025 announcement for Trailer 2 listed May 26, 2026. Rockstar’s later product page and August 2026 support article replaced that date with November 19, 2026. If an older retailer page or social post still shows May 26, treat it as historical information.
Rockstar has not stated the exact hour when the game will unlock for play, nor whether every territory will use the same moment. The confirmed pre-load wording is specifically “local midnight” on November 12, so check the countdown and release information shown in your Microsoft Store account for your region.
What resolution and FPS will GTA 6 have on Series S?
There is no official answer yet. Rockstar’s published materials confirm the platform but do not provide a Series S resolution target, dynamic-resolution range, frame-rate target, graphics presets, ray-tracing support, or measured performance.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
| Technical item | Series S status before launch | How to interpret claims |
|---|---|---|
| Resolution | Not stated by Rockstar | Do not treat a rumored 1080p, 1440p, or other number as confirmed. |
| Frame rate | Not stated by Rockstar | No official 30-fps or 60-fps mode has been announced. |
| Dynamic-resolution range | Not stated by Rockstar | A single screenshot cannot establish the game’s internal resolution behavior. |
| Graphics modes | Not stated by Rockstar | Any Quality, Performance, or similar menu claim needs a dated source or direct testing. |
| Ray tracing | Not stated by Rockstar | Do not assume that a feature shown in promotional footage is available on Series S. |
| Download size and required free storage | Not stated by Rockstar | Wait for the Microsoft Store listing or a launch-day support notice before clearing a specific amount of space. |
These omissions are not proof that the game will run poorly or well. They simply mark the boundary of what is established. A retailer’s file-size estimate, an alleged developer comment, or a social-media “spec leak” cannot substitute for Rockstar documentation or reproducible testing.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Does Trailer 2 show GTA 6 running on Xbox Series S?
No. Rockstar and Take-Two identify Trailer 2 footage as captured on PlayStation 5. It should not be presented as Series S footage, and it cannot serve as a Series S performance benchmark.
The trailer can demonstrate the game’s characters, setting, animation and intended visual direction. It cannot tell you the Series S output resolution, frame-rate stability, graphics settings or ray-tracing configuration. Those details require platform-specific footage, a technical statement, or independent testing on Series S hardware.
What is the GTA 6 story setting?
Rockstar’s official description follows Jason and Lucia in Vice City, USA, as they become entangled in a criminal conspiracy stretching across the state of Leonida. That premise is confirmed for the game generally; it does not vary by Xbox model.
Which GTA 6 edition should I buy on Xbox Series S?
Rockstar documents two editions: Standard and Ultimate. It also says Standard owners can purchase the Ultimate Edition Upgrade separately through the Microsoft or PlayStation storefront, so choosing Standard initially does not eliminate the documented upgrade path.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Also popular on Amazon
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
| Option | What is confirmed | What is not yet established |
|---|---|---|
| Standard Edition | A launch edition for Xbox Series X|S; available digitally and as a boxed package containing a download code. | The complete feature list and regional price were not supplied in the cited material. |
| Ultimate Edition | A separately documented edition; Rockstar provides an Ultimate Edition Upgrade for Standard owners through the Microsoft or PlayStation storefront. | The detailed contents and price were not supplied in the cited material. |
| Standard plus Ultimate upgrade | Rockstar confirms the upgrade can be purchased separately after buying Standard. | Upgrade pricing, timing rules and any account-transfer details were not stated. |
If you want the simplest purchase decision, compare the feature lists and prices shown in the live Xbox Store listing for your territory. Do not pay an “Ultimate” premium based only on a retailer headline when the included bonuses and local pricing have not been verified.
Does the physical Xbox copy include a disc?
No. Rockstar says Grand Theft Auto VI is available in digital and physical versions, then specifies that the physical version contains a download code inside the box and no disc. The package is therefore a code-in-a-box purchase, not an Xbox game disc that installs directly from optical media.
That distinction matters for Series S owners because the console is designed around digital game delivery. Redeeming the code adds the game to the Microsoft account used for redemption, after which the console downloads the software. You should have a reliable internet connection and enough available storage when the code is redeemed; Rockstar has not yet published the required storage amount.
Rockstar says the boxed version is available from November 12 to support pre-loading. That date lets a code-in-a-box buyer begin the download window, while the announced game launch remains November 19.
How can I preorder GTA 6 for Xbox Series S safely?
Use a listing that clearly identifies the Xbox Series X|S version and verify the territory, edition, delivery format and date before paying. Rockstar’s official Xbox Store and Rockstar Store pre-order pages are the most direct places to check; retailer inventory and prices can change.
Also popular on Amazon
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
- Confirm the platform label. Look for Xbox Series X|S, not an Xbox One listing or an unspecified “Xbox” product.
- Choose the edition. Compare Standard and Ultimate using the live store description. If you choose Standard, Rockstar documents a separate Ultimate upgrade route.
- Check the format. A digital purchase delivers through your Microsoft account. A boxed physical listing should state that it contains a redeemable download code and no disc.
- Verify timing and territory. Confirm the November 19, 2026 release date, the November 12 pre-load availability where shown, local currency, taxes and regional redemption restrictions.
- Keep the order record. Save the receipt and product page in case a retailer changes its listing or sends a code later than expected.
If you search Amazon, the clearest product wording documented by Rockstar’s guidance is Grand Theft Auto VI Xbox Series X|S Standard Edition. Check the live listing yourself for territory, price, seller, delivery format and release status. No affiliate or referral arrangement has been established, so do not assume a purchase link provides a commission or special availability.
What should Series S owners check when launch testing appears?
Look for testing performed on retail Series S hardware and identify the game’s patch version. Performance can change after launch updates, so a benchmark without a date and patch number is incomplete.
| Check | Useful evidence |
|---|---|
| Frame-rate consistency | Long driving sequences, crowded areas and combat, not only a short quiet scene. |
| Internal and output resolution | Captured footage or analysis that distinguishes internal rendering resolution from the television’s output signal. |
| Graphics modes | Every selectable mode, including its frame-rate behavior and visual trade-offs. |
| Visual settings | Texture quality, draw distance, crowd density, shadows, reflections and effects where the tester can document them. |
| Ray tracing | A direct menu confirmation or platform-specific capture, rather than an assumption based on PS5 footage. |
| Storage requirement | The installed size and any additional day-one download, recorded after the relevant patch. |
| Patch history | Test date, game version and whether a later update changed performance. |
Once those measurements exist, they will answer the practical question that platform compatibility alone cannot: whether the Series S presentation suits your display, performance expectations and available storage. Until then, a precise FPS or resolution promise is speculation.
Is Xbox Series S a sensible place to play GTA 6 right now?
It is a defensible choice if you already own the console and are comfortable waiting for confirmed technical details. Compatibility, the current date, pre-load schedule, edition structure and code-in-box format are official; the performance characteristics that would justify a hardware upgrade are not yet published.
- Buy or preorder now if: you want the announced Xbox version, accept that Series S specifications are still unknown, and are happy to compare the live edition terms in your region.
- Wait for more information if: you require a guaranteed 60-fps mode, a particular resolution, ray tracing, or a known storage footprint before committing.
- Reconsider a boxed purchase if: you expect a disc for resale, lending or offline installation. The physical package is a download code, so it does not provide those disc-based benefits.
That is the evidence-based decision boundary today: Series S support is confirmed, while the technical profile remains to be documented.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does pre-loading at local midnight mean I can play GTA 6 immediately on November 12?
No. Pre-loading only downloads the files ahead of release; Rockstar has not announced the exact unlock hour. The confirmed launch date remains November 19, 2026, so follow the countdown in your regional Xbox Store listing.
Can I redeem a boxed Xbox code bought in another country?
Rockstar’s cited materials do not specify regional redemption rules for the code-in-a-box edition. Check the retailer’s territory label and Microsoft’s code restrictions before purchasing across borders.
Will the Ultimate Edition upgrade follow me if I move to another Xbox console?
Rockstar confirms that Standard owners can buy the upgrade through the Microsoft storefront, but it has not published account-transfer or console-change details. Keep the purchase on the Microsoft account you intend to use for the game and wait for the store’s final terms.
How can I tell whether a Series S benchmark is still relevant after launch?
Check the test date, game patch number and console version, then look for follow-up testing after major updates. A result from an early build may not describe performance after Rockstar changes streaming, graphics or frame-pacing code.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

