Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
For US buyers, the practical choice is between the $79.99 Standard Edition and the $99.99 Ultimate Edition on PlayStation 5 or Xbox Series X|S. Buy from the store or retailer that matches your platform account and region, then compare the complete checkout total, delivery promise, bonus eligibility, and cancellation policy. The boxed Standard Edition is a download code, not a disc, and there is no physical Ultimate Edition confirmed by Rockstar. Preorders opened June 25, 2026; Rockstar lists November 19, 2026 as the scheduled launch, with digital preload beginning November 12. Refund rights are seller-specific: PlayStation, Microsoft, Rockstar Store/Xsolla, and third-party retailers each apply different rules.
| Name | Best for | Key spec | Free plan / price | Platforms | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard Edition digital | Players who want the base game at the lowest announced price | Immediate account delivery; preload from November 12, 2026 | $79.99 announced US price; checkout total can vary by tax or seller | PS5, Xbox Series X|S | Oct 2026 |
| Ultimate Edition digital | Players who want Rockstar’s listed bonus vehicles, weapons, apparel, locations, and story-integrated additions | Game plus Ultimate content; digital format | $99.99 announced US price; checkout total can vary | PS5, Xbox Series X|S | Oct 2026 |
| Standard Edition boxed code | Gift buyers or players who prefer a retail box | Download code in the box; no disc; shipment or pickup expected from November 12, not guaranteed | $79.99 announced US price; add any shipping and retailer charges | PS5 or Xbox Series X|S, matching the code | Oct 2026 |
| Standard now, Ultimate Upgrade later | Buyers who want to defer the edition decision | Redeem Standard first, then purchase the digital Ultimate Edition Upgrade | Upgrade price not stated in the official material; check the platform listing | PS5 or Xbox Series X|S | Oct 2026 |
Where can I preorder Grand Theft Auto VI?
Rockstar identifies the PlayStation Store, Xbox Store, Rockstar Store, and select country-dependent third-party retailers as preorder channels. The official platform list for this release is PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S; do not treat a PC, collector’s, or other edition as confirmed by the current announcements.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- PlayStation 5: use the US PlayStation Store listing when your PSN account is US-based, or a retailer selling a code for the same region.
- Xbox Series X|S: use the Xbox Store or a code-in-box retailer whose code matches your Microsoft account region.
- Rockstar Store: its physical preorder support routes cancellation questions to Xsolla before shipment.
- Other retailers: verify the live listing, seller identity, platform, region, delivery estimate, shipping charge, and code-return rules yourself. Rockstar says purchase questions for orders made outside its store belong with the selling retailer.
Rockstar’s preorder-details FAQ asks, “Where can I pre-order Grand Theft Auto VI?” Its answer recognizes official stores and select retailers rather than promising a universal list for every country. US availability, price, tax, shipping, and promotions can change at checkout, so save the product page and order confirmation.
For official release and preorder information, see Take-Two Interactive’s announcement and Rockstar’s preorder-details FAQ.
Popular on Amazon
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
What is the difference between Standard and Ultimate?
Standard supplies the game. Ultimate supplies the game plus Rockstar’s listed vehicles, weapons, apparel, locations, and other additions integrated into the game’s story and associated content.
| Edition | What you receive | Format confirmed | US price evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | Grand Theft Auto VI | Digital purchase or boxed download code | $79.99 announced by Take-Two Interactive in 2026 and shown on the checked US PlayStation digital listing |
| Ultimate | Grand Theft Auto VI plus the listed Ultimate vehicles, weapons, apparel, locations, and other story-integrated additions | Digital Edition; no physical Ultimate Edition confirmed | $99.99 announced by Take-Two Interactive in 2026 and shown on the checked US PlayStation digital listing |
The $20 difference is the announced gap between the editions, not a guarantee that every retailer will display the same final total. Taxes, shipping, local pricing, payment timing, and retailer promotions can change what is charged. Compare the last checkout screen rather than relying only on the headline announcement.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesIf you buy Standard and later decide you want the additional content, Rockstar says a Standard owner can purchase the digital Ultimate Edition Upgrade after redeeming the Standard code. The official material does not state the upgrade’s US price, so check the platform store before assuming that buying Standard first will cost the same as buying Ultimate at launch.
Is the physical GTA 6 preorder a disc?
No. Rockstar’s boxed Standard Edition contains a download code and no disc. The company states plainly: “A disc will not be included in the box.”
“A disc will not be included in the box.” — Rockstar Games Customer Support, updated August 18, 2026.
A code-in-box purchase therefore does not provide disc ownership, a disc-drive requirement, or the ordinary resale characteristics of a used physical disc. You redeem the code through the matching PlayStation or Xbox account and download the game. Rockstar has not confirmed a physical Ultimate Edition. A retailer calling an item “physical” may mean only that the package is shipped; read the format line for “download code” and “no disc.”
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
The code must match the console family and account region. Before opening a box, confirm whether the seller treats an opened package or revealed code as returnable; many retailers distinguish a sealed code package from one whose code has been exposed, but Rockstar does not set a single policy for all sellers.
What preorder bonuses and dates matter?
The key dates are November 12 for digital preload and expected boxed-code shipping or pickup, November 19 for the scheduled release, and November 20 as the end of the stated qualifying window for the Vintage Vice City Pack.
| Date or window | What it means | Qualification |
|---|---|---|
| June 25, 2026 | GTA VI preorders opened | Applies to the announced PS5 and Xbox Series X|S release |
| November 12, 2026 | Digital preload begins; Rockstar expects boxed codes to become available for shipping or pickup | A retailer’s delivery date is not guaranteed, so a shipped code may arrive after launch |
| November 19, 2026 | Scheduled launch date | Rockstar’s announced date, not a guarantee that every carrier delivers a boxed code that day |
| Before November 20, 2026 | Qualifying preorders and purchases can receive the Vintage Vice City Pack | Check the platform or retailer’s offer instructions and eligibility language |
| March 31, 2027 | Claim deadline shown on the checked US PlayStation listing for its included GTA+ month | After claiming, the subscription continues at the regular monthly price unless canceled |
Qualifying digital preorders also offer one month of GTA+. The checked US PlayStation listing says that month must be claimed by March 31, 2027 and that the subscription renews at the regular monthly price unless canceled. Treat that as a platform-specific instruction, not a promise that every retailer or physical code includes the same promotion. Follow the offer text attached to your order.
The Vintage Vice City Pack window covers qualifying purchases made before November 20, 2026. Keep the receipt, redemption instructions, and account used for the purchase in case the bonus is delivered separately from the game license.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
How should I compare digital and boxed-code preorders?
Digital purchases usually remove shipping uncertainty and make preload straightforward. A boxed code can be useful as a gift or when a retailer’s pickup option matters, but it adds delivery risk and a separate seller’s return rules.
| Decision point | Digital store purchase | Boxed Standard download code |
|---|---|---|
| Upfront total | Compare the platform checkout total, including tax and any displayed promotion | Compare the retailer’s full total, including shipping, tax, and pickup fees |
| Preload and launch timing | Digital preload begins November 12, 2026 when the platform makes it available | Rockstar expects codes to ship or be ready for pickup from November 12, but a specific delivery date is not guaranteed |
| Bonus eligibility | Digital preorders are documented as eligible for the one-month GTA+ offer when the listing’s conditions are met | Confirm the exact retailer and product offer; do not assume a code-in-box receives every digital promotion |
| Cancellation route | Use PlayStation’s or Microsoft’s own account process, subject to download and payment rules | Ask the seller how it handles a sealed, opened, or redeemed code; platform-store policies do not automatically apply |
| Region | Usually tied directly to the platform account’s storefront | Code region must match the account and console family |
| Ownership format | Digital license attached to the purchasing account | Code redeemed to an account; the box is not a disc |
For a gift, confirm that the recipient uses the same platform family and country grouping as the code. For your own launch-day play, digital delivery avoids a carrier delay, while a boxed code is reasonable only when the retailer’s timing and return policy are clear.
Also popular on Amazon
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
How do PlayStation Store refunds work for a GTA 6 preorder?
PlayStation’s US cancellation policy uses both the payment date and whether you started downloading or preloading the main product. It does not govern vouchers bought from outside retailers.
- Payment made more than 14 days before release: an otherwise eligible preorder can generally be canceled before release.
- Payment made 14 days or less before release: the cancellation window generally runs for up to 14 days from the payment date.
- Download or preload started: starting the main product download generally ends refund eligibility unless the product is faulty. Automatic downloads can therefore matter even if you did not manually open the game.
- Code bought elsewhere: contact the retailer that sold the voucher or box; the PlayStation Store policy does not transfer to that transaction.
Use the policy’s wording at PlayStation’s US Store cancellation page and check the order’s payment date. If you want to preserve a potential cancellation, disable automatic downloads for the preorder and do not start the preload until you are certain you will keep it. A refund is not automatic when a policy condition is disputed; retain the order number and payment record.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteHow do Xbox and Microsoft preorder cancellations work?
For an Xbox digital preorder, open your Microsoft account’s Order history and look for Cancel item. If the order has been billed and that action is unavailable, Microsoft directs buyers to its separate refund process; approval is not promised.
- Microsoft says digital preorders paid with Microsoft-account funds are charged immediately.
- With other payment methods, Microsoft may charge up to 10 days before release.
- Record the charge date because it affects when you contact support and how the order appears in the cancellation flow.
- A code purchased from a third-party retailer is not the same transaction as an Xbox Store preorder; use that retailer’s cancellation and refund channel.
Start at Microsoft’s order-cancellation and preorder support page. Do not promise yourself a refund merely because the game has not launched: the account status, payment method, download state, and Microsoft’s decision all matter.
How can I cancel a Rockstar Store physical preorder?
Rockstar directs physical-preorder buyers to Xsolla. Xsolla’s documented rule is that a physical preorder can be canceled only before shipment.
- Find the Rockstar Store order confirmation and its order details.
- Submit the requested order information through Xsolla’s support form before the order ships.
- Keep the confirmation of your request and watch for a response; after shipment, the pre-shipment cancellation route no longer applies.
This process concerns a physical Rockstar Store order, not a digital PlayStation or Xbox purchase. Rockstar’s support guidance is at the physical-preorder purchase support FAQ. If the box has already shipped, ask Xsolla what post-shipment remedy, if any, is available rather than applying a digital-store rule.
Recommended Free Tools
Also popular on Amazon
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
What should I check before using another retailer?
Rockstar acknowledges select third-party storefronts but does not establish a universal US listing or return policy for them. Treat every outside seller as its own contract.
- Seller identity: make sure the page identifies who is actually selling and fulfilling the code.
- Format: confirm “Standard Edition download code,” platform family, and whether a disc is absent.
- Region: verify that the code activates on your account’s country storefront.
- Final total: include tax, shipping, pickup charges, and any membership requirement.
- Timing: distinguish “ships November 12” from “arrives November 12.” Neither guarantees launch-day access.
- Bonus language: look for the Vintage Vice City Pack and any GTA+ wording on the exact listing, not on a general promotion page.
- Cancellation: read separate rules for unopened packaging, an opened box with an exposed code, and a redeemed code.
- Support: save the product page, receipt, code-region statement, and seller contact details.
Do not attribute PlayStation Store eligibility to a boxed code sold elsewhere. Rockstar says questions about an outside purchase go to the selling retailer, and the seller may classify a code-in-box differently once its seal is broken or its code is redeemed.
How do I avoid region and activation problems?
Buy from a retailer in the same country as the platform account whenever possible. Rockstar recommends that approach because mismatched storefronts and codes can prevent activation or restrict the content attached to the purchase.
- Check the country set on your PlayStation Network or Microsoft account.
- Confirm the retailer’s country and the code’s activation region before paying.
- For PlayStation, Rockstar’s region list groups the United States and Canada as North America; confirm that your code belongs to the applicable group.
- Match the code to PS5 or Xbox Series X|S as shown on the listing.
- Do not redeem a code merely to test it if you might return the box; redemption can change the seller’s return decision.
Country-specific prices, offers, code restrictions, and consumer rights require separate checks. A US policy or promotion should not be presented as a rule for buyers elsewhere.
Which preorder should a US buyer choose?
Choose Standard digital if you want the lowest announced price and the simplest preload. Choose Ultimate digital if the listed extra vehicles, weapons, apparel, locations, and story-integrated additions are worth the $20 announced difference to you. Choose a boxed Standard code only when you specifically want a giftable package or pickup and have confirmed the code region, delivery expectation, and opened-code return rule.
- Best for immediate, low-risk access: Standard digital from the matching platform store.
- Best for the full announced package: Ultimate digital, after comparing the final checkout total.
- Best for a physical-looking gift: Standard code in box, with the recipient’s platform and region verified first.
- Best for postponing the decision: Standard now, then the digital Ultimate Upgrade later; the upgrade price is not stated, so verify it before buying.
Before pressing the preorder button, confirm the edition, platform, account country, final charge, bonus terms, preload behavior, delivery promise, and exact cancellation route. Those checks matter more than whether a listing uses the word “physical.”
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
How we picked the options
The comparison uses the official edition descriptions, announced US prices, supported-platform information, bonus and preload dates, format disclosures, and the documented cancellation routes for PlayStation, Microsoft, Rockstar Store/Xsolla, and outside retailers. It does not treat an unverified retailer listing, a disc, a physical Ultimate Edition, a PC preorder, or an unconfirmed collector’s edition as established.
Frequently Asked Questions
What happens if Microsoft charges my GTA 6 preorder before launch?
The charge date depends on the payment method: Microsoft says account funds are charged immediately, while other methods may be charged up to 10 days before release. Check Order history first, then use the refund route if Cancel item is unavailable; approval is decided by Microsoft.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Can I give a boxed GTA 6 code to someone in another country?
Do not assume so. Rockstar recommends buying from a retailer in the platform account’s country, and PlayStation’s region information groups the US and Canada as North America. A code may fail to activate or apply different content when the account region does not match.
Does every GTA 6 preorder include the GTA+ month?
The documented offer applies to qualifying digital preorders, and the checked US PlayStation listing includes a March 31, 2027 claim deadline. A physical code or third-party listing may use different terms, so rely on the exact offer text attached to that order.
Can I resell the GTA 6 box after buying it?
The boxed Standard Edition contains a download code rather than a disc. Once the code is revealed or redeemed, the seller may treat the package differently from a sealed item, and the redeemed license is tied to the account that used it.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →




