Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
Skip to content
VGSources
Blog

Mafia III on Xbox Series X|S vs. PlayStation 5: Performance and Features Compared

Both Xbox Series X|S and PS5 list Mafia III: Definitive Edition with 60 FPS gameplay, technical improvements, the full story DLC bundle, and bonus packs. Official stores do not publish resolution targets or measured frame-rate stability, so platform choice comes down to your ecosystem and verified edition entitlement.
Length12 min Posted Quest giverVGSources Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Short answer: the Xbox and PlayStation storefronts both advertise Mafia III: Definitive Edition with 60 FPS gameplay and technical improvements. Neither listing publishes a resolution target, frame-time data, or console-by-console testing, so the available evidence cannot identify a technical winner or prove a locked 60 FPS on either system. The bundled game content appears substantially aligned: the base game, all three story expansions, and bonus packs are listed on both platforms.

What the official listings actually establish

The current-generation store pages describe the same product, Mafia III: Definitive Edition, for the two console families. Xbox lists an edition optimized for Xbox Series X|S and also identifies an Xbox One game in the package. PlayStation lists the edition for both PS5 and PS4. That confirms a current-generation listing on each platform, but it does not by itself answer every question about an earlier purchase, a free upgrade, or save migration.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Both storefronts use broad marketing language: 60 FPS gameplay and technical improvements. Those are publisher feature statements, not results from a published, side-by-side benchmark. “Technical improvements” is not itemized sufficiently to attribute a particular resolution, texture setting, loading-time reduction, or visual effect to one console over the other.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Performance comparison: 60 FPS is a claim, not a measured verdict

Does Mafia III run at 60 FPS on PS5 and Xbox Series X|S?

Both stores say that it does. The Xbox description states 60 FPS gameplay and its capability information includes “60 fps+.” The PlayStation description also states 60 FPS gameplay. This is the strongest directly comparable performance information in the official listings.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Those pages do not say that the frame rate is locked, nor do they publish a frame-time graph, minimum frame rate, frame-pacing result, or test conditions. They also do not identify whether the claim applies identically to every scene, to both Xbox Series models, or to all display modes. Treat 60 FPS as the advertised target or feature, not as an independently verified guarantee.

What is known about resolution?

No game-specific resolution number appears in either listing. There is therefore no supported basis for calling the game 4K, 1440p, 1080p, dynamic-resolution, or checkerboard on any of the three consoles. A television or monitor may report an output signal, but that would not establish the internal rendering resolution without a documented test method.

Microsoft’s general backward-compatibility guidance says that most Xbox One games are playable on Series X|S and that selected titles can render at up to 4K. That platform-wide statement must not be used as a Mafia III resolution specification. It does not identify this game, its build, or its internal resolution behavior.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why Series X, Series S, and PS5 cannot be ranked from these pages

Xbox Series X and Series S are different hardware configurations, while the PlayStation listing covers the PS5 family without a separate performance table. The store copy does not disclose separate modes or targets for those machines. A defensible ranking would require the same game build tested on Series X, Series S, and PS5, with the console firmware, display output, resolution method, frame pacing, and demanding scenes documented. No such comparative measurements are included in the official material.

Feature and specification comparison

Category Xbox Series X|S listing PlayStation 5 listing What can safely be concluded
Current-generation availability Mafia III: Definitive Edition is listed as optimized for Xbox Series X|S; the bundle also identifies an Xbox One game. The edition is listed for PS5 and PS4. Both platforms have a current-generation store listing.
Advertised frame rate 60 FPS gameplay; capability information includes 60 fps+. 60 FPS gameplay. Both publishers advertise 60 FPS. No stability or frame-pacing measurement is supplied.
Resolution Not stated on the game listing. Not stated on the game listing. There is no official game-specific resolution comparison in the available listings.
Technical improvements Technical improvements are mentioned but not itemized. Technical improvements are mentioned but not itemized. Do not infer a particular visual or loading enhancement from the phrase alone.
HDR and platform capabilities HDR10, single-player, 60 fps+, and Xbox Series X|S optimization are listed. The page warns that some PS4 features may be absent on PS5, without naming them. The documentation is not symmetrical; silence on one page is not proof that a feature is exclusive to the other.
Included content Main game, story DLC, and bonus packs are described. Main game, all story DLC, and bonus packs are described. The two store descriptions appear aligned on the bundled content; confirm the exact SKU before purchase.

What comes with the Definitive Edition

The package is not just the original campaign. Both storefront descriptions identify the main game, the story expansions Faster, Baby!, Stones Unturned, and Sign of the Times, plus bonus packs. The descriptions therefore support treating the editions as a complete story package rather than a base-game-only release.

Content type Included according to the listings Practical implication
Base game Mafia III You receive the central single-player campaign.
Story expansion Faster, Baby! Additional narrative content is part of the edition.
Story expansion Stones Unturned Included in the listed story-DLC bundle.
Story expansion Sign of the Times Included in the listed story-DLC bundle.
Bonus packs Bonus packs are described by both stores, without a separately itemized list in the supplied descriptions. Check the SKU’s full contents if a particular cosmetic or vehicle pack matters to you.

Platform-specific details that are easy to misread

HDR10 on Xbox

HDR10 is explicitly named in the Xbox capability information. That tells you the listing declares support for the HDR10 format; it does not state peak brightness, calibration quality, tone-mapping behavior, or whether every display will produce the same result.

The PS5 warning about PS4 features

The PlayStation page cautions that some PS4 features may be absent on PS5 but does not enumerate which features. Read this as a compatibility notice, not as evidence of a major PS5 disadvantage. Without a named feature, there is nothing specific to compare or troubleshoot.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

“60 fps+” does not mean a published higher mode

The Xbox capability field’s “60 fps+” wording should not be converted into a claim of 120 FPS support. The game description says 60 FPS gameplay, and neither listing specifies a 120 Hz mode, a frame-rate cap, or a performance option. A compatible television alone cannot establish that the game renders above 60 FPS.

Buying, ownership, and upgrade checks

Store listings identify the products, but they do not resolve every entitlement for someone who already owns an older copy. They do not state whether a particular disc or digital purchase receives a free upgrade, whether a region-specific SKU qualifies, or how saves transfer between generations. Those details can depend on the exact edition and account.

Before paying again, use the following checks:

  1. Open your platform library. Search for Mafia III and inspect the edition name, not only the cover art.
  2. Open the product page from the library entry. Look for an install or download option on the current console. If the page only offers a purchase, note the exact SKU and region.
  3. Read the included-content panel. Confirm that Faster, Baby!, Stones Unturned, Sign of the Times, and the advertised bonus packs are attached to the edition you are selecting.
  4. Check the publisher and platform support information. This is where any current upgrade or save-transfer qualification is most likely to be stated; do not infer it from a similarly named bundle.
  5. For a disc copy, verify the console’s disc requirements. A digital entitlement and a disc license are not interchangeable assumptions, especially when moving between console generations.

Prices, promotions, and storefront availability can change. Verify the live listing immediately before purchase rather than relying on an old screenshot or a cached search result.

Can you play without a subscription or internet connection?

2K’s FAQ says that PlayStation Plus and Xbox Game Pass Core, and any online connectivity, are not required to play the game straight out of the box. The same FAQ recommends connecting to the internet to download updates and patches.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

That statement addresses starting the game and should be kept within its original scope. It predates the current-generation storefront listings, and it does not promise that every account-linked, store, or optional online function will work without a connection. If your goal is the single-player campaign, the FAQ supports offline play after installation; an internet connection remains sensible for patches and any content that the console asks you to download.

How the platform labels affect a real purchase

The Xbox page’s “optimized for Xbox Series X|S” label is useful for identifying the intended current-generation product, but it is not a specification sheet. It does not disclose whether Series X and Series S use different internal resolutions, whether either console offers a selectable quality mode, or whether loading behavior differs. Treat the label as confirmation of platform targeting, not as proof that the two Xbox models perform identically.

Likewise, the PS5-and-PS4 listing confirms that the product is sold across generations, but it does not explain every cross-generation entitlement. A PS5 owner looking at a PS4 disc, a digital PS4 purchase, or a similarly named bundle should inspect the exact product page tied to the account. The store title and cover image alone are not enough to establish an upgrade path.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

For buyers who own both consoles, the most concrete distinctions in the listings are ecosystem-related: Xbox explicitly names HDR10 and Series X|S optimization, while PlayStation identifies the PS5 version and warns that some PS4 features may be absent. Those statements are not equivalent feature inventories, so they should guide verification rather than serve as a scorecard.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A practical pre-purchase and first-launch checklist

  • Match the platform: confirm whether you are viewing the Xbox Series X|S listing, the Xbox One entry, the PS5 listing, or the PS4 version.
  • Match the edition: look for “Definitive Edition” and review the included-content section before checkout.
  • Confirm the three story expansions: make sure Faster, Baby!, Stones Unturned, and Sign of the Times are shown for the SKU you intend to buy.
  • Check the display chain: Xbox’s HDR10 notation matters only if your television or monitor and its settings support HDR10 correctly.
  • Plan for updates: 2K recommends an internet connection for patches even though a subscription and continuous connectivity are not required to start the game.
  • Record your version: if you later compare performance, note the console model, edition, and installed update so that impressions are not mixed between builds.

This checklist cannot create missing technical data. It simply prevents a purchase based on the wrong generation, a base-game-only SKU, or an assumption that an older license automatically transfers.

Which version should you buy?

Because neither store publishes measured resolution or frame-rate stability, the choice should be based on your existing hardware, library, controller preference, display setup, and account ecosystem rather than an assumed visual advantage.

Your situation More practical choice Reasoning supported by the listings
You already own an Xbox copy and use a Series X|S. Check the Xbox library listing first. The Xbox page identifies a Series X|S-optimized edition and an Xbox One entry; your account may already show the relevant install or entitlement.
You already own the PS4 edition and use a PS5. Check the PlayStation library and the exact PS5/PS4 SKU. The store lists the edition for both generations, but the supplied information does not settle every upgrade or save-transfer condition.
You are buying new and have both consoles. Choose the platform where you keep your games and accessories. Both listings advertise 60 FPS gameplay, and both describe the same main game, story DLC, and bonus-pack package.
You use an HDR10 display and want the clearest named feature. Xbox has the explicit HDR10 capability entry. HDR10 is named on Xbox; the PlayStation description does not provide a directly comparable HDR specification in the supplied text.
You are deciding solely on resolution or locked frame rate. Wait for a documented independent test. The official pages provide no resolution target, frame-time data, or lock confirmation.

Do not treat the last row as a recommendation to delay if the other factors already decide the purchase. It is a warning against paying a premium for a technical difference that the official information does not establish.

What a trustworthy performance test would need to show

If an independent comparison becomes available, look for details that make its conclusions reproducible:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Hardware identification: Xbox Series X, Xbox Series S, and the specific PS5 model should be named separately.
  • Game-build information: The edition, patch version, and date of testing should be recorded.
  • Resolution method: The tester should explain how internal resolution was measured, rather than reading only the television’s output signal.
  • Frame pacing: A 60 FPS average can conceal uneven frame delivery; frame-time graphs or equivalent analysis are more informative.
  • Scene selection: Dense traffic, combat, fire, weather, and open-city traversal should be included instead of a quiet benchmark route only.
  • Display settings: HDR mode, variable-refresh settings, motion interpolation, and capture equipment should be disclosed.
  • Like-for-like conditions: The same patch, settings, save state, and route should be used across consoles.

Without those details, a screenshot, a television’s 4K indicator, or a short subjective impression cannot fill the evidence gap left by the storefronts.

Common mistakes when comparing the editions

Confusing output resolution with render resolution

A console may output a 4K signal while a game renders internally at a lower or changing resolution. Since neither store gives an internal figure, the output label is not a substitute for testing.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Reading “technical improvements” as a feature list

The phrase confirms that the publisher considers the edition improved, but it does not identify textures, shadows, draw distance, loading, anti-aliasing, or any other individual change. Avoid turning an unspecified phrase into a detailed specification.

Assuming identical DLC from a similar title

The listed editions do identify the three named story expansions and bonus packs, but the exact bonus-pack names are not itemized in the supplied store descriptions. Confirm the contents of the live SKU if a specific pack is important.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Assuming an old purchase automatically transfers

The current listings do not settle every upgrade entitlement or save-transfer question. Library and product-page checks are safer than assuming that a previous disc or digital license maps to the current-generation edition.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Bottom line for Xbox Series X|S and PS5 buyers

On the evidence available from the official storefronts, neither console earns a performance crown. Both advertise 60 FPS gameplay and technical improvements, and both list the same core Definitive Edition content. Resolution, frame-rate stability, frame pacing, and any difference between Series X, Series S, and PS5 remain unreported in those listings. Select the platform that fits your existing library and display, verify the exact SKU and entitlements, and treat any stronger technical claim as unproven until a transparent, same-build test supplies the missing measurements.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Mafia III: Definitive Edition 60 FPS on PS5?

The PlayStation Store listing says the game offers 60 FPS gameplay. It does not publish frame-time graphs, minimums, or a locked-60 guarantee, so the statement should be treated as an advertised feature rather than an independently measured result.

Is Mafia III 60 FPS on Xbox Series X and Series S?

The Xbox listing states 60 FPS gameplay and includes “60 fps+” in its capability information. It does not provide separate Series X and Series S measurements, a resolution target, or proof that every scene holds a locked 60 FPS.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What resolution does Mafia III use on PS5 or Xbox Series X|S?

Neither official game listing gives an internal rendering-resolution figure. Do not infer 4K, 1440p, 1080p, dynamic resolution, or checkerboard rendering from a television’s output indicator.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Does the Definitive Edition include all Mafia III story DLC?

Both storefront descriptions list the base game and the three named story expansions: Faster, Baby!, Stones Unturned, and Sign of the Times. Bonus packs are also described, although their individual names are not itemized in the listings.

Does Mafia III require Xbox Game Pass Core or PlayStation Plus?

2K’s FAQ says neither PlayStation Plus nor Xbox Game Pass Core, and no online connectivity, is required to play straight out of the box. The FAQ recommends connecting to download updates and patches.

Can I assume my PS4 or Xbox One copy upgrades automatically?

No. The store pages do not settle every free-upgrade, disc, region, or save-transfer condition. Check the exact edition in your console library and inspect the current product page before purchasing again.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Does the Xbox version support HDR?

HDR10 is explicitly listed in the Xbox capability information. That confirms the declared format, but it does not specify brightness, tone mapping, calibration, or how the result will look on a particular display.

Does “60 fps+” mean Mafia III supports 120 FPS?

No. The Xbox capability field uses “60 fps+,” while the game description says 60 FPS gameplay. Neither store specifies a 120 Hz mode, frame-rate cap, or performance option, so 120 FPS should not be claimed.

The Bottom Line

Bottom line: Xbox Series X|S and PS5 both advertise 60 FPS gameplay, technical improvements, and the same core Definitive Edition bundle. Official listings do not provide resolution or stability benchmarks, so choose by ecosystem, display, and verified ownership entitlement—not an unproven technical advantage.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More quests from Patch Notes

  1. How to Set Up a RedM (RDR2) Server in 2026: License Key, txAdmin and server.cfg, Step by StepBlog11min
  2. Best RedM (RDR2) Server Hosting in 2026: Comparing Four Hosts on Slots, Memory and PriceBlog10min
  3. How to Host a Mindustry Server in 2026: server-release.jar, Port 6567 and the Commands That MatterBlog7min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.