Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversEarly Black FridayAmazon USEarly Black Friday picks are worth checking nowAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
VGSOURCES
Get listed

PATCH 2026.11.02

PlayStation Preorders and Wishlists: How to Get Ready for a Game’s Release

By VGSources Team 13 min read

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

PlayStation has separate systems for digital preorders, physical reservations, and wishlists. A PlayStation Store preorder charges you when you select Pre-Order; a PlayStation Direct physical preorder is charged when the item is ready to ship. A wishlist is free and does not reserve a copy. As of PlayStation’s 2026 guidance, wishlist alerts cover sales and additions to the PlayStation Plus Extra or Premium catalog—not a guaranteed notification when an unreleased game launches.

For a digital game you have already paid for, the practical way to prepare for release is to enable auto-download, keep the PS5 connected to the internet in Rest Mode, and check the game’s countdown timer in Game Library. Physical orders follow a separate shipping and cancellation schedule.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What is the difference between a PlayStation preorder and a wishlist?

A preorder reserves or buys a specific product before its scheduled release; a wishlist is a saved list of games to track. Neither system does everything the other does: a wishlist does not reserve stock, trigger a purchase, or guarantee an alert when a game becomes available.

Option What it does When you pay What happens around release
PlayStation Store preorder Buys a digital game license before release When you select Pre-Order Can auto-download when the publisher’s preload window opens; a countdown timer appears in Game Library
PlayStation Direct preorder Reserves a physical product sold by Sony Direct in the United States When the item is ready to ship; the card is pre-authorized at checkout Sony generally ships the day before launch and aims for delivery on the listed release date
Retailer preorder Reserves a physical or boxed product with that retailer Depends on the retailer’s policy Shipping, pickup, cancellation, and reminders depend on the retailer and the specific listing
PlayStation Wishlist Saves games you may want to follow No charge Official 2026 guidance describes sale and PS Plus Extra/Premium catalog-add alerts

For physical orders, the reservation is held by the store where you placed it—Sony Direct or another retailer—not by your PlayStation Wishlist. When choosing a route, compare the charge date, cancellation rules, delivery or pickup timing, and any bonuses attached to that particular product. Preorder bonuses vary by title and seller, so confirm them on the listing rather than assuming they are standard.

Popular on Amazon
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

How do I preorder a game on PlayStation Store?

On PlayStation Store, find the game, select its price or Pre-Order, and complete checkout. Sony says you are charged when you select Pre-Order; the game then appears in your Library, on PlayStation Store, and in the PlayStation App.

  1. Search for the game on PlayStation Store and open its product page. The listed release date appears under the title.
  2. Select the price or Pre-Order and complete the purchase. The charge happens at that point, not when the game begins downloading.
  3. To set up downloads on PS5, open Game Library from Games home and select the preordered game. Its countdown timer shows the release countdown.
  4. Select the timer to view the preorder’s included content. Leave a content checkbox selected to allow auto-download, or clear it to disable download for that item. Select All controls all listed content.
  5. Enable the Rest Mode setting called Stay Connected to the Internet. Sony identifies this as a requirement for automatic downloading while the console is in Rest Mode.

If a preorder includes both PS5 and PS4 versions, selecting the countdown timer on either version shows the bundle’s content. Auto-download timing still depends on when the publisher makes the files available; a preorder does not necessarily mean the game can download immediately.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What about auto-download on PS4?

First set up automatic downloads and make the console your primary PS4. Then go to Library > Purchased, select the preorder, choose its countdown timer, and follow the on-screen instructions.

Can I download a game remotely?

The PlayStation App for iOS and Android can place Store preorders and send games or add-ons to a PS4 or PS5 for download. Sony’s US App listing says remote downloads can prepare content for later and that the app can manage PS5 library storage while the console is in Rest Mode. The app requires a PSN account; some features require a console, and available content varies by region. Sony lists iOS 14.0 or later and Android 8.0 or later as requirements.

When will I be charged for a PlayStation Store preorder?

Immediately when you select Pre-Order. That is different from a physical PlayStation Direct reservation, for which Sony pre-authorizes the card at checkout and charges it when the item is ready to ship.

If you change your mind about a digital preorder, Sony’s US support policy allows cancellation and a refund request before the content is released. If the game has been released but has not started downloading to your console, Sony says you can cancel and request a refund within 14 days of making the preorder. Once downloading has started, that specific post-release refund condition no longer applies. Sony’s support article directs customers to its refund request flow; use the request control in that article rather than relying on an unverified refund-form address.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Also popular on Amazon
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

How do I preorder a physical game or accessory from PlayStation Direct?

PlayStation Direct’s US store sells physical products, including eligible hardware, accessories, and boxed games. Add a product marked with a preorder ribbon to your cart and complete checkout with a credit card. Each preorder product receives its own order reference number, even when multiple items are purchased.

  1. Find the product in Direct’s Coming Soon listings and check that it is marked for preorder.
  2. Add it to the cart and complete checkout. Sony places a temporary authorization on the card; it does not charge the card until the product is ready to ship.
  3. Keep the card valid and able to cover the item, tax, and shipping through the expected charge. Sony says the authorization may affect available credit for approximately 1–8 days, depending on the bank.
  4. Save the confirmation email and order reference number. Use My Orders if you ordered while signed in, or Direct’s order lookup with the reference number and email address.

In most cases, Direct allows a preorder until up to four days before the scheduled release date and time. Availability can end earlier if the product sells out or the listing changes; the four-day point is a general outer limit in Sony’s US Direct FAQ, not a promise that every item remains available until then.

How does Direct’s charge and reminder schedule work?

Sony says it generally emails a charge reminder about 10–12 days before the scheduled release and authorizes the card approximately six days before release. The Direct FAQ says the reminder is for customers who reserved at least 15 days before release; a separate Sony Direct support article uses a 10-day threshold. Because Sony’s US pages conflict, treat the reminder as useful if it arrives, not as guaranteed notice. Sony says a failed authorization—for example, because the card expired or funds are insufficient—can result in cancellation and a cancellation email.

Direct’s FAQ says a temporary pre-authorization may count against a credit limit for approximately 1–8 days, depending on the bank. If a cart contains in-stock and preorder products, the in-stock items are grouped and charged when ready to ship, while each preorder is split into a separate order and charged when that item is ready.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Can I change or cancel a Direct preorder?

You can generally cancel until the product enters the shipping process, about six days before the currently scheduled release date. Open the order details and choose Cancel Order; for an order placed while signed in, find it under My Orders. If you do not see the cancel control, Sony says the shipping process has started and the order can no longer be canceled. A canceled reservation cannot be reinstated, so placing a new order is necessary if the product is still available.

The self-service deadline for changing the shipping address or payment method is seven days before the listed release date. If you ordered while signed in, sign in to make changes; otherwise use the order lookup with the reference number and email. Sony’s support article also uses “a week before” in one charge-related explanation, while its cancellation guidance specifies the shipping-process cutoff and says this is generally six days before release. The visible Cancel Order control is the practical indicator of whether self-service cancellation remains available.

Also popular on Amazon
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

If the listed release date changes or the release is canceled, Sony says it emails the address on the order. Direct generally ships preorders the day before launch and aims to deliver on the listed release date. Tracking information may not appear until later in the afternoon on the ship date. Launch Day Delivery is limited to eligible addresses; Sony lists some Alaska, Hawaii, California, and Washington ZIP-code clusters as ineligible, and APO/FPO/DPO addresses are not eligible and may take 30–40 days. Weather, carrier issues, an incorrect address, or payment problems can also affect delivery timing.

Direct’s US FAQ says an unopened preorder item may be returned within 30 days from its ship date. Its returns guidance says processing begins after Sony receives the item; refunds may take up to seven business days after processing to reach the account. Replacements, when eligible and in stock, ship three to five business days after processing.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How do I add games to my PlayStation Wishlist?

Open a game’s Store page and select the heart or Wishlist control. PlayStation’s German Blog dated 20 April 2026 describes Wishlist availability on PS5, in the PlayStation App, and in a PC browser on PlayStation Store. On PS5, the heart at the top right opens the list; the PlayStation App and browser use a heart control as well. PlayStation Access also notes a Wishlist widget on the PS5 welcome screen.

On PS5, the list can be sorted by release date, price, name, or date added. The wishlist costs nothing, and adding a game does not reserve inventory or buy it. Sony’s 2026 official descriptions focus on notifications for discounts or price drops and for games added to the PlayStation Plus Extra or Premium catalog.

How do I turn on PlayStation Wishlist notifications?

Enable Wishlist Updates on the PS5 or in the PlayStation App, and permit the app’s notifications in your phone’s operating-system settings. If you want both surfaces, turn both on: an app push and a console pop-up are separate settings.

Turn on PS5 pop-ups

  1. Go to Settings > Notifications.
  2. Turn on Allow Pop-Up Notifications.
  3. Open Wishlist Updates and turn on Show Pop-Ups.
  4. If you also want alerts while using games, videos, or broadcasts, enable those options. PlayStation’s German Blog notes that pop-ups during these activities are off by default.

Turn on PlayStation App push notifications

  1. Open App Settings using the gear icon.
  2. Choose Push notifications > Accounts and offers.
  3. Turn on Wishlist Updates.
  4. Allow notifications for the PlayStation App in the phone’s own notification settings.

To see the Wishlist in the app, open the Store tab and select the heart at the top right. App push notifications are a convenience, not a dependable substitute for checking the list: PlayStation LifeStyle reported in February 2025 that sale notifications had been unreliable for an extended period and appeared to work again during a sale. Keep the console pop-up setting on as a second route if you want sale alerts.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Also popular on Amazon
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Does a PlayStation Wishlist send an alert when a game launches?

Do not rely on it as a guaranteed launch alert. GamesRadar reported in 2021 that wishlist notifications could cover launches or when a game became available to preorder, but PlayStation’s 2026 Access video and German Blog describe current alerts as sale or price-drop notices and PS Plus Extra/Premium catalog additions. Those current official descriptions do not confirm a dedicated launch or “preorders are live” notification.

For an unreleased game, use the surface that matches the task: follow its Store listing or official PlayStation or publisher announcements for release news; preorder it to get a countdown timer and manage auto-download; and use Wishlist Updates for the alert types Sony currently describes. PlayStation’s official account, for example, announced on 17 October 2026 that Until Dawn 2 was launching on 28 January and that preorders were live. That is a social announcement, not evidence of a Wishlist launch-alert setting.

What does a release alert actually mean on PlayStation?

“Release alert” is not one universal PlayStation switch. The phrase can mean several different notices, and each has a distinct trigger.

  • Wishlist Updates: sale or price-drop notices and PS Plus Extra/Premium catalog additions, as described in 2026 official materials.
  • Game Library countdown timer: the on-console status for a paid digital preorder; selecting it also opens auto-download controls.
  • Auto-download: downloads preorder content when it becomes available, including during a publisher’s preload window. It prepares files; it does not grant early access.
  • Direct order emails: charge reminders for eligible reservations, release-date changes or cancellations, and tracking when the order ships.
  • PlayStation App: Store access, Wishlist push settings, remote downloads, and PS5 storage management while the console is in Rest Mode.
  • Official social accounts: announcements about release dates and preorder availability, without a promise that every title or account post will trigger a console notification.

Sony’s Store guidance names Stay Connected to the Internet as the Rest Mode requirement for auto-download. The relevant Rest Mode guide was unavailable in the cited US support material, so a precise current settings path cannot be confirmed here. The setting name is the reliable instruction; verify its location in the console’s current settings if menu labels change.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Why can preorder, preload, and release dates differ?

A preorder date, the start of preload, the date a retailer prints on a product listing, and the moment a game becomes playable can be different. The publisher controls when a digital preload begins, and a preload does not mean early access: a game can remain locked until its launch unlock.

One example illustrates why it is important to distinguish sources. DLCompare’s 26 October 2026 explainer reported a 12 November local-time preload start and a 19 November launch for Grand Theft Auto VI on PS5 and Xbox Series X|S, with no PC launch in that report. It also said the official download size had not been announced. GameStop’s listing instead showed a 12 November 2026 release date for the PS5 preorder. Those dates conflict, and neither account in this example establishes Sony or Rockstar’s official playable timestamp; check the Store or publisher’s final announcement rather than treating a retailer’s date field as proof of unlock time.

Also popular on Amazon
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

DLCompare also described boxed copies as a digital download code rather than a disc, with shipping starting 12 November. If that account is accurate, a physical delivery could arrive after the reported preload opens. That is a title-specific third-party report, not a general rule for PlayStation boxed games. For any game where launch timing matters, check whether the listing is for a disc or code and whether the seller offers launch-day delivery or local pickup.

Which preorder route should I choose?

Choose based on what matters more: instant digital access to the download queue, or a physical product shipped by a seller. Digital is the more direct route to managing a preload from Game Library; physical orders depend on fulfillment, address eligibility, and seller policy.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Decision PlayStation Store digital PlayStation Direct physical (US) Other retailer
Charge timing When you select Pre-Order When ready to ship; card pre-authorized at checkout Retailer policy; check its listing and terms
Cancel timing Before release; limited post-release request window if download has not started Generally until shipping starts, about six days before scheduled release Retailer policy; not stated as a common rule
Launch readiness Auto-download and any available preload Shipping and delivery timing; Launch Day Delivery only for eligible addresses Shipping or pickup option depends on seller and location
Price changes after preorder Not stated in the cited Store preorder policy Direct says the lower list price applies if it drops Not stated as a common rule
Order and release alerts Library timer and download status; Wishlist alert scope is separate Order-specific email reminders, date-change/cancellation emails, and tracking Retailer-specific

For Direct, check the scheduled date, product type, and delivery address before relying on launch-day arrival. For a digital preorder, check the product page’s release date and leave the desired content’s auto-download box selected. For any limited edition or bonus, confirm the exact product listing: the preorder label alone does not establish what extras are included.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I preorder a PlayStation game without a credit card?

PlayStation Direct’s US preorder FAQ says a credit card is required for its physical reservations. The PlayStation Store’s digital checkout may present payment options based on account and region, so check the options shown at checkout rather than assuming Direct’s requirement applies there.

Where can I find my PlayStation Direct preorder number?

Check the confirmation email for that product; Direct assigns a separate order reference number to each preordered item. If you placed the order while signed in, it should also appear under My Orders.

Can I get a Direct preorder back after I cancel it?

No. Sony’s US Direct support says a canceled preorder cannot be reinstated. If the item is still listed and available, you would need to place a new order.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Does a PlayStation Wishlist have a 100-game limit?

A third-party price-tracking update has referred to a 100-slot limit, but the Sony materials cited here do not confirm an official cap. Avoid treating that number as a guaranteed PlayStation policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Read next

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.