DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
Skip to content
VGSources
Blog

PS5 Pro Specs: Sony Confirms 8-Core Zen 2 CPU and 16 GB GDDR6

Sony’s official PS5 Pro guide confirms the leaked headline’s key details: an 8-core, 16-thread Zen 2 CPU and 16 GB GDDR6, plus a separate 2 GB DDR5 pool.
Length3 min Posted Quest giverVGSources Team

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The 2024 PS5 Pro spec-sheet story was framed as an alleged leak, but Sony’s official CFI-71XX safety guide now confirms the headline’s key hardware details: an 8-core, 16-thread AMD Ryzen Zen 2 CPU and 16 GB of GDDR6 memory. Sony lists a separate 2 GB DDR5 pool as well, so the console’s memory should not be described simply as “16 GB total RAM.”

What Sony officially lists in the PS5 Pro specifications

Sony’s CFI-71XX PS5 Pro safety guide gives the clearest answer to what is confirmed. Its specifications table lists:

  • CPU: x86-64 AMD Ryzen “Zen2,” with 8 cores and 16 threads. The table does not state a clock speed.
  • Memory: 16 GB GDDR6 and a separate 2 GB DDR5.
  • Graphics: AMD Radeon RDNA-based graphics engine rated at 16.7 TFLOPS. Sony does not specify a more precise RDNA generation in this table.
  • Storage: custom 2 TB SSD.

The guide notes that design and specifications may change without notice and that console behavior can vary with software version. The figures above are the specifications Sony lists for the CFI-71XX model family.

Why the 16 GB figure does not describe all of the memory

The 16 GB figure refers specifically to GDDR6 memory; Sony lists 2 GB DDR5 separately. In its April 2025 PS5 Pro teardown, Sony explains that eight GDDR6 memory chips support high-speed rendering, while a ninth DDR5 chip is dedicated to slower processing. The two figures describe distinct memory pools and should not be added together and presented as one interchangeable RAM pool.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
PlayStation 5 Pro with 2TB SSD Storage, Console Only - PS5 Pro Gaming System, White (Renewed)
  • Ray Tracing - Immerse yourself in worlds with a new level of realism as rays of light are individually simulated, creating true-to-life shadows and reflections in supported PS5 games.
  • Faster Loading - Fast-travel across the map and get back into the game almost instantly with the PlayStation 5 console’s ultra-high-speed SSD and fast load times.
  • Stunning Visuals - Experience the vast world in stunning 4K and HDR at 120 FPS (with a 4K and HDR compatible TV or display)
  • Breathtaking Immersion - Discover a deeper gaming experience with support for haptic feedback, adaptive triggers, and 3D Audio technology.
  • Backwards Compatibility - Play over 4,000 PS4 games on PS5. Enjoy faster and smoother frame rates in some of the PS4 console's greatest games.

What the 2024 leak report got right—and what it did not establish

Notebookcheck reported on November 3, 2024, that an official-looking specification sheet had appeared online. That report explains the “allegedly leaks” framing in the headline. Its GPU-architecture speculation and performance predictions were not official confirmation; Sony’s later documentation is the stronger source for the listed hardware specifications.

In particular, the official guide identifies an RDNA-based graphics engine, but does not substantiate a more specific RDNA generation. Nor does its CPU table give a clock speed. Those details should not be inferred from the leak report’s presentation.

How Sony describes the performance improvement

In its September 2024 PS5 Pro reveal, Sony said the console has 67% more GPU compute units and memory that is 28% faster than the then-current PS5. The company said those changes enable gameplay rendering up to 45% faster, and that ray tracing runs at more than double the speed.

These are Sony’s manufacturer claims, not independent benchmark results, and they do not guarantee the same improvement in every game. The 16.7 TFLOPS rating is a specification, not a direct prediction of frame rate or image quality in a particular title; those outcomes depend on the game and its implementation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
PlayStation®5 Digital Edition (slim)
  • Model Number CFI-2000
  • Includes DualSense Wireless Controller, 1TB SSD, 2 Horizontal Stand Feet, HDMI Cable, AC power cord, USB cable, printed materials, ASTRO’s PLAYROOM (Pre-installed game)
  • Vertical Stand sold seperately
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Compatibility and storage expansion

Sony said PS5 games are playable on PS5 Pro and that Game Boost can apply to more than 8,500 backward-compatible PS4 games. “Can apply” does not mean every PS4 title will run better: Sony describes the feature as potentially stabilizing or improving supported games. The company also listed PSVR2, PlayStation Portal, DualSense Edge, Access controller, Pulse Elite and Pulse Explore among compatible PS5 accessories in its reveal announcement.

The safety guide documents installing an M.2 SSD, and Sony’s teardown shows the console’s M.2 slot. An expansion drive is optional; check a model’s dimensions, speed and cooling against Sony’s complete requirements before buying or installing it. The cited guide includes the installation procedure and relevant requirements.

What the specifications mean for a prospective buyer

The official figures establish the core configuration: a Zen 2 8-core/16-thread CPU, distinct GDDR6 and DDR5 memory pools, a 16.7-TFLOPS RDNA-based graphics engine and a 2 TB SSD. They do not, by themselves, establish how much a specific game will improve. Sony’s reveal announcement gives the company’s performance claims, while independent side-by-side benchmark results are not included here. Sony’s 2024 launch announcement stated launch prices of $699.99 USD, £699.99 GBP, €799.99 EUR and ¥119,980 JPY including tax; those are historical launch prices, not current 2026 retail prices.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 2
PlayStation®5 Digital Edition (slim)
PlayStation®5 Digital Edition (slim)
Model Number CFI-2000; Vertical Stand sold seperately
$598.99

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More quests from Patch Notes

  1. How to Turn On Vibrant Visuals in MinecraftMinecraftBlog3min
  2. Best Multiplayer Games for Low-End PCsBlog4min
  3. Minecraft: How To Use And Install OptiFineBlog5min
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.