Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversEarly Black FridayAmazon USEarly Black Friday picks are worth checking nowAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
VGSOURCES
Get listed

PATCH 2026.11.02

PS5 USB Ports Explained: How Many Devices Can It Power at Once?

By VGSources Team 9 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

A PS5 has four built-in USB ports: two on the front and two on the rear. That is the number of direct connection points, not a promise that any four USB devices can charge or operate simultaneously. Sony does not publish a universal per-port current rating or a combined USB-output budget for the console, and its manual says functionality with connected devices is not guaranteed. The practical limit depends on the device, the port type and speed it requires, and whether the console is on or in Rest Mode.

What is the short answer?

The reliable answer is four directly connected USB devices, because every PS5 has four USB sockets. Whether all four devices work or charge at the same time is a separate compatibility and power question. A storage drive, PS VR2, camera, headset adapter and controller can have different port requirements, while Sony has not stated a single wattage or amperage figure that applies to all PS5 USB ports.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Sony’s support guide describes four USB ports with different connection speeds and device compatibility. Treat “four” as the physical-port count. Do not treat it as a tested simultaneous-charging capacity for four arbitrary accessories.

How are the four ports arranged on each PS5 model?

Both major Sony model groups provide two front ports and two rear ports, but the front connector mix differs. Port speed labels describe data capability, not a published power allowance.

Popular on Amazon
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
PS5 model group Front ports Rear ports Important placement notes
CFI-1000 (original PS5) One SuperSpeed USB-C (USB 10 Gbps) and one Hi-Speed USB-A Two SuperSpeed USB-A PS VR2 uses the front SuperSpeed USB-C; rear SuperSpeed ports suit high-speed storage.
CFI-2000/7000 (newer PS5 models) One SuperSpeed USB-C (USB 10 Gbps) and one Hi-Speed USB-C Two SuperSpeed USB-A The connector on the second front port changed from USB-A to USB-C; speed and device requirements still matter.

Use the model number printed on the console or its packaging when a device specifies a connector or speed. A USB-C plug alone does not guarantee SuperSpeed performance: on newer models, one front USB-C port is Hi-Speed while the other is the 10 Gbps SuperSpeed port.

Which devices need a particular PS5 USB port?

Port suitability is independent of how many sockets are free. Connecting a device to an available socket does not make an unsupported port arrangement work.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

PS VR2

Sony directs PS VR2 to the front SuperSpeed USB-C port. If that port is occupied, moving the headset to a rear USB-A port or a slower front port does not meet the documented connection requirement.

USB extended storage

For PS5 USB extended storage, Sony specifies a SuperSpeed connection of 5 Gbps or later, a drive capacity from 250 GB to 8 TB, and direct connection to the console. The drive cannot be attached through a USB hub. Only one extended-storage drive can be used at a time, even if other USB drives are physically plugged in.

PS4 games can be played directly from compatible extended storage. PS5 games can be stored there, but must be copied back to the console’s internal storage before they can be played. These rules describe storage compatibility, not the PS5’s total electrical output.

Also popular on Amazon
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

HD Camera

Sony’s HD Camera setup instructions specify a rear USB port. Reserve one of the rear ports if a camera is part of the setup rather than assuming any front socket is equivalent.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Controllers and headset adapters

Sony lists USB ports for compatible controllers and a wireless-headset adapter. A controller can be usable while charging, but its ability to draw power is not evidence that another high-draw device will also receive enough current from a remaining port.

Does four USB ports mean the PS5 can power four devices?

No. Three separate limits are involved:

  • Socket count: four direct physical connections.
  • Compatibility: each peripheral must support the chosen port’s connector, speed and PS5 function.
  • Electrical power: the device must receive enough current in the console’s current operating state.

Sony’s reviewed PS5 guides establish the first limit and several compatibility rules, but they do not establish a universal numerical answer for the third. Do not add the input rating printed on a controller to a hub rating or divide the console’s overall power rating to estimate USB capacity; those specifications describe different things.

For example, Sony lists a DualSense input specification of 5 V, 1,500 mA. That is the controller’s rated input, not a rating for a PS5 USB socket. Similarly, a separately powered hub may advertise a downstream current figure that applies only to that hub and its AC adapter.

Can four controllers be connected and charged at once?

Up to four DualSense controllers can be used at the same time, according to Sony. That usage figure does not prove that four USB-connected controllers will all charge at the same rate, or that four arbitrary USB accessories can share the console’s available output.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Also popular on Amazon
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

When the PS5 is powered on, compatible controllers and accessories can begin charging through an included USB cable. If several controllers are connected and one does not charge, check the cable and port rather than assuming the fourth socket is disabled.

For a household that regularly charges two controllers, Sony’s AC-powered DualSense Charging Station is a different solution. It charges up to two DualSense or DualSense Edge controllers without occupying PS5 USB ports. It frees console sockets; it does not increase the electrical output of the PS5’s built-in USB hardware.

Which PS5 USB ports work in Rest Mode?

Rest Mode USB charging is controlled by a system setting. On the PS5, open Settings > System > Power Saving > Features Available in Rest Mode > Supply Power to USB Ports.

  • Always: keeps USB power available in Rest Mode.
  • 3 Hours: supplies power for three hours after the console enters Rest Mode.
  • Adaptive: available for the CFI-2000 model group. Sony lists DualSense, DualSense Edge, PS VR2 Sense and Access controllers for this mode and warns that another device might not charge or receive optimized charging.

The setting concerns power delivery, not full operation of every peripheral while the console sleeps. A device that works when the PS5 is on may not remain active in Rest Mode, and a phone or other third-party device is not guaranteed to charge under Adaptive mode.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What should you do if a DualSense will not charge?

Work through the checks in this order:

  1. Confirm that the console is on, or set Supply Power to USB Ports to Always or 3 Hours if you are using Rest Mode.
  2. Move the controller to another PS5 USB port. This distinguishes a port, connector or placement issue from a controller issue.
  3. Use a different USB cable that supports both charging and data. Sony’s troubleshooting guidance says a charge-only cable cannot be used for this connection.
  4. Check the connector type and port speed required by any other device occupying the console. A high-speed accessory in the wrong port can create a compatibility problem unrelated to controller charging.
  5. If two controllers need routine charging while the console ports are needed for other accessories, use an AC-powered charging station designed for DualSense controllers.

A separately powered PS VR2 Sense charging station is a narrower option for VR owners. It addresses charging for the supported VR controllers rather than adding general-purpose USB data ports.

Also popular on Amazon
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Does a powered USB hub add more usable connections?

An AC-powered hub can add accessory connection points because it draws power from its own adapter instead of relying entirely on the PS5 port. It is a conditional remedy, not a guarantee that every peripheral will work.

PlayStation Direct lists a PowerA PS5 hub with four USB 3.2 downstream ports and a stated 900 mA per downstream port from its included AC adapter. Those figures apply to the named, externally powered hub; they are not Sony’s ratings for the PS5’s built-in ports.

Connect the hub to a compatible rear PS5 USB-A port, then verify each accessory’s support and speed requirements. Do not use the hub for PS5 USB extended storage: Sony expressly says, “You can’t connect the drive through a USB hub.” Keep the storage drive directly attached to a compatible SuperSpeed console port.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

An unpowered hub should not be presented as a guaranteed way to solve a power shortfall. It still depends on the console port’s available power and can make several accessories compete for the same source.

Which setup is best for common PS5 accessory plans?

Need Recommended arrangement Why Constraint
One headset adapter, camera and controller charging Use the four console ports, assigning devices to their documented locations No extra hardware Leave a SuperSpeed port for devices that require it; configure Rest Mode charging.
PS VR2 plus USB extended storage Front SuperSpeed USB-C for PS VR2; a rear SuperSpeed USB-A port for storage Matches Sony’s placement and speed guidance Storage must be directly connected, not placed behind a hub.
Several low-data accessories Use a separately AC-powered USB hub for supported peripherals Adds four downstream connections in the listed PowerA example Hub current figures apply to the hub; accessory compatibility remains device-specific.
Two controllers charging while all console ports are occupied Use Sony’s AC-powered DualSense Charging Station Charges up to two supported controllers without PS5 USB sockets It adds no USB data ports and supports the listed controller models.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What is still unknown about PS5 USB power?

Sony’s public material reviewed through October 30, 2026 does not state a PS5-wide maximum USB wattage, a per-port current ceiling, or a guaranteed combined output when all four ports are occupied. Consequently, no responsible answer can promise that four phones, four controllers, or four bus-powered drives will all charge simultaneously at a particular rate.

Also popular on Amazon
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Data-speed labels such as USB 10 Gbps and SuperSpeed 5 Gbps identify transfer capability. They are not wattage values. Likewise, the 5 V, 1,500 mA DualSense input specification, a charging station’s AC-adapter output and a hub’s 900 mA downstream specification cannot be combined into a console-port budget.

For a high-draw or unusual accessory, consult its own power requirement and Sony’s compatibility guidance. If the accessory needs more power than the console connection can reliably provide, use its manufacturer-approved AC adapter or a compatible self-powered charging solution rather than guessing from the number of free sockets.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How should you plan the four ports?

  1. List every device that must remain connected: storage, PS VR2, camera, headset adapter, charging cable or other accessory.
  2. Mark devices with strict requirements. Reserve the front SuperSpeed USB-C for PS VR2 and a rear SuperSpeed USB-A port for extended storage when those devices are present.
  3. Keep extended storage directly on the PS5 and remember that only one drive can be active as extended storage at a time.
  4. Move routine controller charging to an AC-powered station if charging cables are consuming ports needed for data accessories.
  5. Use a self-powered hub only for peripherals that support hub connection, and keep expectations about charging and operation device-specific.
  6. Set Rest Mode USB power deliberately, then test the exact accessory combination while the console is in the state in which you expect it to charge.

This allocation method prevents a common mistake: counting four empty sockets while overlooking that one device needs a particular connector, another needs SuperSpeed bandwidth, and a third may not charge under the selected Rest Mode option.

What does “power at once” mean in practice?

If “power” means “provide four direct places to plug in accessories,” the answer is four. If it means “guarantee four devices will all function and receive sufficient charging current at the same time,” Sony’s published information does not support a universal number. The safe answer is four physical ports, with simultaneous operation and charging determined by each device’s compatibility, port assignment and power needs.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can multiple USB drives be plugged into a PS5 at the same time?

Several USB drives can be physically connected, but Sony allows only one drive to be used as PS5 USB extended storage at a time. The active extended-storage drive must meet the 250 GB–8 TB capacity range, support SuperSpeed 5 Gbps or later, and connect directly rather than through a hub.

Will a phone always charge from a PS5 USB port in Rest Mode?

No. Rest Mode power can be set to Always or 3 Hours, but Sony does not guarantee charging for every third-party device. The CFI-2000 Adaptive option is specifically optimized for listed PlayStation controllers and may not charge another device.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Can I use the front Hi-Speed port for PS VR2?

Sony specifies the front SuperSpeed USB-C port for PS VR2. On CFI-1000 models the other front connector is Hi-Speed USB-A; on CFI-2000/7000 models it is Hi-Speed USB-C, so the connector shape alone does not make it the required port.

Does a charging station make the PS5’s USB ports stronger?

No. An AC-powered charging station has its own power supply and removes controller charging from the console sockets, but it does not raise the PS5’s per-port or combined USB output. It also does not add general-purpose USB data connections.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Read next

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.