Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
No—Rockstar has denied the viral claim that Grand Theft Auto VI cost more to make than Dubai’s Burj Khalifa. The tower’s construction is commonly benchmarked at about $1.5 billion, but Rockstar’s denial does not disclose what GTA VI actually cost. Public reports have circulated analyst estimates of roughly $1 billion to $1.5 billion, while Rockstar and publisher Take-Two Interactive have not released a title-specific development budget.
Did GTA 6 cost more than the Burj Khalifa?
Rockstar head of publishing Jennifer Kolbe rejected the claim that GTA VI exceeded the approximately $1.5 billion construction cost commonly associated with the Burj Khalifa. That statement addresses the comparison, not the game’s final budget: Rockstar did not replace the rumor with an official spending figure.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchThe comparison is also imperfect. The Burj Khalifa figure refers to construction of a completed building, whereas a game budget would cover a multiyear development and production operation, potentially including staff, technology, outsourcing, marketing and other costs. Neither Rockstar nor Take-Two has published a total that defines those categories for GTA VI.
How much did GTA 6 cost to make?
The exact cost is unknown publicly. Reports have attributed an estimated range of about $1 billion to $1.5 billion to unnamed industry analysts, but that range is not a company filing, audited title budget or confirmed Rockstar disclosure.
Popular on Amazon
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Take-Two CEO Strauss Zelnick has acknowledged the scale of the project, saying “it was expensive” and describing blockbuster development as “a high-stakes game for big boys only.” Those comments confirm substantial spending without establishing a number.
What the estimate does—and does not—mean
- It is an estimate: the $1 billion-$1.5 billion range comes from media reporting about analyst views.
- It is not a disclosed total: Rockstar and Take-Two have not stated that GTA VI cost $1 billion, $1.5 billion or any other amount.
- It should not be inflated into a fact: claims of $2 billion, $3 billion or $5 billion in spending are not supported by the available disclosures.
Do Rockstar’s accounts reveal the GTA 6 budget?
No. Audited accounts for Rockstar Games UK Limited provide useful context about the company’s scale, but they do not identify a GTA VI budget.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
| Figure | What it covers | Period or limitation |
|---|---|---|
| £363,099,000 in staff costs | Employees of Rockstar Games UK Limited | Year ended March 31, 2025; not assigned to a particular game |
| £508,868,000 in turnover | Turnover reported by that legal entity | Year ended March 31, 2025; not a GTA VI revenue or development figure |
Those lines cannot be converted into a GTA VI budget. The UK company supports continuing Rockstar work, and its accounts do not say which titles generated the costs or turnover. They also cover one legal entity and one fiscal year, while GTA VI has been developed over multiple years across Rockstar’s wider organization.
Why are the budget rumors so large?
Rockstar’s staffing and production footprint make billion-dollar speculation plausible, even though plausibility is not proof. Reporting in August 2026 put Rockstar at 4,711 employees across 12 offices, compared with 2,441 employees when Red Dead Redemption 2 shipped in 2018. A larger workforce, long development timeline and high production expectations can create enormous operating costs, but public headcount does not isolate GTA VI spending.
Also popular on Amazon
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Rockstar development chief Phil Hooker illustrated the production trade-off when he said, “We could hit that schedule, but it won’t be the game we want to make.” The comment helps explain why a major release can take years, but it is not a cost disclosure.
What is GTA 6’s release date and where will it launch?
Grand Theft Auto VI is listed for November 19, 2026, on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. Release listings can change, so buyers should verify the current date, edition and preorder status with the publisher or platform store.
Also popular on Amazon
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
How should you read the competing GTA 6 budget claims?
Use the source and scope before accepting any number.
- Official statement: Rockstar’s denial is the strongest evidence about the Burj Khalifa comparison, but it does not reveal a budget.
- Audited accounts: Rockstar Games UK Limited’s figures are documented company data, yet they cover one entity and year rather than one game.
- Analyst estimate: the $1 billion-$1.5 billion range is useful as an informed projection, not a confirmed expenditure.
- Viral extrapolation: unsupported $2 billion-plus figures should be treated as rumor unless Rockstar or Take-Two publishes evidence.
Frequently Asked Questions
Why was the Burj Khalifa used as a GTA 6 comparison?
The tower is a familiar benchmark for an exceptionally large construction project, commonly cited at about $1.5 billion. Online posts used that figure to dramatize claims about GTA VI, even though the two types of spending are not directly comparable.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Has Take-Two ever confirmed a GTA 6 budget?
No. Take-Two has described the game as expensive but has not published a title-level development total. Its public financial reporting does not provide a separate GTA VI cost line.
Could GTA 6 still have a budget above $1.5 billion?
Public information does not establish that either way. The available analyst range reaches about $1.5 billion, while Rockstar’s denial says only that the Burj Khalifa claim is wrong, leaving the actual total undisclosed.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Do Rockstar’s employee numbers include everyone working on GTA 6?
Not necessarily. The reported 4,711 employees cover Rockstar across 12 offices, and the company may also use external partners. Headcount therefore cannot be turned into a complete project-cost calculation.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

