Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
State of Decay 3 supports solo play and online co-op for up to four players total: one host and as many as three friends. Xbox and Steam listings also identify cross-platform multiplayer, but neither listing yet publishes a complete Xbox, Xbox PC, Steam and PlayStation 5 pairing chart. The game is targeting 2027, so several practical details—including offline authentication, invitations, local multiplayer and cross-store saves—remain unannounced.
The clearest description is a shared, asynchronously playable world. Players can change the same settlements and story state, then return at different times; Undead Labs says the beta build allows each co-op member to recruit survivors, run missions and manage settlements independently. That does not establish that every player’s separate inventory or campaign save transfers between every platform.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
How many people can play State of Decay 3 co-op?
Online co-op is limited to four players in total: the person hosting the world plus up to three friends. The Xbox Store lists the mode as online co-op for 2–4 players. “Four-player co-op” therefore does not mean four friends joining one host.
Solo play is also listed. Undead Labs’ October 2026 closed-beta description says the game “plays the same whether you’re alone or with up to three friends,” although that wording describes a beta build and not necessarily every launch detail.
Popular on Amazon
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
What each co-op player can do
The announced design is not a tethered escort mode. In the beta-build description, every participant can recruit survivors, undertake missions and manage settlements. The developer has also described a playable space about four times the size of one State of Decay 2 map and up to three settlements in a shared world; those are development statements, not independently measured map or population statistics.
Can Xbox, Steam and PS5 players play together?
Cross-platform multiplayer and cross-platform co-op are confirmed as feature labels. The Xbox Store uses both labels, and Steam lists cross-platform multiplayer. However, the checked pages do not provide a full pairing matrix, account-linking instructions or an invitation procedure. The announcement of a PlayStation 5 version does not, by itself, prove that every PS5-to-Xbox, PS5-to-PC or PS5-to-Steam combination will work.
Until an official matrix is published, treat cross-play as a confirmed capability whose exact combinations are still unspecified. A group should verify the supported pairing and account requirements after the developer updates its multiplayer documentation rather than assuming that every storefront can connect to every other one.
If I keep playing while my friend is away, does our world progress?
Yes, the announced model is asynchronous shared-world progression. Creative Director Kevin Patzelt said, “In a shared world, any one of us can make changes to the world.” He explained that one player can advance the story, build facilities and add settlements while another friend is absent, then that friend can access the same save later.
This is different from promising identical personal progression everywhere. The public descriptions establish a jointly changeable world and a shared save, but do not specify whether a visitor’s inventory, individual survivor roster or separate campaign state follows them into another host’s world or across different stores. The safest expectation is that changes made to the shared community persist for its members, while personal-save and account-transfer rules await documentation.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
How independent can players be on the map?
Co-op is described as untethered: friends can separate across the map rather than remaining within a fixed distance of the host. That supports parallel activities such as missions, recruitment and settlement management. It does not mean the game runs as a permanent server when nobody is playing; the announcements only describe access to the shared save when a member returns.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteCan you play State of Decay 3 offline?
Offline solo play has not been established. Solo mode is confirmed, but the official listings checked for this article do not say whether an internet connection, account authentication or a server check is required to start or continue a solo session. Do not treat “solo” as proof of “offline.”
Online co-op is explicitly advertised as online. A friend playing the shared save while another person is away is asynchronous online design, not evidence that the save can be opened without a connection. An offline or authentication FAQ from Undead Labs or Xbox would be needed before making a stronger claim.
Is there split-screen or couch co-op?
No local split-screen or LAN mode is confirmed in the checked descriptions. The listed multiplayer mode is online co-op. That means buying a second controller does not establish a second local player slot, and the absence of a local-mode listing should be treated as “not announced here,” not as a definitive statement that local play can never be added.
Which platforms are announced, and what does each listing actually promise?
Xbox has announced Xbox Series X|S, Xbox PC, cloud, Steam and PlayStation 5 versions. Xbox’s US store also displays an Xbox One compatibility label, while the main release announcement names Series X|S rather than a native Xbox One release. That discrepancy is not an Xbox One launch promise.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesAlso popular on Amazon
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
| Platform or access route | Availability stated | Cross-play information | Progress and subscription notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Xbox Series X|S | Announced; 2027 target | Xbox Store lists cross-platform multiplayer and co-op; exact pairings not stated | Xbox cloud saves and Xbox Play Anywhere are listed; online console multiplayer requires Game Pass Essential, Premium or Ultimate according to the US store |
| Xbox PC | Announced | Cross-platform labels appear on the Xbox listing; exact pairings not stated | Play Anywhere can sync eligible Xbox console and PC progress through an Xbox account; the console multiplayer subscription condition does not automatically apply to PC |
| Steam | Store page currently offers a wishlist, not a purchasable release | Steam lists cross-platform multiplayer; pairings and account links not stated | Steam-to-Xbox or Steam-to-PlayStation save transfer is not documented |
| PlayStation 5 | Announced | Its inclusion in the announcement does not specify which cross-play pairings work | PlayStation subscription requirements, cross-store saves and invitation flow are not stated |
| Xbox One | US store shows a compatibility label; the primary announcement names Series X|S | Not established as a native launch platform | Do not infer support from the label alone |
The platform information comes from Xbox and store listings current to October 30, 2026. The developer became independent from Xbox on September 22, 2026, while Xbox Game Studios remains listed as publisher; that corporate change does not alter the multiplayer facts above.
How do Xbox cloud saves and Play Anywhere affect co-op progress?
The Xbox Store lists Xbox cloud saves and Xbox Play Anywhere. Xbox describes Play Anywhere as progress synchronization through an Xbox account between eligible Xbox console and PC versions. That is the documented portability route for the Xbox ecosystem.
It should not be expanded into universal cross-platform saves. No checked source confirms Steam-to-Xbox, PlayStation-to-Xbox or other cross-store transfers, and the rules for a visiting player’s personal progression are not published. A shared-world save being accessible to its members is therefore a separate concept from moving one person’s entire save between platforms.
Does Game Pass include State of Decay 3, and what does online multiplayer cost?
Xbox says the game is coming to Game Pass. The US Xbox Store states that online console multiplayer requires a separately sold Game Pass Essential, Premium or Ultimate subscription. That condition is specifically attached to console online multiplayer; it should not be applied automatically to PC or used to claim that a subscription is required for solo access.
Because the game is targeting 2027 and is not yet purchasable on Steam, plan and pricing details can change. Check the store for the account and region you will use when the release approaches.
Also popular on Amazon
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
What is known about the closed beta?
Undead Labs’ October 9, 2026 announcement describes an evolving closed-beta build and says numbers and some interface details can change. It announced an October 13 opening, but that announcement does not prove that every applicant entered testing. Beta descriptions are useful evidence of intended systems, not a guarantee that the launch build will expose every value or menu in the same way.
The confirmed target remains 2027 rather than a fixed launch day. Until release documentation appears, the most reliable co-op expectations are the four-player online limit, shared-world changes, untethered activity and the platform-level cross-play labels.
What should a co-op group plan for now?
- Choose a target platform combination. Xbox, Xbox PC, Steam and PS5 are announced, but verify the exact cross-play pairing once an official matrix is available.
- Expect online sessions. Solo is listed, yet offline authentication requirements have not been stated.
- Designate the community save. Because members can change one shared world asynchronously, agree who will make major settlement or story changes and tell absent players what changed.
- Do not buy extra controllers for local play. No split-screen or LAN mode is listed.
- Separate world progress from personal saves. Shared settlements and story changes are described; inventory transfer and universal cross-store saves are not.
- Check access requirements at launch. Console online multiplayer has a stated Game Pass subscription condition, while PC requirements and regional details may differ.
What remains unconfirmed?
- The exact Xbox–Xbox PC–Steam–PS5 cross-play pairing matrix.
- Whether solo mode works without an internet connection or account authentication.
- Local split-screen or LAN support.
- Invitation steps, account linking and friend-code systems.
- Cross-store save transfers and the treatment of a visitor’s personal inventory or campaign.
- PlayStation-specific online-subscription requirements.
- A final release date and whether beta numbers or interfaces change before launch.
These gaps are normal for a pre-release game. The next useful updates would be a dated developer cross-play chart, an offline-authentication FAQ and platform-specific save documentation.
FAQ
Does every player need to own State of Decay 3?
The checked announcements do not state a friend-pass, invite-code or shared-copy policy. They confirm the player limit and platform labels, but not whether one purchase can grant another person access. Wait for platform-specific purchasing and Game Pass terms before assuming either model.
Can a PS5 player join an Xbox player?
Cross-platform multiplayer is listed, and PS5 availability is announced, but no official pairing matrix confirms this particular combination. Treat the connection as possible in principle, not guaranteed until Undead Labs or Xbox names the supported pair.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Will my survivor inventory follow me into a friend’s world?
Public descriptions cover a shared world that members can change and a save that can be accessed asynchronously. They do not define how a visitor’s inventory, personal survivor roster or independent campaign is stored, so that detail remains unknown.
Is State of Decay 3 available to buy on Steam now?
No. The Steam page currently presents a wishlist rather than a purchasable release. Xbox and Undead Labs are targeting 2027, so availability and pricing should be checked again when launch information is published.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does every player need to own State of Decay 3?
The checked announcements do not state a friend-pass, invite-code or shared-copy policy. They confirm the player limit and platform labels, but not whether one purchase can grant another person access.
Can a PS5 player join an Xbox player?
Cross-platform multiplayer is listed, and PS5 availability is announced, but no official pairing matrix confirms this particular combination. Treat the connection as possible in principle, not guaranteed until an official source names the supported pair.
Will my survivor inventory follow me into a friend’s world?
Public descriptions cover a shared world that members can change and a save that can be accessed asynchronously. They do not define how a visitor’s inventory, personal survivor roster or independent campaign is stored.
Is State of Decay 3 available to buy on Steam now?
No. The Steam page currently presents a wishlist rather than a purchasable release. Xbox and Undead Labs are targeting 2027.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




