Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
The Diablo IV 2.1 Public Test Realm (PTR), which previewed changes ahead of Season 7, ran from December 3 to December 10, 2024. It is over. This article explains the dates, the access steps Blizzard documented for PC players, and what the test included.
Season 7 PTR dates
Blizzard’s announcement gave a date range of December 3–10, 2024 for the Season 7 2.1 PTR. The announcement did not publish daily opening or closing clock times, and it did not specify a time zone, so no exact hour should be assumed for either the start or the end of the test.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Diablo® IV (PS5) | $36.40 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
CD Diablo IV - Playstation 5 | $42.84 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Juego Sony PS5 Diablo IV | $39.20 | Buy on Amazon |
What the PTR was for
Blizzard described the PTR as a way to test updates and features before the launch of Season 7. Its official statement read: “The purpose of the PTR is to test updates and features before the launch of Season 7.” Player feedback from the test was used to adjust the patch before it went live.
How to access the PTR on PC
Blizzard’s documented instructions covered the PC Battle.net client. To install the test client:
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware match#1 Best Overall
- Pre-order and receive:
- Light Bearer Mount in Diablo IV
- Only one code per customer
- Diablo IV is the next-gen action RPG experience with endless evil to slaughter, countless abilities to master, nightmarish Dungeons, and legendary loot.
- Embark on the campaign solo or with friends, meeting memorable characters through beautifully dark settings and a gripping story, or explore an expansive end game and shared world where players can meet in towns to trade, team up to battle World Bosses, or descend into PVP zones to test their skills against other players - no lobbies necessary - with cross-play and cross-progression on all available platforms.
- Open the Blizzard Battle.net app and select Diablo IV from the Games list.
- In the version selector above the Play button, choose Public Test Realm.
- Select Install and wait for the client to finish installing.
- Select Play, log in, and choose one of the available test servers.
- Create a new test character and enter the PTR.
Players with PC Game Pass or Game Pass Ultimate could open the Battle.net client through the Xbox App and then follow the same Battle.net steps.
Available PTR servers
Blizzard listed PTR servers in the following regions:
Rank #2
- Brand: Sony
- Operating system: windows
- Format: cd
- Brand: Blizzard
- North America
- Europe
- Korea and Japan
- South America
- Australia
Account Copy and PTR-only content
The announcement described an Account Copy feature. After creating a new PTR character on the character-select screen, players could copy account data and characters into the test realm. Copying again overwrote existing PTR characters, data, and progress, so repeat copies were a reset of test progress rather than an addition to it.
A PTR Boost NPC in Kyovashad was available at the start of the test. Blizzard described it as offering Season 7 items, seasonal progression items, Witchcraft powers, and Occult Gems.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Rank #3
- Juego Sony PS5 Diablo IV
Giving feedback during the test
Blizzard directed participants to the in-game feedback tool or to the Diablo IV PTR forums for reports and suggestions.
Using this information now
Because the December 2024 test has ended, the steps above describe how access worked for that PTR only. Blizzard’s installation flow, server list and feature set were specific to that test and should not be assumed to apply to later test realms. For any future PTR, check Blizzard’s official Diablo IV announcements and the Battle.net version selector for the current instructions.
Blizzard’s official article did not state whether a retail purchase was required to join the PTR, so this article does not claim one was.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.



