What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
The Lord of the Rings Online: The Wolves of Mordor is a paid expansion for the existing free-to-play MMORPG The Lord of the Rings Online (LOTRO), not a new standalone sequel to Shadow of Mordor. Standing Stone Games adds a post-Sauron storyline in Draugardh, three new regions, the Survival Instincts progression system and housing-focused Neighbours content. That makes it fundamentally different from the single-player Talion action games, the co-op survival crafting of Return to Moria and the gentle life simulation of Tales of the Shire. The clearest choice is simple: pick Wolves of Mordor if you want to continue a LOTRO character in an online world; choose another title if you want stealth combat, fortress conquest, mining and base building, or Hobbit domestic life.
At a glance
| Name | Best for | Key spec | Free plan / price | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Lord of the Rings Online: The Wolves of Mordor | Players who already want LOTRO’s ongoing online world and character progression | 14th LOTRO expansion; three Draugardh regions, were-wolf storyline, Survival Instincts and Neighbours | LOTRO base game has free online play with no required monthly fee; Enad Global 7 stated a US$39.99–$129.99 expansion range on October 29, 2026 | Oct 2026 |
| Shadow of Mordor | Single-player stealth-action and personalized orc rivalries | Talion campaign built around the Nemesis system | Price not stated | Oct 2026 |
| Shadow of War | Action combat plus domination, army management and fortress conquest | Sequel to Shadow of Mordor with recruitable orc forces and fortress assaults | Price not stated | Oct 2026 |
| Return to Moria | Solo or online-cooperative survival, crafting and base building | Dwarf-led expeditions through procedurally generated Moria | Price not stated | Oct 2026 |
| Tales of the Shire | Cosy Hobbit life simulation | Gardening, fishing, cooking, decorating, shared meals and relationships | Price not stated; physical PS5 and Nintendo Switch editions are documented separately | Oct 2026 |
The price range in the first row is the figure in Enad Global 7’s October 29, 2026 announcement, not a guarantee of the current checkout price or of what each edition contains.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Is Wolves of Mordor a new game or a LOTRO expansion?
It is the 14th expansion for The Lord of the Rings Online. Enad Global 7 describes LOTRO as a game launched in April 2007, while the Steam storefront dates its own LOTRO listing to June 6, 2012; those dates refer to different release events rather than two competing launch dates. Wolves of Mordor adds content to that established MMORPG instead of replacing it with a separate executable or a new Talion adventure.
That distinction determines what you bring into the expansion. The intended player is developing an existing LOTRO hero, with the expansion extending the same persistent online world. Owning Shadow of Mordor or Shadow of War does not grant access, because those games are separate products and are not the foundation on which Wolves of Mordor runs.
Popular on Amazon
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
What does the expansion add?
After Sauron’s defeat, the story moves beyond the locations most players associate with Mordor and into Draugardh. The publisher identifies three new regions and a new epic storyline involving were-wolves. That is a feature count from the announcement, not an independently verified region-by-region tour, so the safest expectation is a broad new questing area rather than a promise about the exact size or layout of each region.
Enad Global 7 positions the expansion as adding areas to explore, systems to master and stories to experience. Those are publisher descriptions, not independent performance or quality measurements. No player-count, review-average or frame-rate result establishes how the expansion performs on particular hardware.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Is Wolves of Mordor the same as Shadow of Mordor?
No. Despite the shared “Mordor” wording, they belong to different games, studios, formats and play loops. Wolves of Mordor is an online LOTRO expansion; Shadow of Mordor is a standalone Talion-centred action game. The former develops an MMO character through quests and online systems, while the latter focuses on stealth, melee combat and rival orc captains.
Shadow of Mordor’s loop
Shadow of Mordor’s defining idea is the Nemesis system: orc captains remember encounters and become recurring, personalized enemies. That rival-focused structure is unrelated to the were-wolves in Draugardh. A creature being called a were-wolf does not imply that it is an orc captain, a recruitable follower or a Nemesis-system target.
Shadow of War’s larger-scale version
Shadow of War is identified by Warner Bros. as Shadow of Mordor’s sequel. It keeps the action foundation and expands it with domination, army building and fortress conquest. If your priority is assembling an army of controlled orcs and attacking strongholds, Shadow of War supplies that loop; Wolves of Mordor does not become a Shadow of War-style strategy game simply because both use Mordor in their names.
What changed for the older Shadow game?
Warner Bros. says specified connected features for Shadow of Mordor ended on December 31, 2020. The listed changes include Nemesis Forge, Vendetta missions and connected leaderboards. That notice is not evidence that the entire game stopped working, and it is not evidence that Wolves of Mordor contains a Nemesis system. It describes the status of particular connected functions in the older Shadow title.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Does Wolves of Mordor have the Nemesis System?
There is no sourced indication that it does. The official Wolves of Mordor material names Survival Instincts, Neighbours, Draugardh, three regions and a were-wolf storyline; it does not announce the Shadow series’ Nemesis mechanic. Treat the games as different systems unless Standing Stone Games later documents a specific connection.
This matters when choosing a game. Players seeking emergent rivalries, remembered defeats and personalized orc enemies should look to Shadow of Mordor or Shadow of War. Players seeking an evolving LOTRO character, an epic quest line and persistent MMO housing-related systems should look to Wolves of Mordor.
What are Survival Instincts and Neighbours?
Survival Instincts is a LOTRO progression-customization system, while Neighbours is a housing and relationship feature. The available official descriptions do not establish Survival Instincts as a survival-crafting mode, and they do not describe Neighbours as combat followers.
Survival Instincts
The name can sound like a promise of hunger meters, shelter construction or resource scarcity. The announcement does not make that promise. It identifies Survival Instincts as a way to customize character progression, so compare it with a build or advancement choice inside LOTRO rather than with the survival loop of Return to Moria.
Neighbours
Neighbours is tied to housing. Players build relationships through stories, gifts and daily missions. This places the feature closer to social and domestic progression than to Shadow of War’s recruitable orc army. LOTRO’s September update notes say Neighbours arrived with pre-purchase access, so it should not be assumed that every part of the feature first became available on the date of the later publisher release announcement.
Can I play Wolves of Mordor without playing LOTRO?
The sources establish Wolves of Mordor as content for LOTRO, not as a standalone product. You therefore need the LOTRO game and its account context; Steam lists a required Standing Stone Games account. The evidence does not establish an exact character level, a required prior expansion or a specific quest prerequisite for entering Draugardh, so do not rely on an invented level gate or ownership rule.
Also popular on Amazon
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
- Obtain access to the LOTRO base game and create or use the required Standing Stone Games account.
- Install and launch LOTRO through the supported storefront or official game access path.
- Check the current expansion description and account page for the edition you are buying, because the publisher’s stated price range does not by itself explain every entitlement.
- Confirm any character, quest or region requirements shown in the live game before planning a Draugardh character.
That process is different from buying a standalone action game. A Shadow of Mordor or Shadow of War save does not substitute for a LOTRO character, and no documented cross-ownership benefit connects the franchises.
Is Wolves of Mordor free?
The LOTRO base game advertises free online play with no required monthly fee. That statement applies to the parent game, not to the expansion. Enad Global 7’s October 29, 2026 announcement gives Wolves of Mordor a stated US-dollar range of $39.99 to $129.99, indicating a paid expansion with differently priced editions or packages.
Because the announcement is dated, treat that range as a historical publisher-stated figure for October 2026 rather than a permanent price. Check the current purchase page for the exact edition, included items, taxes, regional currency and any time-limited offer. No sourced physical edition of Wolves of Mordor is established here, so do not assume a boxed console release.
How does Return to Moria differ?
Return to Moria is a separate Dwarf-focused game built around survival resource management, mining, crafting, base building and expeditions that can be played solo or cooperatively online. Choose it when the activity itself is the priority: gather materials, make equipment, establish a base and push farther through Moria.
Why its survival loop is not Survival Instincts
Return to Moria’s publisher description explicitly says players join forces to survive, craft, build and explore the mines. Wolves of Mordor’s Survival Instincts is described as character-progression customization instead. The shared language of “survival” should not lead you to expect hunger systems, crafting stations or base construction in Draugardh.
Which player should choose it?
- Choose Wolves of Mordor if your main investment is a continuing LOTRO hero and an MMO quest world after Sauron’s defeat.
- Choose Return to Moria if you want Dwarves, mining, material gathering, crafting, construction and cooperative expeditions.
- Choose neither on the assumption that one is an expansion of the other; they are separate games with separate progression.
How does Tales of the Shire differ?
Tales of the Shire is a separate cosy Hobbit life simulation. Its activities include gardening, fishing, cooking, decorating, sharing meals and building relationships, making it the gentlest alternative in this comparison. It is about everyday community life in the Shire rather than post-Sauron danger in Draugardh.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchAlso popular on Amazon
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Physical editions are not Wolves of Mordor editions
Wētā documents a US physical PS5 game disc with a fold-out Bywater map and a soundtrack download code, and a physical Nintendo Switch edition is also listed. Those products are Tales of the Shire, not Wolves of Mordor. If you search for a physical game, use the exact phrase “Tales of the Shire PS5 physical game” and verify the platform, region and format on the current retailer listing.
Which player should choose it?
Pick Tales of the Shire when decorating, preparing meals and maintaining Hobbit relationships sounds more appealing than combat or MMO progression. Pick Wolves of Mordor when you want a larger online world, an epic quest line and a character you continue developing in LOTRO.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What is the best Lord of the Rings game for each kind of player?
| If you want… | Choose… | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| An ongoing online character and MMO questing | Wolves of Mordor through LOTRO | It extends the existing LOTRO world with Draugardh, three regions, a were-wolf storyline and new progression and housing systems. |
| Stealth, melee combat and recurring orc rivals | Shadow of Mordor | Its Talion campaign is built around the Nemesis system. |
| Army management and fortress assaults | Shadow of War | It expands the action formula with domination, armies and fortress conquest. |
| Mining, crafting, survival and construction | Return to Moria | Its core loop is resource gathering and cooperative or solo expeditions through Moria. |
| Cooking, gardening and a calm Hobbit routine | Tales of the Shire | It centers on meals, decorating, relationships and other Shire activities. |
The games are not interchangeable versions of the same adventure. The most important decision is whether you want an MMO expansion, an action campaign, a survival-building game or a cosy life simulation.
When was Wolves of Mordor released?
Enad Global 7 published an announcement at 08:00 CET on October 29, 2026 and identified the expansion as released by that announcement. LOTRO’s September 29 update notes had already announced pre-purchase and Neighbours access. Those records support saying that the publisher had announced release by October 29, but they do not, on their own, prove the exact first-playable minute or day for every region, edition or account.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Use the live LOTRO account and purchase notices for availability in your territory. A pre-purchase date, an update-notes date and a publisher release announcement can describe different milestones.
How we picked these comparisons
The comparison uses distinctions documented by the publishers and storefront descriptions: whether each item is an expansion or standalone game, its principal player activity, its named systems, its access model and its documented physical formats. It does not assign review scores, player counts or performance rankings, because no independent figures for those categories are established here.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
What should you buy?
Buy Wolves of Mordor only if you want to enter or continue LOTRO’s online MMORPG. It is the right category for players interested in a persistent hero, Draugardh’s post-Sauron story and housing-linked Neighbours content, but it is not a replacement for Shadow of Mordor or Shadow of War and it does not turn LOTRO into Return to Moria’s survival-crafting game.
Choose Shadow of Mordor or Shadow of War for Talion’s action-focused orc rivalries, Return to Moria for cooperative Dwarf survival and construction, and Tales of the Shire for a cosy Hobbit routine. Keeping those categories separate prevents the shared Lord of the Rings branding from creating the wrong expectations about ownership, mechanics or format.
Recommended Free Tools
Frequently Asked Questions
Will owning Shadow of War unlock Wolves of Mordor?
No. Wolves of Mordor is sold as LOTRO expansion content, so Shadow of War ownership does not provide an established entitlement to it. The games use separate account and progression contexts.
Why do LOTRO listings show different launch years?
Enad Global 7 dates the parent game to April 2007, while Steam dates its own storefront release to June 6, 2012. These can both be accurate because a game’s original launch and a later storefront listing are different events.
Is there a boxed PS5 version of Wolves of Mordor?
No sourced physical Wolves of Mordor edition is established in the available material. The documented physical PS5 and Switch products belong to Tales of the Shire, a separate game.
Are Neighbours the same as Shadow of War’s orc followers?
No. Neighbours are connected to LOTRO housing and relationship activities such as stories, gifts and daily missions. Shadow of War’s followers belong to its domination and army systems.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




