Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
If you want a humanlike or elf-like character in World of Warcraft: Forever, the clearest choices are Human, Dwarf, Gnome, Night Elf and Skyborne. Human, Dwarf, Gnome and Night Elf are Alliance races. Skyborne is the only one of these five that can choose either faction at character creation, but it requires the Skyborne Heroic Pack or a higher upgrade; a normal subscription does not unlock it. “Non-monster” is an appearance-based description, not an official Blizzard category. As of October 29, 2026, WoW: Forever had not launched; Blizzard scheduled launch for November 4, 2026, so check the current status if you are reading this on or after launch day.
At a glance
| Name | Best for | Key spec | Free plan / price | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Human | A straightforward human hero | Alliance; Hunter, Mage, Paladin, Priest, Rogue, Warlock, Warrior | Base game requires an active World of Warcraft Subscription or Game Time; price not stated | Oct 2026 |
| Dwarf | Traditional fantasy dwarf | Alliance; Hunter, Paladin, Priest, Rogue, Shaman, Warrior | Base game requires an active World of Warcraft Subscription or Game Time; price not stated | Oct 2026 |
| Gnome | A small humanoid character | Alliance; Mage, Priest, Rogue, Warlock, Warrior | Base game requires an active World of Warcraft Subscription or Game Time; price not stated | Oct 2026 |
| Night Elf | An established elf-like option | Alliance; Druid, Hunter, Priest, Rogue, Warrior | Base game requires an active World of Warcraft Subscription or Game Time; price not stated | Oct 2026 |
| Skyborne | A new elf-like race that can join either faction | Alliance or Horde; both get Druid, Hunter, Rogue and Warrior; Alliance adds Mage, Horde adds Shaman | Skyborne Heroic Pack or higher required; price not stated | Oct 2026 |
The class lists come from Blizzard’s published race-and-class matrix. They are availability rules, not recommendations: choose the race first if appearance is your priority, then confirm that your intended class is marked for it.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →What does “non-monster” mean in WoW: Forever?
It means a character that looks recognisably human, dwarf-like, gnome-like or elf-like to you. Blizzard does not use “non-monster” as a playable-race category, and the game does not supply an official visual scale from human to monster. An Orc or Troll may look humanoid enough for one player, while another may specifically want a Tauren or Undead character because the unusual silhouette is the appeal.
Blizzard’s announced roster contains nine distinct playable races. The Alliance table lists Human, Dwarf, Night Elf and Gnome, plus Skyborne aligned with the Alliance. The Horde table lists Orc, Tauren, Troll and Undead, plus Skyborne aligned with the Horde. Skyborne is one race counted once, not two separate races simply because it can serve either faction.
Popular on Amazon
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
The announcement does not list Blood Elves, Draenei or other later-expansion races. That describes the announced roster; it is not a ruling that no future addition can ever happen.
Which five races are the clearest humanlike or elf-like choices?
Human
Human is the least ambiguous answer if you want a conventional human character. It is Alliance-only and has one of the broadest class selections in the announced chart: Hunter, Mage, Paladin, Priest, Rogue, Warlock and Warrior. The chart specifically highlights Human Hunter as a newly featured race-and-class pairing.
Choose Human when your priority is a familiar human appearance, access to a ranged Hunter or spellcaster, or staying with Alliance friends. There is no Skyborne purchase requirement for this option.
Dwarf
Dwarf provides the classic stocky, bearded fantasy-dwarf look and is also Alliance-only. Its available classes are Hunter, Paladin, Priest, Rogue, Shaman and Warrior. Blizzard highlights Dwarf Shaman as one of the newly featured combinations.
Dwarf is a practical fit if you want a visibly non-human silhouette without choosing an overtly monstrous body plan, and it gives you Shaman access that Human and Gnome do not have in the published matrix.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Gnome
Gnome is the smallest of the five straightforward Alliance choices. The announced classes are Mage, Priest, Rogue, Warlock and Warrior, with Gnome Priest highlighted among the newly featured pairings.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Pick Gnome if scale matters as much as facial appearance. Its compact model is distinctive, but it does not offer Hunter, Paladin, Druid or Shaman in Blizzard’s chart, so check the class before committing.
Night Elf
Night Elf is the documented Alliance choice for an established elf-like character that does not require an optional upgrade. Its classes are Druid, Hunter, Priest, Rogue and Warrior.
If you want an elf without buying Skyborne access, Night Elf is the announced answer. It is Alliance-only, so your friends’ faction and your preferred class still matter: for example, Night Elf offers Druid, while Human and Gnome do not.
Skyborne
Skyborne is the new elf-like option for players who want faction flexibility. At character creation, Skyborne can choose Alliance or Horde. Both alignments can select Druid, Hunter, Rogue and Warrior; Alliance Skyborne also get Mage, while Horde Skyborne also get Shaman.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Also popular on Amazon
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
That flexibility has a separate access condition. Blizzard lists the Skyborne Heroic Pack as the entry-level upgrade that unlocks Skyborne and Zephras Isle, and higher packs include that access. A subscription or Game Time supplies base-game access at launch but does not, by itself, grant Skyborne.
What classes can each non-monster-looking race play?
The matrix is the safest way to avoid promising a class that is not available. These are all of the announced pairings for the five choices:
| Race | Faction | Available classes |
|---|---|---|
| Human | Alliance | Hunter, Mage, Paladin, Priest, Rogue, Warlock, Warrior |
| Dwarf | Alliance | Hunter, Paladin, Priest, Rogue, Shaman, Warrior |
| Gnome | Alliance | Mage, Priest, Rogue, Warlock, Warrior |
| Night Elf | Alliance | Druid, Hunter, Priest, Rogue, Warrior |
| Skyborne | Alliance | Druid, Hunter, Mage, Rogue, Warrior |
| Skyborne | Horde | Druid, Hunter, Rogue, Shaman, Warrior |
Blizzard’s announcement also calls out Orc Mage, Troll Warlock and Undead Paladin among six newly highlighted existing-race/class combinations. Those pairings are relevant to the full roster, but they do not turn those races into humanlike or elf-like choices for every player.
Can Horde players choose an elf-like race?
Yes, but in the announced roster the cross-faction route is Skyborne. Skyborne can be assigned to Horde during character creation and retain the elf-like appearance associated with that race.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsNight Elf is Alliance-only in the published tables. Blood Elf is not listed in the announced Forever roster, so you should not plan on an ordinary Horde Blood Elf character based on the current announcement. If Blizzard expands the roster later, that status could change; the present answer is limited to the announced launch lineup.
Also popular on Amazon
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Do you have to buy Skyborne?
Only if you want to play Skyborne. The base experience requires an active World of Warcraft Subscription or Game Time, while Skyborne requires the Skyborne Heroic Pack or a higher digital upgrade. Players choosing Human, Dwarf, Gnome or Night Elf do not need that upgrade.
Blizzard describes the packs as digital upgrades. The Epic Pack adds benefits including 30 days of Game Time, and the Warcraft Forever Collection adds Warcraft III content. Those extras do not change the race-and-class rules in the published matrix.
When can you create one of these characters?
At the October 29, 2026 status point, WoW: Forever was still in its prelaunch period. Blizzard scheduled the full launch for November 4, 2026. The beta ended October 21, and eligible upgrades could reserve names from October 27 through November 3.
Those dates are time-sensitive. If you are making a character after November 4, verify the live launch status and current edition requirements in Blizzard’s account and shop pages rather than relying on the prelaunch timetable.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What is the physical Collector’s Edition, and do you need it?
The physical World of Warcraft: Forever Collector’s Edition is optional merchandise, not a prerequisite for any race. Blizzard documents a 13-inch Dwarf and Bear statue, a Zephras Isle mousepad, art prints, collectible pins, a companion journal and a digital collection code.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Blizzard said copies from its September restock were expected to ship in February 2027, after launch. Stock and delivery can change, so confirm current availability before ordering. Buying this physical edition is separate from deciding whether your character is Human, Dwarf, Gnome, Night Elf or Skyborne.
How should you choose among the five?
Use this order so an attractive model does not leave you locked out of the play style or group you wanted:
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
- Choose the appearance. Select Human for a conventional human, Dwarf for a traditional dwarf, Gnome for a small humanoid, Night Elf for an established elf-like character, or Skyborne for a new elf-like look.
- Check your faction. Human, Dwarf, Gnome and Night Elf are Alliance. Skyborne can be Alliance or Horde, which is useful when your friends are split or your preferred community is on Horde.
- Check the exact class pairing. The race-and-class table is not universal. Horde Skyborne, for example, has Shaman but not Mage; Alliance Skyborne has Mage but not Shaman.
- Price the access decision. If Skyborne is the only reason you would buy an upgrade, compare that benefit with simply choosing Night Elf, which supplies the announced Alliance elf-like option without Skyborne access.
- Recheck launch information. Edition contents, name-reservation windows and stock for physical products are publication-sensitive and can change around launch.
How we interpret the roster
This list treats “non-monster” as a reader-facing appearance preference, not a claim about lore, morality or official taxonomy. The selection includes the five races whose announced models most clearly match humanlike or elf-like expectations, while still acknowledging that Orc, Troll, Tauren and Undead may be the right choice for a player whose definition is broader.
The practical limits come from Blizzard’s 2026 race-and-class tables and access announcement: faction, class availability and the separate Skyborne Heroic Pack requirement. Those constraints are more reliable than assuming a class is universal or treating every humanoid race as interchangeable.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are there official statistics showing which of these races will be most popular?
No relevant published player-preference statistic was established for the announced lineup. Popularity should therefore not be presented as a measured ranking; appearance, faction, class and upgrade access are the defensible ways to choose.
What does an X mean in Blizzard’s race-and-class chart?
Blizzard’s chart explains that “An X indicates that the listed race can choose that class.” An empty cell is not evidence that the class is temporarily disabled; it means the announced pairing is not listed.
Are the Skyborne Heroic, Epic and Collection editions physical products?
The Skyborne, Epic and Warcraft Forever Collection options are digital upgrades. They are distinct from the separately documented physical Collector’s Edition, which contains collectibles and a digital collection code.
What changed during the prelaunch period?
The beta ended on October 21, 2026, and eligible upgrades received a name-reservation window from October 27 through November 3. Those events preceded the scheduled November 4 launch and do not replace the need to verify the live status after launch.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




