Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
For a first purchase, choose physical if you want a standalone card you can hand over or use on an original Switch; choose digital if you prefer an account-managed library and quick switching between games. The physical and digital Nintendo Switch 2 Editions of Breath of the Wild and Tears of the Kingdom contain the same campaign and Switch 2 enhancements. Existing owners should usually compare the matching upgrade pack before buying a complete edition.
The important distinction is ownership and access, not graphics. Both Switch 2 Editions launched on June 5, 2025, with improved frame rates and resolution, faster loading, HDR support and Zelda Notes. Those benefits belong to the Switch 2 Edition itself, regardless of whether you buy a card or a download.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
At a glance
| Name | Best for | Key spec | Free plan / price | Platforms | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Physical Breath of the Wild Switch 2 Edition | Players who want a standalone card and physical handoff | One card contains the original game and Switch 2 upgrade; card must be inserted | No free plan; $69.99 regular US Nintendo listing (reference observed in 2026; retailer checkout prices vary) | Switch 2; original Switch runs the original version | Oct 2026 |
| Physical Tears of the Kingdom Switch 2 Edition | Card collectors and households sharing a cartridge | One card contains the original game and Switch 2 upgrade | No free plan; $79.99 regular US Nintendo listing (reference observed in 2026; retailer checkout prices vary) | Switch 2; original Switch runs the original version | Oct 2026 |
| Digital Breath of the Wild Switch 2 Edition | Players building a digital library | Virtual game card can play offline after setup when loaded | No free plan; format-specific price not stated | Switch 2; digital purchase is tied to Nintendo Account systems | Oct 2026 |
| Digital Tears of the Kingdom Switch 2 Edition | Players who dislike swapping cards | Virtual game card, with Nintendo’s pairing, lending and loading rules | No free plan; format-specific price not stated | Switch 2; digital purchase is tied to Nintendo Account systems | Oct 2026 |
| Original Switch copy plus matching upgrade | Current owners of either game | Keep the physical or digital base game and add its Switch 2 upgrade | Tears of the Kingdom upgrade: $9.99 USD; separate Breath of the Wild upgrade price not confirmed | Switch 2; original copy remains usable on original Switch | Oct 2026 |
Prices above are reference figures, not guaranteed checkout quotes. Nintendo says retail partners set their own physical and digital prices, and the two Zelda editions released before Nintendo’s separate digital-MSRP policy for new Switch 2-exclusive titles that began in May 2026.
Should you buy Zelda physical or digital on Switch 2?
Buy the complete physical edition when a card, resale or household handoff matters more than convenience. Buy digital when you want both games permanently available from the Home menu and are comfortable managing Nintendo virtual game cards, console pairing and account access.
Popular on Amazon
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
If you already own either original Switch game, do not pay for a second complete copy until you have checked the matching upgrade. An original physical cartridge or digital entitlement can be upgraded; an Expansion Pack membership can also provide the upgrade while that membership remains active, but it does not include the underlying game.
Choose physical when a card solves a real problem
- You want to move the game between consoles without signing into the purchasing account.
- Several people in the household use different Nintendo Accounts or you may hand the card to someone else.
- You want the option to play the original version on an original Switch by inserting the same card.
- You prefer to keep a visible collection and avoid virtual-game-card management.
Choose digital when convenience outweighs handoff
- You switch between games often and do not want to change cartridges.
- Your main console is a Switch 2 and you are comfortable with Nintendo Account ownership.
- You want a loaded virtual game card to work offline after the initial Nintendo setup.
- You do not need to lend the copy outside Nintendo’s family-group and console rules.
What is included in each Zelda Switch 2 Edition?
Breath of the Wild – Nintendo Switch 2 Edition and Tears of the Kingdom – Nintendo Switch 2 Edition are enhanced editions of the original Switch games, released June 5, 2025. Neither format changes the story, map, quests or campaign available in its game.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Both editions add improved frame rates and resolution, faster loading, HDR support and Zelda Notes. Zelda Notes is a connected feature: it requires a compatible smart device and persistent internet. That requirement applies to Zelda Notes, not to every minute of ordinary offline play.
The physical and digital editions therefore deliver the same Switch 2 software. Your decision concerns the card or license that starts that software, plus how you share, move and store it.
Is the Zelda Switch 2 physical edition a game-key card?
No. Nintendo says a physical Switch 2 Edition card includes the original Nintendo Switch game and its Switch 2 upgrade on the same card. Nintendo defines a game-key card separately as a card with no game data that requires a first download.
That distinction makes the product listing important. Before paying, check the exact edition name and package description:
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
- Look for “Nintendo Switch 2 Edition” for the game you actually want.
- Confirm that the listing describes a physical game card, not a download code in a box.
- Check that it is not the older original-Switch edition without the upgrade.
- Look for language indicating a game-key card; that is a different product type and needs a first download.
- Keep in mind that Nintendo’s statement concerns the game and upgrade on the card; it does not establish that every patch or all downloadable content is permanently stored there.
Once inserted, the card must remain in the console while you play. On an original Switch, the same Switch 2 Edition card runs the original Switch game without the Switch 2 enhancements.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
How does digital Zelda work offline?
A digital purchase is not automatically online-only. After Nintendo’s first-use requirements are completed and the virtual game card is loaded, the game supports offline play and other users on that system can use it under Nintendo’s virtual-game-card rules.
Nintendo also offers an optional online-license arrangement. That mode checks online when the game launches and limits access to the purchasing account, so it behaves differently from a loaded virtual game card. If you want reliable offline starts or access for other users on the console, use the loaded-card arrangement rather than assuming every digital launch mode is equivalent.
Moving and lending a virtual game card
Virtual game cards can be moved between two paired systems. Nintendo also allows lending to members of the purchasing account’s family group for up to 14 days, unless the game is returned earlier. Connection, pairing and lending conditions apply, and the same copy cannot run simultaneously on multiple systems.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
These rules are the main digital trade-off. A download is convenient, but access follows Nintendo Account ownership and virtual-card status rather than the physical possession of a cartridge.
Can you upgrade an existing Zelda cartridge?
Yes. Either original Switch game, physical or digital, can be paired with its matching Switch 2 Edition upgrade. This is usually the most economical route for an existing owner, but the upgrade price and household rights depend on how you obtain it.
Purchased upgrade pack
Nintendo lists a separately purchased Tears of the Kingdom Switch 2 Edition upgrade pack at $9.99 USD (observed in 2026). That price is for the upgrade alone, not the complete game. A separately purchased Breath of the Wild upgrade price was not confirmed here, so check Nintendo’s current listing before budgeting.
Nintendo treats a purchased Tears of the Kingdom upgrade as a virtual game card. It can work with either a physical or digital base game on that system, subject to Nintendo’s normal virtual-card and account requirements.
Also popular on Amazon
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Expansion Pack access
Nintendo Switch Online + Expansion Pack members who own the corresponding base game can access both Zelda upgrade packs without an additional pack charge while the membership is active. The membership does not supply either Breath of the Wild or Tears of the Kingdom base game.
An upgrade obtained through Expansion Pack membership is restricted to active members and is not a virtual game card. Do not assume it has identical lending, movement or household rights to an upgrade purchased outright.
A practical upgrade check
- Identify whether your original copy is Breath of the Wild or Tears of the Kingdom.
- Confirm that the copy is attached to the Nintendo Account or console you will use for the upgrade.
- Compare the current upgrade cost with the complete Switch 2 Edition price.
- Decide whether you need permanent purchased rights or only access while an Expansion Pack membership remains active.
- Install the matching upgrade, then keep your original cartridge available if your base game is physical.
Does the Switch 2 cartridge work on Switch 1?
Yes, but only as the original Switch game. Inserting a physical Switch 2 Edition card into an original Switch does not provide the Switch 2 enhancements, so it is not a way to get HDR, the faster loading behavior or other Switch 2 Edition features on older hardware.
The reverse compatibility point matters if your household owns both systems: one physical card can serve the original version on Switch 1 and the enhanced version on Switch 2, but the card has to be in the console being used.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →What happens to saves when you move to Switch 2?
Nintendo confirms that both enhanced Zelda editions support cloud save backup and can use saves transferred from their original versions. That makes an upgrade less disruptive for a player continuing an existing adventure.
The Switch 2 Edition can create an additional second save file. That extra file cannot be transferred back for play in the original Switch version, so keep any continuation you may want on older hardware in the original save structure.
How much storage do the digital editions need?
Nintendo’s published file-size listings observed in 2026 are 24.1 GB for the complete digital Breath of the Wild – Nintendo Switch 2 Edition and 20.1 GB for the complete digital Tears of the Kingdom – Nintendo Switch 2 Edition. Separate upgrade-pack pages list 9.6 GB for Breath of the Wild and 3.5 GB for Tears of the Kingdom.
Also popular on Amazon
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Those are listed digital file sizes, not a measurement of physical-card storage use and not proof that a cartridge requires a full download. Leave additional space for system software, updates and other games.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsSwitch 2 expandable game storage requires microSD Express. Nintendo lists a 256 GB Samsung microSD Express card as one optional capacity example; older, incompatible microSD cards do not meet the Switch 2 game-storage requirement.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What should you compare at checkout?
Use the following order so a low headline price does not hide a mismatch:
- Total cost now: include the base game and, for an existing owner, the matching upgrade.
- Edition identity: verify Switch 2 Edition versus original Switch edition, code-in-box and game-key card.
- Access method: decide whether inserting a card or managing a virtual game card fits your consoles and accounts.
- Offline behavior: confirm that a digital copy will be loaded as a virtual game card if you need offline starts.
- Sharing: weigh physical handoff against Nintendo’s two-system pairing and 14-day family lending conditions.
- Storage: budget for the published digital file size and a compatible microSD Express card if internal space is limited.
- Older hardware: if you still use an original Switch, remember that only the original game runs there.
Which Zelda format is better for you?
For a new player buying one game for a Switch 2, the physical Switch 2 Edition is the safer choice when you value a self-contained card, multi-account handoff or original-Switch compatibility. The digital edition is better when immediate access, no cartridge swapping and a unified digital library matter more than lending flexibility.
For an existing owner, start with the upgrade route. A purchased matching upgrade can avoid paying for the complete game again; Expansion Pack access can reduce the extra charge while membership is active, but it is a temporary entitlement with different virtual-card rights. Whichever format you select, you are choosing how to own the same enhanced Zelda campaign—not a different version of the story.
FAQ
Does the Switch 2 Edition include the Breath of the Wild Expansion Pass?
No. The Breath of the Wild Expansion Pass remains separate from the Switch 2 Edition. Buying the enhanced edition or its upgrade does not, by itself, add that pass’s content.
Can I use my old save without buying the complete game again?
Yes, an original-version save can be transferred to the corresponding Switch 2 Edition, and both enhanced games support cloud save backup. The transfer applies to the matching title, so a Breath of the Wild save does not convert into a Tears of the Kingdom save.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Does Nintendo’s digital price have to match the physical price?
No. Retail partners set their own prices for physical and digital games. Nintendo’s distinct digital-MSRP policy for new Nintendo-published games exclusive to Switch 2 began in May 2026 and does not establish a fixed physical-versus-digital price difference for these Zelda editions released in 2025.
Can two people play one digital copy at the same time?
No. Nintendo’s virtual-game-card rules do not allow the same copy to run simultaneously on multiple systems. Family-group lending is temporary and subject to Nintendo’s connection and lending conditions.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallFrequently Asked Questions
Does the Switch 2 Edition include the Breath of the Wild Expansion Pass?
No. The Breath of the Wild Expansion Pass remains separate from the Switch 2 Edition. Buying the enhanced edition or its upgrade does not, by itself, add that pass’s content.
Can I use my old save without buying the complete game again?
Yes, an original-version save can be transferred to the corresponding Switch 2 Edition, and both enhanced games support cloud save backup. The transfer applies to the matching title, so a Breath of the Wild save does not convert into a Tears of the Kingdom save.
Does Nintendo’s digital price have to match the physical price?
No. Retail partners set their own prices for physical and digital games. Nintendo’s distinct digital-MSRP policy for new Nintendo-published games exclusive to Switch 2 began in May 2026 and does not establish a fixed physical-versus-digital price difference for these Zelda editions released in 2025.
Can two people play one digital copy at the same time?
No. Nintendo’s virtual-game-card rules do not allow the same copy to run simultaneously on multiple systems. Family-group lending is temporary and subject to Nintendo’s connection and lending conditions.
Recommended Free Tools
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




