The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
Not broadly. Nintendo’s Zelda 40th Anniversary Nintendo Switch 2 remains scheduled for release on October 29, 2026. Reports of Zelda-edition display boxes at some Walmart stores and one European customer collecting a pre-order early show that units have reached parts of the retail chain, but they do not establish general sale availability. Nintendo lists a $519.99 U.S. MSRP, and the console does not include a game.
Target’s current listing is out of stock, while retailer allocations and pre-order timing can change quickly. Treat an early sighting or an accidentally completed pickup as an exception rather than a way to buy the system before launch.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Nintendo Switch 2 System | $499.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Nintendo Switch 2 System with Super Mario Galaxy + Super Mario Galaxy 2 Bundle | $568.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Nintendo Switch 2 + Mario Kart World Bundle with Bonus HDMI Cable & Screen Cleaning Cloth | $618.98 | Buy on Amazon |
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Recommended Free Tools
What happened with the early Zelda Switch 2 sightings?
Notebookcheck reported on October 26, 2026 that photos from Nintendeal showed Zelda-edition Switch 2 display boxes at some Walmart locations. The report says a shopper nearly completed a purchase at the advertised $519.99 price before a manager intervened, indicating that at least some stores had promotional packaging on site without authorization to sell it before the street date.
The same report describes a European Reddit user, identified as coiL_10, collecting a pre-order early and posting photographs of the handheld, dock and Joy-Con 2 controllers. That is evidence of an individual fulfillment, not proof that retailers generally released their stock. The report also says Walmart delayed some pre-orders and recommends watching stock trackers instead of relying on a particular physical store.
Popular on Amazon
- The next evolution of Nintendo Switch
- One system, three play modes: TV, Tabletop, and Handheld
- Larger, vivid, 7.9” LCD touch screen with support for HDR and up to 120 fps
- Dock that supports 4K when connected to a compatible TV*
- GameChat** lets you voice chat, share your game screen, and connect via video chat as you play
Can you buy the Zelda Switch 2 before October 29?
There is no reliable indication of a broad pre-release sale. Nintendo’s official street date is October 29, 2026, so a retailer that has inventory may still be blocked from completing a transaction until that date.
- Walmart: Display boxes were reportedly visible in some locations, but a manager stopped at least one attempted checkout.
- Target: The live product listing is currently marked out of stock.
- GameStop: A reported Nintendeal estimate cited by Notebookcheck suggested some stores could receive only 0–5 units. This is not an official GameStop allocation statement.
- Other retailers: Nintendo Life’s dated guide tracks listings at Amazon, Walmart, Best Buy, Target, GameStop, Nintendo, Smyths Toys and other sellers, but prices and stock can change without notice.
If you already have a pre-order, check its order status and pickup instructions rather than assuming an early store display can be purchased. On launch day, confirm that the listing is for the Zelda 40th Anniversary model and that the retailer has released inventory for collection.
What is included in the Zelda 40th Anniversary Switch 2?
The special edition is a themed Switch 2 console, not a game bundle. Nintendo lists a black-and-gold dock with a Triforce symbol and Zelda-inspired patterns, plus green-and-gold Joy-Con 2 controllers. The game is explicitly not included.
| In the box | Official detail |
|---|---|
| Console | Switch 2 system with TV, tabletop and handheld modes |
| Display | 7.9-inch 1080p screen |
| Storage | 256GB internal storage, with microSD Express expansion |
| Controllers | Two green-and-gold Joy-Con 2 controllers, Joy-Con 2 grip and two straps |
| Dock and cables | Zelda-themed dock, AC adapter, USB-C charging cable and Ultra High Speed HDMI cable |
Nintendo also specifies up to 4K output when paired with a compatible television and game. The console supports all three Switch 2 play modes, so the Zelda design is the principal distinction from a standard system with the same platform features.
Also popular on Amazon
- The next evolution of the Nintendo Switch system
- One system, three play modes: TV, Tabletop, and Handheld
- Larger, vivid, 7.9” LCD touch screen with support for HDR and up to 120 fps
- Supports up to 4K resolution** when using a compatible game and TV connected via the included Nintendo Switch 2 dock
- Nintendo Switch 2 plays compatible physical and digital Nintendo Switch games.***
How does the Zelda edition compare with a standard Switch 2?
The Zelda model adds themed hardware and carries Nintendo’s $519.99 U.S. MSRP. The available information does not establish a separate standard-console price here, so buyers should compare the current listing in their region rather than assume a fixed difference.
| Comparison point | Zelda 40th Anniversary edition | Standard Switch 2 |
|---|---|---|
| Design | Black-and-gold dock, Triforce motif and green-and-gold Joy-Con 2 | Standard design |
| U.S. MSRP | $519.99, according to Nintendo | Not stated in the available product information |
| Game in box | No | Not stated; check the individual listing |
| Screen and storage | 7.9-inch 1080p display and 256GB internal storage | Use the retailer’s current specification page |
| Availability | Target listing currently out of stock; launch date October 29, 2026 | Varies by retailer and region |
Does it include Ocarina of Time?
No. The console package contains hardware and accessories only. Nintendo Life’s retailer guide lists a separate physical Ocarina of Time release for Switch 2 at $69.99 in the U.S. and £58.99 in the U.K., with a November 5, 2026 launch date. The console and Zelda Pro Controller are listed for October 29.
Which accessories should buyers plan for?
The most directly related additions are the Zelda Pro Controller, a carrying case with screen protector and a microSD Express card. A physical copy of Ocarina of Time is also separate. Because the system uses microSD Express for expansion, an older microSD card should not be assumed to provide the required performance or compatibility.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Is the Zelda Switch 2 battery revision settled?
No. Notebookcheck reported conflicting product information: Smyths Toys changed a listing to mention a user-replaceable battery, while Nintendo’s website appeared to indicate that the special-edition system did not have that serviceability feature. The early buyer reportedly said the unit was not the easier-to-service revision. Until Nintendo or the retailer clarifies the exact model, do not treat a replaceable-battery claim as confirmed.
Also popular on Amazon
- 【Ultimate Nintendo Switch 2 Bundle – Ready to Play】Includes the complete Nintendo Switch 2 console and a full-game download of Mario Kart World, so you can start racing right out of the box. Perfect for gamers of all ages and playstyles.
- 【Next-Gen Hybrid Gaming with Stunning Visuals】Experience a vivid 7.9‑inch 1080p LCD touchscreen with HDR support, and enjoy 4K TV output at up to 60 fps when docked — for immersive gameplay at home or on the go.
- 【Versatile 3 Play Modes】Seamlessly switch between Handheld, Tabletop, and TV modes — all featuring intuitive controls and smooth performance, wherever you choose to play.
- 【Enhanced Social Gaming with GameChat & Multiplayer】Connect with friends locally, enjoy online multiplayer with up to 24 players, and use voice chat via GameChat (internet connection and Nintendo Switch Online membership required after trial period).
- 【Powerful Storage & Joy‑Con 2 Controllers】Includes 256 GB internal storage (expandable with microSD), magnetic Joy‑Con 2 controllers, docking station, HDMI cable, AC adapter, grip, and straps — everything you need for the ultimate gaming setup.
What should you do if a store shows the console early?
- Ask staff to verify the street date and whether the register is authorized to sell it.
- Check that the product identifier matches the Zelda 40th Anniversary Switch 2, not an empty display carton or a different bundle.
- Keep your pre-order confirmation available if you are collecting an order.
- Use the retailer’s live listing or a reputable stock alert for restocks; do not rely on a display box as proof of saleable inventory.
- Before paying, confirm that the game is not included and budget separately if you want Ocarina of Time.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the Zelda Switch 2 release date in the United States?
Nintendo lists October 29, 2026 as the U.S. release date. Retailers may receive stock earlier for display or fulfillment, but the official street date remains the date to use for a normal purchase.
How much storage does the Zelda Switch 2 have?
Nintendo specifies 256GB of internal storage. Expansion uses microSD Express cards, so check the card standard before buying an accessory.
Can I play the Zelda Switch 2 on a television?
Yes. It includes a dock and supports TV, tabletop and handheld modes. Nintendo says up to 4K output is available with a compatible TV and game.
Is the Zelda Pro Controller included with the console?
No. The package includes Joy-Con 2 controllers, a grip and straps; the Zelda Pro Controller is a separate product.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

